关键词

为了有效使用 Cloud SQL,您应了解它的一些基础概念。本页面概述了适用于 Cloud SQL 的关键术语和概念。

如需了解如何使用 Cloud SQL,请参阅什么是 Cloud SQL?

Cloud SQL 实例

一个 Cloud SQL 实例对应于一个虚拟机 (VM)。虚拟机包含数据库实例和随附的软件容器,以使数据库实例启动并正常运行。

数据库实例

数据库实例是运行数据库的一组软件和文件:MySQL、PostgreSQL 或 SQL Server。

高可用性

使用高可用性 (HA) 的 Cloud SQL 实例提供的可靠性高于非高可用性实例。

Cloud SQL 高可用性适用于两个同步的实例:主实例和备用实例。每个实例只有一个虚拟机。每个实例都位于同一区域内的不同地区中。

故障转移

故障转移是指 Cloud SQL 将原始主实例提供服务改为备用实例提供服务。

自动故障转移是一种 Cloud SQL 实例在之前的时间间隔内未发出检测信号时自动触发故障转移的机制。

备用实例

在高可用性中,备用实例用于在发生故障转移时替换主实例。备用实例不会显示在 Google Cloud Console 中。发生故障转移时,与主实例的连接会自动转移到备用实例。

克隆

克隆 Cloud SQL 实例时,您将创建一个新实例,该实例是源实例的副本,但完全独立。克隆完成后,对源实例的更改不会反映在克隆中,克隆中的更改也不会反映在源实例中。

复制

复制功能是指创建 Cloud SQL 实例或本地数据库的副本,并将工作分流到副本。 使用复制功能的主要原因是在不降低主实例性能的情况下扩大数据库中的数据使用量。

读取副本

读取副本是主实例的精确副本。主实例上的数据和其他更改几乎在读取副本上实时更新。将写入事务发送到主实例,并将读取请求发送到读取副本。读取副本会处理查询、读取请求和分析流量,从而减少主实例的负载。

源服务器

复制会将事务从主实例复制到一个或多个读取副本。主实例也称为源服务器。源服务器可以是 Cloud SQL 主实例,也可以是 Google Cloud 外部的服务器,例如本地服务器或在其他云中运行的服务器。如果源服务器位于 Google Cloud 外部,我们将其称为 Replication from an external server

Cloud SQL Auth 代理客户端

Cloud SQL Auth 代理客户端是由 Cloud SQL 维护的开源软件。它连接到在 Cloud SQL 实例上运行的配套进程 Cloud SQL Auth 代理服务器。您在您自己的服务器上运行 Cloud SQL Auth 代理客户端。Cloud SQL Auth 代理客户端可用于建立与数据库实例的安全 SSL/TLS 连接和/或免除打开防火墙的需要。身份验证是通过 Identity and Access Management (IAM) 完成的。

Key terms

To use Cloud SQL effectively, you should understand some of the concepts on which it is built. This page provides an overview of key terms and concepts that apply to Cloud SQL.

For an introduction to using Cloud SQL, see What is Cloud SQL?.

Cloud SQL instance

A Cloud SQL instance corresponds to one virtual machine (VM). The VM includes the database instance and accompanying software containers to keep the database instance up and running.

Database instance

A database instance is the set of software and files that operate the databases: MySQL, PostgreSQL or SQL Server.

High availability

Cloud SQL instances using high availability (HA) provide greater reliability than non-HA instances.

HA in Cloud SQL works by having two synchronized instances: a primary instance and a standby instance. Each instance has exactly one VM. Each instance is in a different zone in the same region.

Failover

A failover is when Cloud SQL switches serving from the original primary instance to the standby instance.

Autofailover is a mechanism that automatically triggers failover when a Cloud SQL instance didn't issue a heartbeat in the previous interval.

Standby instances

The standby instance is used in high availability to replace the primary instance when failover occurs. The standby instance doesn't appear in the Google Cloud Console. When failover occurs, connections to the primary instance are automatically transferred to the standby instance.

Clone

When you clone a Cloud SQL instance, you create a new instance that is a copy of the source instance, but is completely independent. After cloning is complete, changes to the source instance are not reflected in the clone, and changes in the clone are not reflected in the source instance.

Replication

Replication is the ability to create copies of a Cloud SQL instance or an on-premises database, and offload work to the copies. The main reason for using replication is to scale the use of data in a database without degrading performance on the primary instance.

Read replica

The read replica is an exact copy of the primary instance. Data and other changes on the primary instance are updated in almost real time on the read replica. Send your write transactions to the primary instance, and your read requests to the read replica. The read replica processes queries, read requests, and analytics traffic, thus reducing the load on the primary instance.

Source server

Replication copies transactions from a primary instance to one or more read replicas. The primary instance is also called the source server. The source server can be a Cloud SQL primary instance, or a server outside of Google Cloud, such as an on-premises server or a server running in a different cloud. If the source server is outside of Google Cloud, we call it Replication from an external server.

Cloud SQL Proxy client

The proxy client is open source software maintained by Cloud SQL. It connects to a companion process, the proxy server, running on your Cloud SQL instance. You run the proxy client on your own servers. The proxy client can be used to establish a secure SSL/TLS connection to the database instance, and/or to avoid having to open the firewall. Authentication is done through Identity and Access Management (IAM).