数字媒体资源管理与分享

数字媒体是互联网上发展最快的领域之一。根据 Informa Telecoms & Media 在 2012 年进行的市场研究,2017 年仅全球在线视频市场就能达到 370 亿美元1。其他常见的媒体类型包括图像、音乐和数字文档。这种现象级发展的一个驱动力是移动设备的普及,这类移动设备功能丰富,配备了分辨率较高的摄像头、较大的屏幕,并可以提供较快的数据连接。这导致了媒体内容制作和使用量的大幅增加。另外,许多社交网络有将媒体分享作为其系统的一项核心功能的趋势,这一趋势也成了另一个驱动力。与此同时,众多初创公司正努力在这个市场中建立自己的利基领域。

本文将以一个场景为例,从技术方面深入探讨如何使用 Google Cloud Platform 构建数字媒体资源管理与分享系统。

示例场景 - Photofeed

Photofeed 是一家虚构的初创公司,该公司有意开发一款允许用户上传照片并互相分享照片的照片分享应用。此应用还具有社交功能,允许用户对照片发表评论。Photofeed 的产品团队认为,要在这个领域具备竞争力,他们必须使用户能够快速、安全地上传、查看和编辑照片并为用户提供出色的体验。此外,他们希望这款应用可以随着用户和照片数量的增加而轻松扩容。为了实现这些目标,系统还必须拥有高效的流水线,以用于大小调整、剪裁和缩略图生成等照片处理功能。随着业务的发展,该系统必须支持开发团队快速引入新功能。

可扩缩数字媒体系统开发过程中的难题

从头开始开发可支持大量用户并且可存储海量媒体内容的可扩缩数字媒体系统并不是一件容易的事。下表简要介绍了与开发可扩缩数字媒体系统相关的常见技术难题:

  • 提取
    • 系统必须允许最终用户快速、安全地上传媒体对象,同时提供富有吸引力的用户体验。
    • 如果需要修改或重新提取媒体对象,则必须提取并同步媒体对象的元数据。
    • 需要管理定义了所有相关组成部分之间的通信的提取工作流。
  • 存储
    • 为媒体内容提供几乎无限的存储空间,且该存储空间必须可靠、可覆盖全球且经济实惠2
  • 处理
    • 媒体处理(例如,文档格式转换、图像处理和媒体转码)需要用到可扩缩的计算资源。
    • 需要管理媒体处理工作流。
  • 传送
    • 系统必须允许最终用户快速、安全地下载媒体内容,同时提供出色的用户体验。
    • 需要管理传送工作流。
  • 媒体应用
    • 系统需要支持媒体元数据与应用专属领域数据的集成,还允许基于这些数据开发可扩缩媒体应用,例如资源管理应用和内容分享应用。
  • 最终用户体验
    • 系统需要为浏览器、移动设备和桌面应用等多种客户端提供富有吸引力的用户体验。

本文介绍的解决方案演示了 Google Cloud Platform 如何解决上述各个难题。所提出的系统架构通常适用于所有媒体类型。该解决方案可作为软件架构师和软件开发者的参考,便于他们在 Google Cloud Platform 上开发自己的数字媒体系统。

解决方案概览

App Engine、Cloud Storage 和 Compute Engine 是 Google Cloud Platform 的三项功能。如图 1 所示,所有这些产品协同工作,形成了这项数字媒体资源管理与分享解决方案的基础。

所提解决方案的关键组成部分
图 1. 所提出的数字媒体资源管理与分享解决方案的关键组成部分

提取

Cloud Storage 和 App Engine 都在媒体内容提取中发挥着重要作用。在上传过程中,媒体内容会直接从客户端经由 Google 全球网络流入 Cloud Storage。Google 网络覆盖全球,拥有大量带宽,且集成了 Cloud Storage,因此能够从几乎任何地方以低延迟将内容提取到存储空间。Cloud Storage 支持两种常见的上传机制:使用签名网址的 HTTP POST 和 RESTful API

App Engine 旨在为可应对数百万用户的可扩缩网页应用提供支持。您可以在 App Engine 上开发用于内容提取的前端应用。该应用负责进行身份验证,仅允许已获授权的用户上传内容。同时,该应用还管理提取工作流并协同客户端将内容上传到 Cloud Storage。对于浏览器客户端,该应用还会为网页界面实现内容上传功能。对于移动客户端或桌面客户端,界面会留在客户端应用中,而 App Engine 应用会通过 Cloud Endpoints 以 RESTful API 的形式公开提供自己的功能。客户端应用通过调用 API 来进行身份验证及获取 Google Cloud Storage 访问权限。

App Engine 应用的另一个重要作用是提取元数据并使其与媒体内容保持同步。元数据与应用数据一起存储在 App Engine Datastore 或 Cloud SQL 数据库中。具体选择哪个存储方案取决于应用的特征。将元数据提取与媒体内容提取进行同步的方法有好几种,例如:(1) 使用 Blobstore 上传回调网址;(2) 使用 Cloud Storage 对象更改通知;或 (3) 简单地通过 Cloud Endpoints 公开提供 App Engine 应用的相应 API。

存储

Cloud Storage 以低廉的价格为媒体内容提供几乎无限的存储空间。媒体数据具有冗余性。借助 Google 网络,Cloud Storage 中的内容可在全球范围内通过 App Engine、Compute Engine 以及 Google Cloud Platform 外的公共互联网访问。

Cloud Storage 提供多种存储类别供您选择,以尽可能满足您的需求。

处理

Compute Engine 提供卓越的批量计算性能。媒体处理(例如文档格式转换、转码和图像处理)非常适合使用 Compute Engine。在这种情况下,Cloud Storage 同时充当媒体处理流水线的输入源和输出目标。由于 Cloud Storage 与 Compute Engine 完美集成(例如,可通过服务帐号自动进行身份验证),因此可以通过 Compute Engine 轻松访问 Cloud Storage。

媒体处理工作流也由前文提到的 App Engine 应用管理。在媒体内容上传到存储空间后,App Engine 应用会创建媒体处理任务并将其插入 TaskQueue。在 Compute Engine 上运行的媒体处理软件会使用 RESTful API 拉取加入队列的任务并一一执行。App Engine 应用还能维护媒体内容的处理状态和虚拟机的负载信息,以便自动扩缩 Compute Engine 实例。

传送

借助 Google 网络,Cloud Storage 能够在确保低延迟和高可用性的同时通过互联网传送媒体内容。Google 网络会自动为公开内容提供边缘缓存功能,从而大大减少传送费用。

和提取一样,App Engine 应用会处理用户身份验证和授权,并协调客户端对 Cloud Storage 的访问。对于浏览器客户端,App Engine 应用会为网页界面实现媒体内容下载功能。对于移动客户端或桌面客户端,客户端应用会实现界面并通过使用 Google Cloud Endpoints 公开提供的 API 与 App Engine 应用进行通信。

媒体应用

根据元数据和应用数据的可用性,您可以构建各种媒体应用。一些常见的媒体应用示例为资源管理、内容分享和社交游戏,具体取决于应用领域。App Engine 提供一个可扩缩平台来构建媒体应用。App Engine 应用易于构建、便于维护,并可以根据您的流量和数据存储需求的增长而轻松扩容。因此,开发者可以专注于打造核心业务并快速将新功能投入市场。

用户体验

在此解决方案中,App Engine 应用在定义系统用户体验方面发挥着重要作用。如前文所述,对于浏览器客户端,App Engine 应用会为网页界面实现提取、传送和媒体应用方面的功能。对于移动客户端和桌面客户端,App Engine 应用会通过 Cloud Endpoints 以 API 的形式公开提供自己的功能。这些 API 会为客户端的原生界面提供支持。

实现详情

接下来的部分将介绍所提数字媒体解决方案的实现详情。此部分首先列出系统的关键组成部分,最后详细介绍系统的三个重要工作流:媒体提取流程、媒体处理流程和媒体传送流程。

系统组成部分

  • 在 App Engine 上运行的前端应用和媒体应用
    • 对用户进行身份验证和授权,并协调对 Cloud Storage 的访问。
    • 为浏览器客户端实现界面,以及/或使用 Cloud Endpoints 向移动客户端和桌面客户端公开提供 API。
    • 充当系统控制器,并负责管理媒体提取工作流、媒体传送工作流和媒体处理工作流。
    • App Engine 为可扩缩媒体应用提供支持,内置负载平衡和自动扩缩功能。
  • Cloud Datastore
    • 存储媒体内容元数据和应用数据模型。
  • Cloud SQL
    • 存储媒体内容元数据和应用数据模型,是 Cloud Datastore 的替代方案。
  • App Engine 任务队列
    • 将 App Engine 应用与在 Compute Engine 上运行的媒体处理软件进行集成。
  • 图像服务
    • 为 App Engine 应用提供动态图像处理服务,例如缩略图生成、大小调整和剪裁。
  • Cloud Storage
    • 为媒体内容提供可扩缩的高可用性存储空间。您可以使用 RESTful API 和/或签名网址访问该存储空间。
    • 利用 Google 网络获得以下优势:(1) 能够快速、安全地将内容提取到该存储空间以及从该存储空间传送内容;(2) 获得针对公开内容的边缘缓存功能,以减少传送费用。
  • 媒体处理服务器
    • 在 Compute Engine 上执行媒体处理。

媒体提取工作流和媒体处理工作流

媒体提取工作流和媒体处理工作流通常密不可分。图 2 的组成部分通信图对这两种工作流进行了展示。

媒体提取工作流和媒体处理工作流
图 2. 媒体提取工作流和媒体处理工作流
  1. 客户端访问 App Engine 应用以开始上传。根据客户端的类型,此请求可以是:(1) 来自浏览器的简单 HTTP 请求,或 (2) 从移动应用或桌面应用(例如批量上传器)发起的对由 App Engine 应用实现的端点的调用。App Engine 应用负责对客户端/用户进行身份验证并协调 Cloud Storage 访问权限。
  2. 如果客户端是网络浏览器,则应用可以生成一个签名上传网址,指向嵌入在 HTTP POST 表单中的 Cloud Storage。否则,如果客户端是移动应用或桌面应用,则网页应用会返回 Cloud Storage 访问信息以作为端点调用响应。
  3. 无论使用哪种客户端,都可以使用网页表单或 Cloud Storage RESTful API 直接将媒体文件上传到 Cloud Storage。
  4. Cloud Storage 将响应返回给客户端。响应可以是针对基于表单的上传方式的 HTTP 响应,也可以是 RESTful API 响应,具体取决于第 3 步中使用的上传方法。
  5. 如果上传成功,则需要将媒体元数据推送到 App Engine 应用中。您可以使用以下几种不同的方法来简化这个流程:
    1. 对于使用上传表单的浏览器客户端,您可以在上传网址中指定回调网址。浏览器可根据响应重定向到这个网址,且该回调网址中还会嵌入有限的元数据信息。
    2. Cloud Storage 可以使用名为“对象更改通知”[1]的 Cloud Storage 功能在上传成功时通知 App Engine 应用。该通知会包含正在上传的媒体对象的元数据。
    3. 根据 Cloud Storage 返回的内容上传响应,客户端还可以直接调用 App Engine 应用 Cloud Endpoints 以上传元数据。
  6. App Engine 应用将元数据存储在持久存储空间中。您可以基于应用设置从以下两个数据存储方案中进行选择:(1) App Engine NoSQL Datastore,或 (2) Cloud SQL。
  7. 如果需要进行媒体处理,App Engine 应用可以在任务队列中创建一个任务,以启动媒体处理工作流。App Engine 应用还可以根据需要的工作负载启动或关闭虚拟机。
  8. 在 Compute Engine 上运行的媒体处理软件从队列中拉取任务并执行所需流程。
  9. 媒体处理软件从 Cloud Storage 读取媒体内容、对其进行处理并将输出结果存储回 Cloud Storage。

媒体传送和下载工作流

图 3 描绘了媒体传送和下载工作流,并附有详细的说明列表。

媒体传送和下载流程
图 3. 媒体传送和下载流程
  1. 客户端通过联系 App Engine 应用来启动媒体下载。该应用会对客户端进行身份验证和授权,并允许浏览和搜索特定的媒体内容。这一步骤可通过以下两种方法实现:为浏览器客户端呈现网页界面,或使用 App Engine 应用通过 Cloud Endpoints 提供的 RESTful API。
  2. 根据 Datastore 或 Cloud SQL 中的媒体元数据和应用数据,App Engine 应用可以检查应用中定义的内容分享规则,并查找存储在 Cloud Storage 中的内容的访问信息。
  3. 为了安全地从 Cloud Storage 下载内容,App Engine 应用可以生成一个签名网址或向客户端提供 OAuth 访问令牌以及 Cloud Storage 存储分区和对象名称。对于浏览器,这些信息会嵌入网页界面中。对于移动客户端和桌面客户端,这些信息将在第 1 步提到的 RESTful API 的响应中返回。
  4. 客户端通过发送 HTTP 或调用 RESTful API 来向 Cloud Storage 请求下载内容。对于公开内容,Cloud Storage 可利用 Google 网络的缓存功能。如果缓存中存在所请求内容,则该内容将从缓存中返回。否则,会发生以下情况:
    1. 从 Cloud Storage 检索内容并填充缓存。
    2. App Engine 应用允许通过 App Engine 图像服务代理从 Cloud Storage 检索到的内容,以便实时对图像进行大小调整和剪裁。
  5. 向客户端传送媒体内容。

实现方面的注意事项

  • 媒体内容的元数据可以和应用数据一起存储在 App Engine Datastore 或 Cloud SQL 中,具体取决于数据大小、整体数据模型的特征和开发团队的专业知识。例如,如果您的数据有较强的关联性,您可能需要选择 Cloud SQL。但如果您要将反规范化数据调节为一个巨大的数据集,则可能需要选择 Datastore。2012 年的 Google IO 大会对这两种方案之间的取舍进行了详细探讨 (SQL vs NoSQL: Battle of the Backends)。
  • 本文提供的解决方案使用 Compute Engine 进行媒体处理。Compute Engine 允许在支持的操作系统上运行自定义软件和软件包。该平台适用于通用型媒体处理。或者,如果您要进行简单的图像和照片操作,App Engine 可提供一项图像服务,让您能够实时执行图像处理。

示例应用

我们开发了一款示例照片分享应用3,用来演示如何实现媒体资源管理与分享解决方案(如前文所述的解决方案)。该照片分享应用允许用户上传照片并使其可供其他用户查看。用户还可以针对上传的照片发表评论。以下列表详细说明了这一使用场景的关键元素:

  • 用户需要使用有效的 Google 帐号登录方可使用该应用。
  • 用户从本地磁盘上传照片和说明。
  • 上传到该照片分享应用的所有照片都按时间顺序显示。
  • 用户将对所有用户可见的评论添加到任何照片。
  • 显示照片时,可以调整其大小及进行剪裁以适应界面。

此示例应用的源代码托管在 GitHub 下。

总结

Google Cloud Platform 使开发者能够快速构建数字媒体资源管理与分享解决方案,且该解决方案可以轻松扩容以支持数百万用户和数 PB 数据。本文介绍的解决方案结合了 App Engine、Compute Engine 和 Cloud Storage 的强大功能,可以解决数字媒体系统带来的技术难题。


备注

[1] 对象更改通知目前仍是“受信任的测试人员”计划中的功能。

参考

1 OTT Video Revenue Forecasts (2011-2017),Informa Telecoms & Media 于 2012 年 11 月发布。

2 Garnter: Consumers Will Drive Huge Growth for Cloud Storage,Colleen Miller 于 2012 年 7 月发布。

3 Photo Sharing Sample Application,Michael Tang 于 2012 年 10 月发布。

此页内容是否有用?请给出您的反馈和评价:

发送以下问题的反馈:

此网页
Solutions

Digital Media Asset Management And Sharing

Digital media is one of the fastest growing areas on the internet. According to a market study by Informa Telecoms & Media conducted in 2012, the global online video market only, will reach $37 billion in 20171. Other common media types include images, music, and digital documents. One driving force for this phenomena growth is the popularity of feature rich mobile devices, equipped with higher resolution cameras, bigger screens, and faster data connections. This has led to a massive increase in media content production and consumption. Another driving force is the trend among many social networks to incorporate media sharing as a core feature in their systems. Meanwhile, numerous startup companies are trying to build their own niche areas in this market.

This paper will use an example scenario to provide a technical deep-dive on how to use Google Cloud Platform to build a digital media asset management and sharing system.

Example Scenario - Photofeed

Photofeed, a fictitious start-up company, is interested in building a photo sharing application that allows users to upload and share photos with each other. This application also includes a social aspect and allows people to post comments about photos. Photofeed's product team believes that in order for them to be competitive in this space, users must be able to upload, view, and edit photos quickly, securely and with great user experiences. Additionally, they would like this application to easily scale as the number of users and photos increases. In order for these goals to be achieved, the system must also have an efficient pipeline for photo processing capabilities, such as resizing, cropping, and thumbnail generation. As the business grows, the system must allow the development team to rapidly introduce new features.

Challenges In Building Scalable Digital Media Systems

Building a scalable digital media system from scratch that supports a large number of users and stores huge amount of media content is not a trivial task. The following list provides an overview of the common technical challenges associated with building scalable digital media systems:

  • Ingestion
    • The system must allow end users to quickly and securely upload media objects while still providing a compelling user experience.
    • Metadata of the media objects needs to be ingested and synchronized if media objects are modified or re-ingested.
    • The ingestion workflow that defines the communication among all involved components needs to be managed.
  • Storage
    • Virtually unlimited storage for the media content and the storage must be reliable, globally accessible, and cost effective2.
  • Processing
    • Scalable computing resources are required for media processing, such as document format conversion, image processing, and media transcoding.
    • The media processing workflow needs to be managed.
  • Serving
    • The system must allow end users to quickly and securely download media content while still providing a good user experience.
    • The serving workflow needs to be managed.
  • Media Applications
    • The system supports the integration of media metadata with application specific domain data. It also allows for the development of scalable media applications, such as asset management, and content sharing, on top of this data.
  • End User Experiences
    • The system provides compelling user experiences for multiple clients such as browsers, mobile devices, and desktop applications.

The solution presented in this paper demonstrates how Google Cloud Platform is able to address each of the challenges described above. The proposed system architecture is generally applicable to any media type. The solution serves as a reference for software architects and software developers for building their own digital media systems on Google Cloud Platform.

Solution Overview

App Engine, Cloud Storage, and Compute Engine are the three features of Google Cloud Platform. As shown in Figure 1, all of these products work together to form the basis of this digital media asset management and sharing solution.

Key components of proposed solution
Figure 1. Key components of proposed Digital Media Asset Management and Sharing Solution

Ingestion

Both Cloud Storage and App Engine play a critical role in media content ingestion. During uploading, media content flows directly from the client, through the global Google network into the Cloud Storage. With its global reach, massive bandwidth, and integration with Cloud Storage, the Google network allows content to be ingested into the storage with low latency from almost anywhere. Cloud Storage supports two common uploading mechanisms: HTTP POST using signed URL and RESTful APIs.

App Engine is designed to power scalable web applications that handle millions of users. Front end application for content ingestion can be developed on App Engine. The application is responsible for authentication, allowing only authorized users to upload content. Meanwhile, the application manages the ingestion workflow and coordinates with the clients to upload content to Cloud Storage. For browser clients, the application also implements the web user interface for content uploading. For mobile or desktop clients, the user interface resides in the client application while the App Engine application exposes its functionality as RESTful APIs using Cloud Endpoints. The client side applications make calls to the APIs for authentication and for gaining access to Google Cloud Storage.

Another important role of the App Engine application is ingesting metadata and keeping it in sync with the media content. The metadata is stored along with the application data in the App Engine Datastore or in the Cloud SQL database. The decision about which storage option to choose from depends on the characteristics of your application. There are a few ways to synchronize metadata ingestion with media content ingestion, for example, (1) by using Blobstore upload callback URL, (2) by using the Cloud Storage Object Change Notification, or (3) simply by exposing appropriate APIs from the App Engine application using Cloud Endpoints.

Storage

Cloud Storage provides virtually unlimited storage for media content at low cost. The media data is redundant. By leveraging the Google network, the content in Cloud Storage is globally accessible from App Engine, from Compute Engine, and from public internet outside Google Cloud Platform.

Cloud Storage provides several storage classes to choose from to best meet your needs.

Processing

Compute Engine provides superior performance for batch computation. Media processing, such as document format conversion, transcoding, and image manipulation, is a perfect candidate for Compute Engine. In this case, Cloud Storage acts as both the input source and the output destination of the media processing pipeline. Since Cloud Storage is well integrated with Compute Engine, such as automatic authentication via service account, it can be easily accessed from Compute Engine.

The media processing workflow is also managed by the App Engine application mentioned previously. After media content is uploaded into storage, the App Engine application creates and inserts media processing tasks into TaskQueue. The enqueued tasks are pulled out by the media processing software running on Compute Engine using RESTful APIs and executed accordingly. The App Engine application can also maintain the processing status of the media content and the load information of virtual machines in order to autoscale the Compute Engine instances.

Serving

Cloud Storage leverages the Google network to allow media content to be served across the internet with low latency and high availability. The Google network automatically provides edge caching capability for public content, which can significantly lower the serving costs.

As is the case with ingestion, the App Engine application handles user authentication and authorization, and coordinates access to Cloud Storage from the clients. For browser clients, the App Engine application powers the web user interface for media content downloading. For mobile or desktop clients, the client-side applications implement the user interface and communicate with the App Engine application through APIs exposed using Google Cloud Endpoints.

Media Applications

Various media applications can be built with the availability of metadata and application data. Depending on the application domains, some common examples of media applications are asset management, content sharing, and social gaming. App Engine provides a scalable platform to build media applications. App Engine applications are easy to build, easy to maintain, and easy to scale as your traffic and data storage needs grow. This allows developers to focus on building their core business and bring new features to market quickly.

User Experiences

In this solution, the App Engine application plays a critical role in defining user experiences for the system. As mentioned earlier, for browser clients, the App Engine application implements the web user interface for ingestion, serving, and media applications. For mobile and desktop clients, the App Engine application exposes its functionality as APIs using Cloud Endpoints. The native user interface at the client side is powered by these APIs.

Implementation Details

The next section walks through the implementation details of the proposed digital media solution. It begins with a list of key components of the system and ends with a detailed presentation of the three important workflows of the system: media ingestion flow, media processing flow, and media serving flow.

System Components

  • Frontend and Media Applications Running on App Engine
    • Authenticates and authorizes users and coordinate access to Cloud Storage.
    • Implements the user interface for browser clients, and/or exposes APIs using Cloud Endpoints to mobile and desktop clients.
    • Plays the role of system controller and is responsible for managing workflows for media ingestion, serving, and processing.
    • Scalable media applications are powered by App Engine, with built-in load-balancing and auto-scaling.
  • Cloud Datastore
    • Stores media content metadata and application data model.
  • Cloud SQL
    • Stores media content metadata and application data model, as an alternative to Cloud Datastore.
  • App Engine Task Queue
    • Integrates App Engine application with media processing software running on Compute Engine.
  • Image Services
    • Provides dynamic image processing services for App Engine applications, such as thumbnail generation, resizing, and cropping.
  • Cloud Storage
    • Provides scalable and highly available storage for media content. The storage can be accessed by using RESTful APIs and/or signed URLs.
    • Leverages Google network for the following advantages: (1) to allow for fast and secure content ingestion into and serving from the storage and (2) for edge caching capability for public content which lowers the serving costs.
  • Media Processing Server
    • Executes media processing on Compute Engine.

Media Ingestion Workflow and Media Processing Workflow

The media ingestion workflow and the media processing workflow are often tied together. Both workflows are shown in the component communication diagram in Fig 2.

Media Ingestion and Media Processing Workflows
Figure 2. Media Ingestion and Media Processing Workflows
  1. The client accesses the App Engine application to start an upload. Depending on the type of clients, this request can be: (1) a simple HTTP request from the browser or (2) a call to an endpoint implemented by the App Engine application from a mobile or desktop application, such as a batch uploader. The App Engine application is responsible for authenticating the client/user and coordinate the Cloud Storage access.
  2. If the client is a web browser, the application can generate a signed upload URL to the Cloud Storage embedded in an HTTP POST form. Otherwise, if the client is a mobile or desktop application, the web application returns Cloud Storage access information as an endpoint call response.
  3. Regardless of the client, media files are uploaded to Cloud Storage directly by using either the web form or the Cloud Storage RESTful APIs.
  4. Cloud Storage returns a response back to the client. Depending on the uploading mechanism used in Step 3, the response can either be an HTTP response for form-based upload or a RESTful API response.
  5. If the upload succeeds, the media metadata needs to be pushed into the App Engine application. There are a few different ways to streamline the process:
    1. For browser clients using an upload form, a callback URL can be specified inside the upload URL. Based on the response, the browser can be redirected to this URL with limited metadata information embedded in the callback URL.
    2. Cloud Storage can notify the App Engine application upon upload success using a Cloud Storage feature called Object Change Notification[1]. The notification contains metadata of the media object being uploaded.
    3. Based on the content upload response from the Cloud Storage, clients can also call the App Engine application Cloud Endpoints directly to upload any metadata.
  6. App Engine application stores the metadata in a persistent store. There are two options for the data stores depending on the application setup: (1) App Engine NoSQL Datastore, or (2) Cloud SQL.
  7. If media processing is required, the App Engine application can create a task on the task queue in order to start the media processing workflow. It is also possible for the App Engine application to spin up or bring down virtual machines based on the workload on demand.
  8. The media processing software, running on Compute Engine, pulls the task from the queue and executes the required procedures.
  9. The media processing software reads the media content from Cloud Storage, processes it, and stores the output back to Cloud Storage.

Media Serving And Download Workflow

Figure 3 describes the media serving and download workflow and is accompanied by a list of detailed descriptions.

Media Serving and Download Flow
Figure 3. Media Serving and Download Flow
  1. The clients start the media download by contacting the App Engine application which authenticates and authorizes the clients and also allows for browsing and searching of specific media content. This can either be accomplished by presenting a web user interface for browser client or via a RESTful API provided by the App Engine application using Cloud Endpoints.
  2. Based on the media metadata and application data in Datastore or Cloud SQL, the App Engine application can check the content sharing rules defined in the application, and look up access information for the content stored in Cloud Storage.
  3. For content to be securely downloaded from Cloud Storage, the App Engine application can generate a signed URL or provide OAuth access token, along with the Cloud Storage bucket and object names to the client. For browsers, the information is embedded in the web user interface. For mobile and desktop clients, the information is returned in the response of the RESTful API mentioned in Step 1.
  4. The clients make a request to the Cloud Storage to download the content by sending out HTTP or by calling the RESTful API. Cloud Storage can leverage the caching capability of the Google network for public content. If the content is available in the cache, content is returned from the cache. Otherwise, the following occurs:
    1. The content is retrieved from the Cloud Storage and the cache is filled.
    2. App Engine application allows the content retrieved from Cloud Storage to be proxied through the App Engine Image Services for “on the fly” resizing and cropping images.
  5. The media content is served to the client.

Implementation Considerations

  • The metadata for the media content can be stored along with the application data, either in App Engine Datastore or in Cloud SQL. The choice depends on the size of the data, the characteristics of the overall data model, and the developer team's expertise. For example, you may want to choose Cloud SQL if you have highly relational data. Alternatively, you may want to choose Datastore if you are scaling denormalized data to a massive data set. The trade-off between the two options is well discussed in the Google IO 2012 session, SQL vs NoSQL: Battle of the Backends.
  • The provided solution uses Compute Engine for media processing. Compute Engine allows running custom software and packages on supported operating systems. The platform is suitable for general purpose media processing. Alternatively, for simple image and photo manipulations, App Engine provides an Image Service that can perform image processing on the fly.

Sample Application

A sample photo sharing application3 has been developed to demonstrate how a media asset management and sharing solution, like the one described earlier in the scenario, can be implemented. The photo sharing application allows a user to upload and make them available for other users to view. A user can also post comments for uploaded photos. The following list details the key elements of this use case scenario:

  • A user is required to login with a valid Google account to use the application.
  • A user uploads a photo and a description from a local disk.
  • All photos uploaded into the photo sharing application are displayed in chronological order.
  • The user adds comments, visible to all users, to any photo.
  • When a photo is displayed, the image can be resized and cropped to fit into the user interface.

The source code is hosted under GitHub.

Conclusion

Google Cloud Platform enables developers to quickly build a digital media asset management and sharing solution that scales to millions of users and petabytes of data. The solution presented in this paper combines the power of App Engine, Compute Engine, and Cloud Storage to solve the technical challenges presented by digital media systems.


Notes

[1] The Object Change Notification is currently still a feature under the Trusted Tester program.

References

1 OTT Video Revenue Forecasts, 2011-2017, by Informa Telecoms & Media, November 2012.

2 Garnter: Consumers Will Drive Huge Growth for Cloud Storage, by Colleen Miller, July 2012.

3 Photo Sharing Sample Application, by Michael Tang, Oct, 2012.

Send feedback about...