Service types

Cloud Volumes Service provides two service types: CVS and CVS-Performance. You select the service type that matches your workload needs.

  • CVS: This is the service type that's pre-selected when you create a volume from the Cloud Console. The CVS service type is designed for general-purpose Linux and Windows workloads that require light to moderate performance, up to 100 MiB/s. The CVS service type provides two service levels focused on higher availability: standard single-zone and zone-redundant multi-zone. Zone-redundant volumes support higher availability by using regional Google resources that are replicated across multiple zones.

  • CVS-Performance: The CVS-Performance service type is designed for performance-sensitive Linux and Windows workloads that require high throughput, low latency, or both. The CVS-Performance service type provides three service levels focused on performance. You can dynamically adjust the service level to align performance with your workload, thus enabling you to optimize your costs to the performance that your application workload requires.

Each service type offers a different set of capabilities:

Feature CVS CVS-Performance
Supported service levels Two service levels, with 32 MiB/s per TiB of throughput, up to 100 MiB total throughput. Three service levels, with throughput of 16 MiB/s, 64 MiB/s, and 128 MiB/s per TiB of throughput respectively, up to 4.5 GiB/s total throughput.
NFSv3 volumes Y Y
NFSv4.1 volumes N Y
SMB volumes Y Y
Volume high availability Y (multiple zones, Zone Redundant Standard-SW) Y (single region)
Snapshots Y Y
Volume cloning N Y
Volume backups Y N
Volume replication for data protection N Y

Resource limits vary according to the service type. For details, see Resource limits and maxfiles limits.

The Volumes page displays the service type for each volume.

The Volumes page displays the service type for each volume.

What's next