Disconnecting networks

To disconnect your Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) network and on-premises network, you must delete the VLAN attachment for the Partner Interconnect connection. Work with your service provider to initiate the deletion. That way billing by Google and your service provider stops at the same time.

If you delete the VLAN attachment in Google Cloud first, the attachment is deleted and Google stops billing you for it. However, your service provider might not be aware of this change and might continue to charge you for the connection. Contact your service provider to ensure that they delete your connection and stop billing you.

After your service provider disconnects your VLAN attachment, the state of your attachment changes to DEFUNCT, and you can delete the attachment. Both Google and your service provider stop billing you.

Console

  1. In the Google Cloud Console, go to the Cloud Interconnect VLAN attachments tab.

    Go to VLAN attachments

  2. Select the VLAN attachment to delete. If your service provider disconnected your attachment, its status is Defunct. If it's in any other state, you can still delete the attachment, but contact your service provider to make sure they're aware of this change.

  3. On the VLAN attachment details page, click Delete.

  4. Click Delete to confirm.

gcloud

  1. Describe the VLAN attachment to check whether your service provider disconnected it; if they did, the state of the attachment is DEFUNCT. If the state of the attachment is in any other state, you can still delete the attachment, but contact your service provider to make sure they're aware of this change.

    gcloud compute interconnects attachments describe my-attachment \
       --region us-central1
    
  2. Delete the VLAN attachment:

    gcloud compute interconnects attachments delete my-attachment
       --region us-central1
    

What's next