从 Kafka 迁移到 Pub/Sub

如果您正在考虑从自行管理的 Apache Kafka 迁移到 Pub/Sub,那么本文档非常有用,因为它可以帮助您查看并考虑功能、价格和用例。每个部分都介绍了常见的 Kafka 用例,并提供了有关在 Pub/Sub 中实现相同功能的实际指导。

Pub/Sub 概览

Pub/Sub 是一种异步消息传递服务。Pub/Sub 可将产生事件的服务与处理事件的服务分离开。您可以将 Pub/Sub 用作面向消息传递的中间件或流式分析流水线的事件提取和传送。在这两种场景中,发布者应用都会创建消息并将消息发送到主题。订阅者应用创建对主题的订阅以便从其接收消息。订阅是一个代表有兴趣接收特定主题的消息的命名实体。

Pub/Sub 在所有 Google Cloud 区域中运行。Pub/Sub 将发布者流量定向到允许存储数据的最近 Google Cloud 数据中心,如资源位置限制政策中定义。

Pub/Sub 可与多种 Google Cloud 服务集成,例如 DataflowCloud StorageCloud Run。您可以将这些服务配置为可以将消息发布到 Pub/Sub 的数据源,或者作为可以从 Pub/Sub 接收消息的数据接收器。

Kafka 概览

Apache Kafka 是一个开源的分布式事件流处理平台,支持应用发布、订阅、存储和处理事件流。Kafka 服务器以机器集群的形式运行,客户端应用会与之进行交互以读取、写入和处理事件。您可以使用 Kafka 分离应用、发送和接收消息、跟踪活动、聚合日志数据和进程流。

在 Kafka 集群中,系统会将某些节点指定为代理。代理从生产方接收消息并将其存储在磁盘上。存储消息按主题进行整理,并对集群中的多个不同代理进行分区。发布到主题的新事件将附加到该主题的分区的末尾。然后,消费者可以从代理获取消息,这些消息可从磁盘读取并发送至消费者。

了解 Kafka 与 Pub/Sub 之间的区别

下图展示了 Kafka 和 Pub/Sub 扩缩策略之间的差异:

扩缩策略,具有 Kafka 的分区,没有 Pub/Sub 分区。

在上图中,每个 M 代表一条消息。Kafka 代理管理着多个有序消息分区,由消息的水平行表示。消费者从特定分区读取消息,该分区的容量取决于托管该分区的机器。Pub/Sub 没有分区,而是由消费者从根据需求自动扩缩的主题中读取。您可以为每个 Kafka 主题配置处理预期消费者负载所需的分区数。Pub/Sub 会根据需求自动扩缩。

特性比较

下表比较了 Apache Kafka 功能和 Pub/Sub 功能:

Apache Kafka Pub/Sub
消息排序 是,在分区内 是,在主题
消息去重 是,使用 Dataflow
推送订阅
未处理的消息队列 从 2.0 版开始
事务
消息存储容量 仅受可用机器存储空间限制 7 天
重放消息
市行政区 本地集群可以使用 MirrorMaker 进行复制 具有可配置的消息存储位置的全球分布式服务
日志记录和监控 自行管理 使用 Cloud LoggingCloud Monitoring 自动执行
流处理 是,使用 KSQL 是,使用 Dataflow

了解 Pub/Sub 消息存储和重放

默认情况下,Pub/Sub 将未确认的消息最多保留 7 天,但您可以配置 Pub/Sub 订阅以保留已确认的消息。 通过保留已确认的消息,您可以基于时间戳重放其中部分或全部消息。当您根据时间戳重放消息时,时间戳之后收到的所有消息都将标记为未确认。未确认的消息将被重新提交。

您可以根据需要为个别订阅创建快照,而无需提前配置订阅。例如,您可以在部署新订阅者代码时创建快照,因为您可能需要从意外或错误的确认中恢复。

内置具有未处理消息主题的故障安全

Pub/Sub 提供与 Kafka 2.0 错误处理,以及 Kafka Connect 处理未处理的消息主题方式类似的功能。如要通知 Pub/Sub 消息已成功传递,Pub/Sub 主题的订阅者可以确认其接收和处理的消息。如果订阅者在一段时间内无法处理消息,Pub/Sub 可以自动将消息转发到未处理的消息主题,并存储起来以供日后访问。您可以配置 Pub/Sub 传送消息的尝试次数,然后再将消息发送到未处理的消息主题。

使用 Dataflow 在 Pub/Sub 中删除重复消息。

Pub/Sub 会为每个订阅将发布的每条消息至少传送一次。一般来说,如果要实施多次传送,订阅者需要在处理消息时遵循幂等原则。如果现有订阅者无法以幂等的方式运行,您可以添加 Dataflow 来删除重复的消息。 如果订阅者看到大量重复消息,这可能表明他们没有正确确认消息,或您的确认时限过短。

Pub/Sub 中的消息排序

如果您的 Kafka 订阅者应用依赖于消息排序,您可以在使用排序键时在 Pub/Sub 中支持此要求。目前,对于在指定区域中发布的消息,排序得到保证。若要利用消息排序功能,请确保发布者和订阅者使用区域端点将您的消息路由到正确的区域。

了解自行管理服务和托管式服务的责任

下表将使用 Kafka 的自托管功能与谷歌使用 Pub/Sub 管理的功能进行了对比:

Apache Kafka Pub/Sub
可用性 手动将 Kafka 部署到其他位置 在所有 Google Cloud 区域中部署,以实现高可用性和低延迟
灾难恢复 设计和维护您自己的备份和复制 由 Google 管理
基础架构管理 手动部署和运行虚拟机 (VM) 或机器。您必须保持版本控制和补丁程序的一致。 由 Google 管理
容量规划 提前手动规划存储和计算需求 由 Google 管理
支持 全天候客服人员和支持

Pub/Sub 消息大小限制和解决方法

Kafka 和 Pub/Sub 在处理大量小消息时性能都很好。Kafka 对消息大小没有硬性限制,您可以配置允许的消息大小,而 Pub/Sub 限制消息限制为 10 MB。首先,您可以通过将对象存储在 Cloud Storage 来间接发送较大的载荷,如下图所示:

发布者将对象存储在 Cloud Storage 中。

上图显示,当发布者将对象存储在 Cloud Storage 中时,它会发布一条包含该存储对象网址的消息。当订阅者收到包含该网址的消息后,它将从 Cloud Storage 下载此文件,并继续照常处理。

Kafka 和 Pub/Sub 费用比较

Pub/Sub 中的预估和管理费用与 Kafka 中采用的方式不同。本地或云端 Kafka 集群的费用包括机器、磁盘、网络、数据入站和出站流量的费用,以及管理和维护这些系统及其相关基础设施的费用管理 Kafka 集群时,通常需要经常升级和修补机器,需经常规划集群容量,并且实施灾难恢复需要大规模规划和测试。您需要推断和汇总所有这些费用,以确定您的真实总拥有成本 (TCO)。

Pub/Sub 价格包括发布者和订阅者的数据转移,以及临时存储的未确认消息的费用。您只需为您消耗的资源付费,根据您的应用和预算的要求自动调整其容量。

可靠性设计架构

Pub/Sub 是一项可在所有 Google Cloud 区域中运行的全球托管式服务。Pub/Sub 主题是全球性的,这意味着可从任何 Google Cloud 位置查看和访问这些主题。但是,任何给定消息都存储在一个距离发布者最近且资源位置存储政策允许的 Google Cloud 地区中。因此,主题可能会将消息存储在整个 Google Cloud 的不同地区中。Pub/Sub 可防范地区服务中断。在区域服务中断期间,在服务恢复之前,可能无法访问存储在该特定区域中的消息。根据您的可用性要求,您可以使用区域性服务端点在发生区域性服务中断时实施故障转移政策。

安全和身份验证

Apache Kafka 支持多种身份验证机制,包括基于客户端证书的身份验证、Kerberos、LDAP 以及用户名和密码。在授权中,Kafka 支持使用访问控制列表 (ACL) 来确定哪些提供方和消费者可以访问哪些主题。

Pub/Sub 支持对 Google Cloud 用户帐号和服务帐号进行身份验证。对 Pub/Sub 主题和订阅的精细访问权限控制受 Google Cloud 中的 Identify and Access Management (IAM) 约束。使用用户帐号时,Pub/Sub 操作速率受限。如果您需要执行大量事务,则可以使用服务帐号与 Pub/Sub 进行交互。

计划迁移到 Pub/Sub

向 Google Cloud 的任何迁移始于评估您的工作负载构建基础

使用 Pub/Sub Kafka 连接器分阶段迁移

通过 Pub/Sub Kafka 连接器,您可分阶段将 Kafka 基础架构迁移到 Pub/Sub。

您可以配置 Pub/Sub 连接器,将特定主题的所有消息从 Kafka 转发到 Pub/Sub。然后,您可以更新单个订阅者应用以从 Pub/Sub 接收这些主题的消息,而发布者应用继续将消息发布到 Kafka。此阶段式方法允许您以迭代方式更新、测试和监控订阅者应用,从而最大限度地降低错误和停机时间的风险。

这个部分包括两个图表,它们分两个不同的阶段为您直观呈现这个过程。下图显示了迁移阶段的配置:

迁移的第一阶段。

在上图中,当前订阅者将继续接收来自 Kafka 的消息,并且您可以逐个更新订阅者以从 Pub/Sub 接收消息。

将特定主题的所有订阅者更新为接收来自 Pub/Sub 的消息后,您可以更新该主题的发布者应用以将消息发布到 Pub/Sub。然后,您可以端对端测试和监视消息流,以验证设置。

下图显示了在所有订阅者从 Pub/Sub 接收消息之后的配置:

迁移的第二阶段。

随着时间的推移,您的所有发布者都将更新为直接发布到 Pub/Sub,然后您的迁移即告完成。许多团队使用此方法来并行更新其应用。Kafka 可以根据需要与 Pub/Sub 共存,以确保成功迁移。

监控 Pub/Sub

在从 Kafka 迁移到 Pub/Sub 的过程中和之后,监控应用非常重要。Pub/Sub 使用 Cloud Monitoring 导出指标,从而帮助您了解应用的性能、正常运行时间和整体运行状况。例如,您可以监控未传送消息的数量,确保您的订阅者能够及时了解消息流。如要监控未发送的消息,您可以在最久远的未确认消息的时间戳超过特定阈值时创建提醒。此外,您还可以通过监控发送请求计数指标和检查响应代码来监控 Pub/Sub 服务本身的运行状况。

后续步骤

Migration from Kafka to Pub/Sub

This document is useful if you are considering migrating from self-managed Apache Kafka to Pub/Sub, because it can help you review and consider features, pricing, and use cases. Each section identifies a common Kafka use case and offers practical guidance for achieving the same functionality in Pub/Sub.

Overview of Pub/Sub

Pub/Sub is an asynchronous messaging service. Pub/Sub decouples services that produce events from services that process events. You can use Pub/Sub as messaging-oriented middleware or event ingestion and delivery for streaming analytics pipelines. in both scenarios, a publisher application creates and sends messages to a topic. Subscriber applications create a subscription to a topic to receive messages from it. A subscription is a named entity that represents an interest in receiving messages on a particular topic.

Pub/Sub runs in all Google Cloud regions. Pub/Sub directs publisher traffic to the nearest Google Cloud data center where data storage is allowed, as defined in the resource location restriction policy.

Pub/Sub can integrate with many Google Cloud services such as Dataflow, Cloud Storage, and Cloud Run. You can configure these services to serve as data sources that can publish messages to Pub/Sub, or as data sinks that can receive messages from Pub/Sub.

Overview of Kafka

Apache Kafka is an open source, distributed, event-streaming platform, and it enables applications to publish, subscribe to, store, and process streams of events. The Kafka server is run as a cluster of machines that client applications interact with to read, write, and process events. You can use Kafka to decouple applications, send and receive messages, track activities, aggregate log data, and process streams.

Within the Kafka cluster, some nodes in the cluster are designated as brokers. Brokers receive messages from producers and store them on disk. Stored messages are organized by topic and partitioned across several different brokers in the cluster. New events published to a topic are appended to the end of one of the topic's partitions. Consumers can then fetch messages from brokers, which are read from disk and sent to the consumer.

Understanding the differences between Kafka and Pub/Sub

The following diagram shows the differences in scaling strategy between Kafka and Pub/Sub:

Scaling strategy with partitions for Kafka and no partitions for Pub/Sub.

In the preceding diagram, each M represents a message. Kafka brokers manage multiple ordered partitions of messages, represented by the horizontal rows of messages. Consumers read messages from a particular partition that has a capacity based on the machine that hosts that partition. Pub/Sub does not have partitions, and consumers instead read from a topic that autoscales according to demand. You configure each Kafka topic with the number of partitions that you require to handle the expected consumer load. Pub/Sub scales automatically based on demand.

Comparing features

The following table compares Apache Kafka features with Pub/Sub features:

Apache Kafka Pub/Sub
Message ordering Yes within partitions Yes within topics
Message deduplication Yes Yes using Dataflow
Push subscriptions No Yes
Unprocessed message queue As of version 2.0 Yes
Transactions Yes No
Message storage Limited only by available machine storage 7 days
Message replay Yes Yes
Locality Local cluster can replicate using MirrorMaker Global distributed service with configurable message storage locations
Logging and monitoring Self-managed Automated with Cloud Logging and Cloud Monitoring
Stream processing Yes with KSQL Yes with Dataflow

Understanding Pub/Sub message storage and replay

By default, Pub/Sub retains unacknowledged messages for up to 7 days, but you can configure Pub/Sub subscriptions to retain acknowledged messages. By retaining acknowledged messages, you can replay some or all of those messages based on a timestamp. When you replay messages based on a timestamp all messages that were received after the timestamp are marked as unacknowledged. The unacknowledged messages are then redelivered.

You can create snapshots of individual subscriptions on demand without needing to configure your subscription in advance. For example, you can create a snapshot when deploying new subscriber code because you might need to recover from unexpected or erroneous acknowledgments.

Built in failsafe with unprocessed message topics

Pub/Sub provides similar functionality to Kafka 2.0 error handling and to how Kafka Connect handles unprocessed message topics. To notify Pub/Sub that a message was delivered successfully, subscribers to Pub/Sub topics can acknowledge messages that they receive and process. If your subscribers are unable to process messages for some time, Pub/Sub can automatically forward these messages to an unprocessed-message topic and store them for access later. You can configure the number of attempts that Pub/Sub makes to deliver the messages before it sends the message to the unprocessed-message topic.

Deduplicating messages in Pub/Sub using Dataflow

Pub/Sub delivers each published message at least once for every subscription. In general, accommodating more-than-once delivery requires your subscriber to be idempotent when processing messages. If your existing subscribers are unable to operate idempotently, then you can incorporate Dataflow to deduplicate messages. If your subscribers see a high rate of duplicate messages, this can indicate that they are not properly acknowledging messages, or that your acknowledgment deadline is too short.

Message ordering in Pub/Sub

If your Kafka subscriber applications rely on message ordering, you can support this requirement in Pub/Sub when you use ordering keys. Currently, ordering is guaranteed for messages published in a given region. To take advantage of message ordering, ensure that your publishers and subscribers use regional endpoints to route your messages to the correct region.

Understanding responsibilities of self-hosted versus managed service

The following table compares what functionality is self-hosted with Kafka and what functionality is managed by Google by using Pub/Sub:

Apache Kafka Pub/Sub
Availability Manually deploy Kafka to additional locations Deployed in all Google Cloud regions for high availability and low latency
Disaster recovery Design and maintain your own backup and replication Managed by Google
Infrastructure management Manually deploy and operate virtual machines (VMs) or machines. You must maintain consistent versioning and patches. Managed by Google
Capacity planning Manually plan storage and compute needs in advance Managed by Google
Support None 24-hour on-call staff and support available

Pub/Sub message size limits and workarounds

Kafka and Pub/Sub both perform well when handling large volumes of small messages. Kafka places no hard limit on message size and lets you configure the allowed message size, while Pub/Sub limits messages to 10 MB. You can indirectly send larger payloads by first storing the object in Cloud Storage, as shown in the following diagram:

Publisher stores object in Cloud Storage.

The preceding image shows that when the publisher stores the object in Cloud Storage, it publishes a message containing the URL to that stored object. When the subscriber receives the message containing the URL, it downloads the file from Cloud Storage and continues processing as usual.

Kafka and Pub/Sub cost comparison

The way you estimate and manage costs in Pub/Sub is different than in Kafka. The costs of a Kafka cluster on-premises or in cloud include the cost of machines, disk, networking, data ingress and egress, as well as the overhead costs of managing and maintaining these systems and their related infrastructure. When managing a Kafka cluster, machines often need to be manually upgraded and patched, cluster capacity often needs to be planned, and implementing disaster recovery involves extensive planning and testing. You need to infer and aggregate all these various costs to determine your true total cost of ownership (TCO).

Pub/Sub pricing includes the data transfer from publishers and to subscribers, and the cost of temporarily storing unacknowledged messages. You pay for exactly the resources that you consume, automatically scaling its capacity according to the requirements of your application and budget.

Architecting for reliability

Pub/Sub is a global managed service that runs in all Google Cloud regions. Pub/Sub topics are global, meaning that they are visible and accessible from any Google Cloud location. However, any given message is stored in a single Google Cloud region that is closest to the publisher and allowed by the resource location policy. Thus, a topic can have messages stored in different regions throughout Google Cloud. Pub/Sub is resistant to zonal outages. During a regional outage, messages stored in that particular region might be inaccessible until service is restored. Depending on your availability requirements, you can use regional service endpoints to implement a failover policy if a regional outage occurs.

Security and authentication

Apache Kafka supports multiple authentication mechanisms including client certificates-based authentication, Kerberos, LDAP, and username and password. For authorization, Kafka supports using access control lists (ACLs) to determine which producers and consumers have access to which topics.

Pub/Sub supports authentication for Google Cloud user accounts and service accounts. Granular access control to Pub/Sub topics and subscriptions is governed by Identify and Access Management (IAM) in Google Cloud. Pub/Sub operations are rate limited when using user accounts. If you need to make high volume transactions, you can use service accounts to interact with Pub/Sub.

Planning your migration to Pub/Sub

Any migration to Google Cloud begins with assessing your workloads and building your foundation.

Phased migration using the Pub/Sub Kafka Connector

The Pub/Sub Kafka connector lets you migrate your Kafka infrastructure to Pub/Sub in phases.

You can configure the Pub/Sub connector to forward all messages on specific topics from Kafka to Pub/Sub. Then, you can update individual subscriber applications to receive messages on those topics from Pub/Sub, while your publisher applications continue to publish messages to Kafka. This phased approach lets you update, test, and monitor subscriber applications in an iterative way that minimizes risk of error and downtime.

This section includes two diagrams that can help you visualize this process in two distinct phases. The following diagram shows the configuration during the migration phase:

Stage one of migration.

In the preceding diagram, current subscribers continue to receive messages from Kafka, and you update the subscribers one by one to receive messages from Pub/Sub instead.

After all subscribers to a particular topic have been updated to receive messages from Pub/Sub, you can then update the publisher applications for that topic to publish messages to Pub/Sub. Then, you can test and monitor the message flows end-to-end in order to verify the setup.

The following diagram shows the configuration after all subscribers are receiving messages from Pub/Sub:

Stage two of migration.

Over time, all your publishers are updated to publish directly to Pub/Sub, and then your migration is complete. Many teams use this approach to update their applications in parallel. Kafka can coexist alongside Pub/Sub for as long as needed in order to ensure a successful migration.

Monitoring Pub/Sub

During and after your migration from Kafka to Pub/Sub, it's important to monitor your applications. Pub/Sub exports metrics by using Cloud Monitoring, which can help provide visibility into the performance, uptime, and overall health of your applications. For example, you can ensure that your subscribers are keeping up with the flow of messages by monitoring the number of undelivered messages. To monitor undelivered messages, you create alerts when the timestamp of the oldest unacknowledged message extends beyond a certain threshold. You can also monitor the health of the Pub/Sub service itself by monitoring the send request count metric and examining the response codes.

What's next