密钥轮替

Cloud KMS 中的轮替

在 Cloud KMS 中,密钥轮替的过程是生成密钥的新版本并将该版本标记为主版本

创建新的密钥版本将会生成新的加密密钥材料,将该密钥版本标记为主版本会导致其用于加密任何新数据。每个密钥在任何时间点都有一个指定的主版本,默认情况下,Cloud KMS 使用该版本来加密数据。

轮替密钥不会停用或销毁以前的密钥版本。以前的密钥版本将不再是主密钥版本,但仍可用于解密数据。

轮替密钥的原因

通过轮替密钥可以轻松地遵循标准安全做法,例如支付卡行业数据安全标准 (PCI DSS) 要求。定期轮替密钥是安全性方面的一种最佳做法,原因如下:

  • 为了限制可用于对特定密钥版本进行密码分析的加密消息数。同样,为了限制可用于对特定密钥版本进行密码分析的加密字节总数。密钥生命周期建议是特定于算法的,并且基于生成的消息数或加密的总字节数。例如,伽罗瓦/计数器模式 (GCM) 中的对称密钥的推荐密钥生命周期基于加密消息的数量,如 https://nvlpubs.nist.gov/nistpubs/Legacy/SP/nistspecialpublication800-38d.pdf 中所述。

  • 为了确保系统已准备好应对需要转为使用更强大的算法的情况。如果正在进行的操作不包含密钥轮替,则系统将依赖于特定密钥,从而难以在突发事件发生后启动密钥轮替。

    同样,为了确保系统已准备好应对密钥泄露的情况。不应在突发事件实时恢复期间首次尝试密钥轮替。

  • 为了减少密钥版本被破解时不受保护的密文量。

  • 为了防止使用被破解或疑似被破解的密钥版本。

密钥轮替频率

加密密钥可以通过两种方式进行轮替:

  • 定期轮替:定期轮替使用的加密密钥,限制受单个密钥保护的数据量。定期轮替可用于实现内部业务合规。
  • 不规则轮替:可疑事件后的临时轮替,作为额外的权宜之计。使用先前的密钥版本加密的数据也可能需要重新加密。

设置定期轮替计划(例如每 90 天)操作简单,可提升安全性。定期轮替可限制使用单个密钥加密的数据量,避免在需要不规则轮替时密钥被锁定,同时允许停用密钥版本以限制对旧数据的访问。

更严格和复杂的实现还可以指定停用计划,以在一定时间段之后重新加密旧数据并停用密钥(例如,为长达 5 年的数据启用 20 个密钥版本)。这一过程很难安全且正确地实施。

不建议仅依靠不规则轮替,您可以根据需要将不规则轮替与定期轮替计划结合使用。

自动轮替

通过提供轮替计划,Cloud KMS 将自动为您轮替密钥。密钥的轮替计划可以使用 gcloud 命令行工具或通过 Google Cloud Platform Console 进行设置。

轮替计划由轮替周期和下次轮替时间定义。轮替周期是两次自动生成新密钥版本之间的时间,且必须至少为一天。下次轮替时间是计划下次轮替的日期,必须是未来的时间。自动轮替将在下次轮替时间开始,并在此后的每个轮替周期发生。

如果仅指定下次轮替时间(而未指定轮替周期),则密钥将安排在该日期轮替一次,并在此时清除该字段。仅指定轮替周期而未指定下次轮替时间会导致错误。

通过 CreateCryptoKeyVersionUpdateCryptoKeyVersion 手动执行的密钥轮替不会影响密钥的轮替计划。

使用 gcloud 命令行工具启用自动轮替时,可以指定任意时长的轮替周期。在 GCP Console 中启用自动轮替时,轮替周期提供常用选项(例如 30 天),但您也可以将其设置为自定义天数。

手动轮替

手动轮替可用于不规则密钥轮替,也可用于在 Cloud KMS 外部管理的定期密钥轮替。您可以使用 gcloud 命令行工具或通过 GCP Console 手动轮替密钥。

轮替注意事项

  • 使用上述密钥轮替命令时,密钥轮替不会使用新生成的密钥版本重新加密已经加密的数据。 如果您怀疑存在未经授权使用密钥的情况,则应当重新加密受该密钥保护的数据,然后停用安排销毁先前的密钥版本。
此页内容是否有用?请给出您的反馈和评价:

发送以下问题的反馈:

此网页
Cloud KMS 文档

Key rotation

Rotation in Cloud KMS

In Cloud KMS, a key rotation is represented by generating a new CryptoKeyVersion of a CryptoKey, and marking that version as the primary version.

Creating a new CryptoKeyVersion generates the new cryptographic key material, and marking that CryptoKeyVersion as primary causes it to be used to encrypt any new data. Each CryptoKey has a designated primary version at any point in time, which Cloud KMS uses to encrypt data.

After rotating a CryptoKey, its previous CryptoKeyVersions (which no longer are primary) are neither disabled or destroyed, and remain available for decrypting data.

Frequency of key rotation

Encryption keys may be rotated in two ways:

  • Regular rotation: Regularly rotate the encryption key used, limiting the amount of data protected by a single key. Regular rotation may be required for internal business compliance.
  • Irregular rotation: Ad-hoc rotation after a suspected incident, as an additional stopgap. Data encrypted with the previous version of the key may also need to be re-encrypted.

Having a regular rotation schedule, for example every 90 days, provides some security benefit without significant complexity. Regular rotation limits the amount of data encrypted with a single key, avoids key lock-in in case an irregular rotation is needed, and allows key version disablement to be used to restrict access to older data.

A more stringent and complex implementation could also have a disablement schedule, to re-encrypt older data and disable keys after a certain time period, e.g., 20 key versions enabled for up to 5 years of data. This is difficult to implement securely and correctly.

It is not recommended to rely solely on irregular rotation, but rather to use irregular rotation if needed in conjunction with a regular rotation schedule.

Automatic rotation

By providing a rotation schedule, Cloud KMS will automatically rotate your keys for you. A CryptoKey's rotation schedule can be set using the gcloud command-line tool or via the Google Cloud Platform Console.

A rotation schedule is defined by a rotation period and a next rotation time. The rotation period is the time between when new key versions are generated automatically, and must be at least one day. The next rotation time is the date of the next scheduled rotation, which must be in the future. Automatic rotation will start at the next rotation time, and occur every rotation period thereafter.

If only the next rotation time is specified (with no rotation period), the key will be scheduled for a single rotation on that date, at which point the field will be cleared. Specifying only the rotation period without a next rotation time results in an error.

Key rotations performed manually via CreateCryptoKeyVersion and UpdateCryptoKeyVersion do not affect a key's rotation schedule.

When enabling automatic rotation with the gcloud command-line tool, you can specify any length of time for the rotation period. When enabling automatic rotation in the Cloud Platform Console, the rotation period offers common options (e.g., 30 days) but you can also set it to a custom number of days.

Manual rotation

Manual rotation can be used for irregular key rotation, as well as for regular key rotation managed outside of Cloud KMS. CryptoKeys can be manually rotated using the gcloud command-line tool or via the Cloud Platform Console.

Next steps

  • Using the key rotation commands above, key rotation does NOT re-encrypt already encrypted data with the newly generated CryptoKeyVersion. If you suspect unauthorized use of a key, you should re-encrypt the data protected by that key and then disable or schedule destruction of the prior CryptoKeyVersion.

Monitor your resources on the go

Get the Google Cloud Console app to help you manage your projects.

Send feedback about...

Cloud KMS Documentation