使用 Cloud 支持服务时的最佳做法

您撰写的支持案例越详细,Google 支持团队就越能快速高效地回复您。如果您的支持案例缺少关键细节,我们会要求您提供更多信息,这就会占用更多的时间。通过本指南,您可以了解需要为技术支持案例提供哪些信息,以便我们能够更快地解决相关问题。

描述问题

良好的问题报告应做到详细且具体。报告应说明发生了什么,以及您原本的预期是什么。良好的问题报告包含以下详细信息:

  • 时间:出现问题的具体时间。
  • 产品:与问题关联的产品和功能。
  • 位置:您看到发生问题的地区。
  • 标识符:项目/应用 ID 及可帮助我们调查问题的其他具体标识符。
  • 有用的文件:您可以提供的有助于我们诊断问题的任何详细信息。
  • 问题类型:问题是间歇性的、瞬时性的还是持续性的。

以下各个部分详细介绍了这些概念。

时间

对于日期和时间戳,请采用 ISO 8601 格式,告诉我们您第一次发现该问题的时间,以及问题持续了多久。

示例:

  • 从 2017-09-08T15:13:06+00:00 开始,5 分钟后结束,我们观察到…
  • 开始时间不早于 2017-09-10,间歇性观察到 2-5 次…
  • 自 2017-09-08T15:13:06+00:00 起一直持续…
  • 从 2017-09-08T15:13:06+00:00 到 2017-09-08T15:18:16+00:00…

负责解决问题的支持工程师很可能与您不在同一个时区,因此如下所示的相对表述会使问题更难以诊断:

  • “这个问题从昨天某个时刻开始…”(迫使我们推断具体日期)。
  • “我们在 9/8 注意到这个问题…”(有歧义,因为有些人可能理解为 9 月 8 日,而其他人可能会理解为 8 月 9 日)。

产品

虽然基本案例表单要求您注明产品名称,但我们需要关于该产品中的什么功能出现问题的具体信息。 理想情况下,您的报告应包含具体的 API 或 Cloud Console 网址(或屏幕截图)。 对于 API,您可以链接到文档页面,该页面的网址中包含产品名称。

此外,请告诉我们您发起请求所用的机制(例如 REST API、gcloud 工具、Cloud Console,或者 Deployment Manager 等工具)。如果涉及到多个产品,请注明每个产品的名称。

示例:

  • “Google Compute Engine REST API 返回以下错误…”
  • “console.cloud.google.com 中的 BigQuery 查询界面卡住不动…”

以下陈述不够具体,会令我们在诊断问题时不知道从哪里着手:

  • “无法创建实例…”(我们需要了解您创建实例所用的方法)。
  • gcloud compute create instances 命令给出错误…”(命令语法不正确,因此我们无法运行该命令来重现错误。此外,我们也不知道您实际看到了什么错误。)

位置

我们需要了解您的数据中心所在的区域和地区,因为我们通常单独向各个区域或地区发布更改。我们可以根据区域和地区间接获知底层的软件版本号。该信息可帮助我们了解特定版本软件的重大更改是否影响了您的系统。

示例:

  • “在 us-east1-a…”
  • “我试过区域 us-east1 和 us-central1…”

标识符

具体标识符可帮助我们识别您的哪个 Cloud 项目遇到问题。我们始终需要知道字母数字形式的项目或应用 ID。项目名称没有帮助。如果问题影响到多个项目,请纳入所有受影响的 ID。

除了项目或应用 ID 以外,还有几个标识符可帮助我们诊断您的案例:

  • 实例 ID。
  • BigQuery 作业 ID 或表名称。
  • IP 地址。

提供 IP 地址时,请说明其使用情境。例如,注明该 IP 是关联到计算实例、负载平衡器、自定义路由还是 API 端点。此外,请告诉我们相应 IP 地址是否与 Google 的系统无关(例如,它是不是您的家用互联网、VPN 端点或外部监控系统的地址)。

示例:

  • “在项目 robot-name-165473 或 my-project-id 中…”
  • “在多个项目中(包括 my-project-id)…”
  • “从我们公司网关 56.56.56.56 连接到 GCP 外部 IP 218.239.8.9…”

以下一般性陈述过于宽泛,无助于问题诊断:

  • “我们无法访问某个实例…”
  • “我们无法通过互联网连接到…”

有用的文件

向我们提供与问题相关的文件可帮助我们准确了解您遇到的问题,从而加快问题排查。

例如:

  • 使用屏幕截图显示您所看到的具体问题。
  • 对于网页界面,请提供 .HAR (Http ARchive) 文件。HAR 分析器 提供了针对三款主要浏览器的说明。
  • 将 tcpdump 输出、日志片段、示例堆栈轨迹添加为附件。

问题类型:

  • 间歇性:间歇性问题随机发生,没有有规律的故障模式。间歇性问题很难进行排查,因为它们没有规律,导致难以在故障期间收集数据。在这种情况下,您应尝试找出架构中的瓶颈,并检查您的资源是否达到其最大阈值用量。您还可以使用自动化在预定作业中频繁执行检查,如果检查失败,则在失败期间收集调试信息。此类故障的示例包括 DNS 解析失败和丢包。

  • 瞬时性:瞬时性问题暂时存在,或仅存在很短时间。如果您遇到的问题只发生一秒钟或者几微秒,您可以检查是否有短暂的流量或资源使用峰值。在大多数情况下,如果瞬时性问题不经常发生,且您的服务设计为可以容忍瞬时故障,则可以忽略。此类故障的示例包括仅出现几微秒的网络延迟高峰,以及导致超时的少量丢包。请注意,传输控制协议 (TCP) 的设计考虑了诸如少量丢包和延迟高峰等故障,除非您的应用对延迟敏感,否则它可以有效地处理这些问题。

  • 持续性:持续性问题指导致全面故障的问题,例如网站停机。持续性问题相对比较容易排查,因为它们可以重现。这种情况下,请告诉我们重现问题的步骤,以便我们的支持工程师能够复制该环境并为您排查问题。

设置和提升优先级

优先级可帮助我们了解该问题对您业务的影响,并且会影响我们解决问题的响应速度。优先级的定义见下表。您可以在 Cloud 支持流程 中找到更多信息。

优先级定义 示例情境
P1:重大影响 - 生产环境中的服务无法使用 生产环境中的应用或基础架构无法使用,向用户显示大量错误。对业务的影响重大(收入损失、潜在数据完整性问题等)。
P2:高度影响 - 服务受到很大影响 基础架构在生产环境中性能降级,向用户显示较多错误,或者难以启动新的生产系统。对业务的影响中等(存在收入损失的风险、工作效率降低等)。
P3:中度影响 - 服务受到部分影响 问题影响的范围和/或严重性有限。问题不会带来用户可见的影响。对业务的影响小(例如,为业务造成不便,业务流程受到微小影响等)。
P4:低影响 - 服务完全能够使用 对业务或技术几乎没有或根本没有影响。建议通过咨询工单解决,这一途径会更多地进行深入分析、问题排查或者咨询,而不是更频繁的沟通。

何时设置最高优先级

如果您遇到的问题会影响关键业务服务并且需要 Google 立即加以关注,请选择“P1”优先级。请向我们详细解释您选择 P1 的原因,简要说明该问题对您的业务产生的影响。例如,如果开发版本的某个问题妨碍了重要的安全修复,即使没有直接影响到任何最终用户,也建议您将该问题划分为 P1。

当案例设置为 P1 时,值班的支持团队成员会立即收到通知,以寻找合适的专家专门处理该问题。您会快速收到首次响应(企业客户在 15 分钟之内,基于角色的支持服务生产角色客户不超过 1 小时)。首次响应后,您会收到定期更新。

感谢您对所选优先级的详细评论,因为这有助于我们做出适当的回复。

响应时间

Google Cloud Platform 技术支持服务准则所定义,各个问题优先级具有预定义的响应时间。如果您需要在特定时间之前收到回复,请在报告说明中告诉我们。如果需要我们不分时段即刻处理 P1 问题,您可以申请 “全天候” 服务。我们会每天多次将这些案例分配给当班的支持工程师。

升级

当情况变化时,您可能需要提高问题的优先级,以便其更快获得关注。提升优先级的合理理由包括:

  • 对业务的影响加剧。
  • 需要更快地解决问题。
  • 经过几个回合的沟通后,问题仍然“停滞不前”,毫无进展。

升级 GCP 支持案例时,支持经理会立即收到通知并在 1 小时内向您通告更新信息。升级经理将负责该升级事宜,直到结案。经理将确定升级的根本原因,加以解决,并上报预防措施以避免将来出现类似升级。

如需升级案例,您需要点击创建案例 60 分钟后出现的升级案例按钮。

长期存在或难以解决的问题

需要很长时间才能解决的问题可能会变得信息陈旧且令人费解。要防止发生这种情况,最好的方法是使用我们的长期问题模板收集信息,将最新状态信息汇总在顶部。

要使用该模板,请打开上文中的链接并复制一份副本。请提供指向所有相关案例和内部跟踪错误条目的链接。将此文档提供给您的客户支持团队,并请他们将其转交给特定的支持工程师。

该文档包括以下内容:

  • 当前状态摘要(位于顶部)。
  • 可能成立的假设的列表。
  • 您打算用于测试每个假设的测试或工具。

尽量在每个案例中只提出一个问题,并避免通过重开案例来提出新问题。

报告生产环境服务中断

如果问题导致您的应用停止向用户传送流量,或者产生类似的关键业务影响,这可能属于生产环境服务中断问题。我们希望尽快获知此类问题。与此相对,仅对少数开发者造成影响的问题不是我们所说的生产环境服务中断问题。

收到生产环境服务中断报告后,我们会通过以下方式对情况进行快速分类:

  • 立即检查是否有影响 GCP 基础架构的已知问题。
  • 确认问题的性质。
  • 建立沟通渠道。

您会收到一条简短回复,其中将包含以下信息:

  • 影响多个客户的任何相关已知问题。
  • 确认我们能观察到您所报告的问题,或者请您提供更多详细信息。
  • 我们希望采用的沟通方式(如电话、环聊或案例)。

因此,请务必快速创建包含时间、产品、标识符和位置信息的案例,然后开始更深入地排查问题。您的组织可能有规定的突发事件管理流程,此步骤应在该流程中尽早执行。

Google 的突发事件管理流程定义了一个关键角色:突发事件指挥官。 此人会负责联络适当人员加入进来、持续收集最新状态、定期汇总问题的状态, 以及委派其他人进行问题排查并执行更改。通过这种委派,我们可以并行调查多个假设。我们建议您在组织内部也建立类似的流程。创建案例的人员通常是突发事件指挥官的最佳人选,因为他们最了解情况。

报告网络问题

Google 网络规模大、复杂性高,致使人们难以分辨出了问题应找哪个团队负责。要诊断网络问题,我们需要找出非常具体的根本原因。由于网络错误消息通常十分笼统(如“无法连接到服务器”),因此我们需要收集详细的诊断信息,以缩小可能的假设范围。

数据包流程图为问题报告提供了良好的参考结构。这些图表说明了数据包在从来源到目标的路径中经过的重要跃点,以及过程中的任何重大转换。

首先通过互联网 IP 地址或者通过 RFC 1918 专用地址及网络标识符来识别受影响的网络端点。例如,2.3.4.5 或 Compute Engine 项目的默认网络上的 10.2.3.4。

请注意与端点有关的任何有意义的信息,如:

  • 谁控制着它们。
  • 它们是否与 DNS 主机名关联。
  • 任何中间封装和/或间接连接,如 VPN 隧道、代理和 NAT 网关。
  • 任何中间过滤,如防火墙或 CDN 或 WAF。

表现为高延迟或间歇性丢包的许多问题需要进行路径分析和/或数据包捕获,以便执行诊断。

  • 路径分析是数据包遍历的所有跃点的列表,也就是通常所知的“traceroute”。我们经常使用 MTR 和/或 tcptraceroute,因为它们的诊断能力更好,因此请熟悉这些工具。
  • 数据包捕获(又称为“pcap”,得名于库“libpcap”)是对实际网络流量的观察。必需同时对两个端点进行数据包捕获,此过程可能很复杂。建议使用必要的工具(如 tcpdumpWireshark)进行练习,并尽早安装以备不时之需。

示例案例

示例 1

作业名称:

A_ATL_BIG1toBQ_big_04)201704202

00045_491

来源:

S3_avl-transfer

目的地:

CloudStorage:avl-transfer

开始时间(ISO 8601 格式):2017-04-20 20:14:43 PDT

结束时间(ISO 8601 格式):2017-04-21 10:03:44 PDT

我在 2017-04-20 20:14:43 PDT 开始使用 Transfer API 传输文件。该作业通常只需 10 分钟即可完成,但这一次,当我在次日 (2017-04-21 10:03:44 PDT) 取消作业时,作业仍在运行。这并不是一次孤立事件;涉及该 API 的多个其他作业均出现了间歇性重大延迟。

请调查延迟的原因,并告知我们可以实施的任何最佳做法,以防止未来再出现此问题。

示例 2

开始时间(ISO 8601 格式):2017-05-12 11:03:43

结束时间(ISO 8601 格式):截至本报告提交之时,问题仍然存在。

问题摘要:

使用 App Engine Task Queue API 的 /cron/payments-service/sync-v2-batch cron 作业自 2017-05-12 11:03:43 起停止运行。我们依赖该作业正确处理付款。

我们看到数据存储区和队列错误,然后此 Cron 作业就停止了运行。我们尝试通过重新上传 cron.xml 来修复问题,但未能成功。错误跟踪记录如下所示:

[error trace]

请说明问题在于 API 还是在于我们的实现方式,并告知应采取什么后续步骤。

Best Practices for Working with Cloud Support

Writing a detailed support case makes it easier for the Google Support team to respond to you quickly and efficiently. When your support case is missing critical details, we need to ask for more information, which takes additional time. This guide lets you know the information we need to resolve your technical support case, so we can resolve it faster.

Describing the issue

The best issue reports are both detailed and specific. They tell us what happened and what you expected to happen. A good issue report contains the following details:

  • Time: The specific timestamp when the issue began.
  • Product: The product(s) and feature(s) associated with the issue.
  • Location: The zone(s) where you are seeing the issue.
  • Identifiers: The project/application ID and other concrete identifiers that help us research the issue.
  • Useful artifacts: Any details you can provide to help us diagnose the issue.

The following sections describe these concepts in greater detail.

Time

Using the ISO 8601 format for the date and time stamp, tell us when you first noticed this issue and how long it lasted.

Examples:

  • Starting at 2017-09-08T15:13:06+00:00 and ending 5 minutes later, we observed ...
  • Observed intermittently, starting no earlier than 2017-09-10 and observed 2-5 times...
  • Ongoing since 2017-09-08T15:13:06+00:00...
  • From 2017-09-08T15:13:06+00:00 to 2017-09-08T15:18:16+00:00...

The Support Engineer resolving the issue is very likely not in your timezone, so relative statements like the following make the problem harder to diagnose:

  • "This started sometime yesterday..." (Forces us to infer the implied date.)
  • "We noticed the issue on 9/8..." (Ambiguous, as some may interpret this as September 8, and others may interpret it as August 9.)

Product

Although the basic case form asks you to specify a product name, we need specific information about which feature in that product is having the issue. Ideally, your report will refer to specific APIs or Cloud Console URLs (or screenshots). For APIs, you can link to the documentation page, which contains the product name in the URL.

Also tell us about the mechanism you're using to initiate the request (for example, REST API, gcloud tool, Cloud Console, or perhaps a tool like Deployment Manager. If multiple products are involved, give us each name specifically.

Examples:

  • "Google Compute Engine REST API returned the following errors..."
  • "The BigQuery query interface in console.cloud.google.com is hanging..."

The following statements are not specific enough to know where to look when diagnosing the issue:

  • "Can't create instances..." (We need to know the method you are using to create instances.)
  • "The gcloud compute create instances command is giving an error..."(The command syntax is incorrect, so we can't run it ourselves to reproduce the error. Also, we don't know which error you actually saw.)

Location

We need to know your data center region and zone because we often roll out changes to one region or zone at a time. The region and zone are a proxy for the version number of the underlying software. This information helps us to know if breaking changes in a particular version of our software are affecting your systems.

Examples:

  • "In us-east1-a ..."
  • "I tried regions us-east1 and us-central1..."

Identifiers

Specific identifiers help us identify which of your Cloud projects is experiencing the issue. We always need to know the alphanumeric project or application ID. Project names are not helpful. If the issue is affecting multiple projects, include every affected ID.

In addition to project or application IDs, several other identifiers help us diagnose your case:

  • Instance IDs.
  • BigQuery job IDs or table names.
  • IP addresses.

When specifying an IP address, also tell us the context in which it is used. For example, specify if the IP connected to a Compute instance, a load balancer, a custom route, or an API endpoint. Also tell us if the IP address is not related to Google's systems (for example, if the IP address is for your home internet, a VPN endpoint, or an external monitoring system).

Examples:

  • "In project robot-name-165473 or my-project-id..."
  • "Across multiple projects (including my-project-id)..."
  • "Connecting to GCP external IP 218.239.8.9 from our corporate gateway 56.56.56.56..."

General statements like the following are too general to help diagnose the issue:

  • "One of our instances is unreachable..."
  • "We can't connect from the internet..."

Useful artifacts

Providing us with artifacts related to the issue will speed up troubleshooting by helping us see exactly what you are seeing.

For example:

  • Use a screenshot to show exactly what you see.
  • For Web-based Interfaces, provide a .HAR (Http ARchive) file. The HAR analyzer has instructions for three major browsers.
  • Attach tcpdump output, logs snippets, example stack traces.

Setting and escalating priority

Priority helps us understand the impact this issue is having on your business, and affects how quickly we respond to resolve the issue. For a list of priority definitions, see the procedures reference.

When to set the highest priority

If you have an issue that is affecting business critical services and needs immediate attention from Google, choose "P1" as the priority. Explain to us in detail why you selected P1. Include a brief description of the impact this issue is having on your business. For example, you may consider a problem with a dev version to be P1, even if no end users are directly impacted, if it is blocking a critical security fix.

Response times

Issue priority levels have predefined response times defined in the Google Cloud Platform Technical Support Services Guidelines. If you need a response by a specific time, let us know in your report description. If a P1 issue needs to be handled around the clock, you can request "follow the sun" service. These cases are re-assigned several times per day to an active support engineer.

Escalating the priority

When circumstances change, you may need to escalate the issue to give it more prompt attention. Good reasons for escalation are:

  • Increase in business impact.
  • Issue needs to be resolved faster.
  • Issue is "stuck" without progress after exchanging several messages.

To escalate the case, simply change its priority. For example, you can change an issue from P3 to P2. If you do this, tell us why this change is necessary. Our case-handling system will then notify an agent, who will review your case and follow up. We appreciate detailed comments about why the escalation is necessary because it helps us respond appropriately.

Long-running or difficult issues

Issues that take a long time to resolve can become confusing and stale. The best way to prevent this is to collect information using our Long-running issue template with the latest state summarized at the top.

To use the template, simply open the above link and make a copy. Include links to all relevant cases and internal tracking bugs. Share this doc with your account team's group and ask them to share it with specific support engineers.

This doc includes:

  • A summary of the current state summarized at the top.
  • A list of the hypotheses that are potentially true.
  • The tests or tools that you intend to use to test each hypothesis.

Try to keep each case focused on a single issue, and avoid reopening a case to bring up a new issue.

Reporting a production outage

If the issue has caused your application to stop serving traffic to users, or has similar business-critical impact, this may be a production outage. We want to know as soon as possible. Issues that block a small number of developers, by contrast, are not what we think of as production outages.

When we get a report of a production outage, we quickly triage the situation by:

  • Immediately checking for known issues affecting GCP infrastructure.
  • Confirming the nature of the issue.
  • Establishing communication channels.

You can expect a response with a brief message, which will contain:

  • Any related known issues affecting multiple customers.
  • An acknowledgement that we can observe the issue you've reported, or a request for more details.
  • How we intend to communicate (for example, phone, Hangout, or case).

Therefore, it's important to quickly create a case including time, product, identifiers, and location, and then start deeper troubleshooting. Your organization may have a defined incident management process and this step should be executed very near the beginning of it.

Google's incident management process defines a key role: the incident commander. This person gets the right people involved, continually collects the latest status, and periodically summarizes the state of the issue. They delegate to others to troubleshoot and apply changes. This delegation allows us to investigate multiple hypotheses in parallel. We recommend that you establish a similar process within your organization. The person who opened the case is usually the best choice to be the incident commander because they have the most context.

Reporting a networking issue

The size and complexity of Google's network can make it difficult to identify which team owns the problem. To diagnose networking issues, we need to identify very specific root causes. Because networking error messages are often general (like, "Can't connect to server"), we need to gather detailed diagnostic information to narrow down the possible hypotheses.

Packet flow diagrams provide an excellent structure for the issue report. These diagrams describe the important hops that a packet takes along a path from source to destination, along with any significant transformations along the way.

Start by identifying the affected network endpoints by Internet IP address or by RFC 1918 private address plus an identifier for the network. For example, 2.3.4.5 or 10.2.3.4 on the Compute Engine project's default network.

Note anything meaningful about the endpoints, such as:

  • Who controls them.
  • Whether they are associated with a DNS hostname.
  • Any intermediate encapsulation and/or indirection, such as VPN tunneling, proxies, and NAT gateways.
  • Any intermediate filtering, like firewalls or CDN or WAF.

Many problems that manifest as high latency or intermittent packet loss will require a path analysis and/or a packet capture for diagnosis.

  • Path analysis is a list of all hops that packets traverse and is familiar as "traceroute". We often use MTR and/or tcptraceroute because they have better diagnostic power, so please be familiar with these tools.
  • Packet capture (aka "pcap," from the name of the library "libpcap") is an observation of real network traffic. It's important to take a packet capture for both endpoints, at the same time, which can be tricky. It's a good idea to practice with the necessary tools (for example tcpdump or Wireshark) and make sure they are installed before you need them.

Sample Cases

Example 1

JobName:

A_ATL_BIG1toBQ_big_04)201704202

00045_491

Source:

S3_avl-transfer

Destination:

CloudStorage: avl-transfer

Start time (ISO 8601 format): 2017-04-20 20:14:43 PDT

End time (ISO 8601 format): 2017-04-21 at 10:03:44 PDT

I started a file transfer at 2017-04-20 at 20:14:43 PDT using the transfer API. This job normally takes 10 minutes to complete, but in this case the job was still running when I canceled it the next day (2017-04-21 at 10:03:44 PDT). This is not an isolated event; several other jobs involving the transfer API had intermittent, significant delays.

Please investigate the cause of the delays and advise of any best practices we can implement to prevent these issues in the future.

Example 2

Start time (ISO 8601 format): 2017-05-12 at 11:03:43

End time (ISO 8601 format): The issue is still happening as of the time of this report.

Issue summary:

/cron/payments-service/sync-v2-batch cron using the App Engine Task Queue API has stopped running since 2017-05-12 at 11:03:43. We rely on this job to handle payments correctly.

We saw datastore and queue errors and then the cron stopped running. We attempted unsuccessfully to fix the issue by re-uploading cron.xml. Here is the error trace:

[error trace]

Please advise if the issue is with the API or our implementation and let us know next steps.

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...