信封加密

简介

对 Google 规模的数据进行存储和加密需要使用具有多层密钥的中央加密密钥管理服务来加密数据。多层密钥的一个示例是信封加密,它是使用另一个密钥为密钥加密的过程。

您可以在负责向用户显示数据的应用层和提供数据物理存储的存储层加密数据。

默认情况下,在存储层,Google Cloud 使用信封加密来加密静态存储的客户内容,并将 Google 的内部密钥管理服务作为中央密钥库。如果您自己存储和加密数据,则可以将 Cloud Key Management Service 用作应用层的中心密钥库,这是本主题的重点。

Cloud KMS 将密钥存储在一个便捷的密钥层次结构中,可以访问由 Identity and Access Management 管理的密钥层次结构中的资源。下面显示了 Cloud KMS 密钥层次结构的主要层:

资源

查看对象层次结构,详细了解密钥层次结构。

数据加密密钥

用于加密数据密钥本身称为数据加密密钥 (DEK)

以下是管理 DEK 的最佳做法:

  • 在本地生成 DEK。
  • 存储时,始终确保 DEK 进行静态加密。
  • 为便于访问,请将 DEK 存储在用其进行加密的数据附近。
  • 每次写入数据时均生成一个新的 DEK。这意味着您无需轮替 DEK。
  • 请勿使用相同的 DEK 来加密来自两个不同用户的数据。
  • 在伽罗瓦计数器模式 (GCM) 中使用强大的算法(如 256 位高级加密标准 (AES))。

密钥加密密钥

DEK 使用“密钥加密密钥”(KEK) 进行加密(也称为“封装”)。 用另一个密钥对密钥进行加密的过程称为“信封加密”

以下是管理 DEK 的最佳做法:

  • 集中存储 KEK。

  • 根据用例加密设置 KEK 加密的 DEK 的粒度。例如,考虑需要多个 DEK 来加密其数据区块的工作负载。您可以使用单个 KEK 来封装负责该工作负载加密的所有 DEK。

  • 定期或可疑事件发生后轮替密钥。如需了解详情,请参阅密钥轮替

平衡 DEK 和 KEK

通过让 KEK 的数量少于 DEK 并且使用集中式密钥管理服务,我们得以让大规模的数据存储和加密工作变得更加切实可行。中央密钥服务还可以作为一个点,用于更轻松地审核和限制数据访问。

根据您的情况和要加密的数据量,您可以选择使用类似的模型。单个 KEK 可用于保护许多 DEK;该模型允许各个数据对象各自拥有自己的 DEK,而不会大量增加存储在中央密钥管理服务中的密钥量。

Cloud Key Management Service 旨在管理 KEK,因此 EncryptDecrypt 功能的最大数据输入大小为 64 KiB。但是,对于您知道不会接近该限制的数据,您可以使用 Cloud KMS 直接加密和解密数据。

如何使用信封加密对数据进行加密

加密数据的过程中将在本地生成 DEK,使用该 DEK 对数据进行加密,并使用 KEK 封装该 DEK,然后存储加密后的数据和封装后的 DEK。 KEK 始终不会离开 Cloud KMS。

加密流程

要使用信封加密对数据进行加密,请执行以下操作:

  1. 在本地生成 DEK。您可以使用 OpenSSL 等开源库执行此操作,指定用于生成密钥的密钥类型和密码。如果需要,您还可以指定要使用的盐和摘要。

  2. 在本地使用此 DEK 对您的数据进行加密。

    例如,您可以使用 OpenSSL,如加密消息示例中所示。按照最佳实践,请使用 256 位高级加密标准 (AES-256) 密钥(采用伽罗瓦计数器模式 (GCM))。

  3. 在 Cloud KMS 中生成新密钥,或使用现有密钥,以充当 KEK。使用此密钥对 DEK 进行加密(封装)。

  4. 存储加密后的数据和封装后的 DEK。

如何使用信封加密对数据进行解密

解密数据的过程中将检索加密后的数据和封装后的 DEK,检索封装了 DEK 的 KEK,并使用该 KEK 对相应 DEK 进行解封装,然后使用解封装后的 DEK 对数据进行解密。KEK 始终不会离开 Cloud KMS。

解密流程

要使用信封加密对数据解密,请执行以下操作:

  1. 检索加密后的数据和封装后的 DEK。

  2. 使用存储在 Cloud KMS 中的密钥对加密后的 DEK 进行解封装。

  3. 使用该明文 DEK 对加密后的数据进行解密。如果像以前一样使用 OpenSSL,请参阅解密消息示例。

与 Google Cloud 服务集成

Cloud KMS 集成了若干 Google Cloud 产品,以支持客户管理的加密密钥 (CMEK) 功能。CMEK 搭配 Cloud KMS 可为您的数据增加额外的保护层,使您可以控制加密密钥,并利用 Cloud KMS 的密钥管理优势。

以下 Google Cloud 产品使用 Cloud KMS 提供 CMEK 功能。

产品 CMEK 主题
AI Platform Training 使用客户管理的加密密钥
BigQuery 使用 Cloud KMS 密钥保护数据
Cloud Bigtable 客户管理的加密密钥 (CMEK)
Cloud Build 使用加密资源
Dataproc 客户管理的加密密钥
Cloud Storage 使用客户管理的加密密钥
Compute Engine 使用 Cloud KMS 密钥保护资源
Cloud Spanner 客户管理的加密密钥 (CMEK)

Google Cloud 服务的其他选项

对于存储在不支持 CMEK 的 Google Cloud 产品中的数据,您可以实施自己的应用层加密。这需要按上述方式实施您自己的信封加密,以便您将本地加密的数据存储在 Google Cloud 中。这也是您使用 Cloud KMS 对存储在其他云服务提供商中或本地的数据进行加密的方式。

除了支持 CMEK,以下产品还支持客户提供的加密密钥 (CSEK) 功能。

产品 CSEK 主题
Cloud Storage 客户提供的加密密钥
Compute Engine 使用客户提供的加密密钥来加密磁盘

借助 CSEK,您可以提供自己的 AES-256 密钥以用作 KEK,并且您的密钥可保护用于保护数据的 DEK。您的 CSEK 密钥受到使用 Cloud KMS 密钥的额外保护层的保护。

现在,您可以将密钥导入到 Cloud KMS,可以导入密钥并将其用于启用了 CMEK 的服务,而不必依赖 CSEK。

Envelope encryption

Introduction

Storing and encrypting data at Google's scale requires using a central cryptographic key management service with multiple layers of keys for the encrypted data. An example of multiple layer of keys is envelope encryption, which is the process of encrypting a key with another key.

You can encrypt data at both the application layer, which is responsible for displaying data to users, and the storage layer, which provides the physical storage of data.

By default, at the storage layer, Google Cloud Platform (GCP) encrypts customer content stored at rest using envelope encryption, with Google's internal key management service as the central keystore. If you're storing and encrypting data yourself, you can use Cloud KMS as your central keystore at the application layer, which is the focus of this topic.

Cloud KMS stores keys in a key hierarchy designed for ease, with access to resources in the key hierarchy governed by Cloud IAM. The following shows the main levels of a Cloud KMS key hierarchy:

Resources

Find out more about the key hierarchy at object hierarchy.

Data encryption keys

The key used to encrypt data itself is called a data encryption key (DEK).

Here are best practices for managing DEKs:

  • Generate DEKs locally.
  • When stored, always ensure DEKs are encrypted at rest.
  • For easy access, store the DEK near the data that it encrypts.
  • Generate a new DEK every time you write the data. This means you don't need to rotate the DEKs.
  • Do not use the same DEK to encrypt data from two different users.
  • Use a strong algorithm such as 256-bit Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) in Galois Counter Mode (GCM).

Key encryption keys

The DEK is encrypted (also known as wrapped) by a key encryption key (KEK). The process of encrypting a key with another key is known as envelope encryption.

Here are best practices for managing KEKs:

  • Store KEKs centrally.

  • Set the granularity of the DEKs they encrypt based on their use case. For example, consider a workload that requires multiple DEKs to encrypt the workload's data chunks. You could use a single KEK to wrap all DEKs that are responsible for that workload's encryption.

  • Rotate keys regularly, and also after a suspected incident. To learn more, see key rotation.

Balancing DEKs and KEKs

Having a smaller number of KEKs than DEKs and using a central key management service makes storing and encrypting data at scale more manageable. A central key service also is a singular point to more easily audit and restrict data access.

Depending on your situation, and the volume of data you are encrypting, you may choose to use a similar model. A single KEK can be used to protect many DEKs; this model permits individual data objects to each have their own DEK without massively increasing the volume of keys stored in a central key management service.

Cloud Key Management Service was designed to manage KEKs, and thus the maximum data input size for Encrypt and Decrypt functions is 64 KiB. However, for data that you know will not approach that limit, you could use Cloud KMS to encrypt and decrypt data directly.

How to encrypt data using envelope encryption

The process of encrypting data is to generate a DEK locally, encrypt data with the DEK, use a KEK to wrap the DEK, and then store the encrypted data and the wrapped DEK.

Encryption flow

To encrypt data using envelope encryption:

  1. Generate a DEK locally. You could do this with an open source library such as OpenSSL, specifying a cipher type and a password from which to generate the key. You can also specify a salt and digest to use, if desired.

  2. Use this DEK locally to encrypt your data.

    As an example, you could use OpenSSL as shown in the encrypting the message example. For best practice, use 256-bit Advanced Encryption Standard (AES-256) cipher in Galois Counter Mode (GCM).

  3. Generate a new key in Cloud KMS, or use an existing key, which will act as the KEK. Use this key to encrypt (wrap) the DEK.

  4. Store the encrypted data and the wrapped DEK.

How to decrypt data using envelope encryption

The process of decrypting data is to retrieve the encrypted data and the wrapped DEK, retrieve the KEK that wrapped the DEK, use the KEK to unwrap the DEK, and then use the unwrapped DEK to decrypt the data.

Decryption flow

To decrypt data using envelope encryption:

  1. Retrieve the encrypted data and the wrapped DEK.

  2. Use the key stored in Cloud KMS to unwrap the encrypted DEK.

  3. Use the plaintext DEK to decrypt the encrypted data. If using OpenSSL as earlier, see the decrypting the message example.

Integration with Google Cloud services

Several GCP products are integrated with Cloud KMS to support Customer-Managed Encryption Key (CMEK) functionality. CMEK with Cloud KMS adds an extra layer of protection for your data, provides you with control of your encryption keys, and leverages the key management benefits of Cloud KMS.

The following GCP products provide CMEK capability using Cloud KMS.

Product CMEK opic
BigQuery Protecting Data with Cloud KMS Keys
Compute Engine Protecting Resources with Cloud KMS Keys
Cloud Storage Using Customer-Managed Encryption Keys

Other options for Google Cloud services

For data stored in GCP products that do not support CMEK, you can implement your own application-layer encryption. This requires implementing your own envelope encryption as described above, so that you store data encrypted locally in GCP. This is also how you could use Cloud KMS to encrypt data you store in other cloud service providers or on premises.

In addition to supporting CMEK, the following products support Customer-Supplied Encryption Key (CSEK) functionality.

Product CSEK topic
Compute Engine Encrypting Disks with Customer-Supplied Encryption Keys
Cloud Storage Using Customer-Supplied Encryption Keys

CSEK allows you to supply an AES-256 key which replaces the KEK used to protect the DEKs encrypting your data, in the envelope encryption model described above. As keys cannot currently be imported or exported from Cloud KMS, you would not be using a key from Cloud KMS as the customer- supplied encryption key, but rather you would protect that key with a key from Cloud KMS (one more layer!). You could, as above, generate a local DEK that you use for CSEK, and wrap that DEK with a KEK from Cloud KMS.

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Cloud KMS Documentation