Streaming avec Pub/Sub

Cette page présente les concepts liés à l'intégration de Dataflow à Pub/Sub. La présentation décrit certaines optimisations disponibles dans la mise en œuvre du connecteur d'E/S Pub/Sub de l'exécuteur Dataflow. Pub/Sub est un système évolutif et durable d'ingestion et de diffusion d'événements. Dataflow complète le modèle de diffusion évolutif de type "au moins une fois" de Pub/Sub avec la déduplication des messages, le traitement de type "exactement une fois" et la génération d'un filigrane de données à partir d'événements horodatés. Pour utiliser Dataflow, écrivez des données dans votre pipeline à l'aide du SDK Apache Beam, puis exécutez le code du pipeline sur le service Dataflow.

Avant de commencer, découvrez les concepts fondamentaux d'Apache Beam et des pipelines de streaming. Pour en savoir plus, consultez les ressources suivantes :

Créer des pipelines de streaming avec Pub/Sub

Pour profiter des avantages de l'intégration de Dataflow avec Pub/Sub, vous pouvez créer vos pipelines de traitement par flux de l'une des manières suivantes :

Fonctionnalités d'intégration Pub/Sub et Dataflow

Apache Beam fournit une mise en œuvre source d'E/S de référence (PubsubIO) pour Pub/Sub (Java et Python) pouvant être utilisée par les exécuteurs autres que Dataflow (par exemple, l'exécuteur Apache Spark, l'exécuteur Apache Flink et l'outil Direct Runner).

L'exécuteur Dataflow utilise néanmoins une autre mise en œuvre privée de PubsubIO. Celle-ci exploite les API et services internes de Google Cloud pour offrir trois avantages principaux : des filigranes à faible latence et de haute précision (et par conséquent des données exhaustives), ainsi qu'une déduplication efficace.

La mise en œuvre de l'exécuteur Dataflow de PubsubIO accuse automatiquement la réception des messages une fois qu'ils ont été correctement traités par la première étape fusionnée (et les effets secondaires de ce traitement ont été écrits dans l'espace de stockage persistant). Pour en savoir plus, consultez la documentation sur la fusion. Par conséquent, les messages ne sont confirmés que lorsque Dataflow peut garantir qu'il n'y aura aucune perte de données en cas de plantage d'un composant ou de perte de connexion.

Filigranes à faible latence

Dataflow dispose d'un accès à l'API privée de Pub/Sub qui indique l'ancienneté du plus ancien message non confirmé dans un abonnement, avec une latence inférieure à celle disponible dans Cloud Monitoring. À titre de comparaison, les métriques de messages en attente Pub/Sub disponibles dans Cloud Monitoring sont généralement retardées de deux à trois minutes, contre seulement dix secondes environ pour Dataflow. Dataflow peut ainsi développer les filigranes du pipeline et afficher plus rapidement les résultats des calculs ciblés sur une fenêtre.

Haute précision du filigrane

L'intégration de Dataflow à Pub/Sub permet de résoudre un autre problème important de manière native, à savoir la nécessité de disposer d'un filigrane fiable pour les fenêtres définies au moment de l'événement. L'heure de l'événement correspond à un horodatage spécifié par l'application d'éditeur en tant qu'attribut d'un message Pub/Sub, au lieu du champ publish_time défini sur un message par le service Pub/Sub lui-même. Pub/Sub ne calcule les métriques de messages en attente qu'en fonction des horodatages attribués par le service (ou le temps de traitement). L'estimation du filigrane de l'heure de l'événement nécessite un mécanisme différent.

Si l'utilisateur choisit de définir des horodatages d'événement personnalisés, le service Dataflow crée un deuxième abonnement de suivi pour résoudre ce problème. Cet abonnement de suivi permet d'examiner l'heure des événements des messages en attente dans l'abonnement de base et d'estimer leur retard. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la page Stack Overflow décrivant la façon dont Dataflow calcule les filigranes Pub/Sub.

Déduplication efficace

La déduplication des messages est requise pour le traitement des messages de type "exactement une fois". Dataflow déduplique les messages en fonction de l'ID du message Pub/Sub. Par conséquent, toute la logique de traitement peut supposer que les messages sont déjà uniques par rapport à l'ID du message Pub/Sub. Le mécanisme d'agrégation incrémentielle qui permet d'y parvenir est extrait dans l'API PubsubIO.

Si PubsubIO est configuré pour utiliser l'attribut de message Pub/Sub pour la déduplication au lieu de l'ID de message, Dataflow déduplique les messages publiés dans Pub/Sub dans un délai de 10 minutes entre eux.

Fonctionnalités Pub/Sub non compatibles

Files d'attente de lettres mortes et stratégies d'intervalle exponentiel entre les tentatives

Les files d'attente de lettres mortes et stratégies d'intervalle exponentiel entre les tentatives de Pub/Sub ne sont pas entièrement compatibles avec Dataflow. À la place, mettez en œuvre ces modèles explicitement dans le pipeline. Deux exemples de modèles de lettres mortes sont fournis dans l'application de vente au détail et le modèle Pub/Sub vers BigQuery.

Les files d'attente de lettres mortes et les stratégies d'intervalle exponentiel entre les tentatives ne fonctionnent pas avec Dataflow pour deux raisons.

Tout d'abord, Dataflow n'envoie de messages NACK (c'est-à-dire, n'envoie pas d'accusé de réception négatif) à Pub/Sub en cas d'échec du code de pipeline. À la place, Dataflow relance indéfiniment le traitement du message, tout en prolongeant le délai de confirmation du message. Toutefois, le backend Dataflow peut envoyer des messages NACK pour diverses raisons internes. Il est donc possible que des messages soient distribués à la file d'attente de lettres mortes même si le code du pipeline n'a pas échoué.

Ensuite, Dataflow peut accuser réception des messages avant que le pipeline ne traite complètement les données. Plus précisément, Dataflow accuse réception des messages une fois qu'ils ont été traités avec succès par la première étape fusionnée (et les effets secondaires de ce traitement ont été écrits sur un espace de stockage persistant). Si le pipeline comporte plusieurs étapes fusionnées et qu'il y a des échecs à un moment donné après la première étape, les messages ont déjà été confirmés.

Streaming with Pub/Sub

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.

This page provides a conceptual overview of Dataflow's integration with Pub/Sub. The overview describes some optimizations that are available in the Dataflow runner's implementation of the Pub/Sub I/O connector. Pub/Sub is a scalable, durable event ingestion and delivery system. Dataflow compliments Pub/Sub's scalable, at-least-once delivery model with message deduplication, exactly-once processing, and generation of a data watermark from timestamped events. To use Dataflow, write your pipeline using the Apache Beam SDK and then execute the pipeline code on the Dataflow service.

Before you begin, learn about the basic concepts of Apache Beam and streaming pipelines. Read the following resources for more information:

Building streaming pipelines with Pub/Sub

To get the benefits of Dataflow's integration with Pub/Sub, you can build your streaming pipelines in any of the following ways:

Pub/Sub and Dataflow integration features

Apache Beam provides a reference I/O source implementation (PubsubIO) for Pub/Sub (Java, Python, and Go). This I/O source implementation is used by non-Dataflow runners, such as the Apache Spark runner, Apache Flink runner, and the direct runner.

The Dataflow runner uses a different, private implementation of PubsubIO (for Java, Python, and Go). This implementation takes advantage of Google Cloud-internal APIs and services to offer three main advantages: low latency watermarks, high watermark accuracy (and therefore data completeness), and efficient deduplication (exactly-once message processing).

The Apache Beam I/O connectors let you interact with Dataflow by using controlled sources and sinks. The Dataflow runner's implementation of PubsubIO automatically acknowledges messages after they are successfully processed by the first fused stage and side-effects of that processing are written to persistent storage. See the fusion documentation for more details. Messages are therefore only acknowledged when Dataflow can guarantee that there is no data loss if some component crashes or a connection is lost.

Low latency watermarks

Dataflow has access to Pub/Sub's private API that provides the age of the oldest unacknowledged message in a subscription, with lower latency than is available in Cloud Monitoring. For comparison, the Pub/Sub backlog metrics that are available in Cloud Monitoring are typically delayed by two to three minutes, but the metrics are delayed only by approximately ten seconds for Dataflow. This makes it possible for Dataflow to advance pipeline watermarks and emit windowed computation results sooner.

High watermark accuracy

Another important problem solved natively by the Dataflow integration with Pub/Sub is the need for a robust watermark for windows defined in event time. The event time is a timestamp specified by the publisher application as an attribute of a Pub/Sub message, rather than the publish_time field set on a message by the Pub/Sub service itself. Because Pub/Sub computes backlog statistics only with respect to the service-assigned (or processing time) timestamps, estimating the event time watermark requires a separate mechanism.

To solve this problem, if the user elects to use custom event timestamps, the Dataflow service creates a second tracking subscription. This tracking subscription is used to inspect the event times of the messages in the backlog of the base subscription, and estimate the event time backlog. See the StackOverflow page that covers how Dataflow computes Pub/Sub watermarks for more information.

Efficient deduplication

Message deduplication is required for exactly-once message processing, and you can use the Apache Beam programming model to achieve exactly-once processing of Pub/Sub message streams. Dataflow deduplicates messages with respect to the Pub/Sub message ID. As a result, all processing logic can assume that the messages are already unique with respect to the Pub/Sub message ID. The efficient, incremental aggregation mechanism to accomplish this is abstracted in the PubsubIO API.

If PubsubIO is configured to use the Pub/Sub message attribute for deduplication instead of the message ID, Dataflow deduplicates messages published to Pub/Sub within 10 minutes of each other. The standard sorting APIs of the Dataflow service allow you to use ordered processing with Dataflow. Alternatively, to use ordering with Pub/Sub, see Message Ordering.

Unsupported Pub/Sub features

Dead-letter topics and exponential backoff delay retry policies

Pub/Sub dead-letter topics and exponential backoff delay retry policies are not fully supported by Dataflow. Instead, implement these patterns explicitly within the pipeline. Two examples of dead-letter patterns are provided in the retail application and the Pub/Sub to BigQuery template.

There are two reasons why dead-letter topics and exponential backoff delay retry policies do not work with Dataflow.

First, Dataflow does not NACK messages (that is, send a negative acknowledgement) to Pub/Sub when pipeline code fails. Instead, Dataflow retries message processing indefinitely, while continually extending the acknowledgment deadline for the message. However, the Dataflow backend might NACK messages for various internal reasons, so it is possible for messages to be delivered to the dead-letter topic even when there have been no failures in the pipeline code.

Second, Dataflow might acknowledge messages before the pipeline fully processes the data. Specifically, Dataflow acknowledges messages after they are successfully processed by the first fused stage and side-effects of that processing have been written to persistent storage. If the pipeline has multiple fused stages and failures occur at any point after the first stage, the messages are already acknowledged.

Upcoming migration from Synchronous Pull to Streaming Pull (Streaming Engine only)

Streaming Engine currently uses Synchronous Pull to consume data from Pub/Sub. In the future, Streaming Engine will use Streaming Pull for improved performance.

During the migration, a job might use Synchronous Pull for one period of time and Streaming Pull for another period of time. This transition will affect the Pub/Sub metrics displayed in the Dataflow UI and reported to Cloud Monitoring. After a job switches to Streaming Pull, some existing metrics will not be reported. For more information, see Using the Dataflow monitoring interface.

Synchronous Pull and Streaming Pull consume separate quotas. The Dataflow team proactively increases quotas for projects that already consume large amounts of data using Synchronous Pull.

Streaming jobs that don't use Streaming Engine won't be migrated to Streaming Pull and won't be affected by this change.

Please contact your account team if you have any questions about the migration.