適合資料中心專業人員的 Google Cloud Platform:儲存空間

本文說明 Google Cloud Platform 的儲存服務,以及這些服務與傳統儲存模型之間的關聯性。本文說明下列儲存類型及其雲端對應服務:

  • 「磁碟儲存空間」,包括直接連接的儲存空間 (DAS)、網路連接的儲存空間 (NAS) 和儲存區域網路 (SAN)
  • 物件儲存空間
  • 封存儲存空間,包括磁碟陣列與磁帶媒體

核心儲存元件

本節介紹核心儲存元件的簡短調查,這是由 Cloud Platform 所提供。

區塊儲存空間

Cloud Platform 提供兩種區塊儲存空間。這兩種磁碟類型皆與 Google Compute Engine 整合。Google Compute Engine 是 Cloud Platform 的基礎架構式服務 (IaaS) 產品,可以掛接到 Compute Engine 虛擬機器 (VM) 執行個體上:

  • 永久磁碟:連接到 VM 執行個體上的網路連接磁碟區。
  • 本機 SSD:直接連接到執行 VM 執行個體的實體機器。

永久磁碟

永久磁碟是虛擬區塊儲存磁碟區。當您建立 VM 執行個體時,執行個體會隨附一個可開機的永久磁碟,其中包含電腦的作業系統。根據 VM 的電腦類型而定,您最多可以連接 128 個磁碟區或 64 TB 的永久磁碟。

永久磁碟的效能取決於磁碟類型、磁碟大小,以及連接磁碟之 VM 執行個體的總處理量上限。每個永久磁碟都可以是 HDD 或 SSD,而每種類型都有通常與其實體複本相關聯的效能特性:標準 HDD 永久磁碟在處理連續讀取/寫入作業時具有效率與經濟性,SSD 永久磁碟則更適合用於高速率的隨機 IOPS。在您達到連接的 VM 執行個體的總處理量上限之前,特定永久磁碟的效能會隨著磁碟大小而增加。

內含永久磁碟的電腦與內含 VM 執行個體的電腦共置在同一個區域,並與 Google 的網路架構相連。Google 網路通常可以提供超過每秒 1 PB 的總頻寬,這有助於確保連接網路的永久磁碟總處理量和 I/O 屬性能夠達到傳統本機連接磁碟的水準。

雖然永久磁碟可以在永久磁碟所在區域中使用,但不會跨區域複製。如果連接永久磁碟的 VM 執行個體離線,該永久磁碟會保存相關資料,但將無法存取。如要確保使用永久磁碟時的高可用性,您必須在執行工作負載時所在的地區與區域之間做好高可用性的設計。如要進一步瞭解地區與區域,請參閱地區和區域一文。

本機 SSD

本機 SSD 實體連接到與 Compute Engine VM 執行個體相同的主機機器。本機 SSD 的總處理量高於標準永久磁碟或 SSD 永久磁碟,延遲時間也比這兩者短。但是,本機 SSD 有一些需要注意的事項:

  • 本機 SSD 的彈性比永久磁碟低。與永久磁碟不同,本機 SSD 的大小限制在 375 GB 以內。您最多可將 8 個磁碟區連接到特定的非共用核心 VM 執行個體,但無法將本機 SSD 連接到共用核心 VM 執行個體。此外,您無法將本機 SSD 做為開機裝置使用。
  • 一般來說,本機 SSD 不具有永久性,雖然資料會在您重新啟動 VM 執行個體時保留下來,但當您停止執行個體時,資料將會遺失。

物件儲存空間

Google Cloud Storage 是一種託管物件儲存服務,可讓您儲存及存取大量不同大小的二進位物件或 Blob。Cloud Storage 值區是 Cloud Platform 上最具擴充性和耐用性的儲存選項。如果您的應用程式不需要區塊儲存空間,強烈建議您考慮將資料儲存在 Cloud Storage 值區中。

Cloud Storage 提供四種類別的儲存空間。所有 Cloud Storage 類別都可以讓您快速存取所有資料,並支援同一組 API 呼叫:

  • 「多地區」是可用性最高的 Cloud Storage 類別,適合儲存大規模內容和提供媒體檔案。
  • 「地區」可讓您在特定地區為運算與儲存資源進行配對。這項特性使「地區」成為資料分析、機器學習及運算工作負載 (例如媒體處理) 的理想選擇。
  • 「Nearline」和「Coldline」提供具成本效益的儲存空間,可用於備份及封存使用案例。

服務模型比較

本節將最常用的資料中心儲存模型對應至 Cloud Platform 的儲存空間,並說明雲端服務如何從傳統資料中心技術中分離開來。

直接連接的儲存空間 (DAS)

在資料中心,「直接連接的儲存空間 (DAS)」有時也稱為「本機磁碟」,是直接連接至實體伺服器的實體磁碟區。 這種磁碟區可在內部連接做為開機磁碟使用,或在外部連接做為外接硬碟使用。如果您想要允許其他伺服器存取本機磁碟上的資料,必須明確允許伺服器的作業系統共用網路中的磁碟。

在雲端,本機磁碟與 DAS 並不一定是同義詞。例如,在 Cloud Platform 上,本機 SSD 與永久磁碟都能支援需使用本機磁碟的工作負載:

  • 當永久磁碟在幕後連接網路時,就相當於 Compute Engine 上的 DAS。這兩種永久磁碟類型在其各自的用途上提供優異的效能,而且也都比本機 SSD 便宜,因此對大多數工作負載而言都是很好的選擇。
  • 本機 SSD 則更類似傳統 DAS,對於具有高儲存效能需求的工作負載而言是較佳選擇。但是,本機 SSD 並不具有永久性,因此無法做為開機磁碟使用,也不可用於需使用永久本機儲存空間的工作負載。

網路連接的儲存空間 (NAS)

在資料中心,「網路連接的儲存空間 (NAS)」 裝置又稱為「檔案伺服器」,為應用程式提供一種方法來讀取及更新跨電腦共用的檔案。一般而言,檔案伺服器會使用一種通訊協定來讓用戶端電腦掛接檔案系統,並且像在本機託管一樣地存取檔案。

Cloud Platform 目前並不將原生檔案伺服器解決方案當成一種服務來提供,但您可以透過各種方式在 Cloud Platform 上執行檔案伺服器。詳情請參閱 Google Compute Engine 上的檔案伺服器一文。

儲存區域網路 (SAN)

在資料中心,「儲存區域網路」(SAN)」是一種提供區塊層級存取權與內部管理層的遠端儲存單元,您可以透過這種方式將個別邏輯單元號碼 (LUN) 佈建至資源。連接 SAN 時,使用者會將 SAN 本身掛接為磁碟,而非透過連接的磁碟,以檔案伺服器的方式連接伺服器。

您可在 Cloud Platform 使用永久磁碟來支援預期使用 SAN 的工作負載。在 SAN 環境使用時,永久磁碟就相當於透過邏輯單元號碼 (LUN) 裝置存取的邏輯磁碟區,並且可透過類似方式佈建。就像 LUN 式邏輯磁碟區一樣,您可將多個永久磁碟掛接至單一 VM 執行個體。您也可將單一唯讀永久磁碟掛接至多個 VM 執行個體。

永久磁碟是特定區域的本機磁碟,這表示如有必要,您可以繼續使用 LUN 區域劃分做為限制電腦存取權的策略。

當您從 SAN 轉移到 Cloud Platform 時,也會得到一些額外的好處,而且是對雲端而言獨一無二的好處:

  • 永久磁碟式 SAN 幾乎沒有儲存空間上限。 您可以即時佈建新永久磁碟,不用擔心耗盡實體儲存空間。 個別 VM 執行個體則受限於 128 個永久磁碟,等同於 64 TB 的區塊儲存空間。
  • 您不需要擔心實體硬體的問題,例如是否需要最佳化可連接至特定 LUN 的 VM 執行個體數目。
  • 由於系統預設會複製永久磁碟,因此您不必擔心如何選擇最佳 RAID 等級的問題。

封存儲存空間

在資料中心,您會使用標準「封存儲存空間」媒體類型,例如磁帶媒體、儲存磁碟陣列,或同時使用這兩者封存必須長期保留供業務或法務目的使用的資料。這兩種儲存類型都有各自的缺點:

  • 儲存磁碟陣列價格昂貴。除了硬體本身的初期費用外,如果您的備份政策需要將資料移至外部,您可能需要在另一個資料中心保留備份。您在為資料中心建立和維護連線能力時,還需要支付額外的費用。
  • 磁帶媒體比儲存磁碟陣列便宜,但會增加管理負擔。如要有效管理磁帶封存,您需要使用目錄伺服器來追蹤磁帶的記錄,也需要磁帶庫以及管理磁帶庫和相關的匯入/匯出作業的系統管理員。某些公司也需要外部廠商定期執行安全磁帶取送工作。

當您轉移到雲端時,這些硬體與人力資源費用就會降低。例如,在 Cloud Platform 上,您可以將這兩種方法換成 Cloud Storage NearlineCloud Storage Coldline,以獲得「更冷」的儲存解決方案。Cloud Storage Nearline 專為預期每月存取少於一次,但一年中可能會存取多次的資料所設計。Cloud Storage Coldline 則專為預期一年存取少於一次的資料所設計。

Cloud Storage Nearline 與 Cloud Storage Coldline help 可以協助解決許多對於傳統封存儲存方法而言較為痛苦的問題。例如,相對於磁帶媒體,Cloud Storage Nearline 與 Cloud Storage Coldline 都具有耐用性及可靠性。您不需要擔心磁帶是否處於正常工作狀態,也不需要擔心從外部設施擷取磁帶或解析跨多磁帶資料的問題。此外,您再也不必擔心資料複製的問題,根據預設,Cloud Storage Nearline 與 Cloud Storage Coldline 會複製您的資料,進而確保耐用性與可用性。

另外,相較於現場儲存磁碟陣列,Cloud Storage Nearline 與 Cloud Storage Coldline 可以減少延遲時間,不到一秒鐘的時間就可以擷取您的第一筆資料。但是,相較於儲存磁碟陣列,這種方式並不需要負擔前期硬體成本以及昂貴的維護合約。有了 Cloud Storage,您只需要依需求付費即可。

最後,Cloud Storage 還能與數種熱門的目錄管理系統整合。在此模式之下,您可以繼續使用目前的軟體,將新封存備份傳送至 Cloud Storage Nearline 或 Cloud Storage Coldline。詳情請參閱 Google Cloud Storage 合作夥伴一文。

費用

永久磁碟與本機 SSD

Compute Engine 永久磁碟與本機 SSD 依每月使用的 GB 數計費。如要進一步瞭解永久磁碟與本機 SSD 定價,請參閱 Compute Engine 定價一文。

Cloud Storage 多地區與地區

Cloud Storage 的定價模式與傳統資料中心儲存空間有巨大的差異。在資料中心,您必須提前購買 NAS 或 SAN 儲存硬體。相較之下,Google Cloud Storage 是按用量計費。系統會針對您的每月儲存資料量、網路輸出量、多地區或地區位置之間的資料傳輸量,以及您所提出的 API 要求數目向您收費。您不必擔心因購買自有硬體而必須簽訂維護合約,或因發生潛在硬體失敗問題而產生的相關費用。

如要進一步瞭解 Cloud Storage 價格,請參閱 Cloud Storage 定價一文。

Cloud Storage Nearline 與 Cloud Storage Coldline

與 Cloud Storage 多地區儲存空間類別一樣,Cloud Storage Nearline 與 Cloud Storage Coldline 會根據每月儲存資料量、網路輸出量,以及多地區或地區位置之間的資料傳輸量來定價 如同封存類別,Cloud Storage Nearline 與 Cloud Storage Coldline 也提供免費及最短的儲存擷取時間。如果您在屆滿最短儲存時間之前即刪除或修改資料,則仍需支付剩餘時間的費用。例如,如果您在 Cloud StorageNearline 中儲存某物件 5 之天之後就予以刪除,則仍須支付該物件剩餘 25 天的儲存費用。

如要進一步瞭解 Cloud Storage Nearline 與 Cloud Storage Coldline 價格,請參閱 Cloud Storage 定價一文。

後續步驟

下一篇文章:在 Cloud Platform 上進行管理

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
Google Cloud Platform for Data Center Professionals

Google Cloud Platform for Data Center Professionals: Storage

This article discusses storage services on Google Cloud Platform, and how these services relate to traditional storage models. The article discusses the following storage types and their cloud counterparts:

  • Disk storage, including direct-attached storage (DAS), network-attached storage (NAS), and storage area networks (SAN)
  • Object storage
  • Archival storage, including disk arrays and magnetic tape media

Core storage components

This section provides a brief survey of the core storage components provided by Cloud Platform.

Block storage

Cloud Platform provides two block storage types. Both disk types are integrated into Google Compute Engine, Cloud Platform's infrastructure-as-a-service (IaaS) product, and can be mounted to Compute Engine virtual machine (VM) instances:

  • Persistent disks, which are network-attached volumes that you can attach to your VM instances.
  • Local SSDs, which are directly attached to the physical machine on which your VM instance is running.

Persistent disks

Persistent disks are virtual block storage volumes. When you create a VM instance, the instance comes with a single bootable persistent disk that contains the machine's operating system. You can attach up to 128 volumes or 64 TB of persistent disks, depending on your VM's machine type.

A persistent disk's performance depends on the type of the disk, the size of the disk, and the maximum throughput of the VM instance to which the disk is attached. Each persistent disk can be either an HDD or a SSD, and each type has the performance characteristics typically associated with its physical counterpart: standard HDD persistent disks are efficient and economical for handling sequential read/write operations, whereas SSD persistent disks are more appropriate for high rates of random IOPS. The performance of a given persistent disk will increase with the disk's size until you hit the attached VM instance's throughput limits.

The machines containing the persistent disks are colocated in the same zone as the machines containing your VM instances, and are connected with Google's network fabric. Google's networks typically can deliver more than one petabit per second of total bisection bandwidth, helping to ensure that these networked persistent disks have comparable throughput and I/O properties to traditional locally attached disks.

While persistent disks are available within the zone in which they reside, they are not replicated across zones. If the VM instance attached to a persistent disk goes offline, that persistent disk retains its data but becomes inaccessible. To ensure high availability when using persistent disks, you must design for high availability between the regions and zones in which your workload is running. For more information about regions and zones, see Regions and Zones.

Local SSD

A local SSD is physically attached to the same host machine as your Compute Engine VM instance. Local SSDs have higher throughput and lower latency than standard persistent disks or SSD persistent disks. However, local SSDs come with some caveats:

  • Local SSDs are less flexible than persistent disks. Unlike persistent disks, local SSDs are restricted to 375 GB in size. You can attach up to 8 volumes to a given non-shared-core VM instance, and you cannot attach local SSDs to a shared-core VM instance. In addition, you cannot use a local SSD as a boot device.
  • Local SSDs are not generally persistent. Though your data persists if you restart your VM instance, the data will be lost if you stop your instance.

Object storage

Google Cloud Storage is a hosted object storage service that allows you to store and access large numbers of binary objects, or blobs, of varying sizes. Cloud Storage buckets are the most scalable and durable storage option available on Cloud Platform. If your applications do not require block storage, you should strongly consider storing your data in a Cloud Storage bucket.

Cloud Storage offers four classes of storage. All Cloud Storage classes provide fast access to all data and support the same set of API calls:

  • Multi-Regional offers the highest availability of the Cloud Storage classes. This class is ideal for both large-scale content storage and media file serving.
  • Regional allows you to pair compute and storage resources in a particular region. This characteristic makes Regional an ideal choice for data analytics, machine learning, and compute workloads such as media processing.
  • Nearline and Coldline provide cost-effective storage for backup and archival use cases.

Service model comparisons

This section maps the most common data center storage models to Cloud Platform's storage offerings, and discusses how cloud services departs from traditional data center technologies.

Direct-attached storage (DAS)

In a data center, direct-attached storage (DAS), sometimes called local disk, is a physical volume directly attached to a physical server. This volume can be internally attached, as with a boot disk, or externally attached, as with an external hard drive. If you want to allow other servers to access the data on a local disk, you must explicitly allow the server's operating system to share the disk across your network.

In the cloud, local disk and DAS aren't necessarily synonymous. On Cloud Platform, for example, both local SSDs and persistent disks can support workloads that expect local disks:

  • Persistent disks, while network-attached behind the scenes, are the default analogue for DAS on Compute Engine. Both persistent disk types provide strong performance for their respective use cases, and both are less expensive than local SSDs as well, making them a good choice for most workloads.
  • Local SSDs are more directly analogous to traditional DAS, and are a good choice for workloads that have high storage-performance requirements. However, local SSDs are not persistent. They cannot be used as boot disks, and they should not be used for workloads that expect persistent local storage.

Network-attached storage (NAS)

In a data center, a network-attached storage (NAS) device, also called a filer, provides a way for applications to read and update files that are shared across machines. Typically, a filer uses a protocol that enables client machines to mount a filesystem and access the files as if they were hosted locally.

Cloud Platform does not currently provide a native filer solution as a service, but you can run a filer on Cloud Platform in a variety of ways. For more information, see File Servers on Google Compute Engine.

Storage area network (SAN)

In a data center, a storage area network (SAN) is a remote storage unit that provides both block-level access and an internal management layer through which you can provision individual logical unit numbers (LUNs) to resources. When connecting to a SAN, users mount the SAN itself as a disk rather than connecting to a server with attached disks, as with a filer.

On Cloud Platform, you can use persistent disks to support workloads that expect SANs. Used in a SAN context, persistent disks are analogous to the logical disk volumes you would access through logical unit number (LUN) devices, and can be provisioned in a similar way. As with LUN-based logical disk volumes, you can mount multiple persistent disks to a single VM instance. You can also mount a single read-only persistent disk to multiple VM instances.

Persistent disks are local to a given zone, which means that you can continue to use LUN zoning as a strategy for restricting machine access if necessary.

When you move your SAN to Cloud Platform, you also get some additional benefits that are unique to the cloud:

  • A persistent-disk-based SAN has almost no storage ceiling. You can provision new persistent disks on the fly without worrying about running out of physical storage space. Individual VM instances, however, are limited to 128 persistent disks or 64 TB of block storage.
  • You don't have to worry about physical hardware considerations, such as optimizing the number of VM instances you can connect to a given LUN.
  • Because persistent disks are replicated by default, you don't need to worry about choosing an optimal RAID level.

Archival storage

In a data center, you use standard archival storage media types, such as magnetic tape media, a storage disk array, or both, for archival data that must be retained long-term for business or legal purposes. Each of these storage types has its drawbacks:

  • Storage disk arrays can be expensive. In addition to the up-front cost of the hardware itself, if your backup policy requires that data be moved offsite, you might need to keep backups in a second data center. This situation brings the additional costs of establishing and maintaining connectivity to that data center.
  • Magnetic tape media is cheaper than a storage disk array, but requires more administrative overhead. To effectively manage your tape archives, you need a catalog server that allows you to track the history of your tapes, a tape library, and a sysadmin to manage the library and the accompanying import/exports. Some businesses also require an external vendor who can perform secure tape pickups and deliveries regularly.

When you move to the cloud, this outlay of hardware and human resources is reduced. For example, on Cloud Platform, you can replace both methods with Cloud Storage Nearline and Cloud Storage Coldline, which provide progressively "colder" storage solutions. Cloud Storage Nearline is designed for data you expect to access less than once a month, but possibly multiple times throughout the year. Cloud Storage Coldline is designed for data you expect to access less than once a year.

Cloud Storage Nearline and Cloud Storage Coldline help address many of the issues that plague traditional archival storage methods. For example, unlike magnetic tape media, both Cloud Storage Nearline and Cloud Storage Coldline are durable and dependable. You don't have to worry about whether your tape is in working order, nor do you have to worry about retrieving your tape from an offsite facility or resolving data that spans multiple tapes. Moreover, you no longer have to worry about data replication—by default, Cloud Storage Nearline and Cloud Storage Coldline replicate your data to help ensure durability and availability.

In addition, Cloud Storage Nearline and Cloud Storage Coldline offer low latency that is comparable to an on-site storage disk array, with only subseconds to retrieve your first byte of data. However, in contrast to a storage disk array, you don't have to pay for upfront hardware costs and expensive maintenance contracts. With Cloud Storage, you pay only for what you use.

Finally, Cloud Storage integrates with several popular catalog management systems. With this model, you can continue to use your current software and send your new archival backups to Cloud Storage Nearline or Cloud Storage Coldline. For more information, see Google Cloud Storage Partners.

Costs

Persistent disk and local SSD

Compute Engine persistent disks and local SSDs are priced per GB per month. For more information about persistent disk and local SSD pricing, see Compute Engine Pricing.

Cloud Storage Mutli-Regional and Regional

Cloud Storage's pricing model contrasts sharply with that of traditional data-center storage. In a data center, you have to purchase your NAS or SAN storage hardware up front. In contrast, Google Cloud Storage charges by usage. You are billed for the amount of data you store per month, the amount of network egress, the amount of data transfer between multi-regional or regional locations, and the number of API requests you make. You don't have to worry about maintenance contracts or the costs associated with potential hardware failures that come with purchasing your own hardware.

For more information about Cloud Storage pricing, see Cloud Storage Pricing.

Cloud Storage Nearline and Cloud Storage Coldline

As with the Cloud Storage Multi-Regional storage class, Cloud Storage Nearline and Cloud Storage Coldline are priced by amount of data stored per month, by network egress, and by the amount of data transfer between multi-regional or regional locations. As archival classes, Cloud Storage Nearline and Cloud Storage Coldline also have a storage retrieval fee and a minimum storage period. If you delete or modify your data before the minimum storage period, you will be charged for the remainder of the period. For example, if you delete an object 5 days after storing the object in Cloud Storage Nearline, you will be charged for the remaining 25 days of storage for that object.

For more information about Cloud Storage Nearline and Cloud Storage Coldline pricing, see Cloud Storage Pricing.

What's next?

Next: Management on Cloud Platform

Send feedback about...

Google Cloud Platform for Data Center Professionals