跳转到

什么是数据湖?

数据湖是一个集中存储区,用于存储、处理和保护大量结构化、半结构化和非结构化数据。它可以以原生格式存储数据,并处理任何转换格式,而无需考虑大小限制。

详细了解如何在 Google Cloud 上对数据湖进行现代化改造

数据湖概览

数据湖提供了一个可伸缩的安全平台,使企业能够:以任何速度从任何系统中提取任何数据,无论数据来自本地、云还是边缘计算系统;以全保真的方式存储任何类型或数量的数据;实时或批量处理数据;使用 SQL、Python、R 或任何其他语言、第三方数据或分析应用分析数据。

与数据仓库相比,数据湖同时由其“不”是什么来定义。它不仅仅是存储空间,也不完全等同于数据仓库。

虽然数据湖和数据仓库都能够存储一定容量的数据,但它们都针对不同用途进行了优化。两者之间是互补关系而非竞争关系,因此公司可能需要同时使用这两种技术。相对而言,数据仓库通常适用于存储商业行为中常见的重复性报告和分析数据,如月度销售报告、每个区域的销售跟踪数据或网站流量。

您是否需要数据湖?

在确定公司是否需要数据湖时,应考虑您要处理的数据类型、您想用这些数据做什么、数据获取过程的复杂性、数据管理和治理策略,以及组织中人员使用的工具和技能水平。

如今,各个公司均开始从另一个角度看待数据湖的价值,即数据湖不仅仅用于存储全保真数据,它还能够帮助用户更深入地了解业务状况,因为数据湖提供了比以往更丰富的上下文,这有助于加速分析实验。

数据湖主要是为处理大量大数据而开发的,公司通常可以将原始数据通过批量传输和/或流式传输的方式移动到数据湖中,而无需对其进行转换。企业主要依靠数据湖实现以下目的:

  • 降低总体拥有成本
  • 简化数据管理
  • 为纳入人工智能和机器学习做好准备
  • 加快分析速度
  • 加强安全和治理

 

数据湖有哪些使用场景?

因为数据湖为分析和人工智能奠定了基础,所以各行各业的企业都在使用数据湖增加收入、节省资金以及降低风险。

媒体和娱乐

提供在线播放音乐、广播和播客的公司可以通过改进其推荐系统来增加收入,这样用户就会更多地消费他们的服务,使公司能够卖出更多的广告。

电信

跨国电信公司可以通过构建流失倾向模型来减少客户流失,从而节省资金。

金融服务

投资公司可以依靠数据湖来推动机器学习,这样他们就可以在获得实时市场数据后尽快管理投资组合的风险。

What is a data lake?

A data lake is a centralized repository designed to store, process, and secure large amounts of structured, semistructured, and unstructured data. It can store data in its native format and process any variety of it, ignoring size limits.

Learn more about modernizing your data lake on Google Cloud.

Data lake overview

A data lake provides a scalable and secure platform that allows enterprises to: ingest any data from any system at any speed—even if the data comes from on-premises, cloud, or edge-computing systems; store any type or volume of data in full fidelity; process data in real time or batch mode; and analyze data using SQL, Python, R, or any other language, third-party data, or analytics application.

Data lake vs. data warehouse: A data lake is also defined by what it isn’t. It’s not just storage, and it’s not the same as a data warehouse.

While data lakes and data warehouses all store data in some capacity, each is optimized for different uses. Consider them complementary rather than competing tools, and companies might need both. As a point of comparison, data warehouses are often ideal for the kind of repeatable reporting and analysis that’s common in business practices, such as monthly sales reports, tracking of sales per region, or website traffic. 

Do you need a data lake?

When determining if your company needs a data lake, keep in mind the types of data you’re working with, what you want to do with the data, the complexity of your data acquisition process, and your strategy for data management and governance, as well as the tools and skill sets that exist in your organization.

Companies today are also starting to look at the value of data lakes through a different lens—a data lake isn’t only about storing full-fidelity data. It’s also about users gaining a deeper understanding of business situations because they have more context than ever before, allowing them to accelerate analytics experiments.

Developed primarily to handle large volumes of big data, companies can typically move raw data via batch and/or stream into a data lake without transforming it. Enterprises rely on data lakes in key ways to help:

  • Lower the total cost of ownership
  • Simplify data management
  • Prepare to incorporate artificial intelligence and machine learning 
  • Speed up analytics
  • Improve security and governance

 

What are some data lake use cases?

Because data lakes provide the foundation for analytics and artificial intelligence, businesses across every industry are using them to increase revenue, save money, and reduce risk.

Media and entertainment

A company offering streaming music, radio, and podcasts can increase revenue by improving their recommendation system, so users consume their service more, allowing the company to sell more ads.

Telecommunications

A multinational telecommunications company can save money by building churn-propensity models that reduce customer churn.

Financial services

An investment firm can rely on data lakes to power machine learning, so they can manage portfolio risks as soon as real-time market data is made accessible.