超參數調整總覽

本頁說明超參數調整的相關概念,這是由 AI Platform 提供的自動化模型強化功能。超參數調整運用 Google Cloud Platform 的處理基礎架構,可在訓練模型時測試不同的超參數設定。這項功能可提供最佳化的超參數值,儘可能提高模型的預測準確率。

什麼是超參數?

「超參數」包含了管理訓練程序本身的資料。

訓練應用程式在訓練模型的過程中會處理三種資料類別:

  • 「輸入資料」(也稱做訓練資料) 是個別記錄 (樣本) 的集合,其中包含了對機器學習問題來說很重要的特徵。系統在訓練期間會使用這種資料設定模型,以準確地預測類似資料的新樣本。不過,輸入資料中的值一律不會直接成為模型的一部分。

  • 模型的「參數」是指選定的機器學習技術用來調整資料的變數。舉例來說,深層類神經網路 (DNN) 由處理節點 (神經元) 組成,每個處理節點會包含將資料傳輸到網路時對資料執行的作業。DNN 經過訓練後,每個節點會包含一個權重值,可告知您的模型其對於最終預測的影響程度。那些權重值是模型參數的範例。從許多方面來說,模型的參數「是」模型,用於區別您的特定模型和其他處理類似資料的相同類型模型。

  • 您的「超參數」是管理訓練程序本身的變數。舉例來說,在設定深層類神經網路的過程中,會需要決定輸入層和輸出層之間要使用多少節點的隱藏層,以及每層要使用多少節點。這些變數與訓練資料沒有直接關聯,屬於設定變數。請注意,參數在訓練工作中會有所變更,而超參數在工作期間通常會保持不變。

您的模型「參數」會透過訓練程序進行最佳化 (也可以稱為「調整」):您透過模型的作業執行資料、比較預測結果和每個資料樣本的實際值、評估準確率,並進行調整,直到找出最適合的值。「超參數」的調整方式為執行整個訓練工作、查看累積的準確率,並進行調整。這兩種情況都會修改模型的組成,以找出解決問題的最佳組合。

如果不使用 AI Platform 超參數調整這種自動化技術,您必須在多次執行訓練的過程中手動調整超參數,才能取得最佳值。超參數調整技術讓找出最佳超參數設定的程序更加簡單方便。

超參數調整的運作方式

超參數調整的運作方式是在單一訓練工作中執行多個「試驗」。每個試驗都會根據您選定的超參數,使用符合其指定限制範圍內的值,完整執行訓練應用程式。AI Platform 訓練服務會追蹤每個試驗的結果,並調整後續的試驗。當工作完成後,您可以取得所有試驗的匯總資料,以及根據您的指定條件算出的最佳設定值。

超參數調整必須在 AI Platform 訓練服務和您的訓練應用程式之間進行明確通訊。您的訓練應用程式會定義模型所需的所有資訊。您必須定義您要調整的超參數 (變數),並指定每個超參數的值。

要瞭解 AI Platform 如何利用貝氏最佳化方法進行超參數調整,請參閱這篇網誌文章:在 Cloud Machine Learning Engine 中使用貝氏最佳化方法進行超參數調整

除了貝氏最佳化方法以外,AI Platform 還可以最佳化多個超參數調整工作。如果您針對類似模型進行超參數調整,只變更目標函式或新增輸入資料欄,AI Platform 會隨著時間持續改善,提升超參數調整的效率。

超參數調整最佳化的項目

超參數調整可最佳化您指定的單一指定變數,也稱為超參數指標。從評估過程中算出的模型準確率是一個常見指標。指標必須是數值,您可以指定是否要調整模型以最大化或最小化指標。

當您使用超參數調整來啟動工作時,就會建立超參數指標的名稱。當您要指派名稱給新增到訓練應用程式的純量彙總時,將會用到這個名稱。

指標的預設名稱為 training/hptuning/metric。我們建議您指定自訂名稱。唯一的運作差異在於如果您使用自訂名稱,必須在工作要求中設定 HyperparameterSpec 物件的 hyperparameterMetricTag 值,使其與您選擇的名稱相符。

AI Platform 如何取得您的指標

您可能會注意到,這份說明文件並未針對將超參數指標傳送給 AI Platform 訓練服務提供相關操作說明。這是因為服務會監控訓練應用程式產生的 TensorFlow 匯總事件,並擷取指標。

設定超參數值的流程

如果不使用超參數調整服務,您可以透過任何方式設定超參數,例如在訓練應用程式中進行設定。例如,您可以透過將指令列引數傳送給主要應用程式模組,或是在設定檔中提供給應用程式的方式來設定超參數。

使用超參數調整時,您必須使用以下程序來設定要用於調整的超參數值:

  • 在主要訓練模組中,為每個調整的超參數定義指令列引數。

  • 在應用程式的 TensorFlow 程式碼中,使用那些引數傳送的值來設定對應的超參數。

使用超參數調整來設定訓練工作時,您可以定義每個要調整的超參數、超參數類型,以及要嘗試的值範圍。您可以使用與主模組中定義的對應引數相同的名稱來識別每個超參數。訓練服務中包含執行應用程式時使用這些名稱的指令列引數。

選取要調整的超參數

關於如何選擇要調整的超參數,目前幾乎沒有普遍共識。如果您對正在使用的機器學習技術有經驗,您可能會對超參數的行為方式有所瞭解。您也可以透過機器學習社群找到相關建議。

無論選用哪些超參數,瞭解其含意都很重要。每個您選擇要調整的超參數都可能提高成功調整工作所需的試驗次數。訓練 AI Platform 時,您必須支付工作執行時間的費用;仔細選擇要調整的超參數可降低訓練模型的時間和成本。

超參數類型

工作參考說明文件會列出支援的超參數類型。在 ParameterSpec 物件中,請指定每個超參數的類型和相關值範圍,如下表所示:

類型 值範圍 值資料
DOUBLE minValuemaxValue 浮點值
INTEGER minValuemaxValue 整數值
CATEGORICAL categoricalValues 類別字串清單
DISCRETE discreteValues 遞增排序的值清單

超參數縮放

您可以指定超參數要執行的縮放類型。建議對 DOUBLE 和 INTEGER 類型進行縮放。可使用的縮放類型如下:

  • UNIT_LINEAR_SCALE
  • UNIT_LOG_SCALE
  • UNIT_REVERSE_LOG_SCALE

搜尋演算法

您可以在 HyperparameterSpec 物件中指定搜尋演算法。如果未指定演算法,您的工作會使用預設的 AI Platform 演算法,這會讓參數搜尋以更有效率的方式搜尋參數空間,進而獲得最佳解決方案。

可使用的值如下:

  • ALGORITHM_UNSPECIFIED:產生的行為與未指定搜尋演算法時相同。AI Platform 會使用預設演算法,套用貝式最佳化方法來搜尋可能的超參數值空間,進而為您的超參數組合提供最有效率的技術。

  • GRID_SEARCH:在可行空間內執行簡單格狀搜尋。如果您要指定的試驗數量超過可行空間中的點數,這個選項就非常實用。在這種情況下,如果您沒有指定格狀搜尋,AI Platform 預設演算法可能會產生重複的建議。如要使用格狀搜尋,所有參數的類型必須是 INTEGERCATEGORICALDISCRETE

  • RANDOM_SEARCH:在可行空間內執行簡單隨機搜尋。

後續步驟

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
TensorFlow 適用的 AI Platform

Overview of Hyperparameter Tuning

This page describes the concepts involved in hyperparameter tuning, which is the automated model enhancer provided by Cloud Machine Learning Engine. Hyperparameter tuning takes advantage of the processing infrastructure of Google Cloud Platform to test different hyperparameter configurations when training your model. It can give you optimized values for hyperparameters, which maximizes your model's predictive accuracy.

What's a hyperparameter?

Hyperparameters contain the data that govern the training process itself.

Your training application handles three categories of data as it trains your model:

  • Your input data (also called training data) is a collection of individual records (instances) containing the features important to your machine learning problem. This data is used during training to configure your model to accurately make predictions about new instances of similar data. However, the values in your input data never directly become part of your model.

  • Your model's parameters are the variables that your chosen machine learning technique uses to adjust to your data. For example, a deep neural network (DNN) is composed of processing nodes (neurons), each with an operation performed on data as it travels through the network. When your DNN is trained, each node has a weight value that tells your model how much impact it has on the final prediction. Those weights are an example of your model's parameters. In many ways, your model's parameters are the model—they are what distinguishes your particular model from other models of the same type working on similar data.

  • Your hyperparameters are the variables that govern the training process itself. For example, part of setting up a deep neural network is deciding how many hidden layers of nodes to use between the input layer and the output layer, and how many nodes each layer should use. These variables are not directly related to the training data. They are configuration variables. Note that parameters change during a training job, while hyperparameters are usually constant during a job.

Your model parameters are optimized (you could say "tuned") by the training process: you run data through the operations of the model, compare the resulting prediction with the actual value for each data instance, evaluate the accuracy, and adjust until you find the best values. Hyperparameters are tuned by running your whole training job, looking at the aggregate accuracy, and adjusting. In both cases you are modifying the composition of your model in an effort to find the best combination to handle your problem.

Without an automated technology like Cloud ML Engine hyperparameter tuning, you need to make manual adjustments to the hyperparameters over the course of many training runs to arrive at the optimal values. Hyperparameter tuning makes the process of determining the best hyperparameter settings easier and less tedious.

How hyperparameter tuning works

Hyperparameter tuning works by running multiple trials in a single training job. Each trial is a complete execution of your training application with values for your chosen hyperparameters, set within limits you specify. The Cloud ML Engine training service keeps track of the results of each trial and makes adjustments for subsequent trials. When the job is finished, you can get a summary of all the trials along with the most effective configuration of values according to the criteria you specify.

Hyperparameter tuning requires explicit communication between the Cloud ML Engine training service and your training application. Your training application defines all the information that your model needs. You must define the hyperparameters (variables) that you want to adjust, and a target value for each hyperparameter.

To learn how Cloud ML Engine uses Bayesian optimization for hyperparameter tuning, read the blog post named Hyperparameter Tuning in Cloud Machine Learning Engine using Bayesian Optimization.

In addition to Bayesian optimization, Cloud ML Engine optimizes across hyperparameter tuning jobs. If you are doing hyperparameter tuning against similar models, changing only the objective function or adding a new input column, Cloud ML Engine is able to improve over time and make the hyperparameter tuning more efficient.

What hyperparameter tuning optimizes

Hyperparameter tuning optimizes a single target variable, also called the hyperparameter metric, that you specify. The accuracy of the model, as calculated from an evaluation pass, is a common metric. The metric must be a numeric value, and you can specify whether you want to tune your model to maximize or minimize your metric.

When you start a job with hyperparameter tuning, you establish the name of your hyperparameter metric. This is the name you assign to the scalar summary that you add to your training application.

The default name of the metric is training/hptuning/metric. We recommend that you assign a custom name. The only functional difference is that if you use a custom name, you must set the hyperparameterMetricTag value in the HyperparameterSpec object in your job request to match your chosen name.

How Cloud ML Engine gets your metric

You may notice that there are no instructions in this documentation for passing your hyperparameter metric to the Cloud ML Engine training service. That's because the service monitors TensorFlow summary events generated by your training application and retrieves the metric.

The flow of hyperparameter values

Without hyperparameter tuning, you can set your hyperparameters by whatever means you like in your training application. For example, you can configure the hyperparameters by passing command-line arguments to your main application module, or feed them to your application in a configuration file.

When you use hyperparameter tuning, you must use the following procedure to set the values of the hyperparameters that you're using for tuning:

  • Define a command-line argument in your main training module for each tuned hyperparameter.

  • Use the value passed in those arguments to set the corresponding hyperparameter in your application's TensorFlow code.

When you configure a training job with hyperparameter tuning, you define each hyperparameter to tune, its type, and the range of values to try. You identify each hyperparameter using the same name as the corresponding argument you defined in your main module. The training service includes command-line arguments using these names when it runs your application.

Selecting hyperparameters to tune

There is very little universal advice to give about how to choose which hyperparameters you should tune. If you have experience with the machine learning technique that you're using, you may have insight into how its hyperparameters behave. You may also be able to find advice from machine learning communities.

However you choose them, it's important to understand the implications. Every hyperparameter that you choose to tune has the potential to increase the number of trials required for a successful tuning job. When you train on Cloud ML Engine you are charged for the duration of the job; a careful choice of hyperparameters to tune can reduce the time and cost of training your model.

Hyperparameter types

The supported hyperparameter types are listed in the job reference documentation. In the ParameterSpec object, you specify the type for each hyperparameter and the related value ranges as described in the following table:

Type Value ranges Value data
DOUBLE minValue & maxValue Floating-point values
INTEGER minValue & maxValue Integer values
CATEGORICAL categoricalValues List of category strings
DISCRETE discreteValues List of values in ascending order

Hyperparameter scaling

You can specify a type of scaling to be performed on a hyperparameter. Scaling is recommended for DOUBLE and INTEGER types. The available scaling types are:

  • UNIT_LINEAR_SCALE
  • UNIT_LOG_SCALE
  • UNIT_REVERSE_LOG_SCALE

Search algorithms

You can specify a search algorithm in the HyperparameterSpec object. If you do not specify an algorithm, your job uses the default Cloud ML Engine algorithm, which drives the parameter search to arrive at the optimal solution with a more effective search over the parameter space.

Available values are:

  • ALGORITHM_UNSPECIFIED: Results in the same behavior as when you don't specify a search algorithm. Cloud ML Engine uses a default algorithm, which searches the space of possible hyperparameter values using the most effective technique for your set of hyperparameters.

  • GRID_SEARCH: A simple grid search within the feasible space. This option is particularly useful if you want to specify a number of trials that is more than the number of points in the feasible space. In such cases, if you do not specify a grid search, the Cloud ML Engine default algorithm may generate duplicate suggestions. To use grid search, all parameters must be of type INTEGER, CATEGORICAL, or DISCRETE.

  • RANDOM_SEARCH: A simple random search within the feasible space.

What's next

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Cloud ML Engine for TensorFlow