適合資料中心專家的 Google Cloud Platform:運算

本文將探討 Google Cloud Platform 的運算服務項目以及相較於傳統資料中心技術的亦同之處。文章著重於 Google Compute Engine,亦即 Cloud Platform 的基礎架構式服務 (IaaS) 產品。

服務模型比較

一般而言,資料中心會採用伺服器虛擬化,此模型可在單一實體機器上執行多個虛擬的 Unix/Linux 或 Windows 伺服器。這些虛擬化機器的建立、佈建及管理作業則是透過 VMware vSphere 或 XenCenter 等軟體套件執行。

Compute Engine 也是採用這種模型,但是其將伺服器虛擬化和相關的管理工具結合為一個整合套件。Compute Engine 上的虛擬機器稱為虛擬機器 (VM) 執行個體。您可以透過幾種方式建立及管理這些執行個體,包括:

管理

使用 Compute Engine 就可去除管理虛擬機器時的大量管理負擔。您無需掛心佈建實體伺服器、網路或儲存空間容量等事宜,也不用再煩惱如何設定和配置實體網路。至於軟體方便,您也不必擔心還要安裝和更新虛擬管理工具;處理虛擬管理程序軟體、伺服器韌體和相關工具的自動更新;或是在實體機器維護期間如何遷移虛擬機器。Google 會在後端無縫地為您處理這些工作。

容量規劃和資源佈建

在傳統的資料中心裡,您通常會在每個季度花一些時間檢視目前的資源需求,以及預測未來的資源需求。您必須考量機架空間、冷卻、電力、頻寬、纜線配置、採購時間、運送時間以及有空裝載架設新裝備的工程師等實體、邏輯和人力資源的相關問題。除此之外,您還必須主動管理容量和工作負載分配,確保 Hadoop 管道等大量消耗資源的工作不會對必須維持高度可用性的服務 (例如網路伺服器) 造成干擾。

反之,如果使用 Compute Engine,您就可以將規劃容量的大部分工作都交給 Google 進行。此外您還可視需求增減 VM 執行個體的規模。由於我們採取以秒計費、用多少付多少的計價方式,所以您無須購買自己用不到或是只有在流量尖峰時段才會派上用場的用量額度,因而能儘可能降低相關成本。每當有使用量過低的執行個體,GCP 主控台甚至還會通知您調整這類執行個體的大小或予以刪除,協助您節省成本。

此外,當您建立執行個體時,系統就會將您為該執行個體指定的 RAM 和 CPU 分配給您。這樣就不會因為其他執行個體或服務在執行個體的實體主機機器上佔用額外的資源,而降低您的效能。

如果使用 Cloud Platform,您確實需要管理自己的「配額」,亦即指定您允許在 Cloud Platform 上耗用的資源數量。您隨時皆可在 GCP 主控台上檢視配額及要求額外配額。為了避免使用 Cloud Platform API 時達到配額上限,請提前主動要求額外配額,尤其當您預料到耗用量會大幅增加時更應該如此。您也可以要求減少配額,以管理自己的開支及限制人員和程序耗用過多資源。

每月正常運作時間保證

Compute Engine 提供的服務水準協議 (SLA) 載明每月正常運作時間百分比至少為 99.95%,但是需遵守特定限制。詳情請參閱 Google Compute Engine 服務水準協議

功能比較

基本設定與管理

Compute Engine 提供的基本功能和彈性和 VMware ESXi、KVM 和 Xen 等常見的管理程序服務相同。如同上述服務,您可以:

機器映像檔

和其他虛擬機器一樣,您也是從磁碟映像檔將 Compute Engine VM 執行個體實例化。Compute Engine 支援下列幾種方式:

存取權與權限

您可以透過 SSH、RDP 或序列埠連線至您的 Compute Engine 執行個體。GCP 主控台提供在瀏覽器中運作的 SSH 終端機,而您可使用 gcloud 指令列工具透過自己選擇的終端機建立連線。如果您選擇為執行個體建立靜態的外部 IP,則可使用 Windows 遠端桌面或 ssh 等傳統工具。

VM 執行個體可使用服務帳戶連線至 Cloud Platform 資源。服務帳戶是一種特殊的 Google 帳戶,由應用程式使用透過程式輔助方式存取 Google 服務。此帳戶屬於您的應用程式或 VM 執行個體,而不屬於個別使用者。應用程式透過服務帳戶呼叫服務的 API,因此不會直接牽涉到使用者。

Cloud Platform 提供 Google Cloud IAM 以進行聯合身分管理和更精細的存取權管理。有關與 Compute Engine 相關之 Cloud IAM 的討論,請參閱身分與存取權管理角色。如需取得在 Cloud Platform 上進行身分管理的更廣泛討論,請參閱管理一文。

機器佈建

您可以透過 Google Cloud Deployment Manager,用宣告的方式管理運算資源的佈建和設定,其中包括 VM 執行個體、磁碟、網路以及幾乎在 Cloud Platform 專案上的所有其他資源。Deployment Manager 可讓您使用簡易資料標記來自訂和自動進行部署。只要透過手上正在使用的 Chef、Puppet、Packer 或 Vagrant 等工具,您就能夠在 VM 執行個體中設定管理和自動化作業。

如要查看在 Cloud Platform 上佈建資源的完整說明,請參閱管理一文。

先佔資源

Cloud Platform 針對可先佔並在不同主機上繼續執行的工作提供先佔 VM。除了可預先佔用外,先佔 VM 和一般 VM 完全相同;亦即先佔 VM 的運作時間不得超過 24 小時,如果 Google 基於其他用途需要容量則可預先搶佔這類 VM。先佔 VM 相較於標準 VM 執行個體可省下高達 80% 的費用,實際情況視您選擇的執行個體類型而定。

儲存空間

Compute Engine VM 執行個體會採用永久磁碟或虛擬化區塊儲存空間做為開機及儲存空間的磁碟區。永久磁碟分成標準 (HDD) 和 SSD 磁碟區類型,而且您可依據自己的 VM 機器類型動態佈建最多達 128 個永久磁碟。如要進一步瞭解 Compute Engine 永久磁碟,請參閱儲存空間一文。

網路

Compute Engine 提供軟體定義網路,可讓您在 Compute Engine 上以軟體層級設定專屬和公開網路。如需瞭解 Cloud Platform 網路和傳統資料中心網路的對應比較,請參閱 網路一文。

遷移與還原

根據預設,當實體硬體需要進行維修時,Compute Engine 就會啟用即時遷移自動為您無縫遷移執行個體。

如同標準管理程序套件,Compute Engine 也可以讓您建立 VM 執行個體的即時快照。您可以使用這些快照在區域內建立新的執行個體,或是 將執行個體移至不同區域

如果 Compute Engine VM 執行個體因基礎實體主機出問題而終止,則該執行個體將會在相同區域的不同主機上自動復原。您也可以選擇關閉「自動重新啟動」,讓機器保持關機狀態。

費用

如需瞭解定價的完整詳情,請參閱 Compute Engine 定價

後續步驟

接下來說明 Cloud Platform 上的儲存空間

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
Google Cloud Platform for Data Center Professionals

Google Cloud Platform for Data Center Professionals: Compute

This article discusses Google Cloud Platform's compute offerings and how they compare to traditional data center technologies. The article focuses on Google Compute Engine, Cloud Platform's Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) product.

Service model comparison

Typically, data centers use server virtualization, in which multiple virtual Unix/Linux or Windows servers can be run on a single physical machine. These virtual machines are created, provisioned, and managed through a software suite such as VMware vSphere or XenCenter.

Compute Engine uses this model as well, combining server virtualization and related management tools into an integrated suite. On Compute Engine, virtual machines are called virtual machine (VM) instances. You can create and manage these instances in several ways, including:

Administration

Compute Engine eliminates a great deal of the administrative overhead associated with virtual machine management. You no longer have to worry about provisioning physical server, network, or storage capacity, nor do you have to worry about setting up and configuring your physical network. On the software side of things, you no longer need to worry about installing and updating virtual management tools; handling automatic updates of virtual hypervisor software, server firmware, and related tools; or migrating your virtual machines during physical machine maintenance. All of these tasks are handled seamlessly, behind the scenes, by Google.

Capacity planning and resource provisioning

In traditional data centers, you typically spend cycles each quarter reviewing current resource requirements and forecasting future ones. You have to consider physical, logistical, and human-resource-related concerns such as rack space, cooling, electricity, bandwidth, cabling, procurement times, shipping times, and available engineers to actually rack and stack new gear. Beyond that, you have to actively manage the capacity and workload distributions so that resource-intensive jobs, such as Hadoop pipelines, don't interfere with services that must be highly available, such as web servers.

In contrast, when you use Compute Engine, you hand off the bulk of your capacity planning to Google. You can scale up and scale down your VM instances as needed. Because you pay for what you use on a per-second basis, you can optimize your costs without having to pay for excess capacity you don't need, or need only at peak traffic times. To help you save costs, the Cloud Platform Console will even notify you if it detects that you have underutilized instances that can be resized or deleted.

In addition, when you create an instance, you are allocated the RAM and CPUs you specified for that instance. Your performance will not degrade due to other instances or services taking up additional resources on your instance's physical host machine.

Cloud Platform does require that you manage your quota, which specifies the number of resources you are allowed to consume on Cloud Platform. You can easily review and request additional quota in the Cloud Platform Console. To help avoid hitting quota ceilings when using Cloud Platform's APIs, proactively request additional quota in advance, especially when you expect large increases. To manage your expenses, as well as to restrict people and processes from consuming too many resources, you can also request decreases to your quota.

Monthly uptime guarantees

Compute Engine provides a service level agreement (SLA) that provides a monthly uptime percentage of at least 99.95%, subject to certain limitations. For more details, see Google Compute Engine SLA.

Feature comparison

Basic configuration and management

Compute Engine provides the same basic functionality and flexibility you have come to expect from popular hypervisor services such as VMware ESXi, KVM, and Xen. As with these services, you can:

Machine images

As with other virtual machines, you instantiate Compute Engine VM instances from disk images. Compute Engine supports several different approaches:

Access and permissions

You can connect to your Compute Engine instances using SSH, RDP, or serial port. The Cloud Platform Console provides a browser-based SSH terminal, and the gcloud command-line tool allows you to establish a connection through the terminal of your choice. If you choose to enable static external IPs for your instances, you can use traditional tools such as Windows Remote Desktop or ssh as well.

A VM instance can connect to Cloud Platform resources by using a service account. A service account is a special Google account that can be used by applications to access Google services programmatically. This account belongs to your application or a VM instance instead of to an individual end user. Your application uses the service account to call the API of a service, so that the users aren't directly involved.

Cloud Platform provides Google Cloud IAM for federated identity management and granular access management. For a discussion of Cloud IAM as it pertains to Compute Engine, see Identity and Access Management Roles. For a more general discussion about identity management on Cloud Platform, see the Management article.

Machine provisioning

You can declaratively manage the provisioning and configuration of your compute resources—including VM instances, disks, networking, and nearly all other resources within your Cloud Platform project—with Google Cloud Deployment Manager. Deployment Manager lets you use simple data markup to customize and automate your deployments. For configuration management and automation within your VM instances, you can use the same tools you're already using, such as Chef, Puppet, Packer, or Vagrant.

For a more complete discussion of resource provisioning on Cloud Platform, see the Management article.

Preemptible resources

For tasks that can be preempted and continued on a different host, Cloud Platform offers preemptible VMs. Preemptible VMs are exactly like regular VMs, but they can be preempted: that is, they can’t run for more than 24 hours, and Google can preempt the VM earlier if the capacity is needed for other purposes. Preemptible VMs can be up to 80% less expensive than standard VM instances, depending on the instance type you choose.

Storage

Compute Engine VM instances use persistent disk, or virtualized block storage, for boot and storage disk volumes. Persistent disk comes in standard (HDD) and SSD volume types, and you can dynamically provision up to 128 persistent disks depending on your VM's machine type. For more information on Compute Engine persistent disk, see the Storage article.

Networking

Compute Engine provides software-defined networking, in which you can configure your private and public networks on Compute Engine at the software level. For a discussion of how Cloud Platform networking compares to traditional data center networking, see the Networking article.

Migration and recovery

By default, Compute Engine enables live migration, in which your instances are automatically and seamlessly migrated when the physical hardware requires maintenance.

As with standard hypervisor suites, Compute Engine also allows you to take live snapshots of VM instances. You can use these snapshots to create new instances within a zone or move an instance to a different zone.

If your Compute Engine VM instance is terminated due to issues with the underlying physical host, the instance will recover automatically on a different host within the same zone. You can also elect to have your machines stay down by turning off automatic restart.

Costs

See Compute Engine pricing for full pricing details.

What's next?

Next: Storage on Cloud Platform

Monitor your resources on the go

Get the Google Cloud Console app to help you manage your projects.

Send feedback about...

Google Cloud Platform for Data Center Professionals