选择预定义角色

Identity and Access Management (IAM) 为大多数 Google Cloud 服务提供多个预定义角色。每个预定义角色都包含执行任务或一组相关任务所需的权限。

对于简单任务,查找适当的预定义角色通常很简单。例如,如果主帐号需要查看 Cloud Storage 存储桶中的对象,则 Storage Object Viewer 角色 (roles/storage.objectViewer) 可能是一个不错的选择。

但是,有数百个预定义角色,这很难确定要授予主帐号的最合适角色。找到满足最小权限原则的角色可能也很困难,该原则指出主帐号不应具有比实际所需更多的权限。

本页面将引导您完成选择最合适的预定义角色的过程:

  1. 确定必要的权限
  2. 查找包含权限的角色
  3. 选择最合适的角色
  4. 确定授予角色的位置
  5. 向主帐号授予角色

确定必要的权限

要确定主帐号所需的权限,请先列出他们需要执行的任务,以及他们将用于执行这些任务的 Google Cloud 服务。例如,主帐号可能需要使用 Compute Engine 来创建虚拟机实例。

在确定任务和服务后,您可以使用一些策略来确定每个任务的必要权限:

  • 查看 Google Cloud 服务的文档。

    对于某些服务,面向任务的方法指南在“准备工作”部分或每项任务的说明中列出了每项任务所需的角色或权限。例如,请参阅 Compute Engine 导入和导出虚拟机映像的前提条件

    一些其他服务会标识有关访问权限控制的页面所需的角色和权限。例如,请参阅 Cloud Spanner Google Cloud Console 任务所需的权限

  • 确定用于完成任务的 REST 或 RPC API 方法,并查看 API 参考文档以获取所需的 IAM 权限。

    对于某些服务,REST 和 RPC API 文档列出了每种方法所需的权限。例如,请参阅适用于 instances.get 方法的 Compute Engine 文档。

  • 查看每项服务的权限列表,并根据您的判断查找相关权限。

    在大多数情况下,每个权限的名称也说明了该权限允许您执行的操作。例如,用于创建 Compute Engine 虚拟机实例的权限名为 compute.instances.create

    为了帮助您了解每个权限名称,请记得权限名称采用 SERVICE.RESOURCE_TYPE.ACTION 格式。

通常,您无需确定每个任务所需的每项权限。相反,请专注于为每个任务确定最相关的权限。如果预定义角色包含该权限,则该权限可能还包含相关权限。

在此过程中,您还应尝试确定哪些所需权限是最强大的。通常,更强大的权限包含在较少数量的预定义角色中。因此,如果您专注于这些权限,您将拥有较短的潜在角色列表供您选择。

例如,以下类型的权限特别强大:

  • 创建和删除资源的权限
  • 访问诸如加密密钥或个人身份信息 (PII) 等敏感数据的权限
  • 用于为资源设置允许政策或拒绝政策的权限
  • 更新组织、文件夹和项目的权限,可能会导致其他资源继承更新

相比之下,以下类型的权限的功能不太强大:

  • 用于列出资源的权限
  • 访问非敏感数据的权限
  • 更新风险有限的设置(例如 Compute Engine 虚拟机实例的最低要求 CPU 平台)的权限

查找包含权限的角色

确定所需的权限后,您可以搜索包含这些权限的预定义角色,并创建一个可能合适的角色列表。如需查找这些角色,最简单的方法是搜索权限参考文档,其中列出了所有 IAM 权限以及包含每个权限的角色。

为了遵循最小权限原则,您可能需要确定多个要授予的预定义角色,尤其是在所需权限属于多个 Google Cloud 服务的情况下。例如,如果主帐号需要查看 Cloud Storage 对象和管理 Cloud SQL 数据库,则单个预定义角色不太可能包含这两项服务的适当权限。如果存在此类角色,则该角色还可能包含主帐号不需要的大量不相关的权限。为了降低风险,请查找包含 Cloud Storage 所需权限的一个角色,以及包含 Cloud SQL 所需权限的其他角色。

选择最合适的角色

现在您已拥有可能合适的预定义角色列表,接下来您可以从列表中选择最合适的角色。

首先消除以下类型的角色:

  • 对于生产环境:基本角色,包括 Owner (roles/owner)、Editor (roles/editor) 和 Viewer (roles/viewer)。

    基本角色具有针对所有 Google Cloud 服务的数千项权限。在生产环境中,除非没有替代角色,否则请勿授予基本角色。应授予满足您的需求的最受限的预定义角色或自定义角色。

  • Service Agent 角色,标题通常以“Service Agent”结尾且名称以 serviceAgent 结尾。

    这些角色适用于服务代理,即 Google Cloud 服务用于访问资源的特殊服务帐号类型。Service Agent 角色往往包含多项服务的权限,其中可能包括您的主帐号不需要访问的服务。

接下来,使用预定义角色参考文档Cloud Console 中的角色页面列出每个角色具有的权限。检查每个角色,确定您不希望主帐号拥有的权限,并消除包含不需要的权限的任何角色。

如果此过程消除了所有预定义角色,请考虑创建一个适合您用例的自定义角色。否则,请选择包含最少权限的一个或多个角色,同时仍满足您的需求。

确定授予角色的位置

授予角色时,始终会针对属于资源层次结构的特定 Google Cloud 资源授予该角色。较低级层资源(例如 Compute Engine 虚拟机实例)会继承在较高级层资源(例如项目、文件夹和组织)上授予的角色。

选择您要授予已识别的预定义角色的位置:

  • 如果主帐号需要访问特定较低级层的资源,请针对这些资源授予相应角色。
  • 如果主帐号需要访问项目、文件夹或组织中的多个资源,请授予项目、文件夹或组织的角色。选择满足主帐号需求的最低级别资源。

    此外,还请考虑使用 IAM Conditions 仅在项目、文件夹或组织内的特定资源上授予角色

如果您确定了多个预定义角色,请考虑是否应在资源层次结构的不同层级授予这些角色。例如,如果主帐号需要访问单个 Cloud SQL 数据库,但访问了许多不同的 Compute Engine 虚拟机实例,您可能希望在数据库上授予 Cloud SQL 的角色和 Compute Engine 针对项目的角色。

向主帐号授予角色

现在您可以将角色授予主帐号了。如需了解如何授予角色,请参阅以下内容:

授予这些角色后,您可以使用 Policy Analyzer 和 Policy Troubleshooter 来检查主帐号可以访问哪些资源并排查访问权限问题。

如果主帐号拥有正确资源的预期权限,但无法完成其任务,那么您可能忽略了主帐号所需的权限。通过向列表添加所需的权限来迭代您之前的尝试:查找包含这些权限的角色,并选择最合适的角色。

如果您不小心授予某个角色过多的权限,则角色建议可能会建议权限较少的角色来满足主帐号的需求。某些角色绑定不会获得角色建议

后续步骤

Choose predefined roles

Identity and Access Management (IAM) provides multiple predefined roles for most Google Cloud services. Each predefined role contains the permissions that are needed to perform a task, or a group of related tasks.

For simple tasks, finding an appropriate predefined role is often straightforward. For example, if a principal needs to view objects in a Cloud Storage bucket, then the Storage Object Viewer role (roles/storage.objectViewer) is likely to be a good fit.

However, there are hundreds of predefined roles, which can make it difficult to identify the most appropriate roles to grant to your principals. It can also be challenging to find roles that follow the principle of least privilege, which states that principals should have no more permissions than they actually need.

This page walks you through the process of choosing the most appropriate predefined roles:

  1. Identify the necessary permissions.
  2. Find roles that contain the permissions.
  3. Choose the most appropriate roles.
  4. Decide where to grant the roles.
  5. Grant the roles to a principal.

Identify the necessary permissions

To identify the permissions that a principal needs, start by listing the tasks that they need to perform, and the Google Cloud services that they'll use for those tasks. For example, a principal might need to use Compute Engine to create virtual machine instances.

After you identify the tasks and services, there are a few strategies you can use to identify the necessary permissions for each task:

  • Check the documentation for the Google Cloud services.

    For some services, the task-oriented how-to guides list the roles or permissions that you need for each task, either in a "Before you begin" section or with the instructions for each task. For example, see the Compute Engine prerequisites for importing and exporting VM images.

    Some other services identify required roles and permissions on a page about access control. For example, see the Cloud Spanner required permissions for Google Cloud Console tasks.

  • Identify the REST or RPC API methods that you would use to complete the tasks, and check the API reference documentation for the required IAM permissions.

    For some services, the REST and RPC API documentation lists the permissions that each method requires. For example, see the Compute Engine documentation for the instances.get method.

  • Look at the list of permissions for each service, and use your judgment to find the relevant permissions.

    In most cases, the name of each permission also describes what the permission allows you to do with it. For example, the permission for creating a Compute Engine VM instance is named compute.instances.create.

    To help you understand each permission name, remember that permission names use the format SERVICE.RESOURCE_TYPE.ACTION.

In general, you don't need to identify every permission that's required for every task. Instead, focus on identifying the most relevant permission for each task. If a predefined role contains that permission, it's likely to contain related permissions as well.

As part of this process, you should also try to identify which of the required permissions are the most powerful. In general, more powerful permissions are included in a smaller number of predefined roles. As a result, if you focus on these permissions, you'll have a shorter list of potential roles to choose from.

For example, the following types of permissions are especially powerful:

  • Permissions to create and delete resources
  • Permissions to access sensitive data, such as encryption keys or personally identifiable information (PII)
  • Permissions to set the IAM policy for a resource
  • Permissions to update organizations, folders, and projects, which can cause other resources to inherit the updates

In contrast, the following types of permissions are less powerful:

  • Permissions to list resources
  • Permissions to access data that is not sensitive
  • Permissions to update settings that have limited risk, such as the minimum CPU platform for Compute Engine virtual machine instances

Find roles that contain the permissions

After you identify the required permissions, you can search for predefined roles that contain those permissions and make a list of roles that might be a good fit. The easiest way to find these roles is by searching the permissions reference, which lists all IAM permissions and the roles that contain each permission.

To follow the principle of least privilege, you might need to identify more than one predefined role to grant, especially if the required permissions belong to multiple Google Cloud services. For example, if a principal needs to view Cloud Storage objects and administer Cloud SQL databases, it's unlikely that a single predefined role contains the appropriate permissions for both services. If such a role exists, it might also include a large number of unrelated permissions that the principal doesn't need. To reduce risk, look for one role that contains the required permissions for Cloud Storage, and another role that contains the required permissions for Cloud SQL.

Choose the most appropriate roles

Now that you have a list of predefined roles that might be a good fit, you can choose the most appropriate roles from the list.

Start by eliminating the following types of roles:

  • For production environments: Basic roles, including Owner (roles/owner), Editor (roles/editor), and Viewer (roles/viewer).

    Basic roles include thousands of permissions across all Google Cloud services. In production environments, do not grant basic roles unless there is no alternative. Instead, grant the most limited predefined roles or custom roles that meet your needs.

  • Service agent roles, which typically have titles that end in "Service Agent" and names that end in serviceAgent.

    These roles are intended for service agents, which are a special type of service account that a Google Cloud service uses to access your resources. Service agent roles tend to contain permissions for multiple services, which might include services that your principal doesn't need to access.

Next, use the predefined roles reference or the Roles page in the Cloud Console to list the permissions that each role contains. Check each role for permissions that you don't want the principal to have, and eliminate any roles that contain unwanted permissions.

If this process eliminates all of the predefined roles, consider creating a custom role to fit your use case. Otherwise, choose the role or roles that contain the fewest number of permissions, while still meeting your needs.

Decide where to grant the roles

When you grant a role, you always grant it on a specific Google Cloud resource, which belongs to a resource hierarchy. Lower-level resources, such as Compute Engine VM instances, inherit the roles granted on higher-level resources, such as projects, folders, and organizations.

Choose where to grant the predefined roles that you identified:

  • If the principal needs access to specific lower-level resources, grant the roles on those resources.
  • If the principal needs access to many resources within a project, folder, or organization, grant the roles on the project, folder, or organization. Choose the lowest-level resource that meets the principal's needs.

    Also, consider using IAM Conditions to grant the roles only on specific resources within the project, folder, or organization.

If you identified multiple predefined roles, consider whether you should grant the roles at different levels of the resource hierarchy. For example, if a principal needs access to a single Cloud SQL database, but many different Compute Engine VM instances, you might want to grant the role for Cloud SQL on the database and the role for Compute Engine on the project.

Grant the roles to a principal

Now you're ready to grant the roles to your principal. To learn how to grant roles, see the following:

After you grant the roles, you can use the Policy Analyzer and Policy Troubleshooter to check which resources the principal can access and troubleshoot access issues.

If the principal has the intended permissions on the correct resources, but they are unable to complete their tasks, it's possible that you overlooked a permission that the principal needs. Iterate on your previous attempt by adding required permissions to the list; finding roles that contain those permissions; and choosing the most appropriate roles.

If you accidentally grant a role with too many permissions, then a role recommendation might suggest a less permissive role that would meet the principal's needs. Some role bindings don't get role recommendations.

What's next