透過集合功能整理內容 你可以依據偏好儲存及分類內容。
跳至

什麼是虛擬私人伺服器 (VPS)?

虛擬私人伺服器 (又稱為 VPS) 是實體伺服器上獨立的虛擬環境,由雲端或網路主機供應商擁有及營運。VPS 託管使用虛擬化技術,將單一實體機器分成共用資源的多個私人伺服器環境。

如果公司或個人的網站或應用程式已超越共用託管服務,虛擬私人伺服器託管服務可提供與專屬託管服務類似的經驗,而且不必負擔與專屬伺服器相關的高額費用和繁重的維護作業。

有了 VPS,您就能享有更優異的效能、可靠性和安全性。此外,您也可以隨時視需要控制預先定義的資源量,不需要和任何其他使用者共用 RAM、CPU、磁碟空間或頻寬。

虛擬私人伺服器的定義

VPS (即虛擬私人伺服器) 是一種在與其他使用者共用的實體伺服器上,提供虛擬化伺服器資源的虛擬機器。透過 VPS 託管,您會取得專屬的伺服器空間以及預留資源,除了共用主機,可進一步控管和自訂。

VPS 的運作方式

即使您與其他使用者共用一個實體伺服器,VPS 也會模擬專屬的伺服器託管環境。您的託管服務供應商會在實體伺服器的作業系統 (OS) 之上安裝一個管理程序 (虛擬層),將其分成虛擬分區。透過這個層,這些各個分區都可以執行自己的 OS 和軟體,讓每個環境各自能夠獨立運作。

即使技術上來說,您與其他使用者共用資源,但您的資源受到保障。您需為已定義的數量支付費用,這些費用會分配給您的 VPS,且其他帳戶不得使用。

虛擬私人伺服器與專屬伺服器

要瞭解虛擬私人伺服器和專屬伺服器之間的差異,請務必先瞭解各種可用的網站託管服務。

  • 共用託管是指多位使用者共用單一實體伺服器和其所有資源。不過,您並未分配到一定數量的資源,這可能表示您網站的運算能力和記憶體都可能受到其他使用者的需求影響。
  • 專屬託管服務則提供了完整的實體伺服器,且所有資源都單獨保留給貴公司使用。無論是硬體、作業系統或自訂伺服器軟體,您都能完全掌控。
  • VPS 託管介於共用託管和專屬託管之間。與共用主機不同,您的 VPS 可以分配到已定義的資源數量。此外,您還可以享受更經濟實惠的專屬託管服務優勢,包括您自己的作業系統、伺服器應用程式和根層級存取權控管。  

讓我們用類比圖協助細分 VPS 和專屬伺服器的差異:

VPS 伺服器就像是在餐廳預訂私人房間,用來慶祝生日等活動。您可以在可視需求自訂的私人空間享受獨立用餐體驗,而非在餐廳主要空間和其他的顧客 (共用伺服器) 一起用餐。

您可以取得您的訪客所需的座位、桌子、餐點和餐具,並依照自己的需求排列。您可以要求其他菜單或特調飲品,方便訪客根據口味點餐。不過,您必須和其他顧客分享廚房、工作人員和其他設施。

專屬伺服器就像是包場,然後聘請外燴和活動公司。您可以完全掌控派對的各方面,所有資源都只會保留給您的顧客群,但價格極高。

透過 Google Cloud 解決業務挑戰。

新客戶可以獲得價值 $300 美元的免費抵免額,用以體驗 Google Cloud 的各項功能。
開始使用
與 Google Cloud 銷售專員聯絡,進一步討論您的獨特挑戰。
聯絡我們

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.
Jump to

What is a Virtual Private Server (VPS)?

A virtual private server, also known as a VPS, acts as an isolated, virtual environment on a physical server, which is owned and operated by a cloud or web hosting provider. VPS hosting uses virtualization technology to split a single physical machine into multiple private server environments that share the resources. 

For companies or individuals whose websites or applications have outgrown shared hosting, virtual private server hosting provides an experience similar to dedicated hosting without the high costs and maintenance overhead associated with a dedicated server.

With VPS, you get better performance, reliability, and security. Plus, you have a predefined amount of resources at your disposal whenever you need it—you don’t have to share RAM, CPU, disk space, or bandwidth with any other users. 

Ready to get started? New customers get $300 in free credits to spend on Google Cloud.

Virtual private server defined

A VPS—or virtual private server—is a virtual machine that provides virtualized server resources on a physical server that is shared with other users. With VPS hosting, you get dedicated server space with a reserved amount of resources, offering greater control and customization than shared hosting. 

How does a VPS work?

Even though you are sharing one physical server with other users, a VPS simulates a dedicated server hosting environment. Your hosting provider installs a hypervisor—a virtual layer—on top of the operating system (OS) of the physical server that divides it into virtual compartments. This layer enables each of these compartments to run its own OS and software, allowing each environment to function independently from one another. 

Even though you are technically sharing resources with other users, your resources are guaranteed. You pay for a defined amount, which is allocated to your VPS and cannot be used by another account. 

Virtual private server vs. dedicated server

To understand the differences between a virtual private server and a dedicated server, it’s important to first understand the different types of web hosting services available.

  • Shared hosting is when multiple users share a single physical server and all of its resources. However, you are not allocated a set amount of resources, meaning your website’s computing power and memory can be affected by the needs of other users.
  • Dedicated hosting, on the hand, provides an entire physical server and all of its resources are reserved for your business alone. You get full control over everything, from hardware to operating system to custom server software.
  • VPS hosting sits at the midpoint between shared hosting and dedicated hosting. Unlike shared hosting, you get a defined amount of resources allocated to your VPS. Plus, you can enjoy many advantages of dedicated hosting for a more affordable price, including your own OS, server applications, and root access control.  

Let’s use an analogy to help break down the differences between a VPS and a dedicated server: 

Think of a VPS server like reserving a private room at a restaurant to celebrate an event like your birthday. Instead of eating at a table in the main restaurant with other patrons (shared server), you can enjoy a separate dining experience in a private space that can be customized to your needs. 

You get all the seats, tables, dishes, and cutlery necessary for your guests and can arrange them how you want. You can request a different menu or drink special that your guests can order according to their tastes. However, you share the kitchen, staff, and other amenities with other patrons. 

A dedicated server is like renting out an entire venue and hiring a catering and event company. You have complete control over every aspect of your party and all the resources will be reserved just for your group of guests, but it will also be very expensive. 

Solve your business challenges with Google Cloud

New customers get $300 in free credits to spend on Google Cloud.
Get started
Talk to a Google Cloud sales specialist to discuss your unique challenge in more detail.
Contact us