灾难恢复规划指南

本文是讨论 Google Cloud Platform (GCP) 中灾难恢复 (DR) 的系列文章中的第 1 篇,概述了 DR 规划流程:设计和实施 DR 计划需要了解的内容。后续部分讨论具体的 DR 用例以及 GCP 上的示例实现。

该系列包含以下部分:

简介

服务中断事件可能随时发生。您的网络可能会中断,您的最新应用推送可能会引入严重错误,或者某天您不得不应对自然灾害。出意外时,拥有一个有针对性且经过良好测试的强大 DR 计划非常重要。

借助精心设计且经过良好测试的 DR 计划,您可以确保灾难来袭时您的业务盈利受到的影响最小。无论您的 DR 需求是什么,Google Cloud Platform (GCP) 均可提供强大灵活且经济实惠的产品和功能,以构建或扩展适合您的解决方案。

DR 规划的基础知识

DR 是业务连续性规划的一部分。DR 规划的起点是业务影响分析,该分析定义了两个关键指标:

  • 恢复时间目标 (RTO),即可以接受的最长应用脱机时间。此值通常作为服务等级协议 (SLA) 的一部分进行定义。
  • 恢复点目标 (RPO),即可能由于重大事件而丢失应用中数据的最长可接受时长。此指标因数据的使用方式而异。例如,经常修改的用户数据的 RPO 可能仅为几分钟。相比之下,不太关键、不经常修改的数据的 RPO 可能为几个小时。(此指标仅描述时长;它不会涉及已丢失数据的数量或质量。)

通常,RTO 和 RPO 值越小(应用必须越快地从中断中恢复),应用运行费用越高。下图显示了费用与 RTO/RPO 的比率。

显示小 RTO/RPO 与高费用的映射的图表。

由于较小的 RTO 和 RPO 值通常意味着较高的复杂性,因此相关的管理开销遵循类似的曲线。高可用性应用可能需要您管理两个物理上分离的数据中心之间的分配、管理复制等。

RTO 和 RPO 值通常汇总到另一个指标:服务等级目标 (SLO),它是 SLA 的关键可测量元素。SLA 和 SLO 经常被混淆。SLA 是指定要提供的服务、支持方式、时间、地点、费用、性能、处罚和相关各方的责任的整个协议。SLO 是 SLA 的特定可测量特征,例如可用性、吞吐量、频率、响应时间或质量。SLA 可以包含许多 SLO。RTO 和 RPO 是可测量的,应被视为 SLO。

您可以在《Google 网站可靠性工程》一书中详细了解 SLO 和 SLA

您可能还在规划可实现高可用性 (HA) 的架构。HA 与 DR 并不完全重叠,但在考虑 RTO 和 RPO 值时,通常需要考虑 HA。HA 有助于在高于正常的时段内确保约定的运行性能水平,通常是运行时间。当您在 GCP 上运行生产工作负载时,可以使用全球分布式系统,确保在某个区域出现问题时,应用可以继续提供服务(即使可用范围变小)。实质上,该应用会调用其 DR 计划。

为什么选择 GCP?

与在本地满足 RTO 和 RPO 要求相比,GCP 可以大大减少与 RTO 和 RPO 相关的费用。例如,传统的 DR 规划需要您考虑许多要求,包括:

  • 容量:获取充足资源以按需扩缩。
  • 安全性:提供物理安全性以保护资产。
  • 网络基础架构:包括防火墙和负载平衡器等软件组件。
  • 支持:提供熟练的技术人员,以进行维护并解决问题。
  • 带宽:为峰值负载规划合适带宽。
  • 设施:确保包括设备和电力在内的物理基础设施。

通过在世界级生产平台上提供高度托管式解决方案,GCP 可帮助您避开大部分或所有这些复杂因素,从而消除流程中的许多业务费用。此外,GCP 重视管理简单性,这可减少管理复杂应用的费用。

GCP 提供与 DR 规划相关的若干功能,包括:

  • 全球网络。Google 拥有全球最大、最先进的计算机网络之一。Google 的骨干网络由数千英里长的光纤线缆构成,采用先进的软件定义网络技术,且提供边缘缓存服务,可实现快速、一致且可扩缩的性能。
  • 冗余。全球的多个存在点 (PoP) 可提供强大的冗余能力。您的数据会自动镜像到多个位置的存储设备。
  • 可伸缩性。GCP 可以像其他 Google 产品(例如搜索和 Gmail)一样进行伸缩,即使您遇到巨大的流量高峰,也能应对自如。App Engine、Compute Engine 自动调节程序和 Cloud Datastore 等托管服务可为您提供自动扩缩功能,使您的应用可以根据需要进行扩缩。
  • 安全。我们在 Gmail 和 G Suite 等 Google 应用中保护客户安全有超过 15 年的丰富经验,Google 安全模型正是基于这些经验构建而成。此外,Google 的网站可靠性工程团队可帮助确保高可用性并防止平台资源的滥用。
  • 合规性。Google 会定期接受独立的第三方审核,以验证 GCP 是否符合安全性、隐私和合规性规定以及最佳做法。GCP 符合 ISO 27001、SOC 2/3 和 PCI DSS 3.0 等认证标准。

DR 模式

DR 模式被认为具有冷、暖或热三种。这些模式表明出现问题时系统恢复的容易程度。做一个类比,如果您在驾驶时爆胎了,您可能会怎么做?

3 张汽车爆胎情景的照片:没有备用轮胎;一个备用轮胎和若干工具;一个跑气保用轮胎。

处理爆胎的方式取决于您的准备情况:

  • 冷:您没有备用轮胎,所以必须打电话叫人带新轮胎进行更换。您的旅程会停止,直到援助人员到来进行维修。
  • 暖:您有备用轮胎和换胎工具,可以立即更换车胎并继续前进。但是,您必须停车进行维修。
  • 热:您有跑气保用轮胎。您可能需要稍微放慢速度,但这不会对旅程产生直接影响。您的轮胎可确保继续行驶一段时间,只是您最终必须解决这个问题。

创建详细的 DR 计划

本部分包含有关如何创建 DR 计划的建议。

根据您的恢复目标进行设计

在设计 DR 计划时,您需要结合应用和数据恢复技术,放眼全局。典型的方法是关注 RTO 和 RPO 值,以及可以采用哪种 DR 模式来满足这些值。例如,在历史合规性导向数据的情况下,您可能不需要快速访问数据,因此适合采用较大的 RTO 值和冷 DR 模式。但是,如果您的在线服务出现中断,您将希望能够尽快恢复数据和面向客户的应用部分。在此情况下,热模式会更合适。电子邮件通知系统通常不是业务关键型的,可能适合采用暖模式。

如需了解使用 GCP 处理常见 DR 方案的指导,请查看应用恢复方案。这些方案为各种用例提供了针对性的 DR 策略,并分别提供了 GCP 上的示例实现。

设计端到端恢复

仅仅制定数据备份或归档计划是不够的。请确保您的 DR 计划能处理从备份到恢复再到清理的完整恢复过程。我们在有关 DR 数据和恢复的相关文档中对此进行了讨论。

让任务具体化

在运行 DR 计划时,您不希望停下来猜测每个步骤的含义。确保 DR 计划中的每项任务都包含一个或多个具体且明确的命令或操作。例如,“运行恢复脚本”过于笼统。相比之下,“打开 Bash 并运行 /home/example/restore.sh”就比较精确而具体。

实施控制措施

添加控件以防止灾难发生并在问题发生之前检测问题。例如,添加监视器,此监视器在数据破坏性流(如删除流水线)出现意外峰值或其他异常活动时发送警报。如果达到某个删除阈值,此监视器还可以终止流水线进程,从而防止出现灾难性的情况。

准备软件

DR 计划的目标之一是确保您所依赖的软件已准备好应对恢复事件。

验证您是否可以安装软件

确保可以从源或预配置的映像安装应用软件。确保您具有将在 GCP 上部署的任何软件的相应许可 - 请咨询软件供应商以获取指导。

设计持续部署以进行恢复

在部署应用时,您的持续部署 (CD) 工具集是必备组件。在恢复计划中,您必须考虑将在已恢复的环境中部署软件工件的位置。计划您要托管 CD 环境和软件工件的位置,它们需要在发生灾难时可用并且可操作。

实施安全性和合规性控制

设计 DR 计划时,安全性至关重要。必须在已恢复的环境中应用与生产环境中相同的控件。合规性规定也适用于已恢复的环境。

为 DR 和生产环境配置相同的安全性

确保您的网络控件可提供与源生产环境相同的分隔和阻止功能。了解如何配置共享 VPCGCP 防火墙,以便您可以建立部署的集中式网络和安全控制、配置子网、控制入站和出站流量等。了解如何使用服务帐号为访问 GCP API 的应用实现最低权限。请确保在防火墙规则中使用服务帐号。

请确保您向用户授予与源生产环境访问权限相同的 DR 环境访问权限。以下列表概述了在环境之间同步权限的方法:

  • 如果您的生产环境是 GCP,则在 DR 环境中复制 IAM 政策非常简单。您可以使用基础架构即代码 (IAC) 方法,并使用 Cloud Deployment Manager 等工具将 Cloud IAM 政策部署到生产环境。然后,在创建 DR 环境的过程中,您可以使用同一工具将政策绑定到 DR 环境中的相应资源。

  • 如果您的生产环境是本地,则将职能角色(例如网络管理员和审核员角色)映射到具有相应 IAM 角色的 IAM 政策。例如,IAM 文档提供了一些示例职能角色配置,请参阅有关创建网络审核日志职能角色的文档。

  • 您必须配置 IAM 政策以向产品授予相应权限。例如,您可能需要限制对特定 Cloud Storage 存储分区的访问

  • 如果您的生产环境是其他云提供商,请将提供商的 IAM 中的权限映射到 GCP IAM 政策。例如,如果您的生产环境是 AWS,则可以查看面向 AWS 专业人员的 GCP:管理,了解详情。

验证 DR 安全性

为 DR 环境配置权限后,请确保测试所有内容。创建测试环境。使用采用 Deployment Manager 等工具的 IAC 方法将 IAM 政策部署到测试环境。验证您授予用户的访问权限是否会授予在本地授予用户的相同权限。

确保用户可以登录 DR 环境

同样,请在灾难发生之前检查用户是否可以访问 DR 环境。确保您已向用户、开发者、操作员、数据科学家、安全管理员、网络管理员以及组织中的任何其他角色授予相应的访问权限。如果您使用的是其他身份系统,请确保已将帐号与您的 Cloud Identity 帐号同步。由于 DR 环境将暂时成为您的生产环境,因此请让需要访问 DR 环境的用户登录,并解决所有身份验证问题。将要登录 DR 环境的用户纳入您实施的常规 DR 测试。

要集中管理对已启动的虚拟机 (VM) 具有 SSH 访问权限的用户,请在构成 DR 环境的 GCP 项目上启用操作系统登录功能。

培训用户

用户需要了解如何在 GCP 中执行他们习惯在生产环境中完成的操作,例如登录、访问虚拟机等。使用测试环境,培训用户如何以可确保系统安全性的方式执行这些任务。

确保 DR 环境符合合规性要求

验证对 DR 环境的访问是否仅限于需要访问的用户。确保遮盖和加密 PII 数据。如果您对生产环境执行常规渗透测试,则应在该范围中包含 DR 环境,并通过创建 DR 环境进行常规测试。

确保在 DR 环境使用时,您收集的所有日志都会回填到生产环境的日志归档中。同样,确保在 DR 环境中,您可以将通过 Stackdriver 收集的审核日志导出到主日志接收器归档中。使用导出接收器设施。对于应用日志,请创建本地日志记录和监控环境的镜像。如果您的生产环境是其他云提供商,请将该提供商的日志记录和监控映射到等效的 GCP 服务。制定流程以设置用于生产环境的输入格式。

在日常备份过程中,使用 Cloud Storage

使用 Cloud Storage 来存储备份。确保包含备份的存储分区具有应用于它们的相应权限。

妥善管理密钥

通过使用 GCP 托管密钥管理服务 (KMS) 来管理应用级密钥。您可以将 Cloud KMS 或第三方解决方案(如 HashiCorp Vault)与 GCP 后端(如 Cloud SpannerCloud Storage)搭配使用。

将恢复的数据视为生产数据

确保应用于生产数据的安全控件也适用于恢复的数据:相同的权限、加密和审核要求都应适用。

了解备份的位置以及有权恢复数据的人员。确保恢复过程可审核 - 在灾难恢复后,确保您可以显示有权访问备份数据和执行了恢复操作的人员。

确保灾难恢复计划正常运行

您需要确保在灾难发生时,一切都按您的预期正常运行,从而确保您的规划有效。

维护多个数据恢复路径

如果发生灾难,您与 GCP 的连接方法可能会变得不可用。实施访问 GCP 的替代方法,以帮助确保您可以将数据传输到 GCP。定期测试备份路径是否正常运行。

定期测试计划

在制定 DR 计划后,定期进行测试,记录出现的任何问题并相应地调整计划。使用 GCP 可让您以最低费用测试恢复方案。为帮助进行测试,建议您实现以下内容:

  • 使用 Deployment Manager 自动执行基础架构预配。您可以使用 Deployment Manager 自动预配虚拟机实例和其他 GCP 基础架构。如果您在本地运行生产环境,则需要确保具有监控流程,该流程可在检测到失败时启动 DR 流程并可触发相应恢复操作。
  • 使用 Stackdriver Logging 和 Stackdriver Monitoring 监控和调试测试。GCP 拥有出色的日志记录和监控工具(您可以通过 API 调用访问这些工具),您可以通过对指标作出反应来自动部署恢复方案。在设计测试时,请确保设置可触发相应恢复操作的监控和警报功能。
  • 执行前面提到的测试:

    • 测试 DR 环境中的权限和用户访问权限是否像在生产环境中一样正常运行。
    • 对 DR 环境执行渗透测试。
    • 执行一项测试,在该测试中,您通常使用的 GCP 访问路径不可用。

后续事项

此页内容是否有用?请给出您的反馈和评价:

发送以下问题的反馈:

此网页

Disaster Recovery Planning Guide

This article is the first part of a multi-part series that discusses disaster recovery (DR) in Google Cloud Platform (GCP). This part provides an overview of the DR planning process: what you need to know in order to design and implement a DR plan. Subsequent parts discuss specific DR use cases with example implementations on GCP.

The series consists of these parts:

Introduction

Service-interrupting events can happen at any time. Your network could have an outage, your latest application push might introduce a critical bug, or you might someday have to contend with a natural disaster. When things go awry, it's important to have a robust, targeted, and well-tested DR plan.

With a well-designed, well-tested DR plan in place, you can make sure that if catastrophe hits, the impact on your business's bottom line will be minimal. No matter what your DR needs look like, Google Cloud Platform (GCP) has a robust, flexible, and cost-effective selection of products and features that you can use to build or augment the solution that is right for you.

Basics of DR planning

DR is a subset of business continuity planning. DR planning begins with a business impact analysis that defines two key metrics:

  • A recovery time objective (RTO), which is the maximum acceptable length of time that your application can be offline. This value is usually defined as part of a larger service level agreement (SLA).
  • A recovery point objective (RPO), which is the maximum acceptable length of time during which data might be lost from your application due to a major incident. This metric varies based on the ways that the data is used. For example, user data that's frequently modified could have an RPO of just a few minutes. In contrast, less critical, infrequently modified data could have an RPO of several hours. (This metric describes only the length of time; it doesn't address the amount or quality of the data that's lost.)

Typically, the smaller your RTO and RPO values are (that is, the faster your application must recover from an interruption), the more your application will cost to run. The following graph shows the ratio of cost to RTO/RPO.

Graph showing that small RTO/RPO maps to high cost.

Because smaller RTO and RPO values often mean greater complexity, the associated administrative overhead follows a similar curve. A high-availability application might require you to manage distribution between two physically separated data centers, manage replication, and more.

RTO and RPO values typically roll up into another metric: the service level objective (SLO), which is a key measurable element of an SLA. SLAs and SLOs are often conflated. An SLA is the entire agreement that specifies what service is to be provided, how it is supported, times, locations, costs, performance, penalties, and responsibilities of the parties involved. SLOs are specific, measurable characteristics of the SLA, such as availability, throughput, frequency, response time, or quality. An SLA can contain many SLOs. RTOs and RPOs are measurable and should be considered SLOs.

You can read more about SLOs and SLAs in the Google Site Reliability Engineering book.

You might also be planning an architecture for high availability (HA). HA doesn't entirely overlap with DR, but it's often necessary to take HA into account when you're thinking about RTO and RPO values. HA helps to ensure an agreed level of operational performance, usually uptime, for a higher than normal period. When you run production workloads on GCP, you might use a globally distributed system so that if something goes wrong in one region, the application continues to provide service even if it's less widely available. In essence, that application invokes its DR plan.

Why GCP?

GCP can greatly reduce the costs that are associated with both RTO and RPO when compared to fulfilling RTO and RPO requirements on premises. For example, traditional DR planning requires you to account for a number of requirements, including:

  • Capacity: securing enough resources to scale as needed.
  • Security: providing physical security to protect assets.
  • Network infrastructure: including software components such as firewalls and load balancers.
  • Support: making available skilled technicians to perform maintenance and to address issues.
  • Bandwidth: planning suitable bandwidth for peak load.
  • Facilities: ensuring physical infrastructure, including equipment and power.

By providing a highly managed solution on a world-class production platform, GCP helps you bypass most or all of these complicating factors, removing many business costs in the process. In addition, GCP's focus on administrative simplicity means that the costs of managing a complex application are reduced as well.

GCP offers several features that are relevant to DR planning, including:

  • A global network. Google has one of the largest and most advanced computer networks in the world. The Google backbone network has thousands of miles of fiber optic cable, uses advanced software-defined networking, and has edge-caching services to deliver fast, consistent, and scalable performance.
  • Redundancy. Multiple points of presence (PoPs) across the globe mean strong redundancy. Your data is mirrored automatically across storage devices in multiple locations.
  • Scalability. GCP is designed to scale like other Google products (for example, search and Gmail), even when you experience a huge traffic spike. Managed services such as App Engine, Compute Engine autoscalers, and Cloud Datastore give you automatic scaling that enables your application to grow and shrink as needed.
  • Security. The Google security model is built on over 15 years of experience with helping to keep customers safe on Google applications like Gmail and G Suite. In addition, the site reliability engineering teams at Google help ensure high availability and prevent abuse of platform resources.
  • Compliance. Google undergoes regular independent third-party audits to verify that GCP is in alignment with security, privacy, and compliance regulations and best practices. GCP complies with certifications such as ISO 27001, SOC 2/3, and PCI DSS 3.0.

DR patterns

DR patterns are considered to be cold, warm, or hot. These patterns indicate how readily the system can recover when something goes wrong. An analogy might be what you would do if you were driving and punctured a car tire.

3 photos of car flat-tire scenarios: no spare; a spare with tools; a run-flat tire.

How you deal with a flat tire depends on how prepared you are:

  • Cold: You have no spare tire, so you must call someone to come to you with a new tire and replace it. Your trip stops until help arrives to make the repair.
  • Warm: You have a spare tire and a replacement kit, so you can get back on the road using what you have in your car. However, you must stop your journey to repair the problem.
  • Hot: You have run-flat tires. You might need to slow down a little, but there is no immediate impact on your journey. Your tires run well enough that you can continue (although you must eventually address the issue).

Creating a detailed DR plan

This section provides recommendations for how to create your DR plan.

Design according to your recovery goals

When you design your DR plan, you need to combine your application and data recovery techniques and look at the bigger picture. The typical way to do this is to look at your RTO and RPO values and which DR pattern you can adopt to meet those values. For example, in the case of historical compliance-oriented data, you probably don't need speedy access to the data, so a large RTO value and cold DR pattern is appropriate. However, if your online service experiences an interruption, you'll want to be able to recover both the data and the customer-facing part of the application as quickly as possible. In that case, a hot pattern would be more appropriate. Your email notification system, which typically isn't business critical, is probably a candidate for a warm pattern.

For guidance on using GCP to address common DR scenarios, review the application recovery scenarios. These scenarios provide targeted DR strategies for a variety of use cases and offer example implementations on GCP for each.

Design for end-to-end recovery

It isn't enough just to have a plan for backing up or archiving your data. Make sure your DR plan addresses the full recovery process, from backup to restore to cleanup. We discuss this in the related documents about DR data and recovery.

Make your tasks specific

When it's time to run your DR plan, you don't want to be stuck guessing what each step means. Make each task in your DR plan consist of one or more concrete, unambiguous commands or actions. For example, "Run the restore script" is too general. In contrast, "Open Bash and run /home/example/restore.sh" is precise and concrete.

Implementing control measures

Add controls to prevent disasters from occurring and to detect issues before they occur. For example, add a monitor that sends an alert when a data-destructive flow, such as a deletion pipeline, exhibits unexpected spikes or other unusual activity. This monitor could also terminate the pipeline processes if a certain deletion threshold is reached, preventing a catastrophic situation.

Preparing your software

Part of your DR planning is to make sure that the software you rely on is ready for a recovery event.

Verify that you can install your software

Make sure that your application software can be installed from source or from a preconfigured image. Make sure that you are appropriately licensed for any software that you will be deploying on GCP—check with the supplier of the software for guidance.

Design continuous deployment for recovery

Your continuous deployment (CD) toolset is an integral component when you are deploying your applications. As part of your recovery plan, you must consider where in your recovered environment you will deploy artifacts. Plan where you want to host your CD environment and artifacts—they need to be available and operational in the event of a disaster.

Implementing security and compliance controls

When you design a DR plan, security is important. The same controls that you have in your production environment must apply to your recovered environment. Compliance regulations will also apply to your recovered environment.

Configure security the same for the DR and production environments

Make sure that your network controls provide the same separation and blocking that the source production environment uses. Learn how to configure Shared VPC and GCP firewalls to let you establish centralized networking and security control of your deployment, to configure subnets, to control inbound and outbound traffic, and so on. Understand how to use service accounts to implement least privilege for applications that access GCP APIs. Make sure to use service accounts as part of the firewall rules.

Make sure that you grant users the same access to the DR environment that they have in the source production environment. The following list outlines ways to synchronize permissions between environments:

  • If your production environment is GCP, replicating IAM policies in the DR environment is straightforward. You can use infrastructure as code (IAC) methods and employ tools such as Cloud Deployment Manager to deploy your Cloud IAM policies to production. You then use the same tools to bind the policies to corresponding resources in the DR environment as part of the process of standing up your DR environment.

  • If your production environment is on-premises, you map the functional roles, such as your network administrator and auditor roles, to IAM policies that have the appropriate IAM roles. The IAM documentation has some example functional role configurations—for example, see the documentation for creating networking and audit logging functional roles.

  • You have to configure IAM policies to grant appropriate permissions to products. For example, you might want to restrict access to specific Cloud Storage buckets.

  • If your production environment is another cloud provider, map the permissions in the provider's IAM to GCP IAM policies. For example, if your production environment is AWS, you can read GCP for AWS Professionals: Management for details.

Verify your DR security

After you've configured permissions for the DR environment, make sure that you test everything. Create a test environment. Use IAC methods that employ tools like Cloud Deployment Manager to deploy your IAM policies to the test environment. Verify that the access that you grant users confers the same permissions that the users are granted on premises.

Make sure users can log in to the DR environment

Similarly, don't wait for a disaster to occur before checking that your users can access the DR environment. Make sure that you have granted appropriate access rights to users, developers, operators, data scientists, security administrators, network administrators, and any other roles in your organization. If you are using an alternative identity system, make sure that accounts have been synced with your Cloud Identity account. Because the DR environment will be your production environment for a while, get your users who will need access to the DR environment to log in, and resolve any authentication issues. Incorporate users who are logging in to the DR environment as part of the regular DR tests that you implement.

To centrally manage who has SSH access to virtual machines (VMs) that are launched, enable the OS login feature on the GCP projects that constitute your DR environment.

Train users

Users need to understand how to undertake the actions in GCP that they're used to accomplishing in the production environment, like logging in, accessing VMs, and so on. Using the test environment, train your users how to perform these tasks in ways that safeguard your system's security.

Make sure that the DR environment meets compliance requirements

Verify that access to your DR environment is restricted to only those who need access. Make sure that PII data is redacted and encrypted. If you perform regular penetration tests on your production environment, you should include your DR environment as part of that scope and carry out regular tests by standing up a DR environment.

Make sure that while your DR environment is in service, any logs that you collect are backfilled into the log archive of your production environment. Similarly, make sure that as part of your DR environment, you can export audit logs that are collected through Stackdriver to your main log sink archive. Use the export sink facilities. For application logs, create a mirror of your on-premises logging and monitoring environment. If your production environment is another cloud provider, map that provider's logging and monitoring to the equivalent GCP services. Have a process in place to format input into your production environment.

Use Cloud Storage as part of your daily backup routines

Use Cloud Storage to store backups. Make sure that the buckets that contain your backups have appropriate permissions applied to them.

Manage secrets properly

Manage application-level secrets and keys by using GCP to host the key/secret management service (KMS). You can use Cloud KMS or a third-party solution like HashiCorp Vault with a GCP backend such as Cloud Spanner or Cloud Storage.

Treat recovered data like production data

Make sure that the security controls that you apply to your production data also apply also to your recovered data: the same permissions, encryption, and audit requirements should all apply.

Know where your backups are located and who is authorized to restore data. Make sure your recovery process is auditable—after a disaster recovery, make sure you can show who had access to the backup data and who performed the recovery.

Making sure your DR plan works

You want to make sure that your planning pays off by making sure that if disaster does strike, everything works as you intend.

Maintain more than one data recovery path

In the event of a disaster, your connection method to GCP might become unavailable. Implement an alternative means of access to GCP to help ensure that you can transfer data to GCP. Regularly test that the backup path is operational.

Test your plan regularly

After you have a DR plan in place, test it regularly, noting any issues that come up and adjusting your plan accordingly. Using GCP, you can test recovery scenarios at minimal cost. It's recommended that you implement the following in order to help with your testing:

  • Automate infrastructure provisioning with Deployment Manager. You can use Cloud Deployment Manager to automate the provisioning of VM instances and other GCP infrastructure. If you're running your production environment on premises, you need to make sure that you have a monitoring process that can start the DR process when it detects a failure and can trigger the appropriate recovery actions.
  • Monitor and debug your tests with Stackdriver Logging and Stackdriver Monitoring. GCP has excellent logging and monitoring tools that you can access through API calls, allowing you to automate the deployment of recovery scenarios by reacting to metrics. When you're designing tests, make sure that you have appropriate monitoring and alerting in place that can trigger appropriate recovery actions.
  • Perform the testing noted earlier:

    • Test that permissions and user access work in the DR environment like they do in the production environmnt.
    • Perform penetration testing on your DR environment.
    • Perform a test in which your usual access path to GCP doesn't work.

What's next?

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Architectures