版本 1.8

为 SLO 创建提醒政策

本页面介绍如何在 Cloud Monitoring 中为您在 Anthos Service Mesh 中创建的服务等级目标 (SLO) 创建提醒政策。

如需了解 SLO,请参阅服务等级目标概览

在服务即将违反 SLO 时,Cloud Monitoring 可能会触发提醒。您可以根据错误预算的使用率创建提醒政策。有关错误预算的所有提醒都具有相同的基本条件:合规期的错误预算的指定百分比会在回溯期(如前 60 分钟的时间段)中使用。当您创建提醒政策时,Anthos Service Mesh 会根据 SLO 中的设置自动设置提醒的大多数条件。您需要指定回溯期和使用百分比。

确定您应该为回溯期和使用百分比设置哪些值可能需要进行反复试验。您可以将默认回溯期 60 分钟用作起点。如需确定使用百分比,请监控服务行为,以查看之前 60 分钟内使用的总错误预算的百分比(合规期内)。您希望设置使用百分比,以避免在回溯期内承受的错误预算超出承受范围,但您不希望无谓地设置提醒。

例如,假设您创建了一个具有以下名称的 SLO:95% < 300ms Latency in Calendar Week

使用此 SLO 时,在一周内的请求总数中,只有 5% 的延迟时间可以超过 300 毫秒。达到或超出 5% 将使用总错误预算。如果您将回溯期设置为一小时,则每个回溯期为合规期的 1/168(一周有 168 小时)。如需计算在一周内未超过总错误预算的每小时使用百分比,请进行以下运算:5% ÷ 1680.03%

由于您的服务的延迟时间可能会因负载或其他条件而波动,因此将 0.03% 设置为使用百分比可能会触发不必要的提醒。您可以先将值设为该值的两倍(即 0.06%),然后再监控您的服务并根据需要进行调整。

准备工作

为您的其中一项服务创建 SLO

针对 SLO 创建提醒政策

  1. 转到服务的运行状况标签页:

    1. 在 Google Cloud Console 中,转到 Anthos Service Mesh

      转到 Anthos Service Mesh

    2. 从菜单栏的下拉列表中选择 Cloud 项目。

    3. 点击您要为其创建提醒政策的服务。

    4. 在左侧导航栏中,点击运行状况

  2. 点击您要为其创建提醒政策的 SLO。

  3. 在右侧的 SLO 的当前状态部分中,点击创建提醒政策链接。

    如果您从未使用过 Cloud Monitoring,那么您在 Google Cloud Console 中首次访问 Monitoring 时,系统会自动创建一个工作区,并将您的项目与该工作区相关联。否则,如果您的项目未与工作区关联,则系统会显示一个对话框,您可以创建一个工作区,也可以将您的项目添加到现有工作区。我们建议您创建一个工作区。完成选择后,请点击添加

    此时将显示添加条件对话框。Anthos Service Mesh 会根据 SLO 中的设置自动填充 SLO 消耗率 (SLO Burn Rate) 条件。您可配置 SLO 消耗率 (SLO Burn Rate) 条件,以便在 SLO 的错误预算下降过快时收到提醒。您希望确保在 SLO 用完错误预算之前收到提醒。

    Cloud Monitoring 添加条件对话框的屏幕截图。

  4. 配置条件:

    1. 如需为条件命名,请点击建议的标题 (Suggested title) 链接,以根据您的 SLO 使用该名称,或输入条件的名称。
    2. 目标部分的回溯期 (Lookback Duration) 字段中输入回溯期,或使用默认值。
    3. 配置部分的阈值字段中输入使用百分比。
    4. 点击保存。此时将显示新建提醒政策窗口。
  5. 配置提醒政策:

    1. 输入政策名称。
    2. 系统会自动填充条件,但您可以选择添加其他条件。
    3. 如果提醒政策只有一个条件,则将政策触发器 (Policy triggers) 字段保留为满足任意条件 (Any condition is met) 的默认值。
    4. (可选)配置通知文档部分。如需了解详情,请参阅管理提醒政策
    5. 点击保存。此时将显示政策详情页面。
    6. 如需返回 Anthos Service Mesh 信息中心,请点击导航菜单 并转到 Anthos > 服务

后续步骤

Creating an alerting policy for an SLO

This page describes how to create an alerting policy in Cloud Monitoring for a service level objective (SLO) that you create in the Anthos Service Mesh Dashboard.

For an introduction to SLOs, see the Service level objectives overview.

Cloud Monitoring can trigger an alert when a service is on track to violate an SLO. You can create an alerting policy based on the rate of consumption of your error budget. All alerts on error budgets have the same basic condition: a specified percentage of the error budget for the compliance period is consumed in a lookback period, which is a time period, such as the previous 60 minutes. When you create the alerting policy, Anthos Service Mesh automatically sets most of the conditions for the alert based on the settings in the SLO. You specify the lookback period and the consumption percentage.

Determining what values you should set for the lookback period and consumption percentage might take some trial and error. You could use the default lookback period of 60 minutes as a starting point. To determine the consumption percentage, monitor the service behavior to see what percentage of the total error budget (over the compliance period) was consumed in the previous 60 minutes. You want to set the consumption percentage so that you don't burn more error budget in the lookback period than you can afford, but you don't want to set off an alert unnecessarily.

For example, suppose you created an SLO with the following name: 95% < 300ms Latency in Calendar Week

With this SLO, only 5% of the total number of requests in a week can have a latency > 300ms. Hitting or exceeding 5% consumes your total error budget. If you set the lookback period to one hour, each lookback period is 1/168 of your compliance period (there are 168 hours in a week). To calculate the hourly consumption percentage that doesn't exceed the total error budget for the week: 5% ÷ 1680.3%

Because latency for your service can fluctuate depending on load or other conditions, setting 0.3% as the consumption percentage might trigger unnecessary alerts. You could start with a value twice that, or 0.6%, then monitor your service and adjust the value as needed.

Before you begin

Create an SLO for one of your services.

Creating an alerting policy on an SLO

To have Anthos Service Mesh automatically create an alerting policy condition based on your SLO, you must access Cloud Monitoring through the Create Alerting Policy link in the Anthos Service Mesh Dashboard.

To create an alerting policy for an SLO

  1. Go to the Health tab for a service:

    1. In the Google Cloud Console, go to the Anthos Service Mesh Dashboard.

      Go to the Anthos Service Mesh Dashboard

    2. Select the Cloud project from the drop-down list on the menu bar.

    3. If you have more than one service mesh, select the mesh from the Service Mesh drop-down list.

    4. Click the service that you want to create an alerting policy for.

    5. In the left navigation bar, click Health.

  2. Click the SLO that you want to create an alerting policy for.

  3. In the Current Status of SLO section on the right, click the Create Alerting Policy link.

    If you have never used Cloud Monitoring, then a Workspace is automatically created and your project is associated with that Workspace. Otherwise, if your project isn't associated with a Workspace, then a dialog appears and you can either create a new Workspace or add this project to an existing Workspace. After you make your selection, click Add.

    The Add condition dialog displays. Anthos Service Mesh automatically populates the SLO Burn Rate condition based on the settings in the SLO. You configure the SLO Burn Rate condition so that you get an alert when the SLO's error budget is declining too rapidly. You want to make sure that you get an alert before the SLO is out of error budget.

    Screenshot of the Cloud Monitoring add condition dialog box.

  4. Configure the condition:

    1. To name the condition, click the Suggested title link to use the name based on your SLO, or enter a name for the condition.
    2. In the Target section, enter the lookback period in the Lookback Duration field, or use the default value.
    3. In the Configuration section, enter the consumption percentage in the Threshold field.
    4. Click Save. The Create new alerting policy window displays.
  5. Configure the alerting policy:

    1. Enter a policy name.
    2. The condition is automatically populated, but you can optionally add another condition.
    3. If the alerting policy has only one condition, then leave the Policy triggers field at the default value of Any condition is met.
    4. Optionally, configure the Notifications and Documentation sections. See Managing alerting policies for more information.
    5. Click Save. The Policy details page is displayed.
    6. To go back to the Anthos Service Mesh dashboard, click the Navigation menu and go to Anthos > Services.

What's next