扩缩集群

在创建 Dataproc 集群后,您可以通过增加或减少集群中的主工作器或辅助工作器节点的数量(横向扩缩)来调整(“扩缩”)集群。即使作业正在 Dataproc 集群上运行,您也可以随时扩缩该集群。您无法更改现有集群的机器类型(纵向扩缩)。如需纵向扩缩,请使用受支持的机器类型创建集群,然后将作业迁移到新集群。

为何要扩缩 Dataproc 集群?

  1. 增加工作器的数量,以使作业更快运行
  2. 减少工作器的数量,以节省资金(请参阅安全停用,通过此方式缩小集群可避免丢失正在进行的工作)。
  3. 增加节点数量以扩展可用的 Hadoop 分布式文件系统 (HDFS) 存储空间

由于集群可以扩缩多次,因此,您可能需要在某个时间增加/减小集群大小,日后再减小/增加其大小。

使用扩缩功能

您可以通过三种方式扩缩您的 Dataproc 集群:

  1. 使用 Cloud SDK 中的 gcloud 命令行工具。
  2. 修改 Google Cloud Console 中的集群配置。
  3. 使用 REST API

添加到集群的新工作器将使用与现有工作器相同的机器类型。例如,如果集群是通过使用 n1-standard-8 机器类型的工作器创建的,则新工作器也将使用 n1-standard-8 机器类型。

您可以扩缩主要工作器或辅助(抢占式)工作器的数量,或者同时扩缩两者。例如,如果您只扩缩抢占式工作器的数量,主要工作器的数量将保持不变。

gcloud

要使用 gcloud dataproc clusters update 来扩缩集群,请运行以下命令。
gcloud dataproc clusters update cluster-name \
    --region=region \
    [--num-workers and/or --num-secondary-workers]=new-number-of-workers
其中 cluster-name 是要更新的集群的名称,new-number-of-workers 是更新后的主工作器节点数和/或辅助工作器节点数。例如,要扩缩名为“dataproc-1”的集群并让该集群使用五个主要工作器节点,请运行以下命令。
gcloud dataproc clusters update dataproc-1 \
    --region=region \
    --num-workers=5
...
Waiting on operation [operations/projects/project-id/operations/...].
Waiting for cluster update operation...done.
Updated [https://dataproc.googleapis.com/...].
clusterName: my-test-cluster
...
  masterDiskConfiguration:
    bootDiskSizeGb: 500
  masterName: dataproc-1-m
  numWorkers: 5
  ...
  workers:
  - my-test-cluster-w-0
  - my-test-cluster-w-1
  - my-test-cluster-w-2
  - my-test-cluster-w-3
  - my-test-cluster-w-4
...

REST API

请参阅 clusters.patch

示例

PATCH /v1/projects/project-id/regions/us-central1/clusters/example-cluster?updateMask=config.worker_config.num_instances,config.secondary_worker_config.num_instances
{
  "config": {
    "workerConfig": {
      "numInstances": 4
    },
    "secondaryWorkerConfig": {
      "numInstances": 2
    }
  },
  "labels": null
}

控制台

创建集群后,您可以通过以下方式扩缩集群:在 Cloud Console 集群页面中打开集群的集群详细信息页面,然后点击配置标签页上的修改按钮。
工作器节点和/或抢占式工作器节点的数量输入一个新值(在下面的屏幕截图中分别更新为“5”和“2”)。
点击保存以更新集群。

安全停用

当您缩小集群时,正在进行的工作可能未完成便会停止。如果您使用的是 Dataproc 版本 1.2 或更高版本,则可以使用“安全停用功能”,其中整合了 YARN 节点的安全停用,可以先完成工作器上正在进行的工作,然后再从 Cloud Dataproc 集群中移除相应工作器。

安全停用和辅助工作器

即使集群扩缩操作已标记为完成,抢占式(辅助)工作器组仍会继续预配或删除工作器,以便达到预期的大小。如果尝试安全停用辅助工作器并收到类似于以下内容的错误消息:

“不能在 Dataproc 之外修改辅助工作组。如果您最近创建或更新了此集群,请在安全停用之前等待几分钟,以便所有辅助实例加入或离开集群。 预期的辅助工作器组大小:x,实际大小:y”,

请等待几分钟,然后再次发出安全停用请求。

另请注意:

  • 您可以随时强制停用抢占式工作器。
  • 您可以随时安全停用主要工作器。

使用安全停用

Dataproc 安全停用功能整合了 YARN 节点的安全停用,可以先完成工作器上正在进行的工作,然后再从 Cloud Dataproc 集群中移除相应工作器。系统默认会停用安全停用功能。要启用该功能,您可以在更新集群以移除一个或多个工作器时设置超时值。

gcloud

在更新集群以移除一个或多个工作器时,请使用带有 --graceful-decommission-timeout 标志的 gcloud dataproc clusters update 命令。超时(字符串)值可以为“0s”(默认值;强制停用,并非安全停用)或相对于当前时间的正时长(例如“3s”)。 最长时长为 1 天。
gcloud dataproc clusters update cluster-name \
    --region=region \
    --graceful-decommission-timeout="timeout-value" \
    [--num-workers and/or --num-secondary-workers]=decreased-number-of-workers \
    ... other args ...

REST API

请参阅 clusters.patch.gracefulDecommissionTimeout。超时(字符串)值可以为“0”(默认值;强制停用,并非安全停用)或以秒为单位的时长(例如,“3s”)。最长时长为 1 天。

控制台

创建集群后,您可以通过以下方式选择安全停用集群:在 Cloud Console集群页面中打开集群的集群详细信息页面,然后点击配置标签页上的修改按钮。
安全停用部分中,选中“使用安全停用”复选框,然后选择超时值。
点击保存以更新集群。

Scaling clusters

After creating a Cloud Dataproc cluster, you can adjust ("scale") the cluster by increasing or decreasing the number of primary or secondary worker nodes in the cluster. You can scale a Cloud Dataproc cluster at any time, even when jobs are running on the cluster.

Why scale a Cloud Dataproc cluster?

  1. to increase the number of workers to make a job run faster
  2. to decrease the number of workers to save money (see Graceful Decommissioning as an option to use when downsizing a cluster to avoid losing work in progress).
  3. to increase the number of nodes to expand available Hadoop Distributed Filesystem (HDFS) storage

Because clusters can be scaled more than once, you might want to increase/decrease the cluster size at one time, and then decrease/increase the size later.

Using Scaling

There are three ways you can scale your Cloud Dataproc cluster:

  1. Use the gcloud command-line tool in the Google Cloud SDK.
  2. Edit the cluster configuration in the Google Cloud Platform Console.
  3. Use the REST API.

New workers added to a cluster will use the same machine type as existing workers. For example, if a cluster is created with workers that use the n1-standard-8 machine type, new workers will also use the n1-standard-8 machine type.

You can scale the number of primary workers or the number of secondary (preemptible) workers, or both. For example, if you only scale the number of preemptible workers, the number of primary workers remains the same.

gcloud

To scale a cluster with gcloud dataproc clusters update, run the following command.
gcloud dataproc clusters update cluster-name \
  [--num-workers and/or --num-preemptible-workers] new-number-of-workers
where cluster-name is the name of the cluster to update, and new-number-of-workers is the updated number of primary and/or secondary worker nodes. For example, to scale a cluster named "dataproc-1" to use five primary worker nodes, run the following command.
gcloud dataproc clusters update dataproc-1 --num-workers 5
Waiting on operation [operations/projects/project-id/operations/...].
Waiting for cluster update operation...done.
Updated [https://dataproc.googleapis.com/...].
clusterName: my-test-cluster
...
  masterDiskConfiguration:
    bootDiskSizeGb: 500
  masterName: dataproc-1-m
  numWorkers: 5
  ...
  workers:
  - my-test-cluster-w-0
  - my-test-cluster-w-1
  - my-test-cluster-w-2
  - my-test-cluster-w-3
  - my-test-cluster-w-4
...

REST API

See clusters.patch.

Example

PATCH /v1/projects/project-id/regions/global/clusters/example-cluster?updateMask=config.worker_config.num_instances,config.secondary_worker_config.num_instances
{
  "config": {
    "workerConfig": {
      "numInstances": 4
    },
    "secondaryWorkerConfig": {
      "numInstances": 2
    }
  },
  "labels": null
}

Console

After a cluster is created, you can you can scale a cluster by opening the Cluster details page for the cluster from the GCP Console Clusters page, then clicking the Edit button on the Configuration tab.
Enter a new value for the number of Worker nodes and/or Preemptible worker nodes (updated to "5" and " 2", respectively, in the following screenshot).
Click Save to update the cluster.

Graceful Decommissioning

When you downscale a cluster, work in progress may terminate before completion. If you are using Cloud Dataproc v 1.2 or later, you can use Graceful Decommissioning, which incorporates graceful YARN decommissioning to finish work in progress on a worker before it is removed from the Cloud Dataproc cluster.

Graceful Decommissioning and Secondary Workers

The preemptible (secondary) worker group continues to provision or delete workers to reach its expected size even after a cluster scaling operation is marked complete. If you attempt to gracefully decommission a secondary worker and receive an error message similar to the following:

"Secondary worker group cannot be modified outside of Cloud Dataproc. If you recently created or updated this cluster, wait a few minutes before gracefully decommissioning to allow all secondary instances to join or leave the cluster. Expected secondary worker group size: x, actual size: y",

wait a few minutes then repeat the graceful decommissioning request.

Also note:

  • You can forcefully decommission preemptible workers at any time.
  • You gracefully decommission primary workers at any time

Using Graceful Decommissioning

Cloud Dataproc Graceful Decommissioning incorporates graceful YARN decommissioning to finish work in progress on a worker before it is removed from the Cloud Dataproc cluster. As a default, graceful decommissioning is disabled. You enable it by setting a timeout value when you update your cluster to remove one or more workers from the cluster.

gcloud

When you update a cluster to remove one or more workers, use the gcloud dataproc clusters update command with the --graceful-decommission-timeout flag. The timeout (string) values can be a value of "0s" (the default; forceful not graceful decommissioning) or a positive duration relative to the current time (for example, "3s"). The maximum duration is 1 day.
gcloud dataproc clusters update cluster-name \
  --graceful-decommission-timeout="timeout-value" \
  [--num-workers and/or --num-preemptible-workers]=decreased-number-of-workers
  other args ...

REST API

See clusters.patch.gracefulDecommissionTimeout. The timeout (string) values can be a value of "0" (the default; forceful not graceful decommissioning) or a duration in seconds (for example, "3s"). The maximum duration is 1 day.

Console

After a cluster is created, you can select graceful decommissioning of a cluster by opening the Cluster details page for the cluster from the GCP Console Clusters page, then clicking the Edit button on the Configuration tab.
In the Graceful Decommissioning section, check the "Use graceful decommissioning" box, then select a timeout value.
Click Save to update the cluster.
Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Cloud Dataproc Documentation