VPC 网络对等互连

Google Cloud Platform (GCP) 虚拟私有云 (VPC) 网络对等互连允许跨两个 VPC 网络的专用 RFC 1918 连接(而不管它们是不是属于同一个项目或组织)。

概览

VPC 网络对等互连允许您在 GCP 中构建 SaaS(软件即服务)生态系统,从而在相同组织内及不同组织之间的不同 VPC 网络中以私密方式提供服务,使工作负载能够在专用 RFC 1918 空间内通信。

VPC 网络对等互连对于以下情况十分有用:

  • 拥有多个网络管理域的组织。
  • 希望与其他组织进行对等互连的组织。

如果您的组织中有多个网络管理域,则 VPC 网络对等互连允许您在专用 RFC 1918 空间内、在不同的 VPC 网络之间提供服务。如果您向其他组织提供服务,VPC 网络对等互连允许您在专用 RFC 1918 空间中将这些服务提供给这些组织。如果您希望向其他企业提供服务,则跨多个组织提供服务的能力非常有用;如果由于您自身的结构或合并或收购的结果而拥有多个不同的组织节点,那么在您的企业中使用该服务也非常有用。

与使用外部 IP 地址或 VPN 连接网络相比,VPC 网络对等互连有多项优势,其中包括:

  • 网络延迟:公开 IP 网络的延时高于专用网络。
  • 网络安全:服务所有者不需要将其服务公开给公共互联网,自然也无需应对相关风险。
  • 网络成本:对于使用外部 IP 通信的网络,即使流量处于相同地区内,GCP 也会按出站带宽价格扣款。但是,如果网络采用对等互连,则可以使用内部 IP 进行通信,从而节省下这笔出站费用。 常规网络价格仍然适用于所有流量。

关键属性

对等互连的 VPC 网络具有以下关键属性:

  • VPC 网络对等互连可与 Compute EngineGKEApp Engine 柔性环境配合使用。
  • 对等互连的 VPC 网络在管理上保持独立。路由、防火墙、VPN 和其他流量管理工具分别在各个 VPC 网络中加以管理和应用。
  • 对等互连关联资源的每一方都是独立设置的。只有当双方的配置匹配时,对等互连才是有效的。任何一方都可以随时选择删除对等互连关联资源。
  • 即使在创建其他 VPC 网络之前,也可以为一个 VPC 网络配置对等互连。
  • 给定的 VPC 网络可以与多个 VPC 网络对等互连,但是存在限制
  • 一个对等互连 VPC 网络中的子网 CIDR 前缀不能与另一个对等互连网络中的子网 CIDR 前缀重叠。这意味着仅有默认子网的两个自动模式 VPC 网络不能建立对等互连。GCP 会在下列情况下检查是否发生重叠:
    • 当您首次与 VPC 网络进行对等互连时
    • 当您在对等互连 VPC 网络中创建新子网时
  • 一个对等互连 VPC 网络中的子网 CIDR 范围不能与另一个对等互连网络中的路由重叠。此规则涵盖子网路由和自定义路由。GCP 会在下列情况下检查是否发生重叠;如果发生重叠,则生成错误。
    • 当您首次与 VPC 网络进行对等互连时
    • 当您在对等互连 VPC 网络中创建静态路由时
    • 当您在对等互连 VPC 网络中创建新子网时
  • VPC 网络对等互连仅支持 VPC 网络。旧版网络不支持对等互连。
  • IAM 权限:创建和删除 VPC 网络对等互连需要新的 IAM 权限。项目所有者/编辑者和网络管理员角色中包含这些权限。
  • 在网络建立对等互连之后,每个内部、专用 IP 均可在对等互连的网络之中进行访问。VPC 网络对等互连未提供精细的路由控件来过滤出可以通过对等互连网络访问哪些子网 CIDR。如果需要执行此类过滤,则必须使用防火墙规则来过滤流量。以下类型的端点/资源可通过直接对等互连的网络访问:
    • 所有子网中的虚拟机 (VM) 内部 IP
    • 所有子网中经过内部负载平衡处理的 IP
  • 以下类型的端点/资源不会传播到直接对等互连的网络:
    • 静态路由
    • VPN
  • 只有直接对等互连的网络才能进行通信。不支持传递性对等互连。换句话说,如果 VPC 网络 N1 与 N2 和 N3 对等互连,但是 N2 和 N3 也未直接连接,则 VPC 网络 N2 不能与 VPC 网络 N3 通过对等互连进行通信。
  • 对等互连流量(在对等互连网络之间通信的流量)与同一网络中的不公开流量具有相同的延迟、吞吐量和可用性。
  • 对等互连流量的结算政策与同一网络中的不公开流量计算政策相同。

VPC 网络对等互连场景中的网络功能

内部 TCP/UDP 负载平衡

如果满足以下条件,则对等网络中的虚拟机实例可以访问 VPC 网络中内部 TCP/UDP 负载平衡器的内部 IP 地址:

  • 虚拟机必须与内部 TCP/UDP 负载平衡器位于同一区域。
  • 应用于负载平衡器后端虚拟机的入站防火墙规则允许来自对等网络中来源的流量。这些入站防火墙规则必须在包含负载平衡器的 VPC 网络中创建。

如需了解更多信息,请参阅使用 VPC 网络对等互连

防火墙规则

使用 VPC 网络对等互连连接网络时,防火墙规则不会在两者之间交换。要允许来自对等网络中虚拟机实例的入站流量,您必须创建入站允许防火墙规则。默认情况下,隐式拒绝入站规则会禁止流向虚拟机的入站流量。

如果您要限定仅授予 VPC 网络中的其他虚拟机访问权限,请确保您的入站允许防火墙规则来源仅识别您的 VPC 网络中的虚拟机而非来自对等网络的虚拟机。例如,您可以仅为您的 VPC 网络中的子网指定来源 IP 地址范围。

要设定对内部 TCP/UDP 负载平衡器的访问权限限制,请创建入站防火墙规则应用于负载平衡器后端虚拟机。

共享的 VPC

VPC 网络对等互连允许与共享 VPC 进行对等互连。共享 VPC 宿主项目是指允许其他项目使用其某个网络的项目。下图展示了此设置。

建立了网络对等互连的共享 VPC(点击可放大)
建立了网络对等互连的共享 VPC(点击可放大)

网络 SVPC 位于宿主项目 P1 中的共享 VPC 网络内。服务项目 P3 和 P4 能够将虚拟机实例连接到网络 SVPC。网络 SVPC 与网络 A 对等互连。因此有以下结果:

  • 使用网络 SVPC 的共享 VPC 服务项目中的虚拟机实例(VM3 和 VM4)与关联到网络 A 的任何端点具有不公开的内部 IP 连接。
  • 与网络 A 相关联的虚拟机实例与关联到网络 SVPC 的任意端点具有不公开的内部 IP 连接(无论这些端点处于宿主项目还是服务项目中)。

可以在两个共享 VPC 网络之间建立 VPC 网络对等互连。

每个实例有多个网络接口

一个实例可以有多个网络接口,并且每个网络接口位于不同的 VPC 网络中。

下图展示了一个具体情景,从中可以看到这两项功能的相互作用。在本例中,VM1 在网络 A 和网络 B 中都有网络接口。网络 B 与另一个网络 C 对等互连。

网络对等互连场景中的多个网络接口(点击可放大)
网络对等互连场景中的多个网络接口(点击可放大)

IP3 可以将流量发送到 IP2,因为 IP2 处于网络 B 中,而在两个网络对等互连时,网络 B 路由会自动传播到网络 C。但是,要使得 IP2 将流量发送到 IP3,您需要为 IP2 接口配置政策路由

网络 C 中未安装用于 IP1 的流,因此网络 C 不能访问 IP1。

IP 别名

使用 IP 别名,子网可以具有主要和次要 IP 范围。此类子网中的虚拟机实例可以从主要范围获取一个 IP,并从次要范围获取一个或多个 IP。

利用 Cloud VPC 对等互连,对等互连网络中的虚拟机实例可以访问子网的主要和次要 IP 范围。

不同对等互连网络间的子网重叠检查可以确保主要和次要范围不与任何对等互连的范围重叠。

网络对等互连场景中的 IP 别名(点击可放大)
网络对等互连场景中的 IP 别名(点击可放大)

后续步骤

此页内容是否有用?请给出您的反馈和评价:

发送以下问题的反馈:

此网页

VPC Network Peering

Google Cloud Platform (GCP) Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) Network Peering allows private RFC1918 connectivity across two VPC networks regardless of whether or not they belong to the same project or the same organization.

Overview

VPC Network Peering allows you to build SaaS (Software-as-a-Service) ecosystems in GCP, making services available privately across different VPC networks within and across organizations, allowing workloads to communicate in private RFC1918 space.

VPC Network Peering is useful for:

  • Organizations with several network administrative domains.
  • Organizations that want to peer with other organizations.

If you have multiple network administrative domains within your organization, VPC Network Peering allows you to make services available across VPC networks in private RFC1918 space. If you offer services to other organizations, VPC Network Peering allows you to make those services available in private RFC1918 space to those organizations. The ability to offer services across organizations is useful if you want to offer services to other enterprises, and it is useful within your own enterprise if you have several distinct organization nodes due to your own structure or as a result of mergers or acquisitions.

VPC Network Peering gives you several advantages over using external IP addresses or VPNs to connect networks, including:

  • Network Latency: Public IP networking suffers higher latency than private networking.
  • Network Security: Service owners do not need to have their services exposed to the public Internet and deal with its associated risks.
  • Network Cost: GCP charges egress bandwidth pricing for networks using external IPs to communicate even if the traffic is within the same zone. If however, the networks are peered they can use internal IPs to communicate and save on those egress costs. Regular network pricing still applies to all traffic.

Key Properties

Peered VPC networks exhibit the following key properties:

  • VPC Network Peering works with Compute Engine and App Engine flexible environment.
  • Peered VPC networks remain administratively separate. Routes, firewalls, VPNs, and other traffic management tools are administered and applied separately in each of the VPC networks.
  • Each side of a peering association is set up independently. Peering will be active only when the configuration from both sides matches. Either side can choose to delete the peering association at any time.
  • Peering can be configured for one VPC network even before the other VPC network is created.
  • A given VPC network can peer with multiple VPC networks, but there is a limit.
  • A subnet CIDR prefix in one peered VPC network cannot overlap with a subnet CIDR prefix in another peered network. This means that two auto mode VPC networks that only have the default subnets cannot peer. GCP checks for overlap in the following circumstances:
    • When you peer VPC networks for the first time
    • When you create a new subnet in a peered VPC network
  • A route CIDR range in one peered VPC network cannot overlap with a subnet CIDR range in another peered network. GCP checks for overlap in the following circumstances:
    • When you peer VPC networks for the first time
    • When you create a route in a peered VPC network
    • When you create a new subnet in a peered VPC network
  • Only VPC networks are supported for VPC Network Peering. Peering is NOT supported for legacy networks.
  • IAM Permissions: There are new IAM permissions for creating and deleting VPC Network Peering. These permissions are included in the Project owner/editor and Network admin roles.
  • Once networks have peered, every internal, private IP is accessible across peered networks. VPC Network Peering does not provide granular route controls to filter out which subnet CIDRs are reachable across peered networks. You must use firewall rules to filter traffic if such filtering is needed. The following types of endpoints/resources are reachable across directly peered networks:
    • Virtual machine (VM) internal IPs in all subnets
    • Internal load balanced IPs in all subnets
  • The following types of endpoints/resources are NOT propagated to directly peered networks:
    • Static routes
    • VPNs
  • Only directly peered networks can communicate. Transitive peering is not supported. In other words, if VPC network N1 is peered with N2 and N3, but N2 and N3 are not also directly connected, VPC network N2 cannot communicate with VPC network N3 over the peering.
  • Peering traffic (traffic flowing between peered networks) has the same latency, throughput, and availability as private traffic in the same network.
  • Billing policy for peering traffic remains unchanged from billing policy for private traffic in same network.

Networking features in VPC Network Peering scenarios

Internal Load Balancing

For Internal Load Balancing across peered networks, forwarding rules based on Internal Load Balancing in one network will be installed automatically on VM instances in peered network also. You do not have to add any extra configuration for this. The figure below describes how VM instances in network-B access the load balanced backends in network-A. The Internal Load Balancing configuration from network-A is automatically applied to network-B in this case. Internal Load Balancing services are available to clients in directly peered networks only. That is, in the case that network-B peers with network-C, the Internal load balanced backends in network-A will not be reachable from clients in network-C.

Internal Load Balancing with VPC Network Peering (click to enlarge)
Internal Load Balancing with VPC Network Peering (click to enlarge)

Firewall

Firewall rules are not imported into peered networks. You can configure firewall rules in each network separately to control the traffic you want to allow or block from peered networks.

If you have peering between your VPC network and another VPC network, you may want to block traffic to a given set of VM instances or Internal Load Balancing endpoints. You must use firewall rules to do this as there is no way to exclude certain VM instances or Internal load balancers from the peering. If you want to disallow communication with certain VM instances or Internal load balancers, you can install ingress firewall rules on the network you want to block the communication to.

  • VM instances: In this case, you can install an ingress firewall that only allows traffic from certain source IPs. These source IPs can map to the subnet CIDRs in your own VPC network. This blocks any traffic originating from the peered VPC networks.
Firewall with VPC network peering (click to enlarge)
Firewall with VPC network peering (click to enlarge)
  • Internal load balancers: In this case, you can install ingress firewall rules in the VPC network with the Internal load balancer. These source IPs can map to all or part of the subnet CIDRs in the your own network. If ingress firewall rules are put in place for all subnet CIDR ranges in the peered network, then no instance in that network would be able to reach the Internal load balancer backend VMs.

Shared VPC

VPC Network Peering allows peering with a Shared VPC. A shared VPC host project is a project that allows other projects to use one of its networks. The following diagram shows this setup.

Shared VPC with network peering (click to enlarge)
Shared VPC with network peering (click to enlarge)

Network-SVPC is in a shared VPC network in host project P1. Service projects P3 and P4 are able to attach VM instances to Network-SVPC. Network-SVPC peers with Network-A. As a result:

  • VM instances in shared VPC service projects that are using the Network-SVPC (VM3 and VM4) have private, internal IP connectivity with any endpoints associated to Network-A.
  • VM instances associated to network-A will have private, internal IP connectivity with any endpoints associated to Network-SVPC, regardless of the project where they live, whether is the host project or a service project.

It is possible to set up VPC Network Peering between two shared VPC networks.

Multiple Network Interfaces per instance

An instance can have multiple network interfaces, one each in different VPC networks.

The following diagram shows a situation where we can see the interplay between the two features. In this case, VM1 has a network interface in both network-A and network-B. network-B is peered with another Network-C.

Multiple network interfaces with network peering (click to enlarge)
Multiple network interfaces with network peering (click to enlarge)

IP3 can send traffic to IP2 because IP2 is in Network-B, and Network-B routes are automatically propagated to Network-C when the two networks are peered. For IP2 to send traffic to IP3, however, you need to configure policy routing for the IP2 interface.

Flows for IP1 are not installed in Network-C. Hence Network-C cannot access IP1.

IP Aliasing

With IP Aliasing, a subnet can have primary and secondary IP ranges. The VM instances in such a subnet can get one IP from the primary range and one or more from the secondary range.

With Cloud VPC Peering, both primary and secondary IP ranges of a subnet are reachable by VM instances in the peered network.

Subnet overlap checks across peered networks ensure that primary and secondary ranges do not overlap with any peered ranges.

IP aliasing with network peering (click to enlarge)
IP aliasing with network peering (click to enlarge)

What's next

  • See Using VPC Network Peering for instructions on setting up VPC Network Peering as well as restrictions and troubleshooting.

Send feedback about...