關於 GCP 服務

本總覽介紹一些常用的 Google Cloud Platform (GCP) 服務。如需完整服務清單,請參閱產品與服務頁面

本總覽包含下列服務類型:

運算和託管服務

GCP 為您提供運算和託管的選項。您可以選擇執行下列動作:

  • 在無伺服器的環境下工作。
  • 使用代管的應用程式平台。
  • 運用容器技術來達成高度的彈性。
  • 建構自有的雲端基礎架構,掌握最大的控制能力與彈性。

您可以想像有一系列選擇,在這一端,您必須負起絕大部分的資源管理責任,而在另一端,則由 Google 負起絕大部分的責任:

運算與託管選項提供一系列的操作需求

無伺服器運算

Google Cloud Functions 是 GCP 的「函式式服務」(FaaS) 項目,提供用來建構及連接雲端服務的無伺服器執行環境。有了 Cloud Functions,您可以編寫簡單的單一用途函式,附加到雲端基礎架構和服務產生的事件。您的 Cloud 函式會在監控事件發生時執行。您的程式碼會在全代管環境中執行;您不需要佈建任何基礎架構,也不需要擔心管理伺服器的問題。

您可以使用 JavaScript 編寫 Cloud 函式,並在 GCP 上的 Node.js v6.11.5 環境中執行。只要在標準的 Node.js 執行階段中執行 Cloud 函式,就能輕鬆獲得可攜性和進行本機測試。

Cloud Functions 是某些用途的絕佳選擇,例如:

  • 資料處理與 ETL 作業,適用於諸如影片轉碼與 IoT 串流資料等情境。

  • Webhook,用來回應 HTTP 觸發條件。

  • 輕量級 API,可將結構鬆散的邏輯組成應用程式。

  • 行動後端功能。

應用程式平台

Google App Engine 是 GCP 的「平台式服務」(PaaS)。 有了 App Engine,Google 便可為您處理絕大部分資源管理工作。例如,如果因為您網站的流量增加,導致您的應用程式需要更多運算資源,Google 會自動調度系統資源來提供這些資源。如果系統軟體需要安全性更新,Google 也會幫您處理。

在 App Engine 上建構應用程式時,您可以:

  • 使用標準環境支援的語言,在 App Engine 標準環境執行階段的基礎上建構應用程式。這些語言包括:Python 2.7Java 8、Java 7PHP 5.5Go 1.8、1.6

  • 使用 App Engine 彈性環境支援的語言,在 App Engine 彈性環境執行階段的基礎上建構應用程式。這些語言包括:Python 2.7/3.6Java 8Go 1.8Node.jsPHP 5.6、7.NETRuby。您也可以透過自訂執行階段使用支援語言或其他任何語言的替代實作方式。

  • 讓 Google 替您管理應用程式託管、資源調度、監控與基礎架構。

  • 使用 App Engine SDK,在模擬 GCP 上的 App Engine 的環境中,在您的本機電腦上進行開發與測試。

  • 輕鬆使用 App Engine 的儲存技術,支援標準與彈性環境。

    Google Cloud SQL 是 SQL 資料庫,支援 MySQL 或 PostgreSQL。 Google Cloud Datastore 則是無結構定義的 NoSQL 資料儲存庫。Google Cloud Storage 可為您的大型檔案提供空間。

    在標準環境中,您也可以選擇各種第三方資料庫來搭配使用您的應用程式,例如 Redis、MongoDB、Cassandra 及 Hadoop。

    在彈性環境中,您能夠輕鬆使用任何第三方資料庫,前提是第三方資料庫可以從 Google App Engine 執行個體存取,並且受到您的語言支援。

    無論在哪一種環境下,這類第三方資料庫都可以在 Compute Engine 託管、由另一個雲端服務供應商託管、在內部部署中託管,或由第三方廠商代管。

  • 在標準環境下使用 Cloud Endpoints 產生 API 與用戶端程式庫。您可以使用這些項目簡化從其他應用程式存取資料的過程。Endpoints 可以讓您更輕鬆地為網路用戶端與行動用戶端 (例如 Android 或 iOS) 建立網路後端。

  • 針對電子郵件與使用者管理等活動使用內建、代管的服務。

  • 使用 Cloud Security Scanner 識別安全漏洞,做為現有安全設計與開發程序的補充項目。

  • 在 macOS 或 Microsoft Windows 上使用 App Engine 啟動器 GUI 應用程式,或使用指令列來部署應用程式。

  • 若是標準環境,則從美國中部或西歐地區執行應用程式。

如需 App Engine 功能的完整清單與說明,請參閱 App Engine 說明文件

容器

有了容器式運算,您就可以將注意力集中到應用程式程式碼上,而非將注意力集中到部署及整合到託管環境上。Google Kubernetes Engine 是 GCP 的「容器式服務」(CaaS) 產品,建構在開放原始碼 Kubernetes 系統上,提供 GCP 的公用雲端基礎架構以及內部部署或混合式雲端的彈性。

當您透過 Kubernetes Engine 建構時,您可以:

  • 建立及管理執行 Kubernetes 的 Compute Engine 執行個體群組,稱為叢集。 Kubernetes Engine 在叢集中使用 Compute Engine 執行個體做為節點。每一個節點都會執行 Docker 執行階段,這是一個會監控節點健康狀態的 Kubernetes 節點代理程式,也是一個簡單的網路 Proxy。

  • 建立簡單的 JSON 設定檔,來宣告 Docker 容器的需求。

  • 使用 Google Container Registry,安全、私密地儲存 Docker 映像檔。 您可以將映像檔推送至登錄檔,然後使用 HTTP 端點將映像檔提取至任何 Compute Engine 執行個體或您自己的硬體。

  • 建立單一及多容器的 Pod。每個 Pod 都代表一個邏輯主機,其中可以包含一或多個容器。Pod 中的容器可以透過共用資源 (如網路資源) 共同合作。一組 Pod 可以共同構成一個完整的應用程式、微服務,或多層應用程式的其中一層。

  • 建立及管理複製控制器,根據範本來管理 Pod 備用資源的建立與刪除。複製控制器可確保應用程式擁有穩定執行和適當調度資源所需的資源。

  • 建立及管理服務。服務可以建立抽象層,將前端用戶端從提供後端功能的 Pod 中分離出來。這樣用戶端就能夠正常運作,而不必無時無刻地擔心建立及刪除了哪些 Pod。

  • 建立外部網路負載平衡器。

虛擬機器

GCP 的非代管運算服務是 Google Compute Engine。您可以將 Compute Engine 想像成提供「基礎架構式服務」(IaaS),因為系統提供健全的運算基礎架構,但您必須選擇並設定您要使用的平台元件。有了 Compute Engine,就必須由您負責設定、管理及監控系統。Google 將確保資源可用、可靠,且準備好可供您使用,但資料的佈建及管理仍由您決定。此處的優點是,您能夠完全掌控系統,並擁有無限的彈性。

當您在 Compute Engine 上建構時,您可以執行下列作業:

  • 使用稱為執行個體的虛擬機器 (VM) 來建構應用程式,就像您有自己的硬體基礎架構一樣。您可以選擇各種執行個體類型來自訂您的設定,藉以符合您的需求與預算。

  • 選擇要在哪些全球地區與區域部署資源,讓您控管儲存及使用資料的位置。

  • 選擇您偏好使用哪些作業系統、開發堆疊、語言、架構、服務及其他軟體技術。

  • 從公開或私人映像檔建立執行個體。

  • 使用您偏好的 GCP 儲存技術或任何第三方技術。

  • 使用 Google Cloud Launcher 快速部署預先設定的軟體套件。例如,您只需要按幾下滑鼠鍵,即可完成 LAMP 或 MEAN 堆疊的部署。

  • 建立執行個體群組以便更輕鬆地同時管理多個執行個體。

  • 透過使用執行個體群組自動調度資源,自動新增及移除容量。

  • 視需要附加及卸離磁碟

  • 使用安全殼層 (SSH) 直接連接至您的執行個體。

結合運算與託管選項

您不需要堅持使用某一種類型的運算服務。例如,您可以結合 App Engine 與 Compute Engine,藉以發揮這兩者的功能與優點。如需使用 App Engine 和 Compute Engine 的範例,請參閱在 Google Compute Engine 上執行穩定可靠的任務排程一文。

如需詳細查看服務網站的選項,請參閱服務網站一文。

儲存服務

無論您的應用程式是哪種應用程式,可能都需要儲存一些資料。GCP 提供多種儲存服務,包括:

  • Cloud SQL 中的 SQL 資料庫,可提供 MySQL 或 PostgreSQL 資料庫。

  • Cloud Spanner 中的全代管關鍵任務關聯資料庫服務,能提供全球規模的交易一致性、結構定義、SQL 查詢,以及自動同步的複製寫功能,以實現高可用性。

  • NoSQL 資料儲存空間有兩個選項:Cloud DatastoreCloud Bigtable

  • Cloud Storage 的一致性、可擴充、大容量資料儲存空間。 Cloud Storage 有數種類型:

    • 多地區提供最高的可用性與異地備援機制。
    • 「地區」提供高可用性與本地化儲存位置。
    • 「Nearline」提供低成本封存儲存空間,適合存取資料頻率每月不到一次的應用環境。
    • 「Coldline」提供最低成本封存儲存空間,適合用於備份及災難復原。
  • Compute Engine 上的永久磁碟,適用於執行個體的主要儲存空間。Compute Engine 提供硬碟式永久磁碟 (又稱為「標準永久磁碟」),以及固態永久磁碟 (SSD)。

您也可以選擇設定在 Compute Engine 上使用永久磁碟這項偏好的儲存技術。例如,您可將 MongoDB 設定為您的 NoSQL 儲存空間。

如要瞭解 GCP 的完整範圍與儲存服務優點,請參閱選擇儲存選項一文。

網路服務

儘管 App Engine 能夠為您管理網路,而且 Kubernetes Engine 也會使用 Kubernetes 模型,Compute Engine 依然提供一組網路服務。這些服務可以協助您平均分配各資源的流量、建立 DNS 記錄,以及將您的現有網路連線至 Google 的網路。

網路、防火牆與路徑

虛擬私人雲端 (Virtual Private Cloud, VPC) 提供 VM 執行個體使用的一組網路服務。每一個執行個體都只能附加至一個網路。每一個 VPC 專案都具有「預設網路」。您可在專案中建立其他網路,但專案之間無法共用網路。

防火牆規則管理網路上傳入執行個體的流量。預設網路有一組預設的防火牆規則,您也可以建立自訂規則。

路徑可以讓您在執行個體中實作更進階的網路功能,例如建立 VPN。路徑可以指定應如何導向離開執行個體的封包。例如,路徑可指定應由您設定及操作的閘道虛擬機器執行個體處理目的地為特定網路範圍的封包。

負載平衡

如果您的網站或應用程式是在 Compute Engine 上執行,總會有需要跨多個執行個體分散工作負載的時候。伺服器端負載平衡功能為您提供下列選項:

  • 網路負載平衡可以讓您根據傳入的 IP 通訊協定資料 (例如位址、通訊埠與通訊協定),在同一個地區的不同伺服器執行個體間分散流量。舉例來說,如果您想要符合增加網站流入流量的要求,網路負載平衡就是一個絕佳的解決方案。

  • HTTP/HTTPS 負載平衡可以讓您跨地區分散流量,確保將要求轉送至最近的地區,或者在發生失敗或超出容量限制時,轉送至次近地區中健康的執行個體。您也可以使用 HTTP/HTTPS 負載平衡來根據內容類型分散流量。 例如,您可以設定讓您的伺服器傳遞某個伺服器的靜態內容 (例如圖片與 CSS),也可以傳遞其他伺服器的動態內容 (例如 PHP 頁面)。負載平衡器可將要求導向至提供每種內容類型的伺服器。

Cloud DNS

您可以使用 Google 的基礎架構發佈及維護網域名稱系統 (DNS) 記錄。您可以使用 Google Cloud Platform 主控台、指令列或 REST API 來處理代管區域與 DNS 記錄。

進階連線能力

如果您想將現有的網路連線至 GCP 資源,GCP 提供下列進階連線方案:

  • Cloud Interconnect 可供您利用高可用性、低延遲的企業級連線,將現有網路連線到 VPC 網路。您可以透過專屬互連網路直接連線到 Google;或使用合作夥伴互連網路,透過支援的服務供應商連線到 Google。

  • Cloud VPN 可供您透過 IPsec 連線,將現有網路連線到 VPC 網路。此外,您還可以使用 VPN 讓兩個 Cloud VPN 閘道互連。

  • 直接對等互連 可讓您在 Google 其中一個範圍廣泛的邊緣網路位置,在您的企業網路和 Google 之間交換網際網路流量。請造訪 Google 的對等互連網站以進一步瞭解邊緣位置。

  • 電信業者對等互連 可讓您使用服務供應商網路,透過高可用性且低延遲的連線,將您的基礎架構連線至 Google 的網路邊緣。您也可以使用網路間的 VPN 通道,透過電信業者對等互連連結,將您的私人網路延伸到您私人的虛擬私人雲端網路。

大數據服務

大數據服務可以讓您處理及查詢雲端的大數據,藉此快速找到複雜問題的解答。

資料分析

BigQuery 提供資料分析服務。您可以使用 BigQuery 達成以下目標:

  • 建立自訂結構定義來將資料整理成資料集與資料表。

  • 從各種來源載入資料,包括傳流資料。

  • 使用類似 SQL 的指令來以極快速度查詢巨量資料集。BigQuery 專為快速執行所設計及最佳化。

  • 使用網路 UI、指令列介面或 API。

  • 使用工作載入、查詢、匯出及複製資料。

  • 透過權限管理資料及保護資料。

如要快速而輕鬆地試用 BigQuery,請嘗試使用網路 UI 快速入門導覽課程查詢公開資料集。

批次和串流資料處理

Cloud Dataflow 提供代管服務與一組 SDK,可讓您用來執行批次和串流資料處理工作。Dataflow 極適用於大量運算,尤其是當處理工作可以明確、輕易分割成平行工作負載時。Dataflow 也非常適用於擷取-轉換-載入 (ETL) 工作,對於在不同儲存媒體之間移動資料、將資料轉換成更理想的格式,或者將資料載入到新儲存系統而言,Dataflow 都非常實用。

非同步訊息傳遞

Cloud Pub/Sub 是一種非同步訊息傳遞服務。您的應用程式能夠以 JSON 資料結構的形式,將訊息傳送至稱為「主題」的發佈單元。由於 Cloud Pub/Sub 主題是一種全球資源,您所擁有的專案中的其他應用程式可以訂閱主題來接收 HTTP 要求或回應主體中的訊息。如要進一步瞭解 Cloud Pub/Sub,請參閱 Cloud Pub/Sub 快速入門導覽課程

Cloud Pub/Sub 的實用性並不限於大數據。您可以在許多需要非同步訊息傳遞服務的情況下使用 Cloud Pub/Sub。如需使用 Cloud Pub/Sub 協調 App Engine 與 Compute Engine 的範例,請參閱在 Compute Engine 上執行穩定可靠的排程任務一文。

機器學習服務

GCP Cloud AI 提供各種功能強大的機器學習 (ML) 服務。您可以選擇使用 API 來提供專為特定應用程式最佳化的預先訓練模型,或使用代管 TensorFlow 架構建構及訓練您自己的大規模、複雜模型。

ML API

GCP 提供各種 API,讓您善用 Google 的機器學習 (ML) 技術,無須自行建立和訓練模型。

  • Google Cloud Video Intelligence API 可讓您使用影片分析技術的標籤偵測、煽情露骨內容偵測、鏡頭轉換偵測與地區規劃功能。

  • Google Cloud Speech API 可讓您將音訊轉換成文字,辨識超過 110 種語言和方言,以支援全球各地的使用者。您可以將使用者透過應用程式麥克風擷取的語音轉換成文字、啟用語音命令控制功能,或是轉譯音訊檔等。

  • Google Cloud Vision API 可讓您輕鬆整合視覺偵測功能,包括為圖片加上標籤、臉部和地標偵測、光學字元辨識 (OCR),以及為煽情露骨內容加上標記。

  • Google Natural Language API 可讓您新增情緒分析、實體分析、實體情緒分析、內容分類及語法分析。

  • Google Cloud Translation API 可讓您將原文快速翻譯成超過一百種以上的支援語言的其中一種。此 API 也具備語言偵測功能,協助辨識原文語言不明的文字。

  • Dialogflow 企業版 可讓您為網站、行動應用程式、熱門訊息傳遞平台和 IoT 裝置建構對話式介面。您可以使用此程式建構介面 (例如聊天機器人),以自然又豐富的方式進行人機互動。

Cloud ML Engine

Cloud Machine Learning Engine 將 GCP 的代管基礎架構與功能強大且具有彈性的 TensorFlow 結合在一起。您可以使用此 API 大規模訓練機器學習模型,並在雲端託管經過訓練模型,對新資料進行預測。

Cloud ML Engine 可以讓您在 GCP 上執行 TensorFlow 訓練應用程式,藉此訓練機器學習模型,並為您託管這些經過訓練的模型,讓您使用這些模型預測新資料。Cloud ML Engine 可以管理訓練工作需要執行的運算資源,讓您能夠相較於硬體設定或資源管理,更專注於您的模型。

如要試用 Cloud ML Engine,請參閱根據花卉資料集建立圖片分類模型一文。

下一步:瞭解開發人員與管理員工具

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁

About the Google Cloud Platform Services

This overview covers many of the commonly used services. For the full list of services, see the Products and Services page.

This overview covers the following types of services:

Computing and hosting services

Cloud Platform gives you options for computing and hosting. You can choose to work with a managed application platform, leverage container technologies to gain lots of flexibility, or build your own cloud-based infrastructure to have the most control and flexibility. You can imagine a spectrum where, at one end, you have most of the responsibilities for resource management and, at the other end, Google has most of those responsibilities:

Computing and hosting options provide a range of operational requirements

Application platform

Google App Engine is Cloud Platform's platform as a service (PaaS). With App Engine, Google handles most of the management of the resources for you. For example, if your application requires more computing resources because traffic to your website increases, Google automatically scales the system to provide those resources. If the system software needs a security update, that's handled for you, too.

When you build your app on App Engine, you can:

  • Build your app on top of the App Engine standard environment runtimes in the languages that the standard environment supports, including: Python 2.7, Java 7, PHP, and Go.

  • Build your app on top of the App Engine flexible environment runtimes in the languages that App Engine flexible supports, including: Python 2.7/3.4, Java 8, Go, Node.js, and Ruby. Or use custom runtimes to use an alternative implementation of a supported language or any other language.

  • Let Google manage app hosting, scaling, monitoring and infrastructure for you.

  • Use the App Engine SDK to develop and test on your local machine in an environment that simulates App Engine on Cloud Platform.

  • Easily use the storage technologies that App Engine is designed to support in the standard and flexible environments.

    Google Cloud SQL is your SQL database, supporting either MySQL or PostgreSQL. App Engine Datastore is your schemaless, NoSQL datastore. Google Cloud Storage provides space for your large files.

    In the standard environment, you can also choose from a variety of third-party databases to use with your applications such as Redis, MongoDB, Cassandra, and Hadoop.

    In the flexible environment, you can easily use any third-party database supported by your language, if the database is accessible from the Google App Engine instance.

    In either environment, these third-party databases can be hosted on Compute Engine, hosted on another cloud provider, hosted on-premises, or managed by a third- party vendor.

  • Use Cloud Endpoints in the standard environment to generate APIs and client libraries that you can use to simplify data access from other applications. Endpoints makes it easier to create a web backend for web clients and mobile clients, such as Android or iOS.

  • Use built-in, managed services for activities such as email and user management.

  • Use Cloud Security Scanner to identify security vulnerabilities as a complement to your existing secure design and development processes.

  • Deploy your app by using the App Engine launcher GUI application on Mac OS X or Microsoft Windows or by using the command line.

  • For the standard environment, run your app from the Central US or Western Europe regions.

For a complete list and description of App Engine's features, see the App Engine documentation.

Containers

With container-based computing, you can focus on your application code, instead of on deployments and integration into hosting environments. Google Kubernetes Engine is built on the open source Kubernetes system, which gives you the flexibility of on-premises or hybrid clouds, in addition to Cloud Platform's public cloud infrastructure.

When you build with Kubernetes Engine, you can:

  • Create and manage groups of Compute Engine instances running Kubernetes, called clusters. Kubernetes Engine uses Compute Engine instances as nodes in a cluster. Each node runs the Docker runtime, a Kubelet agent that monitors the health of the node, and a simple network proxy.

  • Declare the requirements for your Docker containers by creating a simple JSON configuration file.

  • Use Google Container Registry for secure, private storage of Docker images. You can push images to your registry and then you can pull images to any Compute Engine instance or your own hardware by using an HTTP endpoint.

  • Create single- and multi-container pods. Each pod represents a logical host that can contain one or more containers. Containers in a pod work together by sharing resources, such as networking resources. Together, a set of pods might comprise an entire application, a micro-service, or one layer in a multi-tier application.

  • Create and manage replication controllers, which manage the creation and deletion of pod replicas based on a template. Replication controllers help to ensure that your application has the resources it needs to run reliably and scale appropriately.

  • Create and manage services. Services create an abstraction layer that decouples frontend clients from pods that provide backend functions. In this way, clients can work without concerns about which pods are being created and deleted at any given moment.

  • Create an external network load balancer.

Virtual machines

Cloud Platform's unmanaged compute service is Google Compute Engine. You can think of Compute Engine as providing an infrastructure as a service (IaaS), because the system provides a robust computing infrastructure, but you must choose and configure the platform components that you want to use. With Compute Engine, it's your responsibility to configure, administer, and monitor the systems. Google will ensure that resources are available, reliable, and ready for you to use, but it's up to you to provision and manage them. The advantage, here, is that you have complete control of the systems and unlimited flexibility.

When you build on Compute Engine, you can:

  • Use virtual machines (VMs), called instances, to build your application, much like you would if you had your own hardware infrastructure. You can choose from a variety of instance types to customize your configuration to meet your needs and your budget.

  • Choose which global regions and zones to deploy your resources in, giving you control over where your data is stored and used.

  • Choose which operating systems, development stacks, languages, frameworks, services, and other software technologies you prefer.

  • Create instances from public or private images .

  • Use Cloud Platform storage technologies or any third-party technologies you prefer.

  • Use Google Cloud Launcher to quickly deploy pre-configured software packages. For example, you can deploy a LAMP or MEAN stack with just a few clicks.

  • Create instance groups to more easily manage multiple instances together.

  • Use autoscaling with an instance group to automatically add and remove capacity.

  • Attach and detach disks as needed.

  • Use SSH to connect directly to your instances.

Combining computing and hosting options

You don't have to stick with just one type of computing service. For example, you can combine App Engine and Compute Engine to take advantage of the features and benefits of each. For an example of using both App Engine and Compute Engine, see Reliable Task Scheduling on Google Compute Engine.

For a detailed look at options for serving websites, see Serving Websites.

Storage services

Whatever your application, you'll probably need to store some data. Cloud Platform provides a variety of storage services, including:

  • A SQL database in Cloud SQL, which provides either MySQL or PostgreSQL databases.

  • A fully managed, mission-critical, relational database service in Cloud Spanner that offers transactional consistency at global scale, schemas, SQL querying, and automatic, synchronous replication for high availability.

  • Two options for NoSQL data storage: Cloud Datastore and Cloud Bigtable.

  • Consistent, scalable, large-capacity data storage in Cloud Storage. Cloud Storage comes in several flavors:

    • Multi-Regional provides maximum availability and geo-redundancy.
    • Regional provides high availability and a localized storage location.
    • Nearline provides low-cost archival storage ideal for data accessed less than once a month.
    • Coldline provides the lowest-cost archival storage for backup and disaster recovery.
  • Persistent disks on Compute Engine, for use as primary storage for your instances. Compute Engine offers both hard-disk-based persistent disks, called standard persistent disks, and solid-state persistent disks (SSD).

You can also choose to set up your preferred storage technology on Compute Engine by using persistent disks. For example, you can set up MongoDB as your NoSQL storage.

To understand the full range and benefits of storage services on Cloud Platform, see Choosing a Storage Option.

Networking services

While App Engine manages networking for you, and Kubernetes Engine uses the Kubernetes model, Compute Engine provides a set of networking services. These services help you to load-balance traffic across resources, create DNS records, and connect your existing network to Google's network.

Networks, firewalls, and routes

Compute Engine provides a set of networking services that your VM instances use. Each instance can be attached to only one network. Every Compute Engine project has a default network. You can create additional networks in your project, but networks cannot be shared between projects.

Firewall rules govern traffic coming into instances on a network. The default network has a default set of firewall rules, and you can create custom rules, too.

A route lets you implement more advanced networking functions in your instances, such as creating VPNs. A route specifies how packets leaving an instance should be directed. For example, a route might specify that packets destined for a particular network range should be handled by a gateway virtual machine instance that you configure and operate.

Load balancing

If your website or application is running on Compute Engine, the time might come when you're ready to distribute the workload across multiple instances. Compute Engine's server-side load balancing features provide you with the following options:

  • Network load balancing lets you distribute traffic among server instances in the same region based on incoming IP protocol data, such as address, port, and protocol. Network load balancing is a great solution if, for example, you want to meet the demands of increasing traffic to your website.

  • HTTP/HTTPS load balancing enables you to distribute traffic across regions so you can ensure that requests are routed to the closest region or, in the event of a failure or over-capacity limitations, to a healthy instance in the next closest region. You can also use HTTP/HTTPS load balancing to distribute traffic based on content type. For example, you might set up your servers to deliver static content, such as images and CSS, from one server and dynamic content, such as PHP pages, from a different server. The load balancer can direct each request to the server that provides each content type.

Cloud DNS

You can publish and maintain Domain Name System (DNS) records by using the same infrastructure that Google uses. You can use the Google Cloud Platform Console, the command line, or a REST API to work with managed zones and DNS records.

Advanced connectivity

If you have an existing network that you want to connect to Cloud Platform resources, Google Cloud Interconnect offers three options for advanced connectivity:

  • Carrier Interconnect enables you to connect your infrastructure to Google's network edge through highly available, lower-latency connections by using service providers. You can also extend your private network into your private Compute Engine network over Carrier Interconnect links by using a VPN tunnel between the networks.

  • You can establish a direct peering connection between your business network and Google’s. With this connection, you can exchange Internet traffic between your network and Google’s at one of Google's broad-reaching Edge network locations. Visit Google's peering site to find out more information about edge locations.

  • Cloud VPN lets you connect your existing network to your Compute Engine network via an IPsec connection. You can use VPN to connect two Compute Engine VPN gateways to each other.

Big data services

Big data services enable you to process and query big data in the cloud to get fast answers to complicated questions.

Data analysis

BigQuery provides data analysis services. With BigQuery, you can:

  • Create custom schemas that organize your data into datasets and tables.

  • Load data from a variety of sources, including streaming data.

  • Use SQL-like commands to query massive datasets very quickly. BigQuery is designed and optimized for speed.

  • Use the web UI, command-line interface, or API.

  • Load, query, export, and copy data by using jobs.

  • Manage data and protect it by using permissions.

To try out BigQuery quickly and easily, try using the Web UI Quickstart to query a public dataset. For an end-to-end example of using BigQuery to process real-time data, see Real-time Data Analysis with Kubernetes, Redis, and BigQuery.

Batch and streaming data processing

Cloud Dataflow provides a managed service and set of SDKs that you can use to perform batch and streaming data processing tasks. Dataflow works well for high-volume computation, especially when the processing tasks can clearly and easily be divided into parallel workloads. Dataflow is also great for extract-transform-load (ETL) tasks, which are useful for moving data between different storage media, transforming data into a more desirable format, or loading data onto a new storage system.

Asynchronous messaging

Cloud Pub/Sub is an asynchronous messaging service. Your application can send messages, as JSON data structures, to a publishing unit called a topic. Because Cloud Pub/Sub topics are a global resource, other applications in projects that you own can subscribe to the topic to receive the messages in HTTP request or response bodies. You can try Cloud Pub/Sub with some short experiences. For an end-to-end example that uses Pub/Sub for a big data scenario, see Real-time Data Analysis with Kubernetes, Pub/Sub, and BigQuery.

Cloud Pub/Sub's usefulness isn't confined to big data. You can use Cloud Pub/Sub in many circumstances where you need an asynchronous messaging service. For an example that uses Cloud Pub/Sub to coordinate App Engine and Compute Engine, see Reliable Task Scheduling on Compute Engine.

Next: Learn about developer and admin tools

Send feedback about...