员工身份联合

使用集合让一切井井有条 根据您的偏好保存内容并对其进行分类。

本文档介绍了员工身份联合的关键概念。

什么是员工身份联合?

通过员工身份联合,您可以使用外部身份提供方 (IdP) 对员工(用户群组,例如员工、合作伙伴和承包商)通过 IAM 进行身份验证和授权,以便用户能够访问 Google Cloud 服务。借助员工身份联合,您无需像使用 Cloud Identity 的 Google Cloud Directory Sync (GCDS) 一样将用户身份从现有 IdP 同步到 Google Cloud 身份。员工身份联合扩展了 Google Cloud 的身份功能,可支持基于属性的非同步单点登录。

用户进行身份验证后,系统会使用从 IdP 收到的信息确定对 Google Cloud 资源的访问权限范围。

您可以将员工身份联合与支持 OpenID Connect (OIDC)SAML 2.0 的任何 IdP(如 Azure Active Directory (Azure AD)、Active Directory Federation Services (AD FS)、Okta 等)搭配使用。

员工身份联合池

借助员工身份联合池,您可以管理员工身份群组及其对 Google Cloud 资源的访问权限。

通过池,您可以执行以下操作:

  • 对用户身份进行分组;例如 employeespartners
  • 授予对整个池或部分池的 IAM 访问权限。
  • 从一个或多个 IdP 联合身份。
  • 为需要类似访问权限的用户群组定义政策。
  • 指定特定于 IdP 的配置信息,包括属性映射属性条件
  • 为第三方身份启用 Google Cloud CLI 和 API 访问权限。
  • 记录池中的用户对 Cloud Audit Logs 的访问以及池 ID。

您可以创建多个池。如需查看描述此类方法的示例,请参阅示例:多个员工身份池

池是在 Google Cloud 组织级层配置的。因此,只要您拥有查看池的相应 IAM 权限,就可将池用于组织中的所有项目和文件夹。首次为组织设置员工身份联合时,需要指定池名称。在 IAM 允许政策中,您可以通过名称来引用池。因此,我们建议您在为池命名时,使其能够清楚地描述其所包含的身份。

员工身份池提供方

员工身份池提供方是描述 Google Cloud 组织和 IdP 之间关系的实体。

员工身份联合遵循 OAuth 2.0 令牌交换规范 (RFC 8693)。您可以将外部身份提供方的凭据提供给 Security Token Service,该服务会验证凭据中的身份,然后通过交换返回短期 Google Cloud 访问令牌。

Google Cloud 员工身份联合控制台

员工身份池中的用户可以访问 Google Cloud 员工身份联合控制台,也称为控制台(联合)。这些用户可以通过该控制台对支持员工身份联合的 Google Cloud 产品的界面进行访问。

特性映射

您的 IdP 会提供一些属性(某些 IdP 将其称为声明)。属性包含有关用户的信息。您可以使用通用表达式语言 (CEL) 映射这些属性以供 Google Cloud 使用。

本部分介绍 Google Cloud 提供的一组必需属性和可选属性。

您还可以在 IdP 中定义自定义属性,以供特定 Google Cloud 产品使用;例如在 IAM 允许政策中使用。

属性映射的大小上限为 4 KB。

属性如下所示:

  • google.subject(必需):用来对用户进行身份验证的唯一标识符。通常是 JWT 的主题断言,因为 Cloud Audit Logs 日志将此字段的内容记录为主帐号。您可以使用此字段配置 IAM 以进行授权决策。我们建议您不要使用可变值,因为如果您更改了 IdP 用户目录中的值,则用户会失去访问权限。

    长度上限为 127 个字节。

  • google.groups(可选):进行身份验证的用户所属的群组集合。您可以使用生成字符串数组的 CEL 子集来配置逻辑表达式。您还可以使用此字段配置 IAM 以进行授权决策。google.groups 的限制如下:

    • 我们建议您将群组名称长度限制在 100 个字符以内。

    • 如果一个用户与超过 100 个群组相关联,请定义一组较小的群组,并且仅在用于将用户联合到 Google Cloud 的断言中包含这些群组。

    • 如果您使用此属性在 IAM 中授予访问权限,则所映射群组中的每个成员都将获得访问权限。因此,我们建议您确保只有组织中的授权用户才能修改所映射群组的成员资格。

  • google.display_name(可选):用于在 Google Cloud 控制台中设置已登录用户的名称的特性。此特性不能用于 IAM 允许政策和特性条件。

    长度上限为 100 个字节。

  • google.profile_photo(可选):用户的照片缩略图的网址。我们建议照片尺寸为 400x400 像素。设置此属性后,图片会在 Google Cloud 控制台中显示为用户的个人资料照片。如果未设置该值或无法获取该值,系统会显示一个通用用户图标。此特性不能用于 IAM 允许政策或特性条件。

  • attribute.KEY(可选):用户 IdP 令牌中存在的客户定义属性。您可以使用这些自定义属性在 IAM 允许政策中定义自己的授权策略。例如,您可以选择定义用户成本中心 attribute.costcenter = "1234" 之类的特性。然后,您可以在 IAM 条件中使用此属性,以便仅向该成本中心的用户授予访问权限。

    您最多可以配置 50 个自定义属性映射规则。每个此类规则的大小上限为 2048 个字符。

    虽然我们对您可以映射的属性没有限制,但我们强烈建议您选择值稳定的属性。例如,attribute.job_description 等属性可能会因各种原因而发生变化(例如为了提高其可读性)。作为替代方案,请考虑使用 attribute.role。后者的变化表明分配责任的改变,并会反映在对用户授予的访问权限上。

特性条件

属性条件是可选的 CEL 表达式,您可以通过这些表达式对 Google Cloud 接受的身份属性设置限制条件。

使用属性条件的好处包括:

  • 您可以使用属性条件仅允许一部分外部身份向您的 Google Cloud 项目进行身份验证。例如,您可能只想允许特定团队中的身份登录,尤其是在使用公共 IdP 时。另一个例子是,您可能希望允许会计团队登录,但不允许工程团队登录。
  • 借助属性条件,您可以防止用于其他平台的凭据被用在 Google Cloud,反之亦然。这有助于避免混淆代理问题

在 IAM 政策中表示员工池用户

下表显示了用于向单个用户、用户群组、执行特定声明的用户或员工池中的所有用户授予角色的主帐号标识符。

身份 标识符格式
员工身份池中的单个身份 principal://iam.googleapis.com/locations/global/workforcePools/POOL_ID/subject/SUBJECT_ATTRIBUTE_VALUE
群组中的所有员工身份 principalSet://iam.googleapis.com/locations/global/workforcePools/POOL_ID/group/GROUP_ID
具有特定属性值的所有员工身份 principalSet://iam.googleapis.com/locations/global/workforcePools/POOL_ID/attribute.ATTRIBUTE_NAME/ATTRIBUTE_VALUE
员工身份池中的所有身份 principalSet://iam.googleapis.com/locations/global/workforcePools/POOL_ID/*

限制跨组织访问

员工身份联合池主帐号无法直接访问他们所属组织之外的资源。但是,如果主帐号被授予在组织内模拟服务帐号的权限,则可以绕过此限制条件,因为服务帐号没有同等限制。

若要限制服务帐号访问其他组织中的资源,管理员可以配置 VPC Service Controls。在 VPC Service Controls 边界内的项目中创建的服务帐号无法访问该边界外的项目中的资源。

员工池用户项目

Google Cloud 服务通常会对包含资源的项目(资源项目)收取结算费用并计算配额用量,而有些 Google Cloud API 则会对 API 调用中指定的项目收费。在这些情况下,员工身份联合池用户项目将用于结算和配额限制用途。主帐号需要拥有此项目的 serviceusage.services.use 权限。如果您已在使用 Google Cloud 服务,则可以使用现有项目进行结算和配额限制。如果您还没有项目,则可以创建一个新项目。您可以使用新项目来代替资源项目。

示例:多个员工身份联合池

本部分包含一个示例,说明了多个池的典型用法。

您可以为员工创建一个池,为合作伙伴创建另一个池。跨国组织可能会为其组织中的不同部门创建单独的池。您可以通过池进行分布式管理,其中不同的群组可以独立管理其特定池,而角色也只会授予给该池中的身份。

例如,假设一家名为 Enterprise Example Organization 的公司与另一家名为 Partner Example Organization Inc 的公司合作,提供 Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE) DevOps 服务。为了使 Partner Example Organization 的员工能够提供服务,他们必须有权访问 Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE) 和 Enterprise Example Organization 组织中的其他 Google Cloud 资源。Enterprise Example 组织已经拥有一个名为 enterprise-example-organization-employees 的员工身份联合池。

为了让 Partner Example Organization 能够管理对 Enterprise Example Organization 资源的访问权限,Enterprise Example Organization 会为 Partner Example Organization 的员工用户创建一个单独的员工池,以便 Partner Example Organization 可以管理访问权限。Enterprise Example Organization 会将该员工池提供给 Partner Example Organization 的管理员。Partner Example Organization 的管理员会使用自己的 IdP 向其员工授予访问权限。

为此,Enterprise Example Organization 的管理员会执行以下任务:

  1. 在 Enterprise Example Organization 的 IdP 中为 Partner Example Organization 的管理员创建一个身份(例如 partner-organization-admin@example.com),该身份已经在名为 enterprise-example-organization-employees 的池中配置。

  2. 创建一个名为 example-organization-partner 的新员工池。

  3. example-organization-partner 池创建以下 IAM 政策:

    {
      "bindings": [
        {
          "role": "roles/iam.workforcePoolEditor",
          "members": [
            "principalSet://iam.googleapis.com/locations/global/workforcePools/enterprise-example-organization-employees/subject/partner-organization-admin@example.com",
          ]
        }
      ]
    }
    
  4. example-organization-partner 池授予他们需要在 Enterprise Example Organization 组织中访问的资源的相应角色。

Partner Example Organization 的管理员现在可以配置 example-organization-partner 池以与其 IdP 相关联。然后,他们可以允许 Partner Example Organization 的员工使用自己组织的 IdP 凭据登录。登录后,Partner Example Organization 的员工用户便可以访问相应的 Google Cloud 资源,但会受 Enterprise Example Organization 定义的政策所约束。

简化访问权限管理

在大型企业中,IT 管理员通常会在访问权限控制模型中创建安全群组。安全群组控制对内部资源的访问权限。此外,公司通常会为员工和合作伙伴分别创建额外的群组,以将这种访问权限控制模型扩展到云资源。这可能导致深度嵌套群组数量激增,而这又会增加管理难度。

您的组织可能还提供政策来限制您可以创建的群组数量,以使用户目录层次结构保有一定的平面度。为了防止 IAM 政策配置错误并限制群组增长,一种更好的解决方案是使用多个池,以根据不同的组织单元、业务部门和合作伙伴组织对用户进行更好的分隔。然后,您可以引用这些池及其包含的群组来定义 IAM 政策(请参阅“配置 IAM”步骤中的示例)。

VPC Service Controls 限制

员工身份联合、员工池配置 API 和 Security Token Service API 均不支持 VPC Service Controls。但是,员工池用户可以访问的 Google Cloud 产品支持 VPC Service Controls。如需了解详情,请参阅 VPC Service Controls 的支持的产品和限制页面。

后续步骤

Workforce identity federation

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.

This document describes the key concepts of workforce identity federation.

What is workforce identity federation?

Workforce identity federation lets you use an external identity provider (IdP) to authenticate and authorize a workforce—a group of users, such as employees, partners, and contractors—using IAM, so that the users can access Google Cloud services. With workforce identity federation you don't need to synchronize user identities from your existing IdP to Google Cloud identities, as you would with Cloud Identity's Google Cloud Directory Sync (GCDS). Workforce identity federation extends Google Cloud's identity capabilities to support syncless, attribute-based single sign on.

After user authentication, information that is received from the IdP is used to determine the scope of access to the Google Cloud resources.

You can use workforce identity federation with any IdP that supports OpenID Connect (OIDC) or SAML 2.0, such as Azure Active Directory (Azure AD), Active Directory Federation Services (AD FS), Okta, and others.

Workforce identity federation pools

Workforce identity federation pools let you manage groups of workforce identities and their access to Google Cloud resources.

Pools let you do the following:

  • Group user identities; for example, employees or partners
  • Grant IAM access to an entire pool or a subset thereof.
  • Federate identities from one or more IdPs.
  • Define policies on a group of users that require similar access permissions.
  • Specify IdP-specific configuration information, including attribute mapping and attribute conditions.
  • Enable the Google Cloud CLI and API access for third-party identities.
  • Log access by users within a pool to Cloud Audit Logs, along with the pool ID.

You can create multiple pools. For an example that describes one such approach, see Example: Multiple workforce identity pools.

Pools are configured at the Google Cloud organization level. Because of this, pools are available across all projects and folders within the organization, as long as you have the appropriate IAM permissions to view the pool. When you first set up workforce identity federation for your organization, you provide a name for the pool. In IAM allow policies, you reference the pool by its name. Because of this, we recommend that you name the pool so that it clearly describes the identities it contains.

Workforce identity pool providers

A workforce identity pool provider is an entity that describes a relationship between your Google Cloud organization and your IdP.

Workforce identity federation follows the OAuth 2.0 Token Exchange specification (RFC 8693). You provide a credential from your external identity provider to the Security Token Service, which verifies the identity in the credential, and then returns a short-lived Google Cloud access token in exchange.

Google Cloud workforce identity federation console

Users in a workforce identity pool can access the Google Cloud workforce identity federation console, also known as the console (federated). The console provides these users with UI access to Google Cloud products that support workforce identity federation.

Attribute mappings

Your IdP provides attributes, referred to by some IdPs as claims. Attributes contain information about your users. You can map these attributes for use by Google Cloud using Common Expression Language (CEL).

This section describes the set of required and optional attributes that Google Cloud provides.

You can also define custom attributes in your IdP that can then be used by specific Google Cloud products; for example in IAM allow policies.

The maximum size for attribute mappings is 4 KB.

The attributes are as follows:

  • google.subject (Required): a unique identifier for the authenticating user. It is often the subject assertion of the JWT, because Cloud Audit Logs logs record the contents of this field as the principal. You can use this field to configure IAM for authorization decisions. We recommend that you don't use a mutable value because if you change the value in your IdP's user directory, the user loses access.

    The maximum length is 127 bytes.

  • google.groups (Optional): the collection of groups that the authenticating user is a member of. You can configure a logic expression using a subset of CEL that produces an array of strings. You can also use this field to configure IAM for authorization decisions. Limitations for google.groups are as follows:

    • We recommend that you limit the group name to 100 characters.

    • If one user is associated with more than 100 groups, define a smaller set of groups, and only include those groups in assertions used to federate the user to Google Cloud.

    • If you use this attribute to grant access in IAM, every member in the mapped groups is granted access. Therefore, we recommend that you ensure that only authorized users in your organization can modify the membership of the mapped groups.

  • google.display_name (Optional): attribute that is used to set the name of the signed-in user in the Google Cloud console. This attribute can't be used in IAM allow policies nor in the attribute condition.

    The maximum length is 100 bytes.

  • google.profile_photo (Optional): a URL of the user's thumbnail photo. We recommend the photo to be 400x400 pixels. When this attribute is set, the image is visible as the user's profile picture in the Google Cloud console. If this value isn't set, or it can't be fetched, a generic user icon is displayed instead. This attribute can't be used in either IAM allow policies or in the attribute condition.

  • attribute.KEY (Optional): a customer-defined attribute that is present in a user's IdP token. You can use these custom attributes to define your authorization strategy in an IAM allow policy. For example, you can choose to define an attribute such as the user's cost center: attribute.costcenter = "1234". This attribute could then be used in IAM conditions to grant access only to users in that cost center.

    You can configure a maximum of 50 custom attribute mapping rules. The maximum size of each such rule is 2048 characters.

    Although we don't have restrictions on the attributes you can map here, we strongly recommend that you choose attributes whose values are stable. For example, an attribute like attribute.job_description might change for many reasons (such as improving its readability). As an alternative, consider using attribute.role. Changes to the latter indicate a change of assigned responsibility and align with changes in the access granted to the user.

Attribute conditions

Attribute conditions are optional CEL expressions that let you set constraints on the identity attributes that Google Cloud accepts.

The benefits of using attribute conditions include the following:

  • You can use attribute conditions to allow only a subset of external identities to authenticate to your Google Cloud project. For example, you might want to allow only those identities that are in a specific team to sign in, especially if you are using a public IdP. For another example, you might want to allow your accounting team to sign in, but not your engineering team.
  • Attribute conditions let you prevent credentials intended for use with another platform from being used with Google Cloud, and vice-versa. This helps avoid the confused deputy problem.

Represent workforce pool users in IAM policies

The following table shows the principal identifiers that you use to grant roles to a single user, a group of users, users carrying a particular claim, or all users from a workforce pool.

Identities Identifier format
Single identity in a workforce identity pool principal://iam.googleapis.com/locations/global/workforcePools/POOL_ID/subject/SUBJECT_ATTRIBUTE_VALUE
All workforce identities in a group principalSet://iam.googleapis.com/locations/global/workforcePools/POOL_ID/group/GROUP_ID
All workforce identities with a specific attribute value principalSet://iam.googleapis.com/locations/global/workforcePools/POOL_ID/attribute.ATTRIBUTE_NAME/ATTRIBUTE_VALUE
All identities in a workforce identity pool principalSet://iam.googleapis.com/locations/global/workforcePools/POOL_ID/*

Restrict cross-organization access

Workforce identity federation pool principals can't directly access resources outside of the organization that they belong to. However, if a principal is given permission to impersonate a service account within the organization this constraint can be bypassed as service accounts aren't equally restricted.

To restrict service accounts from accessing resources in other organizations, administrators can configure VPC Service Controls. Service accounts created in a project that is within a VPC Service Controls boundary aren't able to access resources in projects outside that boundary.

Workforce pools user project

Google Cloud services typically charge billing and quota use to the project that contains the resources (a resource project), while some Google Cloud APIs charge to a project that is specified in the API call. In those cases, a workforce identity federation pool user project is used for billing and quota purposes. The principal needs to have serviceusage.services.use permission on this project. If you're already using Google Cloud services, you can use an existing project for billing and quota purposes. If you don't have an existing project, you can create a new one. The new project can be used instead of your resource projects.

Example: multiple workforce identity federation pools

This section contains an example that illustrates typical use of multiple pools.

You can create one pool for employees and another for partners. Multinational organizations might create separate pools for different divisions in their organization. Pools allow for distributed management, in which different groups can independently manage their specific pool where roles are granted only to the identities in the pool.

For example, suppose that a company named Enterprise Example Organization contracts a different company named Partner Example Organization Inc to provide Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE) DevOps services. For Partner Example Organization workforce to provide the services, their workforce must be allowed to access Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE) and other Google Cloud resources in Enterprise Example Organization's organization. Enterprise Example organization already has a workforce identity federation pool called enterprise-example-organization-employees.

To allow Partner Example Organization to manage access to Enterprise Example Organization's resources, Enterprise Example Organization creates a separate workforce pool for Partner Example Organization workforce users so that Partner Example Organization can manage. Enterprise Example Organization provides the workforce pool to a Partner Example Organization administrator. Partner Example Organization's administrator uses their own IdP to grant access to their workforce.

To do this, Enterprise Example Organization's Admin performs the following tasks:

  1. Create an identity such as partner-organization-admin@example.com for the Partner Example Organization administrator in Enterprise Example Organization's IdP, which is already configured in the pool called enterprise-example-organization-employees.

  2. Create a new workforce pool called example-organization-partner.

  3. Create the following IAM policy for the example-organization-partner pool:

    {
      "bindings": [
        {
          "role": "roles/iam.workforcePoolEditor",
          "members": [
            "principalSet://iam.googleapis.com/locations/global/workforcePools/enterprise-example-organization-employees/subject/partner-organization-admin@example.com",
          ]
        }
      ]
    }
    
  4. Grant roles for example-organization-partner pool on the resources they need access to in Enterprise Example Organization's organization.

Partner Example Organization's admin can now configure the example-organization-partner pool to connect with their IdP. They can then allow Partner Example Organization workforce to sign in with Partner Example Organization's IdP credentials. After they sign in, Partner Example Organization workforce users can access Google Cloud resources, constrained by policies that are defined by Enterprise Example Organization.

Easier access management

In large enterprises, IT administrators often create security groups as part of a best-practices access-control model. Security groups govern access to internal resources. Further, companies often create additional groups for employees and other groups for partners to extend this access-control model to cloud resources. This can result in proliferation of deeply nested groups that can become very difficult to manage.

Your organization might also have policies that limit the number of groups that you can create so as to keep the user directory hierarchy reasonably flat. A better solution to prevent misconfiguration of IAM policies and limit growth of groups is to use multiple pools to create a broader separation of users from different organizational units and business units, and partner organizations. You can then reference these pools and groups contained within these pools to define IAM policies (see examples in the Configuring IAM step).

VPC Service Controls limitations

Workforce identity federation, workforce pool configuration APIs, and Security Token Service APIs don't support VPC Service Controls. However, Google Cloud products that workforce pool users can access support VPC Service Controls. To learn more, see VPC Service Controls's supported products and limitations page.

What's next