什么是虚拟服务器?

对于“什么是虚拟服务器”这个问题的回答可能会因使用场景而异。虚拟服务器通常位于异地数据中心或云环境中,对服务器进行虚拟化涉及到将一台物理服务器转换为多个虚拟机。虚拟服务器的配置方式旨在让多名用户可以共享其处理能力。如果将物理服务器与虚拟服务器进行对比,那么虚拟服务器的优势在于节省物理硬件费用。此外,它耗用的能源相对较少,能实现额外的费用节约和环境效益。

详细了解如何将虚拟服务器轻松整合到 Compute Engine(基于云的计算基础架构)中。

虚拟服务器定义

虚拟服务器重建专用物理服务器的功能。它以某台物理服务器内的分区空间的形式透明地展示给用户。对服务器进行虚拟化让您可以轻松地重新分配资源,并适应动态工作负载。

通过将一台物理服务器转为多个虚拟服务器,组织即可在一个经过分区的服务器上运行多个操作系统和应用,从而更高效地利用处理能力和资源。

虚拟服务器的用途是什么?

大多数组织使用虚拟服务器来减少服务器硬件支出,并降低功耗和能源费用。虚拟服务器在构建应用、工具或环境中发挥着关键作用。

远程访问

虚拟专用服务器可轻松配置为支持通过互联网安全地访问业务关键型数据和文件。

网站托管

不同的 Web 服务可以通过虚拟服务器托管进行配置,这让多个网站所有者均可使用服务器,就像完全控制该服务器一样。

软件开发与测试

软件开发者可以在虚拟服务器上创建、运行和测试新的软件应用,而无需占用其他用户的处理能力。

Compute Engine 是一种灵活的 Google Cloud 虚拟机,以预定义和可自定义的机器规格提供计算基础架构,旨在加速云转型。对于想要在 Google Cloud 中运行虚拟专用服务器的组织,Compute Engine 提供了多个虚拟机系列可供选择,每个系列均适用于特定工作负载和应用。

What is a virtual server?

Answers to what’s a virtual server can vary, depending on the use case. Often located in an off-site data center or cloud environment, virtualizing servers involves converting one physical server into multiple virtual machines (VMs). A virtual server is configured so that multiple users can share its processing power. When comparing a physical server versus a virtual server, the virtual server is shown to be an effective way to save on physical hardware costs. It also uses comparatively less energy for additional cost savings and environmental benefits.

Learn more about how virtual servers are readily incorporated in Compute Engine, the cloud-based computing infrastructure.

Virtual server defined

A virtual server re-creates the functionality of a dedicated physical server. It exists transparently to users as a partitioned space inside a physical server. Virtualizing servers makes it easy to reallocate resources and adapt to dynamic workloads.

Converting one physical server into multiple virtual servers allows organizations to use processing power and resources more efficiently by running multiple operating systems and applications on one partitioned server.

What is a virtual server used for?

Most organizations use virtual servers to reduce server hardware expenses and lower power and energy costs. Virtual servers play a key role in building applications, tools, or environments.

Remote access

Virtual dedicated servers can be readily configured to support secure access to business-critical data and files via the internet.

Web hosting

Different web services can be configured with virtual server hosting so multiple website owners can use the server as if they had complete control of it.

Software development and testing

Software developers can create, run, and test new software applications on a virtual server without taking processing power away from other users.

Designed to accelerate cloud transformation, Compute Engine, the flexible Google Cloud virtual machines offering, provides computing infrastructure in predefined and customizable machine sizes. For organizations that want to run virtual private servers in Google Cloud, Compute Engine offers multiple virtual machine families to choose from, each suited for specific workloads and applications.