包含无代理 gRPC 服务的 Traffic Director 概览

本指南概述了包含无代理 gRPC 服务的 Traffic Director 架构,包括使用场景和架构模式。

概览

Traffic Director 的代管式控制层面为服务网格和负载平衡使用场景启用全局路由、负载平衡和地区故障转移。这包括整合 Sidecar 代理和网关代理的部署。Traffic Director 对无代理 gRPC 应用的支持提供了其他部署模型,在该模型中,gRPC 应用可以参与服务网格,而无需 Sidecar 代理。如需全面了解 Traffic Director 的工作原理,请参阅 Traffic Director 概览

在典型示例中,gRPC 客户端会与托管后端逻辑的 gRPC 服务器建立连接。Traffic Director 会为您的 gRPC 客户端提供以下信息:要连接的服务器、如何将请求负载平衡到某个服务器的多个实例,以及在服务器未运行时如何处理请求。

Traffic Director 如何与 gRPC 应用搭配使用

Traffic Director 使用支持的 gRPC 版本配置 gRPC 客户端,类似于如何配置 Sidecar 代理(如 Envoy)。但是,直接连接到 Traffic Director 的无代理 gRPC 应用不需要 Sidecar 代理。Traffic Director 使用开源 xDS v2 API 直接配置 gRPC 应用。这些 gRPC 应用充当 xDS 客户端,连接到 Traffic Director 的全局控制层面。连接后,gRPC 应用会从控制层面接收动态配置,从而支持端点发现、负载平衡、地区故障转移、运行状况检查等。

此方法支持其他 Traffic Director 部署模式。在下面的第一个图示中,服务网格是使用 Sidecar 代理启用的。

使用 Sidecar 代理启用的服务网格(点击可放大)
使用 Sidecar 代理启用的服务网格(点击可放大)

Traffic Director 使用 xDS v2 API 配置 Sidecar 代理。gRPC 客户端通过 Sidecar 代理与 gRPC 服务器通信。

在第二个图示中,在没有 Sidecar 代理的情况下,使用无代理 gRPC 客户端启用服务网格:

使用无代理 gRPC 启用的服务网格(点击可放大)
使用无代理 gRPC 启用的服务网格(点击可放大)

如果仅部署 Traffic Director 配置的 gRPC 服务,您可以创建服务网格,而无需部署任何代理。这样可以更轻松地将服务网格功能引入您的 gRPC 应用。

名称解析方案

对于无代理部署,名称解析的工作原理如下:

  1. 在连接到服务时,可将 xds 设置为 gRPC 客户端通道中的名称解析方案。目标 URI 的格式为 xds:///hostname:port。未指定端口时,默认值为 80,例如在目标 URI xds:///foo.myservice 中。
  2. gRPC 客户端通过向 Traffic Director 发送 LDS 请求来解析目标 URI 中的 hostname:port
  3. Traffic Director 查找具有匹配端口的已配置转发规则。然后,它会查找与 hostname:port 匹配的主机规则的相应网址映射。它将关联的路由配置返回给 gRPC 客户端。

您在 Traffic Director 中配置的主机规则在所有网址映射中都必须唯一。例如,foo.myservicefoo.myservice:80foo.myservice:8080 都是不同的规则。

不同部署类型的名称解析

对于无代理部署和使用 Envoy 代理的部署,名称解析方案有所不同。

gRPC 客户端使用 xds 名称解析方案连接到服务,从而允许客户端从 Traffic Director 接收服务配置。然后,gRPC 客户端直接与 gRPC 服务器通信。

您可以结合使用 Sidecar 和无代理部署模式来提高灵活性。当您的组织和网络支持具有不同功能要求、运营需求和 gRPC 版本的多个团队时,这尤其有用。

在以下图示中,无代理 gRPC 客户端和具有 Sidecar 代理的 gRPC 客户端与 gRPC 服务器通信。

由无代理 gRPC 客户端和具有 Sidecar 代理的 gRPC 客户端组成的服务网格(点击可放大)
由无代理 gRPC 客户端和具有 Sidecar 代理的 gRPC 客户端组成的服务网格(点击可放大)

具有 Sidecar 代理的 gRPC 客户端使用 dns 名称解析方案。

使用场景

这里的示例说明了如何将代理网格与无代理 gRPC 服务搭配使用。

以下使用场景可帮助您了解何时可能需要将 Traffic Director 与无代理 gRPC 应用搭配使用。请注意,您的部署可以包含无代理 gRPC 应用和/或具有 Sidecar 的 gRPC 应用。

大规模服务网格中的资源效率

如果您的服务网格包含数百或数千个客户端和后端,您可能会发现运行 Sidecar 代理的总资源用量开始增加。使用无代理 gRPC 应用时,您无需在部署中引入 Sidecar 代理。无代理方法可用于提高效率。

高性能 gRPC 应用

在某些使用场景中,每毫秒的请求和响应延迟时间都非常重要。在这种情况下,如果您使用无代理 gRPC 应用,而不是通过客户端 Sidecar 代理以及可能通过服务器端 Sidecar 代理传递每个请求,您可能会发现延迟时间缩短。

无法部署 Sidecar 代理的环境的服务网格

在某些环境中,您可能无法将 Sidecar 代理作为附加进程与客户端应用或服务器应用一起运行。或者,您可能无法配置机器的网络堆栈进行请求拦截和重定向(例如,使用 iptables)。在这种情况下,您可以将 Traffic Director 与无代理 gRPC 应用搭配使用,为 gRPC 应用引入服务网格功能。

异构服务网格

由于无代理 gRPC 应用和 Envoy 与 Traffic Director 通信,因此您的服务网格可以包含两种部署模型。 这样,您就可以满足不同应用和不同开发团队的特定运营、性能和功能需求。

从有代理的服务网格迁移到无代理的网格

如果您已有含通过 Traffic Director 配置的 Sidecar 的 gRPC 应用,则可以改用无代理 gRPC 应用。

使用 Sidecar 代理部署 gRPC 客户端时,它会使用 DNS 来解析它所连接的主机名。流量会被 Sidecar 代理拦截,以提供服务网格功能。

通过修改 gRPC 客户端使用的名称解析方案,您可以定义 gRPC 客户端是使用无代理路由还是 Sidecar 路由与 gRPC 服务器通信。无代理客户端使用 xds 名称解析方案,而 Sidecar 代理使用 dns 名称解析方案。有些 gRPC 客户端在连接到 gRPC 服务器时甚至可以使用无代理路由,而在连接到其他 gRPC 服务器时使用 Sidecar 路由。这样,您就可以逐步迁移到无代理部署。

为此,您需要创建一个新的 Traffic Director 服务,供无代理 gRPC 客户端使用。您可以使用相同的 API 为现有版本和新版本配置 Traffic Director。

具有 gRPC 客户端的服务网格,该客户端使用无代理和基于代理的机制与不同服务通信(点击可放大)
具有 gRPC 客户端的服务网格,该客户端使用无代理和基于代理的机制与不同服务通信(点击可放大)

架构和资源

无代理 gRPC 服务的配置数据模型扩展了 Traffic Director 配置模型,并具有本指南中所述的一些新增内容和限制。其中有些限制是临时性的,因为无代理 gRPC 尚不支持 Envoy 的所有功能,而有些限制是使用 RPC 的固有限制。例如,系统不支持使用 gRPC 进行 HTTP 重定向。建议您熟悉 Traffic Director 概念配置,以帮助您了解本指南中的配置模型。

下图显示了您必须为无代理 gRPC 应用配置的资源。

无代理 gRPC 支持进行负载平衡的资源(点击可放大)
无代理 gRPC 支持进行负载平衡的资源(点击可放大)

路由规则映射

路由规则映射定义了请求在网格中的路由方式。它包含转发规则、目标 gRPC 代理和网址映射。

转发规则

通常,您使用所配置服务的虚拟 IP 地址和端口来创建转发规则。使用 xds 名称解析方案的 gRPC 客户端不会执行 DNS 查找来解析通道 URI 中的主机名。相反,此类客户端会通过向 Traffic Director 发送 LDS 请求来解析目标 URI 中的 hostname[:port]。您不需要执行 DNS 查找,也不需要主机名的 DNS 条目。因此,Traffic Director 仅使用 URI 中指定的端口来查找转发规则,并忽略 IP 地址。端口的默认值为 80。接着,Traffic Director 会在与转发规则引用的目标代理关联的网址映射中查找匹配的主机规则。

因此,引用目标 gRPC 代理并将 validateForProxyless 字段设置为 TRUE 的转发规则必须将其 IP 地址设置为 0.0.0.0validateForProxyless 设置为 TRUE 时,系统会拒绝指定除 0.0.0.0 以外的 IP 地址的配置。

注意事项:

  • 转发规则的负载平衡方案必须是 INTERNAL_SELF_MANAGED
  • 您可以有多个转发规则,但每个转发规则的 IP:port 必须唯一,并且端口必须与主机规则中指定的端口匹配。
  • 如果有多个转发规则使用与目标 URI 中的端口匹配的端口,则 Traffic Director 会在所有此类转发规则引用的网址映射的主机规则中查找匹配的 hostname[:port]。Traffic Director 会查找主机规则中的 hostname[:port] 与目标 URI 中指定的 hostname[:port] 之间的完全匹配项。系统会跳过包含通配符的主机规则和默认规则。

另请注意,如果找到多个匹配项,则行为未定义,可能会导致行为无法预测。满足以下条件时通常会发生这种情况:

  • 多个网址映射使用相同的主机名。
  • 采用负载平衡方案 INTERNAL_SELF_MANAGED 的多个转发规则指定相同的端口。

因此,我们建议您不要在指定相同端口的转发规则引用的多个网址映射中重复使用同一个主机名。

目标 gRPC 代理

目标代理指向网址映射,网址映射又包含用于将流量路由到正确后端的规则。为 gRPC 应用配置 Traffic Director 时,无论您是使用无代理 gRPC 应用,还是使用借助于 Envoy 的 gRPC 应用,都请使用目标 gRPC 代理(而非目标 HTTP 代理)。

目标 gRPC 代理在 REST API 中具有一个名为 validateForProxyless 的字段。默认值为 FALSE。将此字段设置为 TRUE 会启用配置检查,以免您意外启用与无代理 gRPC 不兼容的功能。

gcloud 命令行工具中,--validate-for-proxyless 标志等效于 validateForProxyless 字段。

由于 Traffic Director 对无代理 gRPC 应用的支持不包括具有 Sidecar 代理的 gRPC 应用可用的全部功能,因此您可以使用此字段来确保移除无效配置(可能会在网址映射或后端服务中指定)。另请注意,配置验证是基于 Traffic Director 在最新版 gRPC 中支持的功能完成的。

网址映射

网址映射定义无代理 gRPC 客户端用于发送流量的路由规则。网址映射包含一个或多个主机规则,格式为 hostname:port。这些主机规则中的每一个都会解析为服务。

配置 gRPC 客户端时,您可指定客户端需要联系的服务的目标 URI。此 URI 也使用 hostname:port 格式。此 URI 对应于网址映射中的主机规则条目。

例如,如果您在 gRPC 客户端中配置目标 URI xds:///myservice:8080,Traffic Director 会向其发送与 myservice:8080 的网址映射主机规则对应的配置。此配置包括端点列表等信息,每个端点都是一个与特定 gRPC 服务器实例相对应的 IP 地址:端口对。

  • 目标 URI xds:///myservice 与网址映射主机规则 myservice 匹配。
  • 目标 URI xds:///myservice 与网址映射主机规则 myservice:80 不匹配。
  • 目标 URI xds:///myservice:80 与网址映射主机规则 myservice 不匹配。

目标 URI 中的字符串和网址映射主机规则中的字符串必须相同。

如需了解详情,请参阅网址映射限制

运行状况检查

gRPC 运行状况检查可以检查在后端虚拟机或 NEG 上运行的 gRPC 服务的状态。

如果由于 gRPC 服务器未实现 gRPC 运行状况检查协议而无法使用 gRPC 运行状况检查,请改用 TCP 运行状况检查。请勿使用 HTTP、HTTPS 或 HTTP/2 运行状况检查。

如需了解详情,请参阅 gRPC 运行状况检查用于 gRPC 运行状况检查的额外标志

后端服务

后端服务定义 gRPC 客户端如何与 gRPC 服务器通信。为 gRPC 创建后端服务时,请将协议字段设置为 GRPC

  • gRPC 应用还可以通过 Sidecar 代理访问配置时将协议设置为 GRPC 的后端服务。在这种情况下,gRPC 客户端不得使用 xds 名称解析方案。

  • 在所有 Traffic Director 部署中,后端服务的负载平衡方案必须为 INTERNAL_SELF_MANAGED

后端

后端托管您的 gRPC 服务器实例。您可以在 Compute Engine 中使用代管或非代管实例组,并在 Google Kubernetes Engine 中使用区域网络端点组 (NEG) 作为后端来托管 gRPC 服务器实例。

后续步骤

Traffic Director with proxyless gRPC services overview

This guide provides you with an overview of the architecture of Traffic Director with proxyless gRPC services, including use cases and architecture patterns.

Traffic Director's managed control plane enables global routing, load balancing, and regional failover for service mesh and load-balancing use cases. This includes deployments that incorporate sidecar proxies and gateway proxies. Traffic Director support for proxyless gRPC applications offers an additional deployment model in which gRPC applications can participate in a service mesh without needing a sidecar proxy.

In a typical example, a gRPC client establishes a connection with a gRPC server that hosts your backend logic. Traffic Director gives your gRPC clients information about which servers to contact, how to load balance requests to multiple instances of a server, and what to do with requests if a server is not running.

For a complete overview of how Traffic Director works, see the Traffic Director overview.

How Traffic Director works with gRPC applications

Traffic Director configures gRPC clients with a supported gRPC version, similarly to how sidecar proxies such as Envoy are configured. However, proxyless gRPC applications connected directly to Traffic Director don't need sidecar proxies. Instead, Traffic Director uses open source xDS APIs to configure gRPC applications directly. These gRPC applications act as xDS clients, connecting to Traffic Director's global control plane. After they're connected, gRPC applications receive dynamic configuration from the control plane, enabling endpoint discovery, load balancing, regional failover, and health checks. This approach enables additional Traffic Director deployment patterns.

In the first illustration, a service mesh is enabled by using a sidecar proxy.

A service mesh enabled by using a sidecar proxy.
A service mesh enabled by using a sidecar proxy (click to enlarge)

To configure a sidecar proxy, Traffic Director uses xDS APIs. Clients communicate with the server through the sidecar proxy.

In the second illustration, a service mesh is enabled without a sidecar proxy by using a proxyless gRPC client.

A service mesh enabled using proxyless gRPC.
A service mesh enabled using proxyless gRPC (click to enlarge)

If you are deploying only gRPC services that Traffic Director configures, you can create a service mesh without deploying any proxies at all. This makes it easier to bring service mesh capabilities to your gRPC applications.

Name resolution scheme

Name resolution works for proxyless deployments in the following ways:

  1. You set xds as the name resolution scheme in the gRPC client channel when connecting to a service. The target URI is formatted as xds:///hostname:port. When the port is not specified, the default value is 80—for example, in the target URI xds:///example.hostname.
  2. The gRPC client resolves the hostname:port in the target URI by sending a listener discovery service (LDS) request to Traffic Director.
  3. Traffic Director looks up the configured forwarding rules that have a matching port. It then looks up the corresponding URL map for a host rule that matches hostname:port. It returns the associated routing configuration to the gRPC client.

The host rules that you configure in Traffic Director must be unique across all URL maps. For example, example.hostname, example.hostname:80, and example.hostname:8080 are all different rules.

Name resolution with different deployment types

The name resolution scheme is different for proxyless deployments and deployments that use Envoy proxies.

The gRPC client uses the xds name resolution scheme to connect to a service, allowing the client to receive the service configuration from Traffic Director. The gRPC client then communicates directly with the gRPC server.

You can combine sidecar proxy and proxyless deployment patterns for increased flexibility. Combining patterns is especially helpful when your organization and network support multiple teams with different feature requirements, operational needs, and gRPC versions.

In the following illustration, both proxyless gRPC clients and gRPC clients with a sidecar proxy communicate with a gRPC server. The gRPC clients with sidecar proxies use the dns name resolution scheme.

A service mesh consisting of proxyless gRPC clients and gRPC clients with sidecar proxies.
A service mesh consisting of proxyless gRPC clients and gRPC clients with sidecar proxies (click to enlarge)

Use cases

The following use cases help you understand when you might want to use Traffic Director with proxyless gRPC applications. Your deployment can include proxyless gRPC applications, gRPC applications with sidecar proxies, or a mix of both.

Resource efficiency in a large-scale service mesh

If your service mesh includes hundreds or thousands of clients and backends, you might find that the total resource consumption from running sidecar proxies starts to add up. When you use proxyless gRPC applications, you don't need to introduce sidecar proxies to your deployment. A proxyless approach can result in efficiency gains.

High-performance gRPC applications

For some use cases, every millisecond of request and response latency matters. In such a case, you might find reduced latency when you use a proxyless gRPC application, instead of passing every request through a client-side sidecar proxy and, potentially, a server-side sidecar proxy.

Service mesh for environments where you can't deploy sidecar proxies

In some environments, you might not be able to run a sidecar proxy as an additional process alongside your client or server application. Or, you might not be able to configure a machine's network stack for request interception and redirection—for example, by using iptables. In this case, you can use Traffic Director with proxyless gRPC applications to introduce service mesh capabilities to your gRPC applications.

Heterogeneous service mesh

Because both proxyless gRPC applications and Envoy communicate with Traffic Director, your service mesh can include both deployment models. Including both models enables you to satisfy the particular operational, performance, and feature needs of different applications and different development teams.

Migrate from a service mesh with proxies to a mesh without proxies

If you already have a gRPC application with a sidecar proxy that Traffic Director configured, you can transition to a proxyless gRPC application.

When a gRPC client is deployed with a sidecar proxy, it uses DNS to resolve the hostname that it is connecting to. The sidecar proxy intercepts traffic to provide service mesh functionality.

You can define whether a gRPC client uses the proxyless route or the sidecar proxy route to communicate with a gRPC server by modifying the name resolution scheme that it uses. Proxyless clients use the xds name resolution scheme, while sidecar proxies use the dns name resolution scheme. Some gRPC clients might even use the proxyless route when talking to one gRPC server, but use the sidecar proxy route when talking to another gRPC server. This lets you gradually migrate to a proxyless deployment.

To migrate from a service mesh with proxies to a mesh without proxies, you create a new Traffic Director service that your proxyless gRPC client uses. You can use the same APIs to configure Traffic Director for the existing and new versions.

Service mesh with a gRPC client that communicates with different services using proxyless and proxy-based mechanisms.
Service mesh with a gRPC client that communicates with different services using proxyless and proxy-based mechanisms (click to enlarge)

Architecture and resources

The configuration data model for proxyless gRPC services extends the Traffic Director configuration model, with some additions and limitations that are described in this guide. Some of these limitations are temporary because proxyless gRPC does not yet support all of Envoy's features, and others are inherent to using RPCs. For example, HTTP redirects that use gRPC are not supported. To help you understand the configuration model in this guide, we recommend that you familiarize yourself with Traffic Director concepts and configuration.

The following diagram shows the resources that you must configure for proxyless gRPC applications.

Resources supported in proxyless gRPC for load balancing.
Resources supported in proxyless gRPC for load balancing (click to enlarge)

Routing rule maps

A routing rule map defines how requests are routed in the mesh. It consists of a forwarding rule, a target gRPC proxy, and a URL map.

Forwarding rule

Typically, you create the forwarding rule by using the virtual IP address and port of the service that you are configuring. A gRPC client that uses the xds name resolution scheme does not perform DNS lookup to resolve the hostname in the channel URI. Instead, such a client resolves the hostname[:port] in the target URI by sending an LDS request to Traffic Director. There is no DNS lookup involved, and a DNS entry for the hostname is not required.

As a result, Traffic Director uses only the port specified in the URI to look up the forwarding rule, ignoring the IP address. The default value of the port is 80. Traffic Director then looks for a matching host rule in the URL map associated with the target proxy referenced by the forwarding rule.

Therefore, a forwarding rule that references a target gRPC proxy with the validateForProxyless field set to TRUE must have its IP address set to 0.0.0.0. When validateForProxyless is set to TRUE, configurations that specify an IP address other than 0.0.0.0 are rejected.

Note the following:

  • The load-balancing scheme for the forwarding rule must be INTERNAL_SELF_MANAGED.
  • You can have multiple forwarding rules, but the IP:port of each forwarding rule must be unique, and the port must match the port specified in the host rule.
  • If more than one forwarding rule has a port that matches the port in the target URI, Traffic Director looks for a matching hostname[:port] in the host rules of the URL maps referenced by all such forwarding rules. Traffic Director looks for an exact match between the hostname[:port] in the host rule and the hostname[:port] specified in the target URI. Host rules and default rules that contain wildcard characters are skipped.

If more than one match is found, the behavior is undefined and can lead to unpredictable behavior. This generally happens when both of the following conditions are met:

  • The same hostname is used across multiple URL maps.
  • Multiple forwarding rules with the load-balancing scheme INTERNAL_SELF_MANAGED specify the same port.

For this reason, we recommend that you do not re-use the same hostname across multiple URL maps that are referenced by forwarding rules that specify the same port.

Target gRPC proxy

Target proxies point to URL maps, which in turn contain rules used to route traffic to the correct backend. When you configure Traffic Director for gRPC applications, use a target gRPC proxy, not a target HTTP proxy, regardless of whether you are using proxyless gRPC applications or gRPC applications that use Envoy.

Target gRPC proxies have a field called validateForProxyless in the REST API. The default value is FALSE. Setting this field to TRUE enables configuration checks so that you do not accidentally enable a feature that is not compatible with proxyless gRPC.

In the gcloud command-line tool, the flag --validate-for-proxyless is the equivalent of the validateForProxyless field.

Because Traffic Director support for proxyless gRPC applications does not include the full range of capabilities that are available to gRPC applications with a sidecar proxy, you can use this field to ensure that an invalid configuration, which might be specified in the URL map or backend service, is rejected. Configuration validation is done based on the features that Traffic Director supports with the most recent version of gRPC.

URL map

The URL map defines the routing rules that your proxyless gRPC clients use to send traffic. The URL map contains one or more host rules in the format hostname:port. Each of these host rules resolves to a service.

When you configure your gRPC client, you specify the target URI for the service that the client needs to contact. This URI also uses the hostname:port format. This URI corresponds to the host rule entry in the URL map.

For example, if you configure the target URI xds:///myservice:8080 in your gRPC client, Traffic Director sends it the configuration that corresponds to the URL map host rule for myservice:8080. This configuration includes, among other information, a list of endpoints, which are each an IP address:port pair corresponding to specific gRPC server instances.

If you don't specify a port in the target URI, 80 is used as the default value. This means the following:

  • The target URI xds:///myservice matches the URL map host rule myservice.
  • The target URI xds:///myservice:80 matches the URL map host rule myservice:80.
  • The target URI xds:///myservice does not match the URL map host rule myservice:80.
  • The target URI xds:///myservice:80 does not match the URL map host rule myservice.

The string in the target URI and the string in the URL map host rule must be identical.

For more information, see URL map limitations.

Health checks

A gRPC health check can check the status of a gRPC service that is running on a backend virtual machine (VM) instance or a network endpoint group (NEG).

If a gRPC health check cannot be used because your gRPC server does not implement the gRPC health checking protocol, use a TCP health check instead. Do not use an HTTP, HTTPS, or HTTP/2 health check.

For more information, see gRPC health check and Additional flag for gRPC health checks.

Backend service

The backend service defines how a gRPC client communicates with a gRPC server. When you create a backend service for gRPC, set the protocol field to GRPC.

  • A backend service configured with a protocol set to GRPC can also be accessed by gRPC applications through a sidecar proxy. In that situation, the gRPC client must not use the xds name resolution scheme.

  • In all Traffic Director deployments, the load-balancing scheme for the backend service must be INTERNAL_SELF_MANAGED.

Backends

Backends host your gRPC server instances. You can use managed or unmanaged instance groups in Compute Engine and zonal NEGs in Google Kubernetes Engine as backends to host your gRPC server instances.

What's next