选择订阅类型

本文档简要介绍了不同类型的订阅在 Pub/Sub 中的工作原理。

订阅概览

如需接收发布到某个主题的消息,您必须创建对该主题的订阅。只有订阅客户端可以在创建订阅后发布到主题的消息。不过,您也可以启用主题保留,以允许附加到主题的订阅及时还原并重放以前发布的消息。订阅者客户端接收并处理发布到该主题的消息。一个主题可以有多个订阅,但给定订阅属于单个主题。

订阅工作流程

  1. 消息发送至订阅者后,订阅者必须确认该消息。

  2. 如果消息被发出传送,并且订阅者尚未确认消息,则该消息称为未完成消息。

  3. Pub/Sub 重复尝试传送任何尚未确认的消息。但是,Pub/Sub 会尝试不向同一订阅的任何其他订阅者传送未完成的消息。

  4. 订阅者可配置一段限定的时间(称为 ackDeadline),用于确认未完成的消息。时限过后,消息将不再被视为未完成,Pub/Sub 将尝试重新传送消息。

订阅类型

创建订阅时,您必须指定消息传送的类型。Pub/Sub 提供两种类型的消息传送,分别对应于以下两种订阅。本文档后面的几部分中简要介绍了每种类型的订阅。

  • 拉取订阅
  • 推送订阅

您可以随时更新订阅类型。

拉取订阅

对于拉取订阅,订阅者客户端会使用 REST Pull APIRPC PullRequest APIREST StreamingPullRequest APIRPC StreamingPullRequest API 向 Pub/Sub 服务器发起请求以检索消息。大多数订阅者客户端不会直接发出这些请求,而是依靠 Google Cloud 提供的高级客户端库来在内部执行流式拉取请求并异步传送消息。对于需要更好地控制消息拉取方式的订阅者客户端,Pub/Sub 会使用一个低层级自动生成的 gRPC 库来发出拉取或流式拉取请求。这些请求可以是同步的,也可以是异步的。

以下两张图片展示了订阅者客户端与拉取订阅之间的工作流。

拉取订阅的消息流
图 1.拉取订阅的工作流


streaming 拉取订阅的消息流
图 2.流式拉取订阅的工作流

拉取工作流如下所示,并引用图 1:

  1. 订阅者客户端显式调用拉取方法,该方法会请求消息以进行传送。此请求为拉取请求,如图片所示。

  2. Pub/Sub 服务器返回零个或多个消息和确认 ID。如果消息没有消息或包含错误,并不一定表示没有消息可接收。此响应是图中所示的 PullResponse。

  3. 订阅者客户端显式调用已确认的方法,使用返回的确认 ID 来确认消息已处理且无需再次传递。此请求为图片中所示的 AckRequest。

流式拉取和拉取工作流之间的主要区别在于,对于单个流式拉取请求,订阅者客户端可以返回多个响应,因为存在打开的连接。相反,每个拉取请求仅返回一个响应。

如需详细了解拉取订阅的工作原理和配置示例,请参阅拉取订阅

推送订阅

在推送订阅中,Pub/Sub 服务器向订阅者客户端发起请求来发送消息。

下图显示了订阅者客户端和推送订阅之间的工作流。

推送订阅的消息流
图 3.推送订阅的工作流

以下是引用图 3 的工作流的简要说明:

  1. Pub/Sub 服务器将每条消息作为 HTTPS 请求发送到预配置端点上的订阅者客户端。此请求在图片中显示为 PushRequest。

  2. 端点通过返回 HTTP 成功状态代码来确认消息。如果响应不成功,则表示必须重新发送消息。此响应在图片中显示为 PushResponse。

  3. Pub/Sub 会根据收到成功响应的速率动态调整推送请求的速率。

如需详细了解推送订阅的工作原理和配置示例,请参阅推送订阅

选择订阅类型

下表提供了一些指导,帮助您为应用选择适当的传送机制:

  拉取 推送
用例
  • 大量消息(每秒超过 1 条)。
  • 消息处理的效率和吞吐量至关重要。
  • 无法对具有非自签名 SSL 证书的公共 HTTPS 端点进行设置。
  • 必须由同一个网络钩子处理的多个主题。
  • App Engine 标准环境和 Cloud Functions 订阅者。
  • 无法设置 Google Cloud 依赖项(例如凭据和客户端库)的环境。
端点 互联网上具有凭据的任何设备都可以调用 Pub/Sub API。 可通过公共网络访问的非自签名证书的 HTTPS 服务器。接收端点可以与 Pub/Sub 订阅分离,以便来自多个订阅的消息可以发送到单个端点。
负载平衡 多个订阅者可以对同一个“共享”订阅进行拉取调用。每个订阅者都会收到消息的子集。 推送端点可以是负载平衡器。
配置 不需要进行配置。 订阅者所在的项目中的 App Engine 应用无需配置。
Google Cloud Console 中不需要验证推送端点。必须使用 DNS 名称访问端点,并安装 SSL 证书。
流控制 订阅者客户端控制传送速率。订阅者可以动态修改确认时限,从而允许任意时间处理消息。 Pub/Sub 服务器自动实施流控制。无需在客户端处理消息流,但可通过传回 HTTP 错误指示客户端无法处理当前消息加载。
效率和吞吐量 通过批量传送和确认以及大规模并行使用,在低 CPU 和带宽的情况下实现高吞吐量。如果使用积极轮询来最大限度地缩短消息传送时间,则可能效率低下。 每个请求发送一条消息,限制未完成消息的最大数量。

默认订阅属性

默认情况下,Pub/Sub 提供至少一次传送,但不对所有订阅类型提供排序保证。或者,如果消息具有相同的排序键并位于同一区域,您可以启用消息排序。设置消息排序属性后,Pub/Sub 服务会按照 Pub/Sub 服务接收消息的顺序传送具有相同排序键的消息。

Pub/Sub 还支持在预览模式下进行正好一次传送

一般情况下,Pub/Sub 会按照消息的发布顺序传送每条消息。不过,消息有时可能会不按顺序传送或多次传送。若要接受多次传送,订阅者需要在处理消息时遵循幂等原则。

订阅到期

默认情况下,订阅会在订阅者处于不活跃状态 31 天后到期或者如果订阅没有任何更新,则会过期。订阅者活动的示例包括打开连接、主动拉取或成功推送。如果 Pub/Sub 检测到订阅者活动或订阅属性更新,则订阅删除时钟会重启。使用订阅到期政策,您可以配置不活动持续时间,或者使订阅成为永久性订阅(不考虑活动)。您也可以手动删除订阅。

虽然您可以创建名称与已删除订阅相同的新订阅,但新订阅与旧订阅没有任何关系。即使已删除的订阅包含大量未确认的消息,新的同名订阅在创建时也不会有积压(也就是没有消息等待传送)。

如需详细了解如何使用订阅,请参阅创建和使用订阅

后续步骤

Choose a subscription type

This document gives an overview of how different types of subscriptions work in Pub/Sub.

Subscription overview

To receive messages published to a topic, you must create a subscription to that topic. Only messages published to the topic after the subscription is created are available to subscriber clients. However, you can also enable topic retention to allow a subscription attached to the topic to seek back in time and replay previously published messages. The subscriber client receives and processes the messages published to the topic. A topic can have multiple subscriptions, but a given subscription belongs to a single topic.

Subscription workflow

  1. After a message is sent to a subscriber, the subscriber must acknowledge the message.

  2. If a message is sent out for delivery and a subscriber is yet to acknowledge it, the message is called outstanding.

  3. Pub/Sub repeatedly attempts to deliver any message that is not yet acknowledged. However, Pub/Sub tries not to deliver an outstanding message to any other subscriber on the same subscription.

  4. The subscriber has a configurable, limited amount of time, known as the ackDeadline, to acknowledge the outstanding message. After the deadline passes, the message is no longer considered outstanding, and Pub/Sub attempts to redeliver the message.

Types of subscriptions

When you create a subscription, you must specify the type of message delivery. Pub/Sub offers two types of message delivery that corresponds to the following two types of subscriptions. Each type of subscription is described in brief in later sections of this document.

  • Pull subscription
  • Push subscription

You can update the type of subscription at any time.

Pull subscription

For a pull subscription, your subscriber client initiates requests to a Pub/Sub server to retrieve messages using the REST Pull API, RPC PullRequest API, the REST StreamingPullRequest API, or the RPC StreamingPullRequest API. Most subscriber clients do not make these requests directly and instead rely on the Google Cloud-provided high-level client library that performs streaming pull requests internally and delivers messages asynchronously. For a subscriber client that needs greater control over how messages are pulled, Pub/Sub uses a low-level and automatically generated gRPC library to make pull or streaming pull requests directly. These requests can be synchronous or asynchronous.

The following two images show the workflow between a subscriber client and a pull subscription.

Flow of messages for a pull subscription
Figure 1. Workflow for a pull subscription


Flow of messages for a
streamingPull subscription
Figure 2. Workflow for a streaming pull subscription

The pull workflow is as follows and references Figure 1:

  1. The subscriber client explicitly calls the pull method, which requests messages for delivery. This request is the PullRequest as shown in the image.

  2. The Pub/Sub server responds with zero or more messages and acknowledgement IDs. A response with zero messages or with an error does not necessarily indicate that there are no messages available to receive. This response is the PullResponse as shown in the image.

  3. The subscriber client explicitly calls the acknowledged method, using the returned acknowledgment ID to acknowledge that the message is processed and does not need be delivered again. This request is the AckRequest as shown in the image.

The main difference between streaming pull and pull workflows is that for a single streaming pull request, a subscriber client can have multiple responses returned because there is a open connection. In contrast, only one response is returned for each pull request.

For more information about how a pull subscription works and examples of configuration, see Pull subscriptions.

Push subscription

In a push subscription, a Pub/Sub server initiates a request to your subscriber client to deliver messages.

The following image shows the workflow between a subscriber client and a push subscription.

Flow of messages for a push subscription
Figure 3. Workflow for a push subscription

Here is a brief description of the workflow that references Figure 3:

  1. The Pub/Sub server sends each message as an HTTPS request to the subscriber client at a pre-configured endpoint. This request is shown as a PushRequest in the image.

  2. The endpoint acknowledges the message by returning an HTTP success status code. A non-success response indicates that the message must be re-sent. This response is shown as a PushResponse in the image.

  3. Pub/Sub dynamically adjusts the rate of push requests based on the rate at which it receives success responses.

For more information about how a push subscription works and examples of configuration, see Push subscriptions.

Decide on your subscription type

The following table offers some guidance in choosing the appropriate delivery mechanism for your application:

  Pull Push
Use case
  • Large volume of messages (many more than 1 per second).
  • Efficiency and throughput of message processing is critical.
  • Environments where a public HTTPS endpoint with a non-self-signed SSL certificate is not feasible to set up.
  • Multiple topics that must be processed by the same webhook.
  • App Engine Standard and Cloud Functions subscribers.
  • Environments where Google Cloud dependencies (such as credentials and the client library) are not feasible to set up.
Endpoints Any device on the internet that has authorized credentials is able to call the Pub/Sub API. An HTTPS server with non-self-signed certificate accessible on the public web. The receiving endpoint may be decoupled from the Pub/Sub subscription, so that messages from multiple subscriptions may be sent to a single endpoint.
Load balancing Multiple subscribers can make pull calls to the same "shared" subscription. Each subscriber receives a subset of the messages. The push endpoint can be a load balancer.
Configuration No configuration is necessary. No configuration is necessary for App Engine apps in the same project as the subscriber.
Verification of push endpoints is not required in the Google Cloud console. Endpoints must be reachable using DNS names and have SSL certificates installed.
Flow control The subscriber client controls the rate of delivery. The subscriber can dynamically modify the acknowledgment deadline, allowing message processing to be arbitrarily long. The Pub/Sub server automatically implements flow control. There is no need to handle message flow at the client side, although it is possible to indicate that the client cannot handle the current message load by passing back an HTTP error.
Efficiency and throughput Achieves high throughput at low CPU and bandwidth by allowing batched delivery and acknowledgments as well as massively parallel consumption. May be inefficient if aggressive polling is used to minimize message delivery time. Delivers one message per request and limits the maximum number of outstanding messages.

Default subscription properties

By default, Pub/Sub offers at-least-once delivery with no ordering guarantees on all subscription types. Alternatively, if messages have the same ordering key and are in the same region, you can enable message ordering. After the message ordering property is set, the Pub/Sub service delivers messages with the same ordering key in the order that the Pub/Sub service receives the messages.

Pub/Sub also supports exactly-once delivery in preview mode.

In general, Pub/Sub delivers each message once and in the order in which it was published. However, messages may sometimes be delivered out of order or more than once. Accommodating more-than-once delivery requires your subscriber to be idempotent when processing messages.

Subscription expiry

By default, subscriptions expire after 31 days of subscriber inactivity or if there are no updates made to the subscription. Examples of subscriber activities include open connections, active pulls, or successful pushes. If Pub/Sub detects subscriber activity or an update to the subscription properties, the subscription deletion clock restarts. Using subscription expiration policies, you can configure the inactivity duration or make the subscription persistent regardless of activity. You can also delete a subscription manually.

Although you can create a new subscription with the same name as a deleted one, the new subscription has no relationship to the old one. Even if the deleted subscription had a large number of unacknowledged messages, a new identically-named subscription would have no backlog (no messages waiting for delivery) at the time it is created.

For more information about working with subscriptions, see Create and use subscriptions.

What's next