透過集合功能整理內容 你可以依據偏好儲存及分類內容。
跳至

什麼是零信任安全機制?

零信任是一種用於保護機構的安全性模型,其依據為不應預設信任任何使用者或裝置,即使對方已存在於機構的網路內。零信任機制會在整個網路上 (而不只是在信任的範圍內) 強制執行嚴格的身分驗證和授權,藉此移除隱含的信任。在這個模型中,所有存取資源的要求都會視為來自不受信任的網路,直到經過檢查及驗證為止。

Forrester Research 分析師 John Kindervag 在 2010 年首次提出零信任安全性模型。這標示了與傳統 IT 安全性模型不同的發展;傳統模型主要著重於在網路範圍中保護存取權,並假設內部的一切都值得信賴。

然而,如果攻擊者獲得網路存取權,則傳統做法幾乎沒有防禦機制。只要進入網路,攻擊者就能自由移動,並嘗試延伸至對高價值資料和資產的存取,這項技術稱為水平擴散。如今,隨著資源和資料傳播,從單一位置實作網路的安全性控制變得困難,對現今的 IT 環境而言更是棘手。

零信任機制有助於公司強化 IT 環境的安全性,並限制或防範攻擊。

進一步瞭解 Google 如何實施 BeyondCorp 零信任雲端安全性模型,將存取權控管從網路範圍移轉至個別使用者和裝置。

零信任的定義

零信任是一種雲端安全性模型,藉由移除隱含的信任,並強制實行嚴格的身分驗證和授權機制,來保護現代機構。在零信任機制下,不論使用者是屬於機構網路內部或外部,一律將所有使用者、裝置和元件視為不受信任。

零信任機制如何運作?

零信任消除了受信任的網路邊緣的概念,並假設要求存取的使用者或服務都是潛在威脅,無論他們是否在您的網路中,或他們之前連線的次數。 

儘管很多人都會將零信任定義簡化為「不信任任何人和物」或「絕不信任,一律驗證」,但這些簡化的定義並不完整。相反的,零信任的核心概念是在連接的系統中預設信任任何使用者或裝置,即便是基礎元件,也會產生嚴重的安全性風險。因此,必須透過動態且符合情境的安全性政策和各種技術機制,建立並持續驗證信任。

這種方法利用精細的政策控管功能,透過微區隔將網路劃分成多個小區隔和獨立的工作負載。政策是以身分、位置、裝置、使用者存取的內容和應用程式為依據。此外,政策是動態的,所以會定期重新評估,並根據內容變化進行調整。

根據預設,使用者無法存取資料和資源,且連線只有在經過驗證及授權之後,系統才會授予嚴格控管的存取權。這項程序適用於任何使用者或已連線的端點,而且身分會持續進行驗證。此外,系統會密切記錄、監控及分析所有網路流量,以偵測是否有遭駭信號。

以下提供一個更簡單的思考方式:將您的網路和基礎架構想像成最重要的秘密政府機關,零信任就是安全系統。當中包含標準範圍安全性,以及用來偵測未經授權的存取的警告和感應器。

零信任機制可保護範圍內的所有存取點。建築物中的每一側和每個房間也會保持鎖定狀態,並使用生物特徵辨識系統控制門。即便您在前門入口通過安全性檢查,仍須掃描指紋,才能在每扇門前證明您的身分,且必須取得適當的安全性權限才能通過。您只能進入需要進入的區域,且只能停留完成業務所需的時間。

三個零信任概念

零信任模型包含多種實作項目,包括零信任網路存取權 (ZTNA)、零信任架構 (ZTA) 和零信任邊緣 (ZTE)。但都是以相同的核心概念為基礎所建構。 

以下是建構模型的三個零信任原則:

  1. 一律假設所有網路流量都是威脅。零信任將每位使用者都視為惡意,而且不論網路內外,威脅無所不在。因此,凡是沒有明確權限的流量,都會自動拒絕存取。每部裝置、使用者和網路流程在要求存取時,都會持續經過驗證、授權和驗證。
  2. 強制執行最低權限的存取權。零信任安全性機制會視需求授予最低權限存取權、最低權限和所需資源的存取權,而不會影響完成工作的能力。最低權限的存取權存取可防止攻擊者在帳戶或裝置遭到入侵時,橫向移動至更重要的資源。
  3. 隨時監控。零信任模式提倡隨時持續監控及分析和管理網路活動。這樣一來,您就能即時瞭解哪些實體嘗試存取資源,並協助找出潛在威脅、作用中事件,以及應調查的異常狀況。

這些 Forrester 最初列出的零信任原則也與美國國家標準及技術院 (NIST) 制定的 零信任架構一致。我們強烈建議您參閱 NIST 架構的相關指南,瞭解在自己的機構中導入零信任安全性模型的實際步驟。

為什麼要使用零信任模型?

現今最嚴重的資料侵害事件,不只是攻擊者為了侵入網路範圍而想找出方法的後果。隨著雲端運算和遠端工作團隊的興起,許多機構也難以避免日益擴大的分散式環境和有空隙的範圍。現在,系統會在多個服務、裝置、應用程式和使用者中產生、儲存及分享資料,且可從全世界的任何位置存取這些資料。

許多威脅執行者發現,在混合雲環境中利用網路漏洞和涵蓋範圍落差是有利可圖的事。越來越多的重大侵害事件都起因於遭盜用的帳戶,包括因社交工程及其他複雜的技術、意外或蓄意威脅,以及第三方供應商的安全性做法弱點所導致。

安全性團隊現在已體認到,和外部威脅一樣,威脅也可能來自網路內部

機構會嘗試實施深度防護層級的安全性措施,目的是在當保護措施失敗時,提供備援機制及備份安全性。不過,這種方法在實作、管理及維護方面通常相當廣泛且複雜,尤其是當引入新系統、人員、服務和裝置時,必須不斷地調整並修改一切。  

零信任機制採用深度防護策略,不過其目標是要盡可能降低受威脅面,並打造固有安全的環境,這樣就不必辨識及緩解每個潛在威脅。重點在於停止存取重要業務資產,並即時防止攻擊者透過網路水平移動。零信任機制提供整合式的安全性方法,為分散式環境提供全方位、可彈性調整的防護機制,同時仍允許進行安全的存取。  

使用零信任模型的好處

瀏覽權限提升

零信任安全機制要求企業知道資產的所在位置,並持續監控用來存取資源的身分和方式。如此可改善流量的能見度和背景資訊、資產儲存庫和風險管理。

限制漏洞的影響範圍

由於授予身分最低權限存取權,因此在出現漏洞時,零信任度有助於限制損害的範圍。這可讓團隊更快速地回應及緩解攻擊,並降低進一步曝光的風險。

現代 IT 環境中的存取權控管機制

在零信任架構之下,安全性政策是以身分為基礎,並與特定工作負載相關聯。如此一來,就能將安全性與受保護的資產結合,因此無論環境為何,都能與工作負載一起傳輸。

一致、可調整的安全機制

在零信任模型中會集中管理安全性政策,且須仰賴自動化功能來依據背景資訊來遷移及更新政策。可以提高安全性的靈活度和擴充性,同時減輕管理員的負擔。

減少受攻擊面和風險

零信任可隔離流量,建立網路區隔以防止橫向移動,並防止任何潛在感染傳播至重要資源。系統可檢查所有可疑活動,並透過政策和控制項再次驗證身分,降低成功侵害的機率。

長期確保法規遵循

在零信任下,系統會記錄和評估所有流量和要求。此外,也能鎖定資源的存取權。如果侵害事件發生,此機制不僅會提供清楚的稽核追蹤資訊,同時也能讓您更輕鬆地證明自己已盡可能遵守資料隱私權規定和標準。

使用零信任模型的挑戰

當然,任何做法都有其困難之處。轉型為零信任機制,可能需要花費數年的時間,並需要審慎規劃。

採用零信任機制的幾個棘手挑戰如下:

  • 一致性。如果能採取正確的做法,零信任就能夠如預期提供優異的安全性。但是,機構也需要制定一致的策略。大多數機構在逐漸淘汰傳統安全性解決方案時,必須分階段進行變更;不過,他們也必須確保過程中不會有任何差距擴大。
  • 抑制生產力。零信任機制為多數工作流程增加額外的安全步驟,如果實施不當,可能會影響生產力。關鍵在於輔助工作及取得強大的安全防護機制之間,找出理想的策略平衡。如果處理程序太過雜亂,個人可能會試圖規避這些程序。
  • 打擊內部威脅。雖然零信任機制可以透過最低權限的存取權減少內部威脅,但這並不是萬靈丹。攻擊者通常會使用網路釣魚或恐嚇軟體等手法竊取憑證,誘騙使用者提供機密資訊,藉此取得存取管道。或者,在最糟糕的情況下,您可能會遇到惡意人士意圖濫用他們的權限。為了讓零信任機制有效防範內部威脅,您必須能夠監控及偵測整個機構中的任何模式異常情況。
  • 維護政策和架構。隨著業務持續成長和發展,零信任政策與權限結構也必須持續更新。零信任模型需要具備精確定義的政策和有效的政策管理機制,因此也必須主動維護及設定,以防止資料侵害事件發生。

找到所需的解決方案了嗎?讓我們攜手解決您面臨的難題。

新客戶可以獲得價值 $300 美元的免費抵免額,用以體驗 Google Cloud 的各項功能。
開始使用
與 Google Cloud 銷售專員聯絡,進一步討論您的獨特挑戰。
聯絡我們

BeyondCorp 是 Google 實作的零信任網路架構,不需要任何傳統 VPN,即可從任何裝置或網路安全地進行存取。BeyondCorp 使用各種 Google Cloud 工具,例如單一登入Access Context ManagerIdentity-Aware Proxy,將範圍從網路延伸到個別裝置和使用者。

BeyondCorp 提供一組存取權控管,透過驗證和授權工作流程來驗證身分,藉此授予資源的存取權,讓機構在不影響生產力的情況下持續驗證信任關係。

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.
Jump to

What is zero-trust security?

Zero trust is a security model used to secure an organization based on the idea that no person or device should be trusted by default, even if they are already inside an organization’s network. A zero-trust approach aims to remove implicit trust by enforcing strict identity authentication and authorization throughout the network, not just at a trusted perimeter. In this model, every request to access resources is treated as if it comes from an untrusted network until it has been inspected, authenticated, and verified. 

Forrester Research analyst John Kindervag first proposed the zero-trust security model in 2010. It marked a shift away from traditional IT security models, which primarily focus on defending access at the network perimeter and assume everything inside can be trusted. 

Unfortunately, the traditional approach offers little defense if attackers gain access to a network. Once in, attackers can move freely and attempt to extend their access to high-value data and assets—a technique known as lateral movement. Today, this is even more problematic in modern IT environments as resources and data are spread out, making it difficult to implement security control over a network from a single point. 

A zero-trust approach can help companies strengthen their IT environment security and help them limit or prevent attacks. 

Learn more about how Google implements its BeyondCorp zero-trust cloud security model to shift access controls from network perimeter to individual users and devices. 

Zero trust defined

Zero trust is a cloud security model designed to secure modern organizations by removing implicit trust and enforcing strict identity authentication and authorization. Under zero trust, every user, device, and component is considered untrusted at all times, regardless of whether they are inside or outside of an organization’s network. 

How does zero trust work?

Zero trust eliminates the idea of a trusted network edge and assumes that any user or service requesting access is a potential threat, regardless of whether they are inside your network or how many times they have connected before. 

While many would simplify zero-trust definitions as “trust no one and nothing” or “never trust, always verify,” these are somewhat limited. Instead, the concept at the core of zero trust is that assuming trust in anyone or anything, even underlying components, in an interconnected system creates significant security risk. Trust needs to be established and continuously validated using dynamic, contextual security policies and various technology mechanisms. 

The approach leverages micro-segmentation using granular policy controls to divide the network into smaller segments and isolated workloads. Policies are context-based, according to identity, location, device, the content being accessed, and the application. Policies are dynamic, so they are re-assessed regularly and adapted as the context changes.

Data and resources are inaccessible by default, and connections are only granted strictly controlled access after they have been authenticated and authorized. This process is applied for any user or connected endpoint, and identity is continuously authenticated. In addition, all network traffic is logged, monitored, and analyzed closely for any signals of a compromise. 

Here is a simpler way to think about it: Imagine your network and infrastructure as a top-secret government facility, and zero trust is the security system. It might include standard perimeter security and alarms and sensors to detect unauthorized access. 

Zero trust adds security to all access points inside of the perimeter. Every wing and each room in the building is also kept locked at all times and the doors are controlled using a biometric access system. Even after you pass through security at the front entrance, you will need to scan your fingerprint to prove your identity at each door and will only be allowed to pass through it if you have the proper security clearance. You are only allowed to enter areas you need to go into and stay for the time needed to complete your business. 

The three zero-trust concepts

The zero-trust model includes multiple implementations today, including zero-trust network access (ZTNA), zero-trust architecture (ZTA), and zero-trust edge (ZTE). However, they are all built on the same core concepts. 

Here are the three zero-trust principles that shape the model: 

  1. Assume all network traffic is a threat, at all times. Zero trust takes the view that every user is hostile and that threats are omnipresent, both inside and outside the network. Therefore, any traffic that does not have explicit permission is automatically denied access. Every device, user, and network flow is authenticated, authorized, and validated when requesting access on an ongoing basis.
  2. Enforce least-privileged access. Zero-trust security approaches grant least-privilege access, the minimum privileges and access to the necessary resources when they are needed without impacting the ability to complete a task. Least-privilege access helps restrict attackers from moving laterally to more critical resources if an account or device is compromised. 
  3. Always monitor. The zero-trust model advocates for continuous monitoring and analyzes and manages activity on the network at all times. This enables real-time understanding of what entities are trying to access resources and helps identify potential threats, active incidents, and any anomalies that should be investigated. 

These zero-trust principles originally outlined by Forrester also align with the zero-trust framework developed by the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). We highly recommend reading NIST’s framework for guidance on the practical steps needed to implement a zero-trust security model in your own organization. 

Why use a zero-trust model?

Some of today’s most prolific data breaches are not just the result of an attacker finding a way to breach the network perimeter. With the rise of cloud computing and remote workforces, many organizations are struggling to defend increasingly distributed environments and a porous perimeter. Data is now generated, stored, and shared across multiple services, devices, applications, and people, and accessed from anywhere in the world.

Many threat actors have discovered that exploiting network weaknesses and gaps in coverage in hybrid cloud environments is a lucrative business. Increasingly, serious breaches are the result of compromised accounts through social engineering and other sophisticated techniques, accidental or intentional inside threats, and weaker security practices of third-party vendors. 

Security teams now recognize that threats are just as likely to come from inside the network as they are from outside of it. 

Organizations have attempted to implement defense-in-depth layered security measures, which aim to offer redundancies and backup security should one measure fail. However, this approach is often expensive and complex to implement, manage, and maintain—especially with the need to constantly adapt and modify everything as new systems, people, services, and devices are introduced.  

Zero trust incorporates defense-in-depth strategies, but the goal is to minimize the threat surface and build environments that are inherently secure without having to identify and mitigate every single potential threat. The focus is to stop access to mission-critical assets and prevent attackers from moving laterally through the network in real time. Zero trust provides a unified security approach that offers comprehensive, adaptable protection of distributed environments while still allowing secure access.  

Benefits of using the zero-trust model

Increased visibility

Zero-trust security requires businesses to know where assets are located and continuously monitor what identities are accessing resources and how. This improves visibility and context of traffic, asset inventory, and risk management. 

Limit the blast radius of breaches

Since identities are given least-privilege access, zero trust helps to limit the scope of damage if and when a breach does occur. This allows teams to respond and mitigate attacks faster, and minimizes the risk of further exposure. 

Access control in modern IT environments

With zero-trust architecture, security policies are based on identity and associated with specific workloads. This puts security close to the assets being protected, allowing it to travel with the workload, regardless of the environment. 

Consistent, adaptable security

Security policies are centrally managed in zero-trust models and rely on automation to help migrate and update policies according to context. Security becomes more agile and scalable, while also reducing the burden on administrators. 

Reduced attack surface and risk

Zero trust isolates traffic and creates network segments that prevent lateral movement and stop any potential infections from spreading to critical resources. Any suspicious activity can be inspected and identities re-verified again with policies and controls, decreasing the chance of a successful breach. 

Continuous compliance

Under zero trust, all traffic and requests are logged and evaluated. In addition, it locks down access to resources. This not only provides a clear audit trail if a breach does occur, but also makes it easier to prove that you have done everything possible to meet data privacy requirements and standards. 

Challenges of using the zero-trust model

Of course, no approach is without its challenges. Making the shift to zero trust can take years and requires careful planning.

Here are some of the biggest challenges of using zero trust: 

  • Being consistent. Done right, zero trust can provide superior security as advertised. However, it also requires that organizations be consistent with strategy. Most organizations will need to make changes in stages as they shift away from traditional security solutions, but they will also need to ensure no gaps develop along the way. 
  • Inhibiting productivity. Zero trust adds extra security steps to most workflows and can affect productivity if they are implemented incorrectly. The key is finding the right balance in strategy between supporting work and achieving a strong security posture. If processes become too disruptive, individuals may try to circumvent them. 
  • Combating insider threats. While zero trust can help mitigate insider threats through least-privilege access, it is not a silver bullet. Attackers frequently find ways to gain access by stealing credentials using tactics like phishing or scareware to trick people into sharing sensitive information. Or, in worst case scenarios, you may be dealing with a malicious party intent to abuse their privileges. In order for zero trust to be effective against insider threats, you will need to be able to monitor and detect any pattern anomalies throughout your entire organization.
  • Maintaining policies and architecture. Your business is constantly growing and evolving, which means zero-trust policies and permission structures will also need to be constantly updated. Zero-trust models rely on precisely defined policies and effective policy administration, which must also be proactively maintained and configured to prevent breaches. 

Feeling inspired? Let’s solve your challenges together.

New customers get $300 in free credits to spend on Google Cloud.
Get started
Talk to a Google Cloud sales specialist to discuss your unique challenge in more detail.
Contact us

BeyondCorp is Google’s implementation of a zero-trust network architecture to enable secure access from any device or network without the need of a traditional VPN. BeyondCorp uses Google Cloud tools, such as single sign-on, Access Context Manager, and Identity-Aware Proxy, to push the perimeter from the network to individual devices and users. 

BeyondCorp provides a set of access controls that verifies identity through authentication and authorization workflows to grant access to resources, allowing organizations to achieve continuous verification of trust without impacting productivity.