使用集合让一切井井有条 根据您的偏好保存内容并对其进行分类。
跳转到

基础架构的未来是容器化

技术公司和初创公司正在快速采用代管式容器平台,以减少在维护基础架构方面花费的工程资源,并将更多资源投入可产生业务成果(例如增长、竞争优势和盈利能力)的路线图优先任务。

如何简化基础架构管理以加快上市速度

虽然当今大多数技术公司和初创公司都在云中运行,但许多公司没有发挥云的全部优势。如果您在云中但不在 Kubernetes 上,那么您很可能是在使用专有解决方案,同时构建和维护自己的补充自定义工具。您的效率被浪费,在未充分利用的虚拟机 (VM) 上运行您自己的工作负载,还有可能面临供应商锁定的问题。

您目前使用多少个工具来管理和修补虚拟机?您如何升级应用?虚拟机利用率是多少?您目前的部署可能不够高效。虚拟机架构中的弱点导致故障(服务中断、伸缩性问题等),或者费用暴涨,失去控制,或者基础架构无法支撑您的许多业务需求,包括:

  • 将 MVP 重构/重新设计为可伸缩的解决方案
  • 扩展到其他云服务商以满足监管要求或客户期望
  • 扩展到更多地理位置以缩短延迟时间,为分布在各处的广大客户群提供更好的体验
  • 改善端到端安全状况
  • 改善客户体验(例如服务可用性)

遗产和技术债务可能会拖累发展速度。这就是大量企业转向 Kubernetes 的原因。由代管式容器组成的现代化架构可为您提供运行安全可靠的基础架构的成熟模式。您可以加快上市速度并提高生产效率,同时不牺牲稳定性和安全性,还有一个额外的好处是能吸引优秀的技术人才进行创新。

您还应该担心自己会被排除在 Kubernetes 社区及其生态系统之外,而这个群体的稳定创新定义了如今的行业标准和最佳实践。最后,您必须决定希望工程师投入主要精力的工作:维护基础架构以及构建和维护自定义工具,还是完成您的高优先级任务以促进业务发展。考虑到当下的招聘挑战,这一点甚至更为重要。您当前的部署可能运转得不错,但路线图中可能包含您不希望看到的工作,例如偿还技术债务和填补以下平台缺口:

  • 端到端加密
  • 可观测性(日志、指标、自动日志记录)
  • 政策管理和执行
  • 高可用性和自动故障切换
  • 降低成本

Kubernetes 是不局限于特定平台的开源技术,开箱即用地提供所有常用工具,以保护并加速构建和部署生命周期中的每个阶段。它是大多数系统管理员多年来拼凑的所有 bash 脚本和最佳实践的总和,呈现为一组声明式 API 之后的平台。一切都是自动执行的,细节被隐藏,随时可供使用。在将平台迁移到基础架构即数据的同时,Kubernetes 可以消除大多数的基础架构即代码。您无需编写或维护代码,只需告诉 Kubernetes 您想要什么(而不是要做什么)。这可以为您减少庞大的管理开销,节省大量时间。

容器是利用计算连续性的最佳方式。

如果要运行传统工作负载,您可以借助 Kubernetes 在现代平台上运行,只需要将应用与虚拟机分隔开来,并将其放在容器中。使用容器映像来打包软件可以使虚拟机升级更加轻松。您现在可以使虚拟机的生命周期管理与应用的生命周期管理分离开来,通过移除 Ruby、Python 和 Java 等所有内容来简化虚拟机。而且,通过将其移到应该在的位置(开发者的应用旁边),您可以在一个地方控制它并让您的机器保持裸金属状态。

代管式计算平台可将云服务转换为平台即服务,为您提供容器的强大功能和灵活性,以及无服务器的便利性。没有服务器、无需配置集群、无需进行维护,这意味着在保持控制的同时,您可以获得巨大的优势。

对于不怎么需要控制集群配置的工作负载,您可以让服务预配和管理集群的底层基础架构(包括节点和节点池),而您只需为工作负载(而非集群)付费。通过这种方式,您可以免除集群管理,同时优化安全性并节省大量资金。

对于更多的云原生应用,无服务器可以通过减少工作量、免除底层基础架构和充当应用、数据甚至分析的端到端主机达到相同的效果。借助无服务器平台,您可以开始在全代管式环境中以极低的复杂性运行容器,同时获得安全性、性能、可伸缩性和最佳实践。

我们来看看对您业务的潜在影响,以及如何让您的组织在效率方面领先一步。

为何考虑基于开放标准的代管式服务

一些企业发现在多个云中运行是有必要的。数据重力是真实存在的,如果您拥有全球客户群,最终会发现您所服务的客户希望计算尽量靠近数据所在的位置,从而尽可能地缩短延迟时间并降低网络费用。

在这种情况下,多云可以拓展您的市场;无论如何,您最终都会支持其他服务商的代管式服务和数据。其他公司将多云视为缓解风险的良策。无论是哪种情况,关键在于正确采用多云技术,而行业标准解决方案可以助您一臂之力。

首先:确保您可以重复利用尽可能多的工作流来完成各项工作。工作流是指通过任务自动化在数据库和计算之间创建数据流架构。在这一点上,开源很重要;如果您选择的数据库不是开源的,则很难实现数据流架构和自动化。无论采用哪个云服务商的服务,都最好使用 Postgres 协议(例如 Cloud Spanner)或代管式 Postgres 数据库(例如 Cloud SQL)。

第二:在计算方面,Kubernetes 可节省大量在部署和自动化上花费的时间,因此在挑选一组技术时,请确保它们能够跨越您的服务商建立的边界发挥作用。边界可以是不同的区域或可用区、不同的项目或帐号,甚至是本地或云端。不要浪费时间为每个云服务商单独构建和维护基础架构(例如,一个在 AWS 上、一个在 Google 上、一个在 Azure 上);为了使它们保持一致,您的工程师会精疲力尽。如果您构建一次并部署在多个云上,当需要更新时,可以集中且一致地进行。对于那些真正想高效地利用多云,并且不希望在每次使用新的云服务商时都从事重复工作的客户,Kubernetes 这样的计算堆栈提供了巨大的优势。

第三:风险管理。能够在其他环境中运行堆栈将有助于降低云服务商服务中断或开始与您的企业竞争的风险。为了遵守相关法规,许多组织将会选择能帮助确保业务连续性的服务商。比方说,如果您在某个区域的运维出现问题,备用服务商可让您避免遭遇停机情况。

利用开放标准的多云迁移通常表现良好。以 Kubernetes 为例,它提供了一个与服务商无关的 API,可用于运行、配置和部署应用,以及用于集成安全政策、网络等。您可以将 Kubernetes 视为多云操作系统;将它作为抽象层时,您通常可以忽略大多数主要云服务商之间的差异。

通过全代管式方式降低运营开销

在决定使用 Kubernetes 时,您可以进行选择。您当然可以自己运行;Kubernetes 是一个开源项目,因此您可以下载它并花费数年时间来将其集成到您的云服务商或首选环境中。

但是如果您觉得这样效率太低,则可以使用代管式 Kubernetes 产品。如果您在 AWS 上,就选择 EKS。如果在 Azure 上,则选择 AKS。如果您在 Google Cloud 上,则应该选择 Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE)。所有这些方案都会为您提供一个通用的 Kubernetes API,当您的团队构建其工具和工作流时,您可以在不同的服务商中重复使用它们。

但并非所有代管式服务都一样。Kubernetes 的能力上限在于其运行的基础架构,GKE 作为一个成熟的全代管式 Kubernetes 编排服务来弥补能力缺口。它提供完全集成的 IaaS,包括 Tau VM 的虚拟机预配(与同类通用产品相比性价比高 42%1)、跨多个可用区和升级版本的自动扩缩,以及按需创建和管理 GPU、TPU 以用于机器学习、存储卷和安全凭据。您只需将应用放入容器中,然后根据需要选择系统即可。

如果已经选择 AWS 作为虚拟机的云服务商,该怎么办?需要继续使用 EKS 吗?概括来讲,Kubernetes 在所有云服务商之间是平等的;您最终都会使用 Kubernetes API。但该 API 的下面是包括集群、工作器节点、安全政策在内的所有一切,而这正是 GKE 的优势所在。

例如,如果您仍然需要其他集群,则可以将它们连接到 GKE Connect,从而在一个位置集中管理、查看和调试集群并对其进行问题排查,同时集中管理凭据等。GKE 是出色的 Kubernetes 产品,这不仅仅是因为其控制平面或者多区域或多可用区高可用性,更是因为它的端到端易管理性。GKE 还可以跨多个集群和多个区域使用集中管理的多集群 Ingress,从而利用全球负载均衡器。

如果您想要 Kubernetes API 但又不想负责预配、扩缩和升级集群,该怎么办?对于大多数工作负载,GKE Autopilot 会将集群的底层基础架构(包括节点和节点池)抽象出来,您只需为工作负载付费。GKE Autopilot 可为您提供具备所有强大安全默认设置的标准 Kubernetes API,因此您可以专注于工作负载,而不是集群。

__________________________

1结果基于 SPECrate®2017_int_base 估算值。测试中使用的是其他两家领先的云供应商的生产虚拟机以及采用了供应商推荐的编译器的预生产 Google Cloud Tau VM。SPECrate 是 Standard Performance Evaluation Corporation 的商标。有关详情,请访问 www.spec.org

利用无服务器技术简化应用交付

Kubernetes 将组织从虚拟机迁移到一组新的抽象,这些抽象可让您实现运营自动化并专注于您的应用。但是,对于更具体的工作负载(例如 Web 和移动应用、REST API 后端、数据处理、工作流自动化),您可以利用无服务器模型进一步简化和优化部署。

您可能正在使用 AWS Lambda,这是一个热门的无服务器平台,可让您编写函数即服务,并将其连接到各种事件。但由于您最终会连接到数据库并处理安全问题,因此这些函数往往会变得越来越复杂,有些函数实际上比普通应用还要大。因此,如果您的某个应用的发展使之不再适合函数即服务这种简单的模式,或者您想要以无服务器方式运行现有应用,会发生什么情况?

与需要重写应用的传统无服务器平台不同,Cloud Run 提供了一种方法,可帮助您重复使用现有的容器化应用投资。虽然 GKE 是一项代管式服务,但您仍然必须进行一些关键决定:在哪些可用区运行,在哪里存储日志,如何管理不同应用版本之间的流量,如何注册域名,如何管理 SSL 证书。

Cloud Run 免除了所有这些决策,使您能够运行更多传统工作负载,以及通过完全停用“缩减至零”来避免冷启动。如果您的应用必须始终运行,Cloud Run 也支持始终运行,另外还支持 NFS、WebSocket 和 VPC 集成等其他传统要求。但与大多数传统的无服务器平台一样,Cloud Run 具有固有特性,并提供内置流量管理和自动扩缩等功能。

如何让您的迁移支出发挥最大作用

理清迁移逻辑

假设您根本没有使用容器,并且不知道从何处入手。以下是采用容器技术的实用方法。

采用容器的第一个原因是解决打包问题。如今,大量的工作用于生成可重现的工件和了解软件内的实际结构,也就是业界所说的“安全软件供应链”。我们认为,实现此目的的理想方法是利用包含应用代码和运行时的容器映像及其依赖项。容器的一个好处是它们可以部署到虚拟机,从而降低跨机器部署和维护软件的复杂性。

采用容器的第二个原因是编排。管理虚拟机需要大量管理和维护开销。如果您与大多数公司一样,那么您的团队需要执行数十个或数百个步骤来管理基础架构,即使这些步骤是自动化的,这些自动化工具仍然需要持续维护。这是假设您使用 Terraform、Puppet、Chef 和 Ansible 等行业标准自动化工具的情况。如果使用自行开发的工具或自定义工具,维护开销会更大。

采用容器的第三个原因是效率。除了维护负担外,大多数组织的 CPU 利用率仅为 5%–10%,更不用说内存和存储空间。这会浪费大量资源。许多团队会构建更多自定义工具,通过实现自动扩缩和装箱等功能来改善这一问题,继而浪费了更多运营时间。这会导致超支和高昂的云费用。

很少有组织能够成功构建自己的编排平台,因此利用 Kubernetes、Mesos 或 Nomad 等开源平台是一种常见的选择。但是,如果您希望有一个平台帮助您减少维护工作、采用业界标准最佳实践、与云服务商的其余功能进行深度集成,并为您带来其他种种好处,GKE 这样的代管式服务是很好的选择,可帮助您极大地提高容器的潜在价值。

成功迁移的基础知识

此时您可能想知道,迁移到容器是否真的会遭遇大量停机情况?您最不希望看到的就是需要暂停未来的开发,对吗?

为解答此问题,我们来看看如何充分利用目前的云体验。

将应用从虚拟机迁移到容器似乎是一项令人望而生畏的工作,尤其是如果需要将所有计算都迁移到新的云服务商。但实际情况是,您无需一次完成。您可以一次迁移一个应用,从虚拟机开始,然后将一两个应用迁移到 Kubernetes,这些应用可以位于同一网络上并与虚拟机通信。您不需要一次彻底完成迁移,而是可以慢慢地从一个平台迁移到另一个平台。

对于少数应用,继续留在虚拟机上可能更适合,例如很难从 Kubernetes 受益的大型数据库。这也是完全可行的,您可以混搭。但我们看到,大多数客户都通过将应用和开源项目迁移到 Kubernetes 环境获得了很多好处。优先迁移那些通过迁移到 GKE 可以产生最多回报的应用;您无需一次就迁移所有应用。

Kubernetes 仍在您当前可能使用的 Linux 虚拟机上运行。您真正获得的是更简洁、更一致的工作流,其中包含应该在您的基础架构路线图上的功能,而不是一堆自己开发的脚本和自动化。使用 Kubernetes 等行业标准工具后,新团队成员的入职培训会更加轻松,因为他们不必再学习企业旧有的运作方式。

到这里为止,您已经拥有一个可以逐步进行但切实可行的容器采用路径,从而可以节省您的团队在管理开销上花费的时间,并节省您公司的计算费用。

准备好执行接下来的步骤了吗?

迁移、创新和发展

我们在这里讨论了很多关于容器和云迁移的问题,无论您是想要全面使用 Kubernetes 并继续寻找更好的产品,或者是希望寻找适合现有应用和路线图的其他方法。

无论您的应用开发路径是什么,代管式容器方案都可以极大地降低基础架构费用,同时极大地提高团队专注于构建优质产品的能力。基础架构的未来是容器化。现在,您需要确保您的工程师和企业做好一切准备去取得成功。

感觉备受启发?让我们协力解决您面临的挑战。

详细了解 Google Cloud 如何帮助您充分利用现代应用之旅。
咨询专家
Google Cloud Next '21:Google Kubernetes Engine 中的 Autopilot 简介
观看在线讲座

请填写表单,我们会与您联系。 查看表单

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.
Jump to

The future of infrastructure will be containerized

Tech companies and startups are rapidly adopting managed container platforms that let them spend fewer engineering resources on maintaining infrastructure and more on road map priorities that drive business outcomes like growth, competitive advantage, and increased profitability.

How you can reduce infrastructure management to get to market faster

While most tech companies and startups today run in the cloud, many have yet to realize all the benefits of doing so. If you’re in the cloud but not on Kubernetes, you’re probably leveraging proprietary solutions while building and maintaining your own supplemental custom tooling. You’re also leaving a lot on the table in terms of efficiency, running your own workloads on underutilized virtual machines (VMs), and potentially locking yourself in. 

How many tools are you using today to manage and patch your VMs? How do you upgrade your applications? And what’s your VM utilization like? What you have right now might not be all that efficient. Things are breaking (outages, scalability issues, etc.) due to weaknesses in your VM architecture, or costs are spiraling out of control, or your infrastructure isn’t set up to support lots of things your business needs to do:

  • Refactoring/re-architecting an MVP into a scalable solution
  • Expanding into additional cloud providers to meet regulatory or customer expectations
  • Expanding geographically to reduce latency and provide better experiences to a widespread customer base
  • Improving your end-to-end security posture
  • Improving the customer experience (e.g. service availability)

Legacy and technical debt can slow you down. That’s why we’re seeing this massive shift to Kubernetes. A modern architecture consisting of managed containers gives you access to proven patterns for running reliable and secure infrastructure. You can speed up your time to market and increase your productivity without sacrificing stability and security—with the added benefit of helping you attract the best technical talent to work on innovation.

You should also be concerned about locking yourself out from the Kubernetes community and its surrounding ecosystem, whose stable innovation defines today’s industry standards and best practices. Ultimately—and this is even more important given current hiring challenges—you have to decide where you want your engineers to spend their time: maintaining infrastructure and building and maintaining custom tooling, or ticking off your priority list to drive your business forward. What you have today might be working, but your road map probably includes items you’d rather it didn’t, like repaying technical debt and filling in platform gaps around:

  • End-to-end encryption
  • Observability (logs, metrics, auto-logging)
  • Policy management and enforcement
  • High availability and automatic fail-over
  • Cost reduction

Kubernetes is open source and platform-agnostic, and offers all the common tooling out of the box to secure and speed up each stage of the build-and-deploy life cycle. It’s the sum of all the bash scripts and best practices that most system administrators cobble together over time, presented as one system behind a declarative set of APIs. Everything is automated, the details are hidden, and it’s ready to use. Kubernetes can eliminate the vast majority of infrastructure as code while shifting your platform to infrastructure as data. You don’t have to write or maintain code; you tell Kubernetes what you want, not what to do. This is a colossal timesaver when it comes to management overhead. 

Containers are the best way to leverage the compute continuum.

If you want to run traditional workloads, you can do so on a modern platform with Kubernetes by separating apps from VMs and putting them in containers. Adopting container images to package your software will make upgrades of your VMs easier. You can now decouple the life cycle management of the VM and the life cycle management of the application, simplifying the VM by removing everything like Ruby, Python, and Java. And by moving it to where it belongs—next to the developer’s application—you can control it all in one spot and keep your machines bare metal.

Managed computing platforms turn cloud services into platforms as a service, giving you the power and flexibility of containers and the convenience of serverless. There’s no server, no cluster configuration, and no maintenance, which means you can see tremendous benefit while retaining control.

For workloads that don’t require much control over cluster configuration, you can let your services provision and manage the cluster’s underlying infrastructure, including nodes and node pools, while you only pay for the workload, not the cluster. In this way, you can eliminate cluster administration while optimizing security and saving potentially substantial amounts of money.

For more cloud-native applications, serverless does the same thing with less work, eliminating underlying infrastructure and serving as the end-to-end host for your applications, data, and even analysis. A serverless platform will let you start running containers to a fully managed environment with minimal complexity and security, performance, scalability, and best practices baked in.

Let’s take a look at the potential implications for your business, and how you can keep your organization ahead of the efficiency curve.

Why consider managed services based on open standards

Some businesses find it necessary to operate in multiple clouds. Data gravity is real, and if you have a global customer base, you’ll inevitably find yourself serving customers that want to minimize latency and networking fees by keeping their compute close to where their data actually lives.

In such cases, multicloud can expand your addressable market; you’ll wind up supporting managed services and data on other providers anyway. Other companies value multicloud as a risk mitigation strategy. In either situation, the key is adopting multicloud correctly, and industry-standard solutions can help.

First: make sure you can re-leverage as many of your workflows for getting things done as possible. By workflows, we mean enabling task automation to create the dataflow architecture between the database and compute. This is where open source is important; if you select a database that isn’t open, you’ll have a hard time implementing the dataflow architecture and automation. You’ll do better to go with something like the Postgres protocol (e.g. Cloud Spanner) or a managed Postgres database (e.g. Cloud SQL) on any cloud provider. 

Second: on the compute side, Kubernetes saves substantial time on deployments and automation, so when you’re picking a set of technologies, be sure they work across the boundaries established by your provider. Boundaries could be different regions or zones, different projects or accounts, and even on-premises or cloud. Don’t waste time building and maintaining separate infrastructures for each cloud provider (e.g. one on AWS, one on Google and one on Azure); your engineers will drown trying to keep them on par with each other. If you build once and deploy across multiple clouds, when you need to make updates, you can do so centrally and consistently. Compute stacks like Kubernetes lend a huge advantage to customers that are serious about doing multicloud in a way that’s efficient and doesn’t require reinventing the wheel every time you want to onboard a new cloud provider.

Third: risk management. Having the ability to run your stack in another environment will help mitigate the risk of your cloud provider going down or starting to compete with your business. To comply with regulations, organizations will pick providers to ensure their business continuity. For example, if you lose operations in one region, you won’t experience any downtime with a backup provider.

The multicloud migrations that tend to work well are those that leverage open standards. Take Kubernetes, for example, which offers a provider-agnostic API both for running applications and for configuring and deploying them and for integrating things like security policies, networking, and more. Think of Kubernetes as a multicloud operating system; once it’s your layer of abstraction, you usually can hide the differences between most major cloud providers.

Reduce operational overhead by going fully managed

When you decide to use Kubernetes, you have choices. You can certainly run it yourself; Kubernetes is an open source project, so you can download it and spend years integrating it into your cloud provider or preferred environment.

But if you decide this isn’t the best use of your time, you can use a managed Kubernetes offering. If you’re on AWS, that would mean EKS. If you’re on Azure, that will mean AKS. And if you’re on Google Cloud, that will mean Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE). All those options will give you a common Kubernetes API, so when your team builds out its toolings and workflows you can reuse them across various providers.

But not all managed service offerings are created equal. Kubernetes is only as good as the infrastructure it runs on, and GKE fills the gaps as a mature, fully managed Kubernetes orchestration service. It offers fully integrated IaaS ranging from VM provisioning of Tau VMs, with a 42% better price-performance over comparable general-purpose offerings,1 autoscaling across multiple zones and upgrades, to creating and managing GPUs, TPUs for machine learning, storage volumes, and security credentials on demand. All you have to do is put your application in a container and choose a system based on your needs.

What if you’ve chosen AWS as your cloud provider for VMs? Do you need to stick with EKS? At a high level, Kubernetes is equal across all cloud providers; you’ll end up with the Kubernetes API. But beneath that API is a cluster, worker nodes, security policies, the whole nine yards—and this is where GKE stands out.

For example, if you still need those other clusters, you can connect them to GKE Connect, which will give you a single place to manage, view, troubleshoot and debug them all, while also centrally managing things like credentials. GKE is best-of-breed Kubernetes because of its end-to-end manageability, not just because of its control plane or its multi-region or multi-zone high availability. GKE can also leverage global load balancers using the centrally managed Multi Cluster Ingress across multiple clusters and multiple regions.

What if you want the Kubernetes API but not the responsibility of provisioning, scaling, and upgrading clusters? For the majority of workloads, GKE Autopilot abstracts away the cluster’s underlying infrastructure, including nodes and node pools, and you pay only for the workload. GKE Autopilot is all about giving you standard Kubernetes API with all the strong security defaults, so you can focus on your workloads and not the cluster.

__________________________

1 Results are based on estimated SPECrate®2017_int_base run on production VMs of two other leading cloud vendors and pre-production Google Cloud Tau VMs using vendor recommended compilers. SPECrate is a trademark of the Standard Performance Evaluation Corporation. More information available at www.spec.org.

Simplify app delivery with serverless

Kubernetes moved organizations from VMs to a new set of abstractions that allow you to automate operations and focus on your applications. But for more specific workloads (e.g. web and mobile apps, REST APIs back end, data processing, workflow automation), you can simplify even further and optimize your deployment by leveraging the serverless model.

Maybe you’re using AWS Lambda, a popular serverless platform that lets you write functions as a service and connect them to all kinds of events. But because you end up connecting to a database and handling security concerns, these functions tend to grow in complexity, some actually bigger than normal applications. So what happens when you have an application that outgrows the simplicity of a function as a service, or an existing application that you want to run in serverless fashion?

Unlike a traditional serverless platform that requires you to rewrite your applications, Cloud Run offers an approach that helps you reuse your existing containerized application investments. Even though GKE is a managed service, you still have to make some key decisions: what zones to run in, where to store logs, how to manage traffic between different versions of applications, registered domain names, managing SSL certificates.

Cloud Run eliminates all those decisions, letting you run more traditional workloads and avoid cold starts by disabling scaling to zero altogether. If your applications have to always run, Cloud Run also supports that, along with other traditional requirements like NFS, WebSockets, and VPC integrations. But like most traditional serverless platforms, Cloud Run is opinionated and offers features like built-in traffic management and autoscaling.

How you can get the biggest bang for your migration buck

Thinking through your migration logic

Suppose you’re not using containers at all and you’re wondering where to start. Here’s the pragmatic approach for adopting containerization.

The first reason to adopt containers is solving the packaging problem. There’s a lot of work happening today around producing reproducible artifacts and understanding what’s actually inside our software; or, as the industry calls it, the “secure software supply chain.” We believe an ideal way to do that is to leverage container images that hold your application code and runtimes and their dependencies. One benefit of containers is that they can be deployed to VMs, reducing the complexity of deploying and maintaining software across your machines.

The second reason to adopt containers is orchestration. Managing VMs comes with tons of management and maintenance overhead. If you’re like most companies, your team executes dozens or hundreds of steps to manage your infrastructure, and even if those steps are automated, those automation tools will still require ongoing maintenance. And that’s assuming you’re using industry standard automation tools such as Terraform, Puppet, Chef, and Ansible. The maintenance overhead is even worse for homegrown or custom tools.

The third reason to adopt containers is efficiency. On top of the maintenance burden, a majority of organizations only hit 5%–10% CPU utilization, not to mention memory and storage. That’s a lot of wasted resources. Many teams are building even more custom tooling to close this gap by implementing things like autoscaling and bin packing, thus squandering more operational time. This leads to overspending and a surprisingly high cloud bill.

Very few organizations are able to successfully build their own orchestration platform, which is why leveraging an open source platform like Kubernetes, Mesos, or Nomad is a common choice. But if you want a platform that helps you realize benefits like reduced maintenance, industry-standard best practices, and deep integration with the rest of your cloud provider, you’re going to want to go with a managed service like GKE to maximize your containers’ potential value.

The fundamentals of getting your migration right

At this point, you might be asking: does migrating to containers really amount to a bunch of downtime without any value? The last thing you want to do is hit the pause button on future development, right?

To answer this, let’s walk through how to get it right in a way that leverages your cloud experience to date.

It may seem daunting to migrate applications away from VMs and into containers, especially if it means moving all your compute to a new cloud provider. But the reality is, you don’t have to go wholesale; you can do this one application at a time, starting with VMs and moving one or two applications over to Kubernetes, where they can live side by side on the same network and talk to the VMs. You don’t have to embark on a be-all-and-end-all transition; you can move slowly from one platform to the other.

Staying put on VMs might make sense for a few apps, like big, heavy databases that benefit little from Kubernetes. And that’s fine; it’s okay to mix and match. But what we’ve seen is that most customers get a lot of mileage out of moving their applications and open source projects into the Kubernetes landscape. Prioritize the applications that will yield the greatest return by moving to GKE; you don’t have to move everything at once.

Kubernetes still runs on top of the same Linux VMs that you’re probably using today. What you’re really getting is a more streamlined and consistent workflow that incorporates a lot of things that should be on your infrastructure road map, rather than what could be a collection of homegrown scripts and automation. Onboarding new team members also becomes much easier when you’re using an industry-standard tool like Kubernetes versus having to teach them all the custom ways that your company goes around it.

At this point, you have a path forward to adopting containers slowly but pragmatically, thus saving your team time in terms of administration overhead and saving your company money on compute costs.

Ready to take your next steps?

Migrate, innovate, and grow

We’ve talked a lot here about containers and cloud migrations—whether you’re all-in on Kubernetes and looking for a better offering, or want a different approach that fits your existing applications and road map.

Whatever your app development path, the managed containers option minimizes your infrastructure costs while maximizing your team’s ability to focus on building great products. The future of infrastructure is containerization. It’s time to ensure your engineers and your business are set up to be as successful as they can be. 

Feeling inspired? Let’s solve your challenges together.

Learn more about how Google Cloud can help you make the most of your modern apps journey.
Talk to an expert
Google Cloud Next '21: Introducing Autopilot in Google Kubernetes Engine.
Watch the webinar

Fill in the form and we’ll be in touch. View form