Disconnecting Networks

Disconnecting your VPC and on-premises networks requires you to delete the VLAN attachment. Work with your service provider to initiate the deletion. That way billing by Google and your service provider stops at the same time. If you delete the VLAN attachment in GCP first, your service provider might continue to charge you for the connection.

After your service provider disconnects your VLAN attachment, the state of your attachment changes to DEFUNCT, and Google stops billing you for the attachment. At this point, you can delete the attachment. If you delete the attachment in GCP first, the attachment is deleted and Google stops billing you for it. However, your service provider might not be aware of this change. Contact your service provider to ensure they delete your connection and stop billing you.

Console

  1. Go to the Cloud Interconnect VLAN attachments tab in the Google Cloud Platform Console.
    Go to the VLAN attachments tab
  2. Select the VLAN attachment to delete. If your service provider disconnected your attachment, its status will be Defunct. If it's in any other state, you can still delete the attachment, but contact your service provider to make sure they're aware of this change.
  3. From the VLAN attachment details page, click Delete.
  4. Click Delete to confirm.

gcloud

  1. Describe the VLAN attachment to check whether your service provider disconnected it. If so, the state of the attachment is DEFUNCT. If the state of the attachment is in any other state, you can still delete the attachment, but contact your service provider to make sure they're aware of this change.

    gcloud compute interconnects attachments describe my-attachment \
      --region us-central1
  2. Delete the VLAN attachment.

    gcloud compute interconnects attachments delete my-attachment
      --region us-central1
Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Interconnect