消耗率提醒

您可以针对服务等级目标 (SLO) 创建提醒政策,以让您了解自己是否面临违反 SLO 的危险。选择要监控的 SLO,然后配置提醒政策以监控该 SLO。通常情况下,该条件通过选择构成违规的阈值以及允许违规的时间段来表示。如果阈值超过允许的时间段,则会触发提醒政策。

本页介绍错误预算消耗率提醒。其中未详细介绍提醒政策;并假定您已经了解条件和通知渠道的基本概念。

如需了解有关提醒政策以及如何创建提醒政策的常规信息,请参阅使用提醒政策

如需了解创建基于 SLO 的提醒政策的具体步骤,请参阅以下内容:

错误预算的消耗率

您在合规期的错误预算为(1− SLO 目标)×(合规期中符合条件的事件)。如果您的 SLO 目标是 95%,则在 SLO 衡量的事件中,有 5%的事件会在 SLO 目标实现之前失败。消耗率反映了错误预算的耗用速度。消耗率大于 1 表示,如果当前测量的错误率在任何未来的合规期内保持不变,则该服务将在该期限之外停止 SLO。如需了解详情,请参阅错误预算

消耗率指标由时间序列选择器 select_slo_burn_rate 检索。当您的错误预算的使用速度超过您定义的阈值(在整个提醒的合规期内衡量)时,消耗率提醒政策会通知您。如需详细了解其他时间序列选择器,请参阅检索 SLO 数据。您可以创建使用某些其他时间序列选择器的提醒策略,但您必须使用 Cloud Monitoring API 来创建提醒策略。

在 SLO 上创建提醒政策的概览

为 SLO 创建提醒政策与为指标创建提醒政策类似。本部分评价创建提醒政策的一般步骤。

要为 SLO 创建提醒政策,请按以下步骤操作:

  1. 确定作为提醒政策创建基础的 SLO。

  2. 为使用所选 SLO 的提醒政策构建条件。 在条件中,您将指定用于检索 SLO 数据的时间序列选择器。您还需要指定时长、阈值以及确定 SLO 何时不合规的比较。

    例如,如果您使用时间序列选择器检索消耗率,则检索的数据将反映所选 SLO 的错误预算的消耗率。

    在该条件下,您还可以在触发提醒之前指定 SLO 的违规阈值和持续时间。例如,您希望在触发警报之前的一段时间内,消耗率高于期望的速率。在这种情况下,“高出部分”的值是条件的阈值,“一段时间”的值是条件的持续时间。

  3. 确定或创建要在提醒政策中使用的通知渠道。

  4. 提供向用户说明触发提醒政策原因的文档

如需了解有关提醒政策以及如何创建提醒政策的常规信息,请参阅使用提醒政策

提醒政策和回溯期

为提醒政策检索 SLO 数据时,可以指定 SLO 标识符和回溯期。回溯期决定了检索数据的时间要追溯至什么时候。至关重要的是,回溯期还用作计算 SLO 性能和错误预算的合规期。

目前无法根据合规期超过 24 小时来提醒 SLO 的错误预算消耗率。在许多情况下,如果您的长期(例如 28 天或 30 天)合规期为少于 24 小时,则足以检测出服务中断情况,并促使他们对服务进行短期运维响应。

合规期越短,问题的检测速度就越快,但请注意,在一天中流量和错误率的大幅变化可能会在低流量时间段内出现过于敏感的提醒。您可以考虑使用明显高于 1 的消耗率阈值,以降低提醒敏感度。

错误预算提醒的类型

在设置提醒政策以监控错误预算时,建议您设置两项相关的提醒政策:

  • 快速消耗提醒,用于提醒您突发的重大消耗量变化,如果不纠正,很快就会用尽错误预算。“按照这个速度,我们将在两天后用掉整个月的错误预算!(At this rate, we'll burn through the whole month'serror budget in two days!)”

    对于快速消耗提醒,请使用较短的回溯期,这样一来,如果某个潜在的灾难性状况出现并持续存在(即使这种状况短暂存在过),您就可以快速收到通知。如果确实是灾难性状况,您肯定想尽快注意到它。

    您在此处设置的消耗率阈值提醒远远高于回溯期的理想基准值。

  • 慢速消耗提醒,用于提醒消耗率,如果消耗率未出现变动,则会在合规期结束前耗尽错误预算。这种情况的紧急程度不如快速消耗。“我们现在略微超出了本月的预期目标,但目前还没有什么大麻烦。(We are slightly exceeding where we'd like to be at this point in the month, but we aren't in big trouble yet.)”

    对于慢速消耗提醒,请使用更长的回溯期来消除短时消耗的变化。

    慢速消耗提醒中的阈值提醒高于回溯期的理想效果,但无显著提高。即使消耗量长期趋于平稳,则基于较短回溯期(具有高阈值)的政策可能会生成过多提醒。但如果消耗量长时间保持稍高的水平,最终会消耗完所有错误预算。

后续步骤

Alerting on your burn rate

You can create alerting policies on your service-level objectives (SLOs) to let you know whether you are in danger of violating an SLO. You select the SLO that you want to monitor, and then configure an alerting policy to monitor that SLO. The condition is typically expressed by selecting a threshold value that constitutes a violation, and a period for which the violation is permitted. If the threshold is exceeded for more than the allowable period, the alerting policy is triggered.

This page describes alerting on the burn rate of your error budget. It does not cover alerting policies in detail; it assumes you already know the basic concepts of conditions and notification channels.

For general information about alerting policies and how to create them, see Using alerting policies.

For specific steps in creating a SLO-based alert policy, see the following:

Burn rate of error budget

Your error budget for a compliance period is (1 − SLO goal) × (eligible events in compliance period). If your SLO goal is 95%, then it is acceptable for 5% of the events measured by your SLO to fail before your SLO goal is missed. The burn rate tells you how fast you are consuming your error budget. A burn rate of greater than 1 indicates that if the currently measured error rate is sustained over any future compliance period, the service will be out of SLO for that period. For more information, see Error budgets.

The burn-rate metric is retrieved by the time-series selector select_slo_burn_rate. A burn-rate alerting policy notifies you when your error budget is consumed faster than a threshold you define, measured over the alert's compliance period. There are other time-series selectors; see Retrieving SLO data for more information. You can create alerting policies that use some of these other time-series selectors, but you must create them by using the Cloud Monitoring API.

Overview of creating an alerting policy on an SLO

Creating an alerting policy for an SLO is similar to creating an alerting policy for metrics. This section reviews the general steps for creating an alerting policy.

To create an alerting policy for an SLO, you take the following steps:

  1. Identify the SLO you want to base the alerting policy on.

  2. Construct a condition for your alerting policy that uses the chosen SLO. In the condition, you specify a time-series selector to use in retrieving SLO data. You also specify a duration, a threshold and a comparison that determine when the SLO is out of compliance.

    For example, if you use the time-series selector for burn rate, the retrieved data reflects the burn rate of the error budget for the chosen SLO.

    The condition is also where you specify the threshold and duration of violations of the SLO before triggering an alert. For example, you want the burn rate to be some amount over the desired rate for some period before triggering an alert. The value for “some amount over” is the condition's threshold, and the value for “some period” is the condition's duration.

  3. Identify or create a notification channel to use in your alerting policy.

  4. Provide documentation that explains to users what triggered the alerting policy.

For general information about alerting policies and how to create them, see Using alerting policies.

Alerting policies and lookback periods

When you retrieve the SLO data for an alerting policy, you specify an identifier for the SLO and a lookback period. The lookback period determines how far back in time to retrieve data. Critically, the lookback period is also used as the compliance period for calculating the SLO performance and error budget.

It is not currently possible to base alerts on the error budget consumption rate of an SLO using a compliance period of greater than 24 hours. In many cases, approximating your long-term (for example, 28- or 30-day) compliance period with one of less than 24 hours is sufficient for the purpose of detecting outages and driving your short-term operational response to them.

Shorter compliance periods provide faster detection of problems, but with the caveat that large changes in traffic and error rates over the course of a day may result in overly-sensitive alerting during low-traffic periods. Consider using a burn-rate threshold significantly larger than 1 to reduce alert sensitivity during these times.

Types of error-budget alerts

When setting up alerting policies to monitor your error budget, it's a good idea to set up two related alerting policies:

  • Fast-burn alert, which warns you of a sudden, large change in consumption that, if uncorrected, will exhaust your error budget very soon. “At this rate, we'll burn through the whole month's error budget in two days!”

    For a fast-burn alert, use a shorter lookback period so you are notified quickly if a potentially disastrous condition has emerged and persisted, even briefly. If it is truly disastrous, you don't want to wait long to notice it.

    The threshold for the rate of consumption you alert on here is much higher than the baseline ideal for the lookback period.

  • Slow-burn alert, which warns you of a rate of consumption that, if not altered, exhausts your error budget before the end of the compliance period. This type of condition is less urgent than a fast-burn condition. “We are slightly exceeding where we'd like to be at this point in the month, but we aren't in big trouble yet.”

    For a slow-burn alert, use a longer lookback period to smooth out variations in shorter-term consumption.

    The threshold you alert on in a slow-burn alert is higher than the ideal performance for the lookback period, but not significantly higher. A policy based on a shorter lookback period with high threshold might generate too many alerts, even if the longer-term consumption levels out. But if the consumption stays even a little too high for a longer period, it eventually consumes all of your error budget.

Next steps