高可用性設定總覽

本頁說明 PostgreSQL 執行個體的高可用性 (HA) 設定。如要為 HA 設定新的或現有的執行個體,請參閱設定高可用性的執行個體一文。

HA 設定總覽

HA 設定,有時也稱為「叢集」,可提供資料備援功能。專門為 HA 設定的 Cloud SQL 執行個體也稱為「地區執行個體」,它位於設定地區內的主要和次要區域中。在地區執行個體中,設定是由「主要執行個體」和「備援執行個體」組成。透過同步複製至各區域的永久磁碟,對主要執行個體執行的所有寫入作業也會同步執行至備援執行個體。當執行個體或區域發生故障事件時,這項設定可縮短停機時間,並讓用戶端應用程式能夠繼續使用您的資料。

針對 Cloud SQL 和 Cloud SQL HA 設定的區域 PD 支援是擁有完整服務水準協議保障的 GA。完成 HA 設定的執行個體,費用是獨立執行個體的兩倍。這其中包含 CPU、RAM 與儲存空間。詳情請參閱定價頁面

PostgreSQL HA 設定的總覽圖。於下文中說明。

容錯移轉總覽

如果完成 HA 設定的執行個體無法回應,Cloud SQL 會自動切換成從備援執行個體提供資料,這就是所謂的「容錯移轉」。如要瞭解容錯移轉是否已生效,請查看作業記錄檔的容錯移轉記錄。

點選各個分頁,查看容錯移轉對執行個體產生的影響。

一般

容錯移轉前運作良好的執行個體的 PostgreSQL 圖

容錯移轉

發生容錯移轉時執行個體的 PostgreSQL 圖

容錯回復

容錯回復後執行個體的 PostgreSQL 圖

流程

發生的流程如下:

  1. 主要執行個體或區域故障。

    主要執行個體每秒以活動訊號寫入系統資料庫。如未偵測到多個活動訊號,表示容錯移轉已啟動。這將發生於主要執行個體無回應時間達約 60 秒,或包含主要執行個體的區域服務中斷時。

  2. 備援執行個體在重新連線時開始提供資料。

    透過與主要執行個體共用靜態 IP 位址,備援執行個體現在開始從次要區域提供資料。

  3. 唯讀備用資源繼續從運作狀況良好的區域提供資料。

必要條件

為了讓 Cloud SQL 允許容錯移轉,設定必須符合以下條件要求:

  • 主要執行個體必須處於正常作業狀態 (非停止、非維護中或非執行長時間作業)。
  • 次要區域必須處於運作良好的狀態。

備份與還原

設定 HA 的執行個體不會影響您對備份的需求,也不會改變您建立備份的方式。

應用程式與執行個體

使用非 HA 與 HA 執行個體的方法沒有差別,因此您無需對應用程式進行任何特殊的設定。發生容錯移轉時,與主要執行個體和唯讀備用資源的任何現有連線將會關閉,重新建立連線約需 2 至 3 分鐘。您的應用程式會使用同樣的連線字串或 IP 位址來重新連線,因此您不需要在容錯移轉後更新應用程式。

如要瞭解容錯移轉會對應用程式造成哪些確切的影響,請您手動啟動容錯移轉

後續步驟

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
PostgreSQL 適用的 Cloud SQL

Overview of the High Availability Configuration

This page is an overview of the high availability (HA) configuration for PostgreSQL instances. To configure a new or existing instance for HA, see Configuring an Instance for High Availability.

HA configuration overview

The HA configuration, sometimes called a cluster, provides data redundancy. A Cloud SQL instance configured for HA is also called a regional instance and is located in a primary and secondary zone within the configured region. Within a regional instance, the configuration is made up of a primary instance (master) and a standby instance. Through synchronous replication to each zone's persistent disk, all writes made to the primary instance are also made to the standby instance. In the event of an instance or zone failure, this configuration reduces downtime, and your data continues to be available to client applications.

Regional PD support for Cloud SQL and the Cloud SQL HA configuration are GA with full SLA coverage. An HA-configured instance is charged at double the price of a standalone instance. This includes CPU, RAM, and storage. For more information, see the pricing page.

Diagram overview of PostgreSQL HA configuration. Described in text below.

Failover overview

If an HA-configured instance becomes unresponsive, Cloud SQL automatically switches to serving data from the standby instance. This is called a failover. To see if failover has occurred, check your operation log's failover history.

Click the tabs to see how failover affects your instance.

Normal

PostgreSQL diagram of healthy instance before failover

Failover

PostgreSQL diagram of instance when failover occurs

Failback

PostgreSQL diagram of instance after failback

Process

The following process occurs:

  1. The primary instance or zone fails.

    Each second, the primary instance writes to a system database as a heartbeat signal. If multiple heartbeats aren't detected, failover is initiated. This occurs if the primary instance is unresponsive for approximately 60 seconds or the zone containing the primary instance experiences an outage.

  2. The standby instance now serves data upon reconnection.

    Through a shared static IP address with the primary instance, the standby instance now serves data from the secondary zone.

  3. Read replicas continue to serve data from a healthy zone.

Requirements

For Cloud SQL to allow a failover, the configuration must meet the following requirements:

  • The primary instance must be in a normal operating state (not stopped, undergoing maintenance, or performing a long-running operation).
  • The secondary zone must be in a healthy state.

Backups and restores

Configuring an instance for HA does not affect your need for backups or how you create them.

Applications and instances

There is no difference in working with non-HA and HA instances, so your application does not need to be configured in any particular way. When failover occurs, any existing connections to the primary instance and read replicas are closed, and it will take approximately 2-3 minutes for connections to be reestablished. Your application reconnects using the same connection string or IP address, so you do not need to update your application after failover.

To see exactly how your applications are affected by failover, you should manually initiate failover.

What's next

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Cloud SQL for PostgreSQL