Traffic Director 用于多环境部署

Traffic Director 支持扩展到 Google Cloud 以外的环境,包括本地数据中心以及您可以使用混合连接与之连接的其他公有云。

您可以配置 Traffic Director,以便您的服务网格能够将流量发送到 Google Cloud 外部的端点。这些端点包括:

  • 本地负载平衡器。
  • 另一个云平台中的虚拟机实例上的服务器应用。
  • 您可以使用混合连接与之连接,并且可以使用 IP 地址和端口进行访问的其他任何目的地。

您只要将每个端点的 IP 地址和端口添加到混合连接网络端点组 (NEG)。

Traffic Director 对本地和多云端服务的支持让您可以执行以下操作:

  • 在全球范围内路由流量,包括路由到本地和多云端服务的端点。
  • 在运行在 Google Cloud 以外的现有基础架构上的服务中引入 Traffic Director 和服务网格的优势(包括服务发现和高级流量管理等功能)。
  • 将 Traffic Director 功能与 Cloud Load Balancing 结合使用,以在多环境中引入 Google Cloud 网络服务。

使用场景

Traffic Director 可以在多个环境中配置基于虚拟机和基于容器的服务之间的网络,环境包括:

  • Google Cloud
  • 本地数据中心
  • 其他公有云

将网格流量路由到本地位置或其他云

此功能最简单的使用场景就是流量路由。您的应用正在运行 Traffic Director 客户端(Envoy 代理或无代理 gRPC)。Traffic Director 让客户端可以得知您的服务和每个服务的端点。

将网格流量路由到本地位置或其他云。
将网格流量路由到本地位置或其他云(点击可放大)

在上图中,当您的应用向 on-prem 服务发送请求时,Traffic Director 客户端会检查出站请求,并更新其目的地。目标设置为与 on-prem 服务关联的端点(在本例中为 10.2.0.1)。然后,请求将通过 Cloud VPNCloud Interconnect 传送到预期目标。

如果需要添加更多端点,请更新 Traffic Director,以便为您的服务添加这些端点。您无需更改应用代码。

将现有本地服务迁移到 Google Cloud

通过将流量发送到非 Google Cloud 端点,您可以将流量路由到其他环境。您可以将此功能与高级流量管理相结合,从而在不同环境之间迁移服务。

从本地位置迁移到 Google Cloud。
从本地位置迁移到 Google Cloud(点击可放大)

上图对以前的模式进行了扩展。您可以对 Traffic Director 进行配置,以使用基于权重的流量拆分来拆分服务,而非将所有流量都发送到 on-prem 服务。

通过流量拆分,您可以先向 cloud 服务发送 0% 的流量,而向 on-prem 服务发送 100% 的流量。然后,您可以逐步增加发送到 cloud 服务的流量比例。最终,将 100% 的流量发送到 cloud 服务,并且您可以停用 on-prem 服务。

用于本地部署和多云端部署的 Google Cloud 网络边缘服务

最后,您可以将此功能与 Google Cloud 的现有网络解决方案结合使用。Google Cloud 提供了广泛的网络服务,例如利用 Google Cloud Armor 提供分布式拒绝服务 (DDoS) 保护的全局外部负载平衡,您可以将其与 Traffic Director 搭配使用,以实现新功能。最重要的是,您不需要向公共互联网公开这些本地服务或多云端服务。

跨多个环境的部署。
跨多个环境的部署(点击可放大)

在上图中,来自公共互联网客户端的流量会从 Google Cloud 负载平衡器(例如全球外部 HTTP(S) 负载平衡器)进入 Google Cloud 的网络。当流量到达负载平衡器时,您可以应用网络边缘服务,例如 Google Cloud Armor DDoS 防护或 Identity-Aware Proxy (IAP) 用户身份验证。如需了解详情,请参阅多环境部署的网络边缘服务

应用这些服务后,流量在 Google Cloud 中会出现短暂停留,也就是应用或独立代理(由 Traffic Director 配置)在 Cloud VPN 或 Cloud Interconnect 中的流量转发到您的在本地服务中。

Google Cloud 资源和架构

本部分提供有关 Google Cloud 资源的背景信息,可用于提供适用于本地和多云端环境的 Traffic Director 管理的服务网格。

下图展示了为 Traffic Director 启用本地和多云端服务支持的 Google Cloud 资源。关键资源是 NEG(及其网络端点)。其他资源是您在标准 Traffic Director 设置过程中配置的资源。为简单起见,该图标未显示多个全局后端服务等选项。

适用于本地和多云端服务的 Compute Engine 资源。
适用于本地和多云端服务的 Compute Engine 资源(点击可放大)

配置 Traffic Director 时,可以使用全局后端服务 API 资源来创建服务。服务是包含以下内容的逻辑构造:

  1. 客户端尝试向服务发送流量时应用的政策。
  2. 处理发往服务的流量的一个或多个后端或端点。

本地和多云端服务与 Traffic Director 配置的其他任何服务是相似的。主要区别在于使用混合连接 NEG 来配置这些服务的端点。这些 NEG 将网络端点类型设置为 non-gcp-private-ip-port。您添加到混合连接 NEG 的端点必须是您的客户端可以访问的有效 IP:port 组合(例如,通过 Cloud VPN 或 Cloud Interconnect 等混合连接来访问)。

每个 NEG 都具有网络端点类型,并且只能包含相同类型的网络端点。此类型决定了以下事项:

  • 您的服务可以传送流量的目标。
  • 运行状况检查行为。

创建 NEG 时,请按如下方法配置 NEG,以便能够将流量发送到本地或多云端目标。

  • 将网络端点类型设置为 non-gcp-private-ip-port。这表示 IP 地址可以访问。如果此 IP 地址位于本地或其他云服务提供商的环境中,那么必须通过混合连接(例如 Cloud VPN 或 Cloud Interconnect 提供的连接)从 Google Cloud 进行访问。
  • 指定 Google Cloud 地区,以最大限度地减少 Google Cloud 与本地或多云端环境之间的地理位置距离。例如,如果您在德国法兰克福的某一环境中托管影响服务,则可以在创建 NEG 时指定 europe-west3-a Google Cloud 可用区。

此类型的网络端点的运行状况检查行为与其他类型的网络端点的运行状况检查行为不同。其他网络端点类型使用 Google Cloud 的集中式运行状况检查系统,而 non-gcp-private-ip-port 网络端点使用 Envoy 的分布式运行状况检查机制。有关详情,请参阅限制和其他注意事项部分。

连接和网络注意事项

您的 Traffic Director 客户端(例如 Envoy 代理和无代理 gRPC 库)必须能够连接到位于 trafficdirector.googleapis.com:443 的 Traffic Director。如果与 Traffic Director 控制平面的连接中断,会发生以下情况:

  • 现有 Traffic Director 客户端无法接收来自 Traffic Director 的配置更新。它们继续根据其当前配置执行操作。
  • 新的 Traffic Director 客户端无法连接到 Traffic Director。除非重新建立连接,否则他们无法使用服务网格。

如果要在 Google Cloud 和本地或多云端环境之间发送流量,则必须通过混合连接来连接环境。我们建议通过 Cloud VPN 或 Cloud Interconnect 启用高可用性连接。

本地、其他云和 Google Cloud 子网 IP 地址和 IP 地址范围不得重叠。

限制和其他注意事项

设置 proxyBind

您只能在创建 targetHttpProxy 时设置 proxyBind 的值。您不能更新现有 targetHttpProxy

连接和连接中断

如需详细了解连接要求和限制,请参阅连接和网络注意事项部分。

混合后端类型

后端服务可以具有虚拟机或 NEG 后端。如果后端服务具有 NEG 后端,则所有 NEG 都必须包含相同的网络端点类型。一个后端服务不能具有多个 NEG,且每个 NEG 都具有不同的端点类型。

网址映射可具有解析为不同后端服务的主机规则。您可能拥有一个仅包含混合连接 NEG 的后端服务(具有本地端点),以及一个包含独立 NEG 的后端服务(具有 GKE 端点)。网址映射可以包含规则(例如基于权重的流量拆分),用来在每个后端服务中拆分流量。

将包含类型为 non-gcp-private-ip-port 的端点的 NEG 与 Google Cloud 后端结合使用

您可以创建包含混合连接 NEG 以指向 Google Cloud 中的后端的后端服务。但是,我们不建议使用此模式,因为混合连接 NEG 不能受益于集中式运行状况检查。如需查看集中式运行状况检查和分布式运行状况检查的说明,请参阅运行状况检查部分。

端点注册

如果要向 NEG 添加端点,则必须更新 NEG。此操作可以手动完成,也可以使用 Google Cloud NEG REST API 或 gcloud 命令行工具自动执行。

当服务的新实例启动时,您可以使用 Google Cloud API 将实例注册到您配置的 NEG。使用 Compute Engine 代管实例组 (MIG) 或 GKE(在 Google Cloud 中)时,MIG 或 NEG 控制器会自动处理端点注册。

运行状况检查

使用混合连接 NEG 时,运行状况检查行为与标准集中式运行状况检查行为具有以下不同之处:

  • 对于 gce-vm-ip-port 类型的网络端点,Traffic Director 会从 Google Cloud 的集中式运行状况检查系统接收端点运行状况信息。Traffic Director 将此信息提供给您的 Traffic Director 客户端,这样您便无需进行可能产生高额费用的基于数据平面的运行状况检查。
  • 对于 non-gcp-private-ip-port 类型的网络端点,Traffic Director 会将其客户端配置为使用数据平面来处理运行状况检查。为避免向运行状况不佳的后端发送请求,Envoy 实例会执行自己的运行状况检查并使用其自己的机制
  • 由于您的数据平面处理运行状况检查,因此您无法使用 Google Cloud Console、API 或 gcloud 命令行工具来检索运行状况检查状态。

实际上,使用 non-gcp-private-ip-port 意味着:

  • 仅支持 HTTP 和 TCP 运行状况检查。
  • 由于 Traffic Director 客户端以分布式方式处理运行状况检查,您可能会看到网络流量因执行运行状况检查而有所增加。这种增加取决于 Traffic Director 客户端的数量,以及每个客户端需要执行运行状况检查的端点数量。例如:
    • 当您向混合连接 NEG 添加其他端点时,现有 Traffic Director 客户端可能会开始对混合连接 NEG 中的端点进行运行状况检查。
    • 当您向服务网格添加另一个实例(例如,运行应用代码及 Traffic Director 客户端的虚拟机实例)时,新实例可能会开始检查混合连接 NEG 的运行状况。
    • 网络流量因运行状况检查而以二次函数 (O(n^2)) 速率增长。

VPC 网络

服务网格由其 Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) 网络名称唯一地标识。Traffic Director 客户端根据引导配置中指定的 VPC 网络从 Traffic Director 接收配置。因此,即使您的网格完全位于 Google Cloud 数据中心之外,您也必须在引导配置中提供有效的 VPC 网络名称。

服务帐号

在 Google Cloud 中,默认的 Envoy 引导配置为从 Compute Engine 和/或 GKE 部署环境读取服务帐号信息。在 Google Cloud 外部运行时,您必须在 Envoy 引导中明确指定服务帐号、网络名称和项目编号。此服务帐号必须具有连接 Traffic Director API 所需的足够权限

后续步骤

Traffic Director with hybrid connectivity network endpoint groups

Traffic Director supports environments that extend beyond Google Cloud, including on-premises data centers and other public clouds that you can use hybrid connectivity to reach.

You configure Traffic Director so that your service mesh can send traffic to endpoints that are outside of Google Cloud. These endpoints include the following:

  • On-premises load balancers.
  • Server applications on a virtual machine (VM) instance in another cloud.
  • Any other destination that you can reach with hybrid connectivity and that can be reached with an IP address and a port.

You add each endpoint's IP address and port to a hybrid connectivity network endpoint group (NEG).

Traffic Director's support for on-premises and multi-cloud services lets you do the following:

  • Route traffic globally, including to the endpoints of on-premises and multi-cloud services.
  • Bring the benefits of Traffic Director and service mesh—including capabilities such as service discovery and advanced traffic management—to services running on your existing infrastructure outside of Google Cloud.
  • Combine Traffic Director capabilities with Cloud Load Balancing to bring Google Cloud networking services to multi-environments.

Use cases

Traffic Director can configure networking between VM-based and container-based services in multiple environments, including:

  • Google Cloud
  • On-premises data centers
  • Other public clouds

Route mesh traffic to an on-premises location or another cloud

The simplest use case for this feature is traffic routing. Your application is running a Traffic Director client (either Envoy proxy or proxyless gRPC). Traffic Director tells the client about your services and each service's endpoints.

Routing mesh traffic to an on-premises location or another cloud.
Routing mesh traffic to an on-premises location or another cloud (click to enlarge)

In the preceding diagram, when your application sends a request to the on-prem service, the Traffic Director client inspects the outbound request and updates its destination. The destination gets set to an endpoint associated with the on-prem service (in this case, 10.2.0.1). The request then travels over Cloud VPN or Cloud Interconnect to its intended destination.

If you need to add more endpoints, you update Traffic Director to add them to your service. You don't need to change your application code.

Migrate an existing on-premises service to Google Cloud

Sending traffic to a non-Google Cloud endpoint lets you route traffic to other environments. You can combine this capability with advanced traffic management to migrate services between environments.

Migrating from an on-premises location to Google Cloud.
Migrating from an on-premises location to Google Cloud (click to enlarge)

The preceding diagram extends the previous pattern. Instead of configuring Traffic Director to send all traffic to the on-prem service, you configure Traffic Director to use weight-based traffic splitting to split traffic across two services.

Traffic splitting lets you start by sending 0% of traffic to the cloud service and 100% to the on-prem service. You can then gradually increase the proportion of traffic sent to the cloud service. Eventually, you send 100% of traffic to the cloud service, and you can retire the on-prem service.

Google Cloud network edge services for on-premises and multi-cloud deployments

Finally, you can combine this functionality with Google Cloud's existing networking solutions. Google Cloud offers a wide range of network services, such as global external load balancing with Google Cloud Armor for distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) protection, that you can use with Traffic Director to bring new capabilities to your on-premises or multi-cloud services. Best of all, you don't need to expose these on-premises or multi-cloud services to the public internet.

Deployments spanning multiple environments.
Deployments spanning multiple environments (click to enlarge)

In the preceding diagram, traffic from clients on the public internet enters Google Cloud's network from a Google Cloud load balancer, such as our global external HTTP(S) load balancer. When traffic reaches the load balancer, you can apply network edge services such as Google Cloud Armor DDoS protection or Identity-Aware Proxy (IAP) user authentication. For more information, see Network edge services for multi-environment deployments.

After you apply these services, the traffic makes a brief stop in Google Cloud, where an application or standalone proxy (configured by Traffic Director) forwards the traffic across Cloud VPN or Cloud Interconnect to your on-premises service.

Google Cloud resources and architecture

This section provides background information about the Google Cloud resources that you can use to provide a Traffic Director-managed service mesh for on-premises and multi-cloud environments.

The following diagram depicts the Google Cloud resources that enable on-premises and multi-cloud services support for Traffic Director. The key resource is the NEG (and its network endpoints). The other resources are the resources that you configure as part of a standard Traffic Director setup. For simplicity, the diagram does not show options such as multiple global backend services.

Compute Engine resources for on-premises and multi-cloud services.
Compute Engine resources for on-premises and multi-cloud services (click to enlarge)

When you configure Traffic Director, you use the global backend services API resource to create services. A service is a logical construct that combines the following:

  1. Policies to apply when a client tries to send traffic to the service.
  2. One or more backends or endpoints that handle the traffic that is destined for the service.

On-premises and multi-cloud services are like any other service that Traffic Director configures. The key difference is that you use a hybrid connectivity NEG to configure the endpoints of these services. These NEGs have the network endpoint type set to non-gcp-private-ip-port. The endpoints that you add to hybrid connectivity NEGs must be valid IP:port combinations that your clients can reach (for example, through hybrid connectivity such as Cloud VPN or Cloud Interconnect).

Each NEG has a network endpoint type and can only contain network endpoints of the same type. This type determines the following:

  • The destination to which your services can send traffic.
  • Health checking behavior.

When you create your NEG, configure it as follows so that you can send traffic to an on-premises or multi-cloud destination.

  • Set the network endpoint type to non-gcp-private-ip-port. This represents a reachable IP address. If this IP address is on-premises or at another cloud provider, it must be reachable from Google Cloud by using hybrid connectivity, such as the connectivity provided by Cloud VPN or Cloud Interconnect.
  • Specify a Google Cloud zone that minimizes the geographic distance between Google Cloud and your on-premises or multi-cloud environment. For example, if you are hosting a service in an on-premises environment in Frankfurt, Germany, you can specify the europe-west3-a Google Cloud zone when you create the NEG.

Health checking behavior for network endpoints of this type differs from health checking behavior for other types of network endpoints. While other network endpoint types use Google Cloud's centralized health checking system, non-gcp-private-ip-port network endpoints use Envoy's distributed health checking mechanism. For more details, see the Limitations and other considerations section.

Connectivity and networking considerations

Your Traffic Director clients, such as Envoy proxies and proxyless gRPC libraries, must be able to connect to Traffic Director at trafficdirector.googleapis.com:443. If you lose connectivity to the Traffic Director control plane, the following happens:

  • Existing Traffic Director clients cannot receive configuration updates from Traffic Director. They continue to operate based on their current configuration.
  • New Traffic Director clients cannot connect to Traffic Director. They cannot use the service mesh until connectivity is re-established.

If you want to send traffic between Google Cloud and on-premises or multi-cloud environments, the environments must be connected through hybrid connectivity. We recommend a high availability connection enabled by Cloud VPN or Cloud Interconnect.

On-premises, other cloud, and Google Cloud subnet IP addresses and IP address ranges must not overlap.

Limitations and other considerations

The following are limitations of using hybrid connectivity NEGs.

Setting proxyBind

You can only set the value of proxyBind when you create a targetHttpProxy. You can't update an existing targetHttpProxy.

Connectivity and disruption to connectivity

For details about connectivity requirements and limitations, see the Connectivity and networking considerations section.

Mixed backend types

A backend service can have VM or NEG backends. If a backend service has NEG backends, all NEGs must contain the same network endpoint type. You cannot have a backend service with multiple NEGs, each with different endpoint types.

A URL map can have host rules that resolve to different backend services. You might have a backend service with only hybrid connectivity NEGs (with on-premises endpoints) and a backend service with standalone NEGs (with GKE endpoints). The URL map can contain rules, for example, weight-based traffic splitting, that split traffic across each of these backend services.

Using a NEG with endpoints of type non-gcp-private-ip-port with Google Cloud backends

It is possible to create a backend service with a hybrid connectivity NEG that points to backends in Google Cloud. However, we do not recommend this pattern because hybrid connectivity NEGs don't benefit from centralized health checking. For an explanation of centralized health checking and distributed health checking, see the Health checking section.

Endpoint registration

If you want to add an endpoint to a NEG, you must update the NEG. This can either be done manually, or it can be automated by using the Google Cloud NEG REST APIs or the gcloud command-line tool.

When a new instance of a service starts, you can use the Google Cloud APIs to register the instance with the NEG that you configured. When using Compute Engine managed instance groups (MIGs) or GKE (in Google Cloud), the MIG or NEG controller automatically handles endpoint registration, respectively.

Health checking

When you use hybrid connectivity NEGs, health checking behavior differs from the standard centralized health checking behavior in the following ways:

  • For network endpoints of type gce-vm-ip-port, Traffic Director receives endpoint health information from Google Cloud's centralized health checking system. Traffic Director provides this information to your Traffic Director clients, eliminating the need for potentially costly data plane-based health checking.
  • For network endpoints of type non-gcp-private-ip-port, Traffic Director configures its clients to use the data plane to handle health checking. To avoid sending requests to unhealthy backends, Envoy instances perform their own health checks and use their own mechanisms.
  • Because your data plane handles health checks, you cannot use the Google Cloud Console, the API, or the gcloud command-line tool to retrieve health check status.

In practice, using non-gcp-private-ip-port means the following:

  • Only HTTP and TCP health checks are supported.
  • Because Traffic Director clients each handle health checking in a distributed fashion, you might see an increase in network traffic because of health checking. The increase depends on the number of Traffic Director clients and the number of endpoints that each client needs to health check. For example:
    • When you add another endpoint to a hybrid connectivity NEG, existing Traffic Director clients might begin to health check the endpoints in hybrid connectivity NEGs.
    • When you add another instance to your service mesh (for example, a VM instance that runs your application code as well as a Traffic Director client), the new instance might begin to health check the endpoints in hybrid connectivity NEGs.
    • Network traffic because of health checks increases at a quadratic (O(n^2)) rate.

VPC network

A service mesh is uniquely identified by its Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) network name. Traffic Director clients receive configuration from Traffic Director based on the VPC network specified in the bootstrap configuration. Therefore, even if your mesh is entirely outside of a Google Cloud data center, you must supply a valid VPC network name in your bootstrap configuration.

Service account

Within Google Cloud, the default Envoy bootstrap is configured to read service account information from either or both of the Compute Engine and GKE deployment environments. When running outside of Google Cloud, you must explicitly specify a service account, network name, and project number in your Envoy bootstrap. This service account must have sufficient permissions to connect with the Traffic Director API.

What's next