Redis tier capabilities

This page describes the differences between the available Redis tiers.

Memorystore for Redis supports Basic and Standard Tiers. The Basic Tier is best suited for applications that use Redis as a cache and can withstand a cold restart and full data flush. Standard Tier instances provide High Availability using replication, read replicas, and automatic failover.

Tier architecture

The following diagrams show the architectures for the Memorystore for Redis service tiers.

Basic Tier

  • One Redis node
  • Ephemeral cache

Standard Tier

  • Provides High Availability with replication
  • Fails over to replica in the case of primary node failure

Standard Tier with read replicas

  • Provides High Availability with replication
  • Read replicas allow for distributed reads

Feature comparison

Specifications Basic Tier Standard Tier (read replicas disabled) Standard Tier (read replicas enabled)
Description Provides a cache with no replication Provides redundancy and availability using replication Provides redundancy and availability using replication
Max Redis node size 300 GB 300 GB 100 GB
Max network bandwidth 16 Gbps 16 Gbps 16 Gbps
Scale node size1 Yes Yes Yes
Scale number of read replica nodes No No Yes
Cross-zone replication No Yes Yes
Automatic failover No Yes Yes
Read replicas No No Yes
In-transit encryption No Yes Yes
Maintenance window Yes Yes Yes
Cloud Monitoring Yes Yes Yes

1 Basic Tier instances experience a downtime and a full cache flush during when scaling the instance size. Standard Tier instances experience minimal downtime and loss of some unreplicated data during scaling operations such as changing node size or adding/removing read replicas. For more information, see Scaling Behavior.
2 During maintenance, Basic Tier instances undergo a full cache flush and Standard Tier instances undergo a failover. For more information see Maintenance policy.