Resetting an Appliance

Resetting Google Transfer Appliance deletes all data from any previous capture jobs, and it removes all configuration options except for the capture account credentials and the network configuration.

You can reset the Transfer Appliance by using either the Web User Interface or the Console User Interface, which is displayed on the locally attached monitor. Resetting is useful under these circumstances:

  • If you inadvertently captured the wrong data, you may choose to reset and start over.
  • If you forget your encryption credentials, you must reset the Transfer Appliance. Data can only be rehydrated into Google Cloud Storage if you enter the same encryption credentials (password and passphrase) you supplied when you configured the Transfer Appliance.

Resetting using the web interface

  1. Open the Transfer Appliance Web User Interface.
  2. Sign in with the capture user account and password provided to you by Google.
  3. Click the Settings icon in the upper right hand corner of the page and then select Factory Reset.
  4. Enter the capture account credentials again when prompted.
  5. Click OK.

After resetting, you will be redirected to the sign in screen. You'll need to reconfigure the Transfer Appliance.

Resetting using the console

  1. Open the Transfer Appliance Console User Interface.
  2. Sign in with the capture user account and password provided to you by Google.
  3. Select Factory Reset from the Transfer Appliance main menu and press Enter.
  4. Enter the capture account credentials again.
  5. Click OK and press Enter.

After resetting the appliance, you will be redirected to the sign in screen. You'll need to reconfigure the Transfer Appliance.

What's next

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Google Transfer Appliance