术语库

联网 API

  • 跨计算机网络运行的应用编程接口。它们使用包括 HTTP 在内的各种网络协议进行通信,并且由不同的组织生成,通常供大于求。

Google API

  • Google 服务公开的联网 API。其中大多数都托管在 googleapis.com 域名上。此术语不包括其他类型的 API,例如客户端库和 SDK。

    所有 Google API 都共享一个通用的使用模型:API 使用者使用由 API 生产者管理的 API 服务。这样一来,用户即可在所有 Google API 中获得简单一致的体验。

Google Cloud API

  • Google Cloud 服务公开的 Google API 子集。如需了解详情,请参阅 Cloud API

API 接口

  • 一个 Protocol Buffers service 定义。它通常映射到大多数编程语言中的某一个接口。API 接口可以由任意数量的 API 服务实现。

API 版本

  • 一个 API 接口或一组 API 接口(如果一起定义)的版本。API 版本通常由字符串(例如“v1”)表示,并显示在 API 请求和 Protocol Buffers 包名称中。

API 方法

  • API 接口中的单个操作。它在 Protocol Buffers 中由 rpc 定义表示,并且通常映射到大多数编程语言的接口中的一个函数。

API 请求

  • API 方法的单个调用。它通常用作计费、日志记录、监控和速率限制的单位。

API 服务

  • 在一个或多个网络地址上公开的一个或多个 API 接口(如 Cloud Pub/Sub API)的部署实现。

    对于 Google API,API 和“服务” 的概念用作 API 服务的同义词。其列在 Google Cloud Console 中的 API 库下。

API 服务名称

  • 是指 API 服务的逻辑标识符。Google API 使用符合 RFC 1035 DNS 规范的名称作为其 API 服务名称,例如“pubsub.googleapis.com”。

API 服务端点

  • 是指 API 服务用于响应实际 API 请求的网络地址。一个 API 服务可能有多个 API 服务端点,例如 https://pubsub.googleapis.comhttps://content-pubsub.googleapis.com

API 服务定义

  • 用于定义 API 服务的 API 接口定义(.proto 文件)和 API 服务配置(.yaml 文件)的组合。 Google API 服务定义的架构为 google.api.Service

API 产品

  • API 服务及相关组件(如服务条款、文档、客户端库和服务支持)将作为一个产品统一呈现给客户。例如,Google Calendar API。人们有时将 API 产品简称为 API。

API 使用者

  • 使用 API 服务的实体。对于 Google API,使用者通常是拥有客户端应用或服务器资源的 Google 项目。

API 生产者

  • 生产 API 服务的实体。对于 Google API,生产者通常是拥有 API 服务的 Google 项目。

API 后端

  • 实现 API 服务业务逻辑的一组服务器及相关基础架构。单个 API 后端服务器通常称为 API 服务器。

API 前端

  • 跨 API 服务提供通用功能(例如负载平衡和身份验证)的一组服务器及相关基础架构。单个 API 前端服务器通常称为 API 代理。

    请注意,API 前端和 API 后端运行时可以彼此相邻,也可以离得很远。在某些情况下,它们可以编译为单个应用二进制文件,并在单个进程中运行。

Glossary

Networked APIs

  • Application Programming Interfaces that operate across a network of computers. They communicate using network protocols including HTTP, and are frequently produced by different organizations than the ones that consume them.

Google APIs

  • Networked APIs exposed by Google services. Most of them are hosted on googleapis.com domain. It does not include other types of APIs, such as client libraries and SDKs.

API Interface

  • A Protocol Buffers service definition. It is typically mapped to an interface in most programming languages. An API interface can be implemented by any number of API Services.

API Version

  • The version of an API interface or a group of API interfaces if they are defined together. An API version is often represented by a string, such as "v1", and presents in API requests and Protocol Buffers package names.

API Method

  • An individual operation within an API Interface. It is represented in Protocol Buffers by an rpc definition, and is typically mapped to a function in the API Interface in most programming languages.

API Request

  • A single invocation of an API Method. It is often used as the unit for billing, logging, monitoring, and rate limiting.

API Service

  • A deployed implementation of one or more API interface(s), exposed on one or more network endpoints. An API service is identified by its service name that is compatible with RFC 1035 DNS, such as calendar.googleapis.com.

API Endpoint

  • Refers to a network address that an API service uses to service the actual API requests, such as pubsub.googleapis.com and content-pubsub.googleapis.com.

API Product

  • An API Service plus related components, such as Terms of Service, documentation, client libraries, and service support, are collectively presented to customers as a product. For example, Google Calendar API. NOTE: people sometimes refer to an API Product simply as an API.

API Service Definition

  • The combination of API Interface definitions (.proto files) and API Service configurations (.yaml files) used to define an API Service.

API Consumer

  • The entity who consumes an API Service. For Google APIs, it typically is a Google project that owns the client application or the server resource.

API Producer

  • The entity produces an API Service. For Google APIs, it typically is a Google project that owns the API service.

API Backend

  • A set of servers plus related infrastructure that implements the business logic for an API Service. An individual API backend server is often called an API server.

API Frontend

  • A set of servers plus related infrastructure that provides common functionality across API Services, such as load balancing and authentication. An individual API frontend server is often called an API proxy.

    NOTE: the API frontend and the API backend may run next to each other or far away from each other. In some cases, they can be compiled into a single application binary and run inside a single process.

Send feedback about...