訓練總覽

透過 AI Platform,您可以在雲端執行 TensorFlow 訓練應用程式。此外,您可以使用自訂容器,以其他機器學習架構執行訓練工作。本頁面說明充分利用模型訓練效果所需的重要概念。如果您想直接進入訓練程序,請參閱啟動訓練工作

訓練的運作方式

AI Platform 會藉由雲端的運算資源執行訓練工作。您不需要編寫訓練應用程式,就能使用資料集訓練內建演算法 (Beta 版)。如果內建演算法不適合您的使用案例,您可以建立要在 AI Platform 上執行的訓練應用程式。

以下是使用訓練應用程式的流程概述:

  1. 您可以建立一個 TensorFlow 應用程式來訓練您的模型,並以在本機開發環境中的相同執行方式來建構應用程式。
  2. 將訓練和驗證資料放入 AI Platform 可以存取的來源中。通常您可以將這些資料放在與您用於 AI Platform 的 GCP 專案相關聯的 Cloud Storage、Cloud BigTable 或其他 Google Cloud Platform 儲存服務中。
  3. 當應用程式已準備好可以執行時,您必須封裝應用程式,並將其轉移到專案可存取的 Cloud Storage 值區。如果您使用 gcloud 指令列工具執行訓練工作,系統會自動為您完成上述工作。
  4. AI Platform 訓練服務會為您的工作設定資源。這項服務會根據您的工作設定分配一或多個虛擬機器 (稱為「訓練執行個體」)。您可藉由下列方式設定各個訓練執行個體:
    • 依照工作使用的 AI Platform 版本套用標準機器映像檔。
    • 載入應用程式套件並使用 pip 進行安裝。
    • 安裝您指定為依附元件的任何其他套件。
  5. 訓練服務會執行您的應用程式,傳遞您在建立訓練工作時指定的任何指令列引數。
  6. 您可以透過下列方式取得執行工作的相關資訊:
    • 前往 Stackdriver Logging。
    • 使用 gcloud 指令列工具,要求工作詳細資料或執行記錄串流。
    • 使用程式,向訓練服務發出狀態要求。
  7. 訓練工作成功完成或發生無法復原的錯誤時,AI Platform 會停止所有工作程序並清除資源。

分散式訓練架構

如果您透過 AI Platform 執行分散式 TensorFlow 工作,則需要在「訓練叢集」中指定多個機器 (節點)。訓練服務會為您指定的機器類型分配資源,並對各機器類型執行上方的步驟 4。您在特定節點上執行的工作稱為「備用資源」。系統會依據分散式 TensorFlow 模型,在分散式訓練中將一個角色或工作分配給訓練叢集中的每個備用資源:

  • 主要執行個體:只有一個備用資源可指派為「主要執行個體」。此工作會管理其他工作,並回報整體工作的狀態。訓練服務會持續執行,直到工作成功完成或發生無法復原的錯誤。在分散式訓練中,主要執行個體的狀態即為整體工作狀態。

    如果您執行的是單一程序工作,其中唯一的備用資源就是工作的主要備用資源。

  • 工作站:您可以指派一或多個備用資源做為「工作站」。這些備用資源會按照您在工作設定中的設定執行自己分內的任務。

  • 參數伺服器:您可以指派一或多個備用資源做為「參數伺服器」。這些備份資源會協調工作站之間的共用模型狀態。

典型的機器學習應用程式

AI Platform 訓練服務是要儘量減少對應用程式的影響,這表示您可專注於透過 TensorFlow 程式碼來定義自己想要的模型,而不受限於固有的結構。

大部分機器學習應用程式都具備以下特點:

  • 可取得訓練資料和評估資料。
  • 以批次方式處理資料樣本。
  • 使用評估資料測試模型的準確率 (模型預測到正確值的頻率)。
  • 可在程序中每隔一段時間輸出查核點,以取得模型進度的快照。
  • 可於應用程式完成時匯出訓練模型。

封裝應用程式

在使用 AI Platform 執行訓練應用程式之前,您必須先封裝應用程式及任何必要的依附元件,並將套件上傳至 Google Cloud Platform 專案可存取的 Cloud Storage 值區。

gcloud 指令列工具可自動執行大部分的程序。具體來說,您可以使用 gcloud ai-platform jobs submit training 來上傳應用程式套件及提交訓練工作。

如需詳細的操作說明,請參閱封裝訓練應用程式

提交訓練工作

AI Platform 會以非同步 (批次) 服務的方式提供模型訓練。如要提交訓練工作,您可以從指令列執行 gcloud ai-platform jobs submit training 或在 projects.jobs.create 傳送要求給 API。

如需詳細的操作說明,請參閱啟動訓練工作

工作 ID

您必須為訓練工作提供符合下列規則的名稱:

  • 在 Google Cloud Platform 專案中不得重複。
  • 僅能包含大小寫混用字母、數字和底線。
  • 開頭必須是英文字母。
  • 長度不得超過 128 個字元。

您可以採用任何偏好的工作命名慣例。如果您執行的工作並不多,那麼名稱可能不那麼重要。但您如果執行很多工作,您可能需要在大型清單中尋找工作 ID,因此我們建議您採用容易區分工作的工作 ID。

常見的做法是為所有與某個模型有關的工作定義一個基礎名稱,再附加日期/時間字串。這種命名慣例可依名稱排序工作清單,因為某個模型中的所有工作都會依遞增順序分成同一組。

資源調度層級

在 AI Platform 上執行訓練工作時,您必須指定所需的機器數量和類型。為使程序更為簡單,您可以從一組預先定義的叢集規格 (稱為「資源調度層級」) 中進行挑選。您也可以選擇「自訂」層級並自行指定機器類型。

如要指定資源調度層級,請將其新增至工作設定中的 TrainingInput 物件。如果您使用 gcloud 指令提交訓練工作,則可使用相同的 ID。

請參閱資源調度層級和機器類型的詳細定義。

超參數調整

如果您要使用超參數調整,則必須於建立訓練工作時加入設定詳細資料。請參閱超參數調整的概念指南以及如何使用超參數調整

地區與區域

GCP 利用地區,再細分為區域,來定義實體運算資源的地理位置。在 AI Platform 上執行訓練工作時,您必須指定執行該工作的地區。

如果您將訓練資料集儲存在 Cloud Storage 中,則執行訓練工作的地區應該與儲存訓練資料的 Cloud Storage 值區所在地區相同。如果執行工作的地區與資料值區所在地區不同,可能會耗費更多時間才能完成工作。

如要查看 AI Platform 服務 (包括模型訓練以及線上/批次預測) 的可用地區,請參閱地區指南

使用 job-dir 做為通用輸出目錄

您可以在設定工作時設定工作目錄,以指定工作的輸出目錄。提交工作時,AI Platform 會執行下列作業:

  • 驗證目錄,讓您可以在工作執行前先解決任何問題。
  • 將路徑以名為 --job-dir 的指令列引數傳送至應用程式。

您必須在應用程式中使用 --job-dir 引數。因此您要在剖析其他參數時擷取引數值,並於儲存應用程式輸出時使用。請參閱啟動訓練工作指南。

執行階段版本

您應該為訓練工作指定支援的 AI Platform 執行階段版本。執行階段版本會決定分配的訓練執行個體上安裝的 TensorFlow 版本和其他 Python 套件的版本,因此請指定可提供您所需功能的版本。如果您會在本機和雲端執行訓練工作,請確認本機和雲端工作採用相同的執行階段版本。

輸入資料

用於訓練工作的資料必須符合下列規則,才能在 AI Platform 上執行:

  • 資料必須採用您可讀取及寫入 TensorFlow 程式碼的格式。
  • 資料必須位於程式碼可存取的位置。這通常表示資料應儲存於某個 GCP 儲存空間或大數據服務中。

輸出資料

應用程式輸出資料十分常見,輸出的資料包括訓練期間的查核點,以及完成訓練時儲存的模型。您可視應用程式的需要輸出其他資料。最簡單的方式是將輸出檔案儲存至訓練工作的 GCP 專案 Cloud Storage 值區中。

建構不受 VM 重新啟動影響的訓練工作

GCP VM 偶爾可能會重新啟動。您應該定期儲存模型查核點,並將工作設定為還原至最新查核點,以確保訓練工作不受重新啟動的影響。

通常你會將模型查核點儲存於您在 gcloud ai-platform jobs submit training 指令中使用 --job-dir 引數指定的 Cloud Storage 路徑。

使用 GPU 訓練

您可以透過圖形處理器 (GPU) 在 AI Platform 上執行訓練工作。GPU 可高速執行密集數學運算。在張量資料上執行特定操作時,與新增另一部具有一或多個 CPU 核心的機器相比,使用 GPU 更有效率。

AI Platform 訓練服務無須透過任何特殊介面即可和 GPU 搭配使用。您可以指定支援 GPU 的機器來執行工作,服務就會為您分配這些機器。如果您為某個工作類型指定可存取 GPU 的機器類型,則指派給該工作類型的每個執行個體都會一如既往地採用相同的設定:服務會在每部機器上執行程式碼的單一備用資源。

在 GPU 上執行某些模型不會比較好。我們建議您將 GPU 用在需要進行許多數學運算的大型複雜模型上。但即使這樣,您仍應透過訓練執行一小部分資料範例,以測試 GPU 支援的優勢。

請參閱如何將 GPU 用於訓練工作

使用 TPU 訓練

您可以在搭配 Cloud TPU 的 AI Platform 上執行訓練工作。

請參閱如何使用 TPU 執行訓練工作

後續步驟

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
TensorFlow 適用的 AI Platform

Training Overview

Using Cloud Machine Learning Engine, you can run your TensorFlow training applications in the cloud. This page describes the key concepts you need in order to make the most of your model training. If you'd rather get right into the training process, see how to start a training job.

How training works

Your training application, implemented in Python and TensorFlow, is the core of the training process. Cloud ML Engine runs your training job on computing resources in the cloud. Here's an overview of the process:

  1. You create a TensorFlow application that defines your computation graph and trains your model. Cloud ML Engine has almost no specific requirements of your application during the training process, so you build it as you would to run locally in your development environment.
  2. You get your training and verification data into a source that Cloud ML Engine can access. This usually means putting it in Cloud Storage, Cloud Bigtable, or another Google Cloud Platform storage service associated with the same GCP project that you're using for Cloud ML Engine.
  3. When your application is ready to run, you must package it and transfer it to a Cloud Storage bucket that your project can access. This is automated when you use the gcloud command-line tool to run a training job.
  4. The Cloud ML Engine training service sets up resources for your job. It allocates one or more virtual machines (called training instances) based on your job configuration. Each training instance is set up by:
    • Applying the standard machine image for the version of Cloud ML Engine your job uses.
    • Loading your application package and installing it with pip.
    • Installing any additional packages that you specify as dependencies.
  5. The training service runs your application, passing through any command-line arguments you specify when you create the training job.
  6. You can get information about your running job in the following ways:
    • On Stackdriver Logging.
    • By requesting job details or running log streaming with the gcloud command-line tool.
    • By programmatically making status requests to the training service.
  7. When your training job succeeds or encounters an unrecoverable error, Cloud ML Engine halts all job processes and cleans up the resources.

If you run a distributed TensorFlow job with Cloud ML Engine, you specify multiple machines (nodes) in a training cluster. The training service allocates the resources for the machine types you specify and performs step 4 above on each. Your running job on a given node is called a replica. In accordance with the distributed TensorFlow model, each replica in the training cluster is given a single role or task in distributed training:

  • Exactly one replica is designated the master. This task manages the others and reports status for the job as a whole. The training service runs until your job succeeds or encounters an unrecoverable error. In the distributed case, it is the status of the master replica that signals the overall job status.

    If you are running a single-process job, the sole replica is the master for the job.

  • One or more replicas may be designated as workers. These replicas do their portion of the work as you designate in your job configuration.

  • One or more replicas may be designated as parameter servers. These replicas coordinate shared model state between the workers.

A typical machine learning application

The Cloud ML Engine training service is designed to have as little impact on your application as possible. This means you can focus on your TensorFlow code to define the model you want instead of being confined by a rigid structure.

Most machine learning applications:

  • Provide a way to get training data and evaluation data.
  • Process data instances in batches.
  • Use evaluation data to test the accuracy of the model (how often it predicts the right value).
  • Provide a way to output checkpoints at intervals in the process to get a snapshot of the model's progress.
  • Provide a way to export the trained model when the application finishes.

Packaging your application

Before you can run your training application with Cloud Machine Learning Engine, you must package your application and any additional dependencies you require, and upload the package to Cloud Storage bucket that your Google Cloud Platform project can access.

The gcloud command-line tool automates much of the process. Specifically, you can use gcloud ml-engine jobs submit training to upload your application package and submit your training job.

See the detailed instructions on packaging a training application.

Submitting your training job

Cloud Machine Learning Engine provides model training as an asynchronous (batch) service. You can submit a training job by running gcloud ml-engine jobs submit training from the command line or by sending a request to the API at projects.jobs.create.

See the detailed instructions on starting a training job.

Job ID

You must give your training job a name that obeys these rules:

  • It must be unique within your Google Cloud Platform project.
  • It may only contain mixed-case letters, digits, and underscores.
  • It must start with a letter.
  • It must be no more than 128 characters long.

You can use whatever job naming convention you want. If you don't run very many jobs, the name you choose may not be very important. If you run a lot of jobs, you may need to find your job ID in large lists. It's a good idea to make your job IDs easy to distinguish from one another.

A common technique is to define a base name for all jobs associated with a given model and then append a date/time string. This convention makes it easy to sort lists of jobs by name, because all jobs for a model are then grouped together in ascending order.

Scale tiers

When running a training job on Cloud ML Engine you must specify the number and types of machines you need. To make the process easier, you can pick from a set of predefined cluster specifications called scale tiers. Alternatively, you can choose a custom tier and specify the machine types yourself.

To specify a scale tier, add it to the TrainingInput object in your job configuration. If you're using the gcloud command to submit your training job, you can use the same identifiers.

See the detailed definitions of scale tiers and machine types.

Hyperparameter tuning

If you want to use hyperparameter tuning, you must include configuration details when you create your training job. See a conceptual guide to hyperparameter tuning. and how to use hyperparameter tuning.

Regions and zones

GCP uses regions, subdivided into zones, to define the geographic location of physical computing resources. When you run a training job on Cloud ML Engine, you specify the region that you want it to run in.

If you store your training dataset on Cloud Storage, you should run your training job in the same region as the Cloud Storage bucket you're using for the training data. If you must run your job in a different region from your data bucket, your job may take longer.

To see the available regions for Cloud ML Engine services, including model training and online/batch prediction, read the guide to regions.

Using job-dir as a common output directory

You can specify the output directory for your job by setting a job directory when you configure the job. When you submit the job, Cloud ML Engine does the following:

  • Validates the directory so that you can fix any problems before the job runs.
  • Passes the path to your application as a command-line argument named --job-dir.

You need to account for the --job-dir argument in your application. Capture the argument value when you parse your other parameters and use it when saving your application's output. See the guide to starting a training job.

Runtime version

You should specify a supported Cloud ML Engine runtime version to use for your training job. The runtime version dictates the versions of TensorFlow and other Python packages that are installed on your allocated training instances. Specify a version that gives you the functionality you need. If you run the training job locally as well as in the cloud, make sure the local and cloud jobs use the same runtime version.

If you don't specify a runtime version, your training job uses the default runtime version: 1.0.

Input data

The data that you can use in your training job must obey the following rules to run on Cloud ML Engine:

  • The data must be in a format that you can read and feed to your TensorFlow code.
  • The data must be in a location that your code can access. This typically means that it should be stored with one of the GCP storage or big data services.

Output data

It is common for applications to output data, including checkpoints during training and a saved model when training is complete. You can output other data as needed by your application. It is easiest to save your output files to a Cloud Storage bucket in the same GCP project as your training job.

Building training jobs that are resilient to VM restarts

GCP VMs may be restarted occasionally. You should ensure that your training job is resilient to these restarts, by saving model checkpoints regularly, and by configuring your job to restore the most recent checkpoint.

You usually save model checkpoints in the Cloud Storage path that you specify with the --job-dir argument in the gcloud ml-engine jobs submit training command.

The TensorFlow Estimator API implements checkpoint functionality for you. If your model is wrapped in an Estimator, you do not need to worry about restart events on your VMs.

If it is not feasible for you to wrap your model in a TensorFlow Estimator and you want your training jobs to be resilient to restart events, you must write the checkpoint saving and restoration functionality into your model yourself. TensorFlow provides the following useful resources in the tf.train module:

Training with GPUs

You can run your training jobs on Cloud ML Engine with graphics processing units (GPUs). GPUs are designed to perform mathematically intensive operations at high speed. They can be more effective at running certain operations on tensor data than adding another machine with one or more CPU cores.

The Cloud ML Engine training service doesn't provide any special interface for working with GPUs. You can specify GPU-enabled machines to run your job, and the service allocates them for you. You assign TensorFlow Ops to GPUs in your code. When you specify a machine type with GPU access for a task type, each instance assigned to that task type is configured identically (as always): the service runs a single replica of your code on each machine.

Some models don't benefit from running on GPUs. We recommend GPUs for large, complex models that have many mathematical operations. Even then, you should test the benefit of GPU support by running a small sample of your data through training.

See how to use GPUs for your training job.

Training with TPUs (Beta)

You can run your training jobs on Cloud ML Engine with Cloud TPU.

See how to use TPUs for your training job.

What's next

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Cloud ML Engine for TensorFlow