确保 Google Kubernetes Engine 中软件供应链的安全

本文介绍了在将代码部署到 Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE) 集群之前,如何确保您的软件供应链遵循已知的安全路径。本文将首先介绍 Binary Authorization 的工作原理,然后介绍如何以最佳方式实现和搭配 Google Cloud 使用它来确保部署流水线能够提供尽可能多的信息,帮助您在每个必需阶段强制执行审批。

DevOps 现状报告确定了可提高软件交付方面表现的功能。本文将帮助您使用以下功能:

有助于确保软件供应链安全的要素

在构建和部署容器化应用时,应使用不可变工件作为部署单元。借助不可变工件,您可以放心地跨众多主机与环境部署软件并调整其计算容量,因为软件始终都会按您预期的方式运行。

在构建不可变工件后,您可以将它们放入工件存储区,并在工件存储区对其进行版本控制和编目,以供进一步使用。

在发布流程的各个阶段,可以由相关人员或自动化系统来添加描述活动结果的元数据,类似于向检查点发送信号。例如,您可以为映像添加元数据,以表明该映像已通过集成测试套件的测试。

为工件添加元数据后,请创建一项部署政策,以规定工件必须通过哪些验证才能部署到您的基础架构。您要在基础架构中构建一种机制,即在允许某工作负载部署到基础架构之前,先验证该工作负载是否已顺利通过所有必要的检查点。这种验证应在允许代码运行之前完成,这有助于确保任何一次部署都无法绕过整个流程中的必要阶段。

下图显示了软件供应链管理的常规流程。

软件供应链管理流程

确保 GKE 中供应链的安全

下表列出了供应链要素与 Google Cloud 功能的对应关系。

要素 Google Cloud 实现
不可变工件 Docker 映像
工件存储区 Container Registry
工件元数据 备注
工件审核者 证明者
工件验证 证明
部署政策 Binary Authorization 政策

您部署的 GKE 不可变工件是指 Docker 映像。您可以构建这种映像,然后将其推送到工件存储区 Container Registry。在这一存储区中,您可以将该映像部署到任意数量的 GKE 集群。

在 Container Registry 中,您可以通过标记来添加与映像有关的信息,该信息代表一段元数据。对于映像上的 Docker 标记,其最常见的用途是表示软件版本或发布阶段,例如 v2.0.0beta。尽管此信息有用,但您无法使用标记来添加如下所示的工件详细信息:工件是在哪里构建的、构建工件时使用了哪些源代码,或者工件是否已获准在生产环境中部署。对于此类详细信息,您可使用证明。

证明者可以在 Container Registry 中添加关于映像的备注,说明相关映像是否符合特定标准。在映像的整个生命周期中,您都可以访问这些信息。备注分为几种类型,这有助于您更好地过滤映像相关信息。其中一类备注是 attestation,它由您项目中的证明者添加。例如,您可以让证明者来证实构建的映像不存在严重的安全漏洞,或者证实某个映像是通过特定的构建系统构建的。

通过上传用于创建和识别证明者的关联优良保密协议 (PGP) 公钥,您可以向自己的项目中添加证明者。然后,证明者可以创建证明,具体做法是签署相关消息来确认其要为特定的内容可寻址映像摘要提供证明。

下图显示了为特定映像摘要添加证明的一个示例。

为映像添加证明

借助 Binary Authorization,您可以配置一项政策,以规定映像必须具备哪些证明才能部署到您的集群。这项措施可确保您的映像在整个部署流水线中遵循正确的路径,而不会跳过任何重要步骤。在部署流水线的每个关键阶段,您都可以创建一项证明来表示映像已顺利通过该步骤。可以由自动化系统或相关人员来添加证明。

例如,您可能希望确保您的映像已通过质量保证 (QA) 团队的验证。完成测试后,一名质量保证团队成员会使用特定密钥对证明者 qa-validated 的证明进行签名。必须具备该证明才能将映像部署到生产集群。

同样,您可能希望确保您的映像已经过漏洞扫描并且未出现任何异常。自动化系统可以检测存储库中的新映像,并添加一项证明来证实这些映像符合某种漏洞标准。系统在验证漏洞扫描结果后,会使用加密密钥来签署并添加来自 not-vulnerable 证明者的证明。您可以使用 Cloud Key Management Service 加密此密钥、将其安全存储在 Cloud Storage 中、通过 Identity and Access Management 控制对其的访问权限,以及通过 Cloud Logging 审核其使用情况。

下图显示了 Container Registry 中的映像,其中包含由相关人员和自动化证明者添加的证明。

Container Registry 中的映像(由自动化系统或相关人员添加证明)

借助 Binary Authorization,您可以创建相关政策,规定可使用哪些加密密钥来验证各项证明。您还可以将某些映像添加到 allowlist,来绕过证明验证或停用特定集群的 Binary Authorization。

虽然 Google Cloud 提供代管式服务来创建和管理您的软件供应链,但您也可以使用开源实现在其他环境中实现类似流程。

下表将 Google Cloud 服务与具有类似功能的开源工具一一对应。

Google Cloud 开源工具
Container Registry Docker Distribution
Metadata API Grafeas
Binary Authorization Kritis
漏洞扫描 ClairAnchore Engine

持续交付流水线最佳做法

如果您有一条持续交付流水线,并且该流水线采用自动化方式将代码库的源代码部署到生产基础架构,那么软件供应链的验证工作会变得极为有效。这类流水线所包含的阶段因组织而异,但您可以实施一些高级的最佳做法,以确保流水线能够安全地部署软件。

CI/CD 流水线常规指导

许多组织允许各个团队选择自己的持续交付流程和工具。尽管这种灵活度有助于提升自主性,并可让团队使用熟悉的工具,但可能难以确保所有发布活动都遵循最佳做法。您可能希望在 Spinnaker 等工具中集中管理团队的发布流水线,这有助于您在同一位置对相关方法进行模板化、共享和审核。

构建映像

对供应链而言,软件的安全性与用于构建可运行工件的材料息息相关。在使用 GKE 时,您必须确保构建的映像来自安全的基础映像。

要最大限度地提高基础映像的安全性,第一步是使用仅包含运行应用所需的软件和库的最低发行版映像。对于 Ubuntu、Debian 和 CentOS 等热门发行版,Google Cloud 提供了托管式基础映像,系统会使用安全补丁定期更新这些映像。Distroless 映像是一组基础映像,其中仅包含运行以各种编程语言编写的应用所需的库和工具。选择基础映像后,请尽量避免为其添加内容。您可以利用 Docker 的多阶段构建将构建时依赖项与运行时依赖项相互分开,以缩小攻击面。

构建映像后,请确保其符合贵组织的政策。您可以创建容器结构测试来验证映像的内容和元数据。您可以使用 container-diff 来比较现有容器和新构建的容器。

在缩减应用映像所包含的内容后,请尝试审核并缩小您的集群所允许的第三方映像的范围。您可以使用 Binary Authorization 将映像添加到 allowlist,从而绕过证明要求。确保 allowlist 条目对于您需要的每个映像而言都尽可能的具体,但无法通过工件创建流水线进行构建。

如需详细了解如何构建容器,请参阅构建容器最佳做法文档。

启用映像漏洞分析

在项目中启用 Container Registry 漏洞扫描,以详细了解 Docker 映像中的潜在安全问题。在您推送映像后,系统会立即运行自动扫描,扫描结果有助您了解映像中是否存在严重漏洞。虽然在部署映像前必须对其进行漏洞检查,但部署后仍需要检查映像,因为可能会发现新漏洞。漏洞扫描服务会不断扫描过去 30 天内从注册表提取的所有映像。只要在映像中发现漏洞,您就可以通过 Pub/Sub 接收通知

在部署期间验证政策

要确保软件供应链的安全,请在部署期间启用映像验证。持续交付流水线的最后一步是部署,在该阶段,您可以确保您的流程经历了所有阶段并顺利通过了所有检查点。采用此方法后,即使有人获得了集群的访问凭据,也无法部署恶意映像。

通过 Binary Authorization,您可以为项目中的所有集群配置默认规则,然后使用专门针对具体集群的配置覆盖这些规则。例如,您可能希望所有集群都要求漏洞扫描和质量检查验证证明,但也想要确保开发者无需质量检查验证就能试用 development 集群中的新技术和映像。如需详细了解 Binary Authorization 政策,请参阅政策 YAML 参考文档。

流水线示例

下面是一个流水线示例,它分为两个主要阶段:构建和部署。

示例流水线中的构建和部署阶段

下表提供了关于流水线步骤的详细信息,并指出需要在哪些阶段添加证明。

步骤编号 摘要 说明 认证
图标
1 获取源代码 检出所需修订版本的源代码,以供构建系统使用。
2 运行单元测试 在创建工件之前,请确保代码已通过所有单元测试。

运行单元测试。

3 创建 Docker 映像 使用本地源代码中的 Dockerfile 构建可推送至 Container Registry 的映像。
4 确保 Docker 映像符合政策 借助容器结构测试,您可以声明您的映像包含正确的内容,并声明映像中的命令会返回正确的输出。

确保 Docker 映像符合政策。

5 将映像推送到 Container Registry 在对代码进行单元测试并对映像内容进行验证后,您可以将映像推送到 Container Registry。此时,系统会自动启动漏洞扫描。
6 确保映像没有严重漏洞 漏洞扫描服务需要几分钟才能完成扫描,然后会在映像的元数据中添加与发现的任何常见漏洞和威胁 (CVE) 有关的备注。请等待此数据出现,如果系统未发现任何严重漏洞,请添加证明。

确保映像没有严重漏洞。

7 将映像部署到模拟环境 将映像部署到模拟环境中,以便在尽可能接近生产环境的场景中验证和观察您对映像所做的更改。

将映像部署到模拟环境。

8 批准在生产环境中部署代码 如果所有迹象都表明您对映像所做的更改符合相关要求,请批准在生产环境中部署映像。
9 在生产集群中发布代码 现在,您可以将映像设置为跨一系列集群进行更新。在运行您的应用之前,每个集群都会检查您的映像是否已完成所有证明。

证明示例

您可能希望将以下证明纳入您的发布流水线:

  • 漏洞分析结果中不包含严重漏洞。
  • 已通过手动质量保证验证。
  • 映像中包含的所有软件都已获得适当许可。
  • 工件是在可信的构建系统中创建的。

后续步骤

Help secure software supply chains on Google Kubernetes Engine

This article shows you how to ensure that your software supply chain follows a known and secure path before your code is deployed in a Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE) cluster. The article reviews how binary authorization works, then explains how to best implement and use it with Google Cloud Platform (GCP) to ensure that your deployment pipeline can provide the most information possible to help you enforce approvals at each of your required stages.

Building blocks for securing your software supply chain

When you build and deploy containerized applications, you should use immutable artifacts as the units of deployment. Immutable artifacts ensure that you can deploy and scale your software across many hosts and environments knowing that it will behave as you expect.

After you build the immutable artifacts, put them into an artifact store where they can be versioned and cataloged for further use.

At various phases of your release process, people or automated systems can add metadata that describes the result of an activity, similar to signaling a checkpoint. For example, you might add metadata to your image indicating that it has passed an integration test suite.

After your artifacts have metadata, create a deployment policy that defines which validations they must pass before they can be deployed into your infrastructure. Build a mechanism into your infrastructure to validate that a workload passes all your required checkpoints before it is admitted. This type of validation, done just before the code is set to run, ensures that no deployments can bypass the required stages of your flow.

The following diagram shows a general process for software supply chain management.

software supply chain management process

Securing supply chains in GKE

The following table maps supply chain building blocks to GCP features.

Building block GCP implementation
Immutable artifact Docker image
Artifact store Container Registry
Artifact metadata Note
Artifact auditors Attestors
Artifact validations Attestations
Deployment policy Binary Authorization policy

The GKE immutable artifact you deploy is a Docker image. This image is built once and then pushed to Container Registry, the artifact store, where you can deploy it to any number of GKE clusters.

In Container Registry, you add information about images with tags, which represent a single piece of metadata. The most common use for Docker tags on images is to denote the version of the software or a release train, such as v2.0.0 or beta. Although this information is useful, you cannot use tags to add details about the artifact such as where it was built, which source code it was built from, or whether it is approved for deployment in production environments. For these details, you use attestations.

Attestors can state whether an image meets a particular criterion by adding notes about images in Container Registry. These bits of information can be accessed throughout the lifecycle of your image. Some kinds of notes are categorized so that you can better filter information about your images. One kind of note is an attestation, which is added by attestors in your project. For example, you might have an attestor that validates that images are built without critical security vulnerabilities, or that an image was built by a particular build system.

You add an attestor to your project by uploading an associated Pretty Good Privacy (PGP) public key to create and identify your attestor. Attestors can then create attestations by signing messages that identify which specific content-addressable image digests they are attesting.

The following diagram shows an example of adding an attestation to an image for a particular digest.

adding an attestation to an image

With binary authorization you can configure a policy that defines which attestations must be present on your image before it can be deployed across your clusters. This policy creates a building block for ensuring that your images follow the correct path through your deployment pipeline without skipping any important steps. At each of the critical stages of your deployment pipeline, you can create an attestation stating that the image has passed that step. Attestations can be added either by automated systems or by people.

For example, you might want to ensure that your image has passed validations by your quality assurance (QA) team. After they finish testing, one of the QA team members uses a specific key to sign an attestation from the attestor qa-validated. That attestation is required for your production clusters to deploy the image.

Similarly, you might want to ensure that your image has been scanned for vulnerabilities and that no anomalies turned up. An automated system could watch for new images in your repository and add an attestation that they meet a certain vulnerability standard. After the system validates the vulnerability scan, it can sign and add an attestation from the not-vulnerable attestor by using its cryptographic key. You can encrypt this key with Cloud Key Management Service, securely store it in Cloud Storage, control access to it through Cloud Identity and Access Management and audit its use through Stackdriver Logging.

The following diagram shows images in Container Registry with attestations added by people and automated attestors.

images in Container Registry added by automation or people

With binary authorization, you create policies that define which cryptographic keys you can use to validate each of your attestations. You can also add certain images to the allowlist to bypass your attestation validation or to disable binary authorization for certain clusters.

While GCP provides managed services to create and manage your software supply chain, you can also use open source implementations to implement similar processes in other environments.

The following table maps GCP services to open source tools that provide similar functionality.

GCP Open source
Container Registry Docker distribution
Metadata API Grafeas
Binary authorization Kritis
Vulnerability scanning Clair, Anchore Engine

Continuous delivery pipeline best practices

Validating your software supply chain is most effective when you have a continuous delivery pipeline that uses automation to deploy source code from a code repository to your production infrastructure. The stages of these pipelines vary among organizations, but you can implement some high-level best practices to help ensure that your pipeline deploys your software securely.

General CI/CD pipeline guidance

Many organizations allow individual teams to choose their own continuous delivery process and tooling. While this flexibility can boost autonomy and lets teams use familiar tools, it can complicate ensuring that all releases follow best practices. You might want to centralize release pipelines for teams in a tool like Spinnaker, which helps to ensure that you can templatize, share, and audit methodologies in a single place.

Image building

As with any supply chain, your software is only as secure as the materials that you use to construct your runnable artifacts. When you use GKE, you must ensure that the images you construct come from secure base images.

The first step in maximizing the security of your base images is to use a minimal distribution that includes only the software and libraries that are needed to run your application. For popular distributions like Ubuntu, Debian, and CentOS, GCP provides managed base images that are regularly updated with security patches. Distroless images are a set of base images that includes only the libraries and tools that are required to run applications written in various programming languages. After you've chosen a base, try to minimize what you add. You can leverage Docker's multistage builds to separate build time dependencies from runtime dependencies, which reduces the attack surface.

After the image is built, make sure that it conforms to your organization's policies. You can create Container Structure tests that validate the image's contents and metadata. You can also use container-diff to compare your existing and newly built containers.

When you have narrowed down what your application image contains, try to audit and reduce the scope of third-party images that are allowed in your clusters. You can use binary authorization to add the images to the allowlist that can bypass your attestation requirements. Ensure that the allowlist entry is as specific as possible for each of the images that you require but cannot build through your artifact creation pipeline.

You can find more information on building containers in the Best opractices for building containers documentation.

Enable image vulnerability analysis

Enable Container Registry vulnerability scanning in your projects to get more information about potential security issues in your Docker images. The automated scans that run as soon as your images are pushed can help you grasp the severity of the vulnerabilities in your images. Although you must check for vulnerabilities before you deploy, you should also check your images after they are deployed, because new vulnerabilities might be found. Vulnerability scanning continuously scans any images pulled from the registry in the last 30 days. You can use Cloud Pub/Sub to get notifications whenever vulnerabilities are found in your images.

Validate your policy during deployment

To secure your software supply chain, enable image validation during deployment. The last step in a continuous delivery pipeline, deployment is a good time to ensure that your process included all stages and passed all checkpoints. When you take this approach, even if someone obtained access to credentials for your clusters, they couldn't deploy malicious images.

With binary authorization, you can configure a default rule for all clusters in the project and then override those rules with cluster-specific configurations. For example, you might want all of your clusters to require attestations of vulnerability scan and QA validation, but also want to ensure that developers can experiment with new technologies and images in the development cluster without enduring QA validation. For more information on binary authorization policies, see the Policy YAML reference documentation.

Example pipeline

Here is an example pipeline that is divided into two main phases: build and deploy.

build and deploy phases in a sample pipeline

The following table provides more detail about pipeline steps and where the attestations get added.

Step number Summary Description Attestation
icon
1 Get source code Check out the source code at the desired revision for use by the build system. None
2 Run unit tests Ensure that the code passes all the unit tests before you create an artifact.

3 Create a Docker image Use the Dockerfile in the local source code to build an image that can be pushed to Container Registry. None
4 Ensure Docker image conforms to policy Using Container Structure Tests, you can assert that your image has the correct contents and that commands within the image return the correct output.

5 Push image to Container Registry When the code has been unit tested and the contents of your image have been validated, you can push the image to Container Registry. A vulnerability scan is automatically kicked off. None
6 Ensure image doesn't have critical vulnerabilities Vulnerability scanning takes a few minutes to complete and then adds notes to the image's metadata about any Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures (CVEs) that show up. Wait for this data to appear, and then add an attestation if no critical vulnerabilities are found.

7 Deploy image to staging Kick off a deployment to a pre-production environment where your change can be validated and observed in scenarios as close to production as possible.

8 Approve code for deployment in production If all signals show that the change meets its requirements, approve it to be deployed in production. None
9 Roll out code in production clusters Now you can set the image to update across your fleet of clusters. Each cluster checks that all attestations are complete before running your application. None

Example attestations

Here are some attestations that you might want to include in your release pipeline:

  • Vulnerability analysis results did not include critical vulnerabilities.
  • Manual QA validation has passed.
  • All software that is included in the image is licensed appropriately.
  • Artifact was created in a trusted build system.

What's next

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...