按照建议授予最小权限

本页面简要介绍了 Cloud IAM Recommender。通过确保成员只能有他们实际需要的权限,Cloud IAM Recommender 可以帮助您实施最低权限的原则。

Cloud IAM Recommender 的工作原理

Cloud IAM 使用 Recommender 来比较项目级层的角色授予与每个成员在过去 90 天内使用的权限。如果您向成员授予了项目级层角色,而该成员没有使用该角色的所有权限,那么 Cloud IAM Recommender 可能会建议您撤消该角色。如有必要,Cloud IAM Recommender 还会建议改为授予权限较少的角色。

Cloud IAM Recommender 还会使用机器学习来确定成员以后可能需要的权限,即使该成员在过去 90 天内未使用这些权限。

Cloud IAM Recommender 不会自动应用建议。 您必须查看每条建议,然后应用或拒绝建议。

Cloud IAM Recommender 仅评估在项目层级进行的且已存在至少 90 天的角色授予。它不会评估以下任何内容:

每个成员使用的权限

为了创建建议,Cloud IAM Recommender 会确定每个成员在过去 90 天内使用的权限。成员使用权限的方式有多种:

  • 直接,通过调用需要相应权限的 API

    例如,Cloud IAM REST API 中的 roles.list 方法需要 iam.roles.list 权限。 当您调用 roles.list 方法时,可以使用 iam.roles.list 权限。

  • 间接,通过使用 Google Cloud Console 处理 Google Cloud 资源

    例如,在 Cloud Console 中,您可以修改 Compute Engine 虚拟机 (VM) 实例,该实例根据您更改的设置需要不同的权限。但是,Cloud Console 还会显示现有设置,这需要 compute.instances.get 权限。

    因此,当您在 Cloud Console 中修改虚拟机实例时,需使用 compute.instances.get 权限。

机器学习

有时,成员可能需要在过去 90 天内未使用的权限才能完成任务。为了确定成员可能需要的其他权限,Cloud IAM Recommender 使用机器学习 (ML) 模型。

Cloud IAM Recommender 的机器学习模型会针对多组信号进行训练:

  • 观察历史记录中的常见同现模式:用户过去使用了权限 A、B、C 这一事实给出了一个提示,A、B、C 权限可能在某种程度上是相关的,在 Google Cloud 上执行任务时需要一起用到它们。如果机器学习模型足够频繁地观察到该模式,则下次其他用户使用权限 A 和 B 时,模型会建议该用户可能也需要权限 C。

  • 角色定义中编码的域知识:Cloud IAM 提供数百种不同的、特定于服务的预定义角色。如果某个预定义角色包含一组权限,则强烈表示这些权限应该一起授予。

除了这些信号之外,该模型还使用字词嵌入来计算权限在语义上的相似程度。嵌入后,语义相似的权限会彼此“接近”,且更有可能一起授予。例如,嵌入后,bigquery.datasets.getbigquery.tables.list 彼此非常接近。

Cloud IAM Recommender 机器学习管道中使用的所有数据都具有 k-匿名性,这意味着无法重新识别匿名数据集中的个人。为了达到这种匿名性,我们会放弃所有个人身份信息 (PII),比如与每个权限使用模式相关的用户 ID。然后,我们放弃在 Google Cloud 中出现不够频繁的所有使用模式。系统会根据此匿名数据对全局模型进行训练。

联合学习是在不导出数据的情况下训练机器学习模型的机器学习过程,使用它可为每个组织进一步自定义全局模型。

审核日志

当您应用或拒绝建议时,Cloud IAM Recommender 会创建一个日志条目。您可以在 Cloud IAM Recommender 中查看这些条目,或者在 Google Cloud 审核日志中查看它们

其他类型的访问控制

某些 Google Cloud 服务提供独立于 Cloud IAM 的访问控制。例如,Cloud Storage 提供访问控制列表 (ACL),Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE) 支持 Kubernetes 基于角色的访问控制(RBAC)

Cloud IAM Recommender 仅分析 Cloud IAM 访问控制。如果您使用其他类型的访问控制,请在查看建议时格外小心,并考虑这些访问控制如何与您的 Cloud IAM 政策相关。

角色建议示例

以下示例展示了您可能会收到的建议类型。

撤消现有角色

用户 fuyo@example.com 被授予项目的自定义角色。自定义角色包含一项权限 iam.serviceAccounts.actAs,该权限赋予 fuyo@example.com 充当服务帐号的权限。但是,在过去 90 天内,fuyo@example.com 尚未充当该项目中的服务帐号。

因此,Cloud IAM Recommender 建议您撤消 fuyo@example.com 的自定义角色:

替换现有角色

服务帐号被授予项目的 Owner 角色 (roles/owner)。此原初角色包含 2,500 多项权限,几乎拥有对项目无限制的访问权限。但是,在过去 90 天内,该服务帐号只使用了几百项权限。

因此,Cloud IAM Recommender 建议您撤消 Owner 角色,并将其替换为其他四个角色的组合,从而移除数千项过度授予的权限:

添加机器学习建议的权限

服务帐号被授予项目的 Editor 角色 (roles/editor)。此原初角色包含 2000 多项权限,并拥有对项目的广泛访问权限。但是,在过去 90 天内,该服务帐号只使用了不到 10 项权限。

Cloud IAM Recommender 建议您撤消 Editor 角色,并将其替换为 Storage Object Admin 角色 storage.objectAdmin,后者可以完全控制 Cloud Storage 存储分区中的对象。此更改会移除数千项过度授予的权限。

此角色包括服务帐号在过去 90 天内没有使用的若干权限。但是,Cloud IAM Recommender 使用机器学习功能预测,该服务帐号将来需要这些权限。

Cloud IAM Recommender 使用机器学习 图标来标识这些额外的权限。在此示例中,resourcemanager.projects.get 权限是根据机器学习建议的:

所需权限

本部分介绍需要哪些 Cloud IAM 权限才能使用 Cloud IAM Recommender。

查看建议

要查看 Cloud IAM Recommender 的建议,您必须对正在查看的项目拥有以下权限:

  • iam.roles.get
  • iam.roles.list
  • recommender.iamPolicyRecommendations.get
  • recommender.iamPolicyRecommendations.list
  • resourcemanager.projects.getIamPolicy

要获得这些权限,同时遵循最小权限原则,请让管理员授予您以下预定义角色:

  • Role Viewer (roles/iam.roleViewer)
  • IAM Recommender Viewer (roles/recommender.iamViewer) IAM Security Reviewer (roles/iam.securityReviewer)

或者,管理员可以向您授予包含所需权限的其他角色,例如自定义角色或更宽松的预定义角色。

应用和拒绝建议

要应用和拒绝 Cloud IAM Recommender 的建议,您必须对您管理的项目拥有以下权限:

  • iam.roles.get
  • iam.roles.list
  • recommender.iamPolicyRecommendations.get
  • recommender.iamPolicyRecommendations.list
  • recommender.iamPolicyRecommendations.update
  • resourcemanager.projects.getIamPolicy
  • resourcemanager.projects.setIamPolicy

要获得这些权限,同时遵循最小权限原则,请让管理员授予您以下预定义角色:

  • Role Viewer (roles/iam.roleViewer)
  • IAM Recommender Admin (roles/recommender.iamAdmin)
  • Project IAM Admin (roles/resourcemanager.projectIamAdmin)

或者,管理员可以向您授予包含所需权限的其他角色,例如自定义角色或更宽松的预定义角色。

后续步骤

Enforce least privilege with recommendations

This page provides an overview of the Cloud IAM recommender. The Cloud IAM recommender helps you enforce the principle of least privilege by ensuring that members have only the permissions that they actually need.

How the Cloud IAM recommender works

Cloud IAM uses Recommender to compare project-level role grants with the permissions that each member used during the past 90 days. If you grant a project-level role to a member, and the member does not use all of that role's permissions, then the Cloud IAM recommender is likely to recommend that you revoke the role. If necessary, the Cloud IAM recommender also recommends less permissive roles as a replacement.

The Cloud IAM recommender also uses machine learning to identify permissions that a member is likely to need in the future, even if the member did not use those permissions in the past 90 days.

The Cloud IAM recommender does not apply recommendations automatically. Instead, you must review each recommendation, then either apply or dismiss the recommendation.

The Cloud IAM recommender evaluates only role grants that were made at the project level, and that have existed for at least 90 days. It does not evaluate any of the following items:

Permissions used by each member

To create recommendations, the Cloud IAM recommender identifies the permissions that each member used in the past 90 days. There are a few ways in which a member can use a permission:

  • Directly, by calling an API that requires the permission

    For example, the roles.list method in the Cloud IAM REST API requires the iam.roles.list permission. When you call the roles.list method, you use the iam.roles.list permission.

  • Indirectly, by using the Google Cloud Console to work with Google Cloud resources

    For example, in the Cloud Console, you can edit a Compute Engine virtual machine (VM) instance, which requires different permissions based on which settings you change. However, the Cloud Console also displays the existing settings, which requires the compute.instances.get permission.

    As a result, when you edit a VM instance in the Cloud Console, you use the compute.instances.get permission.

Machine learning

Sometimes, a member might need permissions not used in the last 90 days in order to do their job. To identify the additional permissions a member is likely to need, the Cloud IAM recommender uses a machine learning (ML) model.

The Cloud IAM recommender's machine learning model is trained on multiple sets of signals:

  • Common co-occurrence patterns in the observed history: The fact that a user used permission A, B, and C in the past provides a hint that A, B, and C might be related in some way and that they are needed together to carry out a task on Google Cloud. If the ML model observes this pattern frequently enough, the next time a different user uses permission A and B, the model will suggest that the user might need permission C as well.

  • Domain knowledge as encoded in the role definitions: Cloud IAM provides hundreds of different predefined roles that are service-specific. If a predefined role contains a set of permissions, it is a strong signal that those permissions should be granted together.

In addition to these signals, the model also uses word embedding to calculate how semantically similar the permissions are. Semantically similar permissions will be "close" to each other after embedding, and more likely to be granted together. For example, bigquery.datasets.get and bigquery.tables.list will be very close to each other after embedding.

All data used in the Cloud IAM recommender machine learning pipeline has k-anonymity, meaning that individuals in the anonymized data set cannot be re-identified. To achieve this level of anonymity, we drop all personally identifiable information (PII) such as the user ID related to each permission usage pattern. Then we drop all usage patterns that do not show up frequently enough across Google Cloud. The global model is trained on this anonymized data.

The global model can be further customized for each organization using federated learning, a machine learning process that trains machine learning models without exporting data.

Audit logging

When you apply or dismiss a recommendation, Cloud IAM recommender creates a log entry. You can view these entries in the Cloud IAM recommender, or you can view them in your Google Cloud audit logs.

Other types of access controls

Some Google Cloud services provide access controls that are separate from Cloud IAM. For example, Cloud Storage provides access control lists (ACLs), and Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE) supports Kubernetes role-based access control (RBAC).

The Cloud IAM recommender analyzes only Cloud IAM access controls. If you use other types of access controls, take extra care when you review your recommendations, and consider how those access controls relate to your Cloud IAM policies.

Examples of role recommendations

The following examples show the types of recommendations that you can receive.

Revoke an existing role

The user fuyo@example.com was granted a custom role on a project. The custom role includes one permission, iam.serviceAccounts.actAs, which gives fuyo@example.com the ability to act as a service account. However, during the past 90 days, fuyo@example.com hasn't acted as a service account in that project.

Therefore, the Cloud IAM recommender suggests that you revoke the custom role from fuyo@example.com:

Replace an existing role

A service account was granted the Owner role (roles/owner) on a project. This primitive role includes more than 2,500 permissions and grants almost unlimited access to a project. However, during the past 90 days, the service account has used only a few hundred permissions.

Therefore, the Cloud IAM recommender suggests that you revoke the Owner role and replace it with a combination of four other roles, which removes thousands of overgranted permissions:

Add permissions suggested by machine learning

A service account was granted the Editor role (roles/editor) on a project. This primitive role includes more than 2,000 permissions and grants extensive access to a project. However, during the past 90 days, the service account has used fewer than 10 permissions.

The Cloud IAM recommender suggests that you revoke the Editor role and replace it with the Storage Object Admin role (storage.objectAdmin), which grants full control of objects in a Cloud Storage bucket. This change removes thousands of overgranted permissions.

This role includes several permissions that the service account did not use in the past 90 days. However, using machine learning, the Cloud IAM recommender predicts that the service account will need these permissions in the future.

The Cloud IAM recommender uses a Machine learning icon to identify these additional permissions. In this example, the resourcemanager.projects.get permission was recommended based on machine learning:

Required permissions

This section describes the Cloud IAM permissions that you need in order to work with the Cloud IAM recommender.

View recommendations

To view recommendations from the Cloud IAM recommender, you must have the following permissions for the project you are viewing:

  • iam.roles.get
  • iam.roles.list
  • recommender.iamPolicyRecommendations.get
  • recommender.iamPolicyRecommendations.list
  • resourcemanager.projects.getIamPolicy

To gain these permissions while following the principle of least privilege, ask your administrator to grant you the following predefined roles:

  • Role Viewer (roles/iam.roleViewer)
  • Either IAM Recommender Viewer (roles/recommender.iamViewer) or IAM Security Reviewer (roles/iam.securityReviewer)

Alternatively, your administrator can grant you a different role that includes the required permissions, such as a custom role or a more permissive predefined role.

Apply and dismiss recommendations

To apply and dismiss recommendations from the Cloud IAM recommender, you must have the following permissions for the project you are managing:

  • iam.roles.get
  • iam.roles.list
  • recommender.iamPolicyRecommendations.get
  • recommender.iamPolicyRecommendations.list
  • recommender.iamPolicyRecommendations.update
  • resourcemanager.projects.getIamPolicy
  • resourcemanager.projects.setIamPolicy

To gain these permissions while following the principle of least privilege, ask your administrator to grant you the following predefined roles:

  • Role Viewer (roles/iam.roleViewer)
  • IAM Recommender Admin (roles/recommender.iamAdmin)
  • Project IAM Admin (roles/resourcemanager.projectIamAdmin)

Alternatively, your administrator can grant you a different role that includes the required permissions, such as a custom role or a more permissive predefined role.

What's next