Now IMS 運用即時資料來確保人民在擁擠場所中仍可安全無虞

管理大型活動、公共場所和機構的安全需要投入及處理許多的程序和資料。這裡所說的資料是指大量的即時資料,其來源包括使用者、社交媒體、感應器和應用程式。Now IMS 是美國德州休士頓四人團隊打造的事件管理平台,他們使用集中式的智慧型安全指揮中心來取代文書處理系統和試算表,以現代化的方式管理事件安全。Now IMS 平台的目標是使用資料來主動保護大眾的安全。

在 Google Cloud 上推出這個平台之後,團隊首席架構師 Jeremy Lorino 與我們分享了他們如何建置 Now IMS 並取得相關技術支援。

Now IMS 利用 Google Cloud 調度資源,藉此加快創新速度並改善客戶體驗

我們的初始架構使用 Java、Postgres 和 Redis 作為與 PHP 前端應用程式進行通訊的後端服務。在遷移至 Google Cloud Platform 之前,我們是與另一家雲端服務供應商合作來託管相片和文件的檔案儲存空間,但我們還是想要更輕鬆快速地調度資源。我們後來收到的意見回饋指出原始系統雖然符合客戶的「需求」,但無法提供客戶「想要」的所有功能與服務。

發現自己在拓展業務範圍的過程中犧牲了客戶體驗時,我們都很清楚自己需要更簡易的堆疊,以便將主要心力轉回最重要的工作上。

考量到我們當時正在建置的平台性質和建置方式,我們決定將堆疊升級。在經過一番瞭解與研究之後,我們認為 Google Cloud 絕對是最符合需求的供應商。將團隊規模和平台性質納入考量之後,定價、服務與支援就成為我們進行評估的三項重要指標。除了持續獲得所需支援之外,我們發現 Google 的生態系統極為出色,不僅可以輕鬆整合至多項服務,也不會對我們現有的程序或堆疊造成過多負擔。

參考架構

Now IMS 的資料視覺化架構和通知。

滑動即可查看

棒球場 Now IMS 資料資訊主頁的螢幕擷取畫面

運用可輕鬆存取的整合式雲端系統,讓使用者體驗推動開發工作

Cloud Functions 現在是我們偏好採用的工具。Cloud Functions 就像是黏著劑,可協助我們整合 Firebase Firestore 等其他全代管服務,藉此確保使用者隨時可以存取我們的系統。當資料在 Firestore 中常駐或更新、系統執行即時備份作業,或是將資料提供給 BigQuery 進行分析時,我們就會收到相關的變更事件通知。另外,Google Cloud Platform 也整合了我們正在使用的其他工具,例如 Angular、Mailgun、Trello 和 Bitbucket。

我們最終取得的是一個快速、可彈性擴充和容錯的系統,並有世界級的安全服務作為後盾。現在,開發工作和提供功能所需的時間已大幅減少。

有了 Cloud Functions,我們也能採用無伺服器/微服務架構,更靈活地專注於改善客戶體驗及提供實用功能,而不必花時間管理伺服器和進行修補工作。我們不需要管理額外的小工具,因此能夠依據使用者體驗進行開發工作,例如追蹤新的社交媒體動態消息和新增影片分析資料等。

當客戶要求我們追蹤某項活動的社交媒體公開分享次數時,我們可以利用 Cloud Dataprep 和 BigQuery 等工具來擷取相關的社交訊息並快速提供深入分析資料。我們的引擎可以追蹤社交媒體上的活動、協助更多團隊提高對關鍵事件的關注,甚至是針對這類事件提供防範措施。

以近期事件為例,Now IMS 平台將第 52 屆超級盃的相關內部事件報表、警方報告和社交媒體動態消息等資訊全部集中在一個安全指揮中心,藉此協助保障球迷的人身安全。

美國國家美式足球聯盟的保安團隊能夠以比往年更快的速度與當地資源、執法部門和政府機關取得聯繫並互通有無。有了 Google Cloud Platform 支援的反覆式靈活工作方式,我們就能擁有更多工作彈性,可以專注於打造國家美式足球聯盟所需的新功能。

Google Cloud 新創公司專屬計劃提供輔導、訓練課程和免費使用額度,可幫助新創公司順利起步並輕鬆上手。 瞭解詳情。

Google Cloud

開始使用

歡迎親自體驗

為您的第一項 GCP 專案取得 $300 美元的抵免額,或是免費試用 G Suite 14 天。

正在進行規模較大的專案,卻不知道該如何解決問題嗎?

我們的專家會根據您的需求為您量身打造解決方案,或是為您找到符合需求的合作夥伴。

Now IMS uses real-time data to keep citizens safe in crowded places

Managing security at large events, public places, and institutions requires wrangling a lot of logistics. And data. Lots of real-time data — from users, social media, sensors, and applications. Now IMS, an incident management platform built by a four-person team in Houston, Texas, is modernizing event security by replacing paper-based systems and spreadsheets with an intelligent, centralized security command center. The goal: Use data to proactively keep people safe.

After the team launched their platform on Google Cloud, Chief Architect Jeremy Lorino shared how they built and power Now IMS.

Scaling Now IMS with Google Cloud has meant faster innovation and a better customer experience

Our initial architecture used Java, Postgres, and Redis for the backend service communicating with a PHP frontend application. Before we moved to Google Cloud Platform, we were hosting using another cloud provider for file storage of photos and documents, but we wanted to scale more quickly and easily. We heard feedback that the original system did what customers needed, but not everything they wanted.

When we realized what we were sacrificing as we grew was customer experience, it was clear we needed a lighter stack that allowed us to shift our focus back to what matters most.

We decided to upgrade our stack, taking into account not just the platform we were building but also how we were building it. After looking at several providers, Google Cloud was the clear winner for our needs. Because of the size of our team and the nature of our platform, pricing, services, and support are important to us. In addition to the ongoing level of support we were provided, we found Google’s ecosystem to be the best, making it easy to integrate many services without overburdening our process or weighing down our stack.

Reference architecture

Now IMS’ architecture for data visualization and notifications.

swipe to reveal

Baseball field Screenshot of the Now IMS data dashboard

Letting user experience drive development with an available, integrated cloud system

Cloud Functions is now our preferred workhorse. With that as our glue, we can integrate other fully-managed services, like Firebase Firestore, that help make sure our systems are always available. We listen for change events as data is persisted or updated in Firestore, perform nightly backups, or feed data to BigQuery for analysis. Google Cloud Platform also integrates with the other tools we’re using like Angular, Mailgun, Trello, and Bitbucket.

The result is a fast, scalable, and fault-tolerant system backed by a secure, world-class service. The time it takes to develop and deliver has been reduced by an order of magnitude.

With Cloud Functions, we’ve also been able to adopt a serverless/microservice paradigm, giving us the flexibility to focus more on our customers’ experiences and delivering features, rather than server management and patching. Without having to manage additional widgets, we’ve been able to let user experience drive our development — from tracking new social media feeds to adding video analytics.

When customers ask us to track public social media shares around an event, we’re able to leverage tools like Cloud Dataprep and BigQuery to capture related social posts and provide fast analytic insight. Our engine can track events on social media and supports even more teams’ efforts to raise awareness of, or even prevent, critical incidents.

Most recently, the platform helped keep fans safe at Super Bowl LII by centralizing internal incident reports, police reports, and social media feeds in one security command center.

The National Football League’s security teams were able to communicate with local resources, law enforcement, and government agencies faster than previous years. We’ve had the flexibility to focus on the new features the NFL needs because of the nimble, iterative way of working that Google Cloud Platform supports.

The Google Cloud Startup Program enables any startup to get up and running quickly and easily through mentorship, training, and free credits. Learn more.

Google Cloud

Get started

Try it yourself

Get $300 credit on your first GCP project or try G Suite free for 14 days.

Need help on a bigger project?

Our experts will help you build the right solutions or find the right partner for your needs.