托管 webhook 目标

本指南介绍如何在 Cloud Run 服务中托管 webhook 目标。

Cloud Functions 与 Cloud Run

Cloud Functions 和 Cloud Run 都提供托管 webhook 目标的理想解决方案。一般而言,Cloud Functions 的设置速度快,适合进行原型设计,并且非常适合数量较少的工作流。Cloud Run 提供更高的灵活性,能够使用并发处理更大的容量。

在以下情况下使用 Cloud Run:

  • 您使用的是 Cloud Functions 不支持的语言或运行时
  • 您想延长请求超时时间(最长 15 分钟)
  • 您需要大容量并且需要并发(每个容器实例 80 个并发请求)

在 Cloud Run 中创建 webhook 目标

使用 Cloud Run,您可以选择任何语言定义 webhook 目标。您只需要创建可接受数据的 HTTP 端点。 通常情况下,这是通过 POST 完成的,例如:

@app.route('/', methods=['POST'])
def index():
    data = request.get_json()

在上例中,网址的索引页面配置为仅接受 POST 请求并期望数据通过 JSON 负载传递。

与 webhook 提供程序集成

大多数提供 HTTP 回调的服务都要求您验证网址所有权。 这通常是通过发送某种类型的令牌、消息或 Secret 并期待有效响应来实现的。您需要从服务提供商那里获得这些请求。使用上面相同的示例,可能如下所示:

def index():
    data = request.get_json()
    return data['challenge']

提供商验证您的所有权后,您还需要在您的端添加授权。

向请求授权

webhook 目标是一个开放的公共网址。大多数服务都会提供令牌或 Secret,以确保传入请求来自已获授权的服务。由于此网址是公共的,因此您无法阻止恶意企图将数据发送到 webhook 目标。但是,使用令牌或 Secret 可确保您只处理来自授权来源的数据。

为了验证请求,您需要将 Secret 副本存储为环境变量或使用某种密钥管理系统。每个请求都应在请求标头或 JSON 负载中包含 Secret 或令牌,并且您必须对其进行检查以确保来源有效。

def index():
    request_secret = request.headers['Secret']
    if request_secret != os.environ['SECRET']:
        return ('Unauthorized', 401)

如果 webhook 提供程序不支持 Secret 或其他身份验证机制,那么任何使用您的 webhook 目标网址的人都可以发送消息。在这种情况下,您的 webhook 实现应该安全地暴露在公共互联网。

响应请求

大多数服务要求您在服务指定的设定时间内响应请求。如果出现错误响应(例如 HTTP 状态代码 4xx 或 5xx),一些 webhooks 会内置重试方法,因此您需要返回成功状态代码 (2xx),以便让服务知道事件已妥善处理。

def index():
    data = request.get_json()
    return ('', 200)

超时

Cloud Run 和 webhook 提供程序都存在超时。两者中的超时较短者适用于您的应用。如果您的数据处理时间超过了 Cloud Run 或 webhook 提供程序指定的时间,您需要使用可异步完成处理的产品,例如 Pub/SubCloud Tasks。这些产品可让您快速传递数据,立即向 webhook 提供程序返回成功响应,并继续处理而无需担心超时。这些也是处理失败和重试的好选择。

常见的 webhook 模式

类型 示例
中继数据 每次调用 webhook 时通过 Firebase 云消息传递发送通知。
存储数据 将数据存储在 BigQuery 中供日后进行分析。
触发操作 在 Dialogflow 上执行操作、在 Twitter 上发布回复,或者在 GitHub 中提交新代码时推送到暂存环境。

后续步骤

Hosting webhooks targets

This guide shows how to host a webhook target in a Cloud Run service.

Cloud Functions vs Cloud Run

Cloud Functions and Cloud Run both provide good solutions for hosting your webhook targets. Generally, Cloud Functions is quick to set up, good for prototyping, and ideal for lower volume workflows. Cloud Run provides more flexibility and is able to handle larger volumes with concurrency.

Use Cloud Run if:

  • You're using languages or runtimes not supported in Cloud Functions
  • You want longer request timeouts (up to 15 minutes)
  • You're expecting large volume and need concurrency (80 concurrent requests per container instance)

Creating a webhook target in Cloud Run

Using Cloud Run, you can define a webhook target in any language you choose. You only need to create an HTTP endpoint that can accept the data. Typically this is done with a POST, for example:

@app.route('/', methods=['POST'])
def index():
    data = request.get_json()

In the above example, the index page of the URL is configured to accept only POST requests and expects data to be delivered via a JSON payload.

Integrating with the webhook provider

Most services that provide HTTP callbacks require you to verify URL ownership. This is usually done by sending some kind of token, message, or secret and expecting a valid response. You'll need to obtain these requirements from the service provider. Using the same example above, this could look like:

def index():
    data = request.get_json()
    return data['challenge']

After the provider verifies your ownership, you'll need to add authorization on your end as well.

Authorizing requests

A webhook target is an open and public URL. Most services provide a token or a secret to ensure that the incoming requests are from authorized services. Because the URL is public, you cannot prevent malicious attempts to send data to the webhook target. However, using tokens or secrets ensures you only process data from authorized sources.

In order to verify the request, you need to store your copy of the secret either as an environment variable or using some kind of key management system. Each request should have a secret or token in the request headers or the JSON payload, and you must check it to ensure the source is valid.

def index():
    request_secret = request.headers['Secret']
    if request_secret != os.environ['SECRET']:
        return ('Unauthorized', 401)

If the webhook provider does not support a secret or other authentication mechanism, anyone with the URL of your webhook target will be able to send messages. In this case, your webhook implementation should be safe to expose to the public internet.

Responding to requests

Most services require you to respond to a request within a set amount of time, as specified by the service. Some webhooks have built-in retry methods if there is an error response, such as an HTTP status code of 4xx or 5xx, so you'll need to return a successful status code (2xx) to let the service know the event was processed properly.

def index():
    data = request.get_json()
    return ('', 200)

Timeouts

Both Cloud Run and the webhooks provider have timeouts. The shorter of the two will apply to your application. If your data processing exceeds the time allotted by either Cloud Run or the webhooks provider, you'll need to use a product that allows you to complete your processing asynchronously, such as Pub/Sub or Cloud Tasks. These products allow you to quickly hand off the data, immediately return a success response to the webhooks provider, and continue the processing without the timeout concern. These are also good options for handling failures and retries.

Common webhooks patterns

Type Examples
Relaying Data Sending a notification via Firebase Cloud Messaging whenever the webhook is called.
Storing Data Storing the data in BigQuery for later analysis.
Triggering Actions Fulfilling actions on Dialogflow, posting replies on Twitter, or pushing to your staging environment whenever new code is committed in GitHub.

What's next

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Cloud Run Documentation