跳转到

什么是数据仓库?

当今的企业对不同来源的数据进行有效收集、存储和整合,以借此进行分析并获得数据洞见。这些数据分析活动已经成为创收、费用控制和利润优化的核心工作。因此,生成和分析的数据量以及数据源的数量和类型呈爆炸式增长也就不足为奇了。

数据驱动型企业需要强大的解决方案来管理和分析整个组织中的大量数据。对于受监管的行业,这些系统必须具有可伸缩性、可靠性和安全性,并且必须具有足够的灵活性以支持各种数据类型和使用场景。这些要求远远超出了任何传统数据库的能力,数据仓库因此应运而生。

详细了解 Google Cloud 的现代化无服务器数据仓储解决方案 BigQuery

数据仓库的定义

数据仓库是一种企业系统,用于分析和报告来自多个来源的结构化和半结构化数据,例如销售终端交易、营销自动化、客户关系管理等。数据仓库适用于点对点分析以及自定义报告。数据仓库可以将当前数据和历史数据都存储在一个地方,旨在提供长期数据视图,这使其成为商业智能的主要组成部分。

云数据仓库解决方案由云服务提供商管理和托管。这为您提供了云环境固有的灵活性,以及可以根据使用量或固定金额进行费用预测的能力。由于无需购买硬件,因此前期投资通常比使用本地解决方案要低得多,交货期也更短,因而可以减少资本支出。您还可以利用云数据仓库的无服务器/无运维特性来提高运营效率。

云数据仓储的优势

越来越多的公司开始将数据从传统数据仓库移动到云,以利用代管式服务提供的可伸缩性来节省费用。

云数据仓储具有以下主要优势:

采用代管形式

云数据仓库可以让您将麻烦的管理任务外包给必须满足服务等级协议的云服务商。这样可以节省运营费用,并使您的内部团队专注于增长计划。

与本地数据仓库相比,可以提供更好的正常运行时间

云服务商有义务满足服务等级协议 (SLA),并通过可顺畅扩缩的可靠云基础架构提供更好的正常运行时间。本地数据仓库具有规模和资源限制,可能会影响性能。

可灵活扩缩

云数据仓库具有弹性,因此可以根据您的业务需求变化顺畅扩容或缩减。  

经济实惠

借助云,您可以采用灵活的价格模式,选择根据用量付费或使用更可预测的统一费率方案。有些服务商按吞吐量或每节点每小时收费,有些服务商则对一定量的资源按固定价格收费。不管采用哪些模式,您都可以避免为每周 7 天、每天 24 小时不间断运行的本地数据仓库支付巨额费用,无论是否有在使用资源。

支持实时数据洞见

云数据仓库支持流式数据,允许您实时查询数据,以便快速做出明智的业务决策。

支持机器学习和 AI 计划

客户可以快速发掘机器学习的潜力并应用于相关使用场景,以预测业务成果。

您是否需要数据仓库?

有些企业和行业所需的数据分析不仅规模庞大,而且需要实时进行。例如,某些服务提供商使用实时数据来全天动态调整价格。保险公司跟踪保单、销售、理赔、工资单等。他们还会使用机器学习来预测欺诈。游戏公司必须实时跟踪用户行为并做出回应,以增强玩家体验。数据仓库让所有这些活动都有了实现的可能性。

如果您的组织具有以下资源或正在执行以下任意一项任务,则您可能适合使用数据仓库:

  • 多种数据来源
  • 大数据分析和可视化 - 包括异步和实时
  • 机器学习/AI
  • 流式分析
  • 自定义报告生成/点对点分析
  • 数据挖掘
  • 数据科学

数据仓库有什么用途?

云数据仓库提供了一系列有益于组织的解决方案。以下是一些常见用法:

合并孤岛数据

快速从组织中的多个结构化来源(例如销售终端系统、网站和电子邮件收件人列表)中提取数据,并将其放在同一个位置,以便执行分析并获得数据洞见。

实时制定决策

实时分析数据,以主动应对挑战、发现机会、提高效率、降低费用或主动响应业务事件。

支持自定义报告和点对点分析

将历史数据保存在单独的服务器上,与运营数据分开,便于最终用户访问这些数据、运行自己的查询及生成报告,而不会影响运营系统的性能,也无需寻求 IT 部门的帮助。

结合机器学习和 AI

收集历史和实时数据以开发可提供预测性数据洞见的算法,例如预测流量高峰或向浏览网站的客户推荐相关产品。

BigQuery 是 Google Cloud 的全代管式无服务器企业数据仓库解决方案,旨在帮助您快速做出明智的决策、实现业务转型并保持竞争力。由于无需设置或管理基础架构,因此您可以经济实惠地迅速开始数据分析、快速分享数据洞见并轻松加速数字化转型之旅。

Google Cloud 的其他大数据产品和解决方案可让您构建环境启发式应用、运用机器智能,并将数据转化为富有实用价值的分析洞见。

• Topics
  • What is a data warehouse?

What is a data warehouse?

Today’s enterprises rely on the effective collection, storage, and integration of data from disparate sources for analysis and insights. These data analytics activities have moved to the heart of revenue generation, cost containment, and profit optimization. As such, it’s no surprise that the amounts of data generated and analyzed, as well as the number and types of data sources, have exploded.

Data-driven companies require robust solutions for managing and analyzing large quantities of data across their organizations. These systems must be scalable, reliable, and secure enough for regulated industries, as well as flexible enough to support a wide variety of data types and use cases. The requirements go way beyond the capabilities of any traditional database. That’s where the data warehouse comes in.

Learn about BigQuery, Google Cloud’s modern and serverless data warehousing solution.

Data warehouse defined

A data warehouse is an enterprise system used for the analysis and reporting of structured and semi-structured data from multiple sources, such as point-of-sale transactions, marketing automation, customer relationship management, and more. A data warehouse is suited for ad hoc analysis as well custom reporting. A data warehouse can store both current and historical data in one place and is designed to give a long-range view of data over time, making it a primary component of business intelligence.

A cloud data warehouse solution is managed and hosted by a cloud services provider. This gives you the inherent flexibility of a cloud environment along with more predictable costs, which can be based on usage or a fixed amount. The up-front investment is typically much lower and lead times are shorter than on-premises solutions because you don’t have to buy hardware, thereby reducing CapEx. You can also achieve operational efficiencies from the serverless / NoOps nature of cloud data warehouses.

Advantages of data warehousing in the cloud

Companies are increasingly moving away from traditional data warehouses to the cloud, leveraging the cost savings and scalability that managed services can provide. 

Here are the primary advantages of data warehousing in the cloud.

It’s managed

A cloud data warehouse lets you outsource the management hassle to cloud providers who must meet service level agreements. This provides operational savings and can keep your in-house team focused on growth initiatives.

It can provide better uptime compared to on-premises data warehouses

Cloud providers are obligated to meet SLAs and provide better uptime with reliable cloud infrastructure that scales seamlessly. On-premises data warehouses have scale and resource limitations that could impact performance.

It’s built for scale

Cloud data warehouses are elastic, so they can seamlessly scale up or down as your business needs change.  

It’s cost effective

With cloud, you gain flexible pricing by paying for what you use or choosing a more predictable flat-rate option. Some providers charge by throughput or per hour per node. Others charge a fixed price for a certain amount of resources. In every case, you avoid the mammoth costs incurred by an on-premises data warehouse that runs 24 hours a day, seven days a week, regardless of whether resources are in use or not.

It supports real-time insights

Cloud data warehouses support streaming data, allowing you to query data in real time in order to drive fast and informed business decisions.

It supports machine learning and AI initiatives

Customers can quickly unlock and operationalize machine learning use cases in order to predict business outcomes.

Do you need a data warehouse?

Some businesses and industries require data analysis that is not only massive in scale, but also ongoing and in real time. For example, some service providers use real-time data to dynamically adjust prices throughout the day. Insurance companies track policies, sales, claims, payroll, and more. They also use machine learning to predict fraud. Gaming companies must track and react to user behavior in real time to enhance the player’s experience. Data warehouses make all of these activities possible.

If your organization has or does any of the following, you’re probably a good candidate for a data warehouse:

  • Multiple sources of disparate data
  • Big-data analysis and visualization—both asynchronously and in real time
  • Machine learning/AI
  • Streaming analytics
  • Custom report generation/ad hoc analysis
  • Data mining
  • Data science

What is a data warehouse used for?

Cloud data warehousing offers a range of solutions that can benefit an organization. Here are some common uses:

Consolidate siloed data

Quickly pull data from multiple structured sources across your organization, such as point-of-sale systems, websites, and email lists, and bring it into one location so that you can perform analysis and get insights.

Make decisions in real time

Analyze data in real time to proactively address challenges, identify opportunities, gain efficiency, reduce costs, or proactively respond to business events.

Enable custom reporting and ad hoc analysis

Keep historical data on a separate server from operational data so that end users can access it and run their own queries and reports without impacting the performance of operational systems or needing to get help from IT.

Incorporate machine learning and AI

Collect historical and real-time data to develop algorithms that can provide predictive insights, such as anticipating traffic spikes or suggesting relevant products to a customer browsing a website.

BigQuery, Google Cloud’s fully managed and serverless enterprise data warehouse solution, is designed to help you make informed decisions quickly, so you can transform your business and stay competitive. Because there is no infrastructure to set up or manage, you can jump-start data analysis cost-effectively, rapidly share insights, and accelerate your digital transformation journey with ease.

Other big data products and solutions from Google Cloud can enable you to build context-rich applications, incorporate machine intelligence, and turn data into actionable insights.