性能信息中心概览

使用集合让一切井井有条 根据您的偏好保存内容并对其进行分类。

通过性能信息中心,您可以了解整个 Google Cloud 网络的性能以及项目资源的性能。

借助这些性能监控功能,您可以区分应用中的问题和底层 Google Cloud 网络中的问题。此外,您还可以调试历史网络性能问题。

性能信息中心还会将数据导出到 Cloud Monitoring。 您可以使用 Monitoring 查询数据并获取其他信息。如需了解详情,请参阅查看监控指标

项目性能视图

项目性能视图中,性能信息中心会显示以下流量类型的指标:虚拟机到虚拟机的流量以及虚拟机到互联网的流量。

虚拟机实例之间的流量

性能信息中心会显示拥有 Compute Engine 虚拟机 (VM) 实例的可用区丢包和延迟时间指标(在摘要图表和热图视图中)。它提供当前数据以及过去 6 周的指标。例如,您的项目在 Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) 网络中拥有地区 A 和 B 中的虚拟机。在这种情况下,性能信息中心会提供项目在两个可用区之间丢包和延迟时间详情的相关数据。

您还可以在表格视图中查看实际虚拟机间流量的样本的汇总延迟时间指标,具体取决于所选时间段。延迟时间详情表列出了虚拟机及其相应的延迟时间详情。

Google Cloud 和互联网位置之间的流量

性能信息中心会显示 Compute Engine 虚拟机 (VM) 实例所在的区域以及与这些虚拟机通信的互联网位置的延迟时间指标。它提供当前延迟时间数据以及六周的历史数据。例如,您的项目有一个虚拟私有云网络,该网络在区域 A 中有一些虚拟机,该区域接收来自城市 X 和 Y 的客户端的流量。在这种情况下,性能信息中心会提供有关项目在区域 A 与城市 X 和 Y 之间的延迟时间详情的数据。

如要查看项目指标,请点击性能信息中心页面顶部的查看项目性能。如需查看有关所测量内容的更多示例和详细信息,请参阅指标

Google Cloud 性能视图

在 Google Cloud 性能视图中,性能信息中心会显示每个可能的 Google Cloud 可用区对的总体 Google Cloud 指标。信息中心会显示 Google Cloud 网络的状态,可让您比较所有 Google Cloud 的性能与项目中观察到的性能。

您可以查看以下流量类型的指标:虚拟机到虚拟机的流量以及 Google Cloud 到互联网的流量。

虚拟机实例之间的流量

性能信息中心会显示所有 Google Cloud 中的丢包和延迟时间指标。这些指标可帮助您了解每个项目信息中心中发现的问题是否是您的项目所独有的。

Google Cloud 性能视图显示所选时间段(默认情况下为一小时)内最多 50 个可用区对的时序数据。

您可以查看任何 Google Cloud 可用区对的网络性能,即使您未在这些可用区部署您的项目也是如此。您可以查看区域级和可用区级的性能。摘要时序图显示最多 50 个可用区对,这些可用区对在所有 Google Cloud 中,虚拟机之间的丢包率最高或延迟时间最长。

Google Cloud 和互联网之间的流量

性能信息中心会显示所有 Google Cloud 区域和互联网端点中的虚拟机之间的延迟时间指标。您可以将流量聚合到城市、地理区域和国家/地区级别,并查看特定区域-地理位置位置对的流量覆盖率(前提是该对位置有足够的 Google Cloud 流量)。

这些指标可帮助您评估每个项目的信息中心中明显的问题是否是您的项目所独有的。全局指标还有助于您规划未来的部署。

如需查看 Google Cloud 性能指标,请点击性能信息中心页面顶部的查看所有 Google Cloud 的性能。如需从项目性能视图查看 Google Cloud 性能指标,您可以将指针悬停在特定可用区对上。如需查看有关所测量内容的更多示例和详细信息,请参阅指标

指标

性能信息中心提供两种指标:丢包率和延迟时间(往返时间,简称 RTT)。为了获得项目的丢包指标,项目中需要有足够的虚拟机数。如要获得延迟时间指标,您需要有足够的流量。除此之外,性能信息中心无需任何设置。

以下各部分更详细地介绍了这两种指标。

丟包率

丢包率指标显示以下各项之间的主动探测结果:

  • 单个 VPC 网络中的虚拟机。

  • 对等互连的 VPC 网络中的虚拟机(如果其中一个或者两个网络都位于您的项目中)。如果对等互连的网络位于不同的项目中,则丢包率在目标项目中可见。

  • 您的项目使用的共享 VPC 网络中的虚拟机。使用共享 VPC 网络的两个项目之间的丢包率在目标服务项目中可见。

例如,假设项目 A 包含两个 VPC 网络:网络 A(仅在可用区 A 中有虚拟机)和网络 M(仅在可用区 M 中有虚拟机)。如果这两个网络对等互连,则项目 A 的性能信息中心会显示 A/M 地区对的丢包率数据。如果这两个网络没有对等互连,则性能信息中心不显示该地区对的丢包率数据。

另一方面,假设这两个网络不在同一项目中。也就是说,假设网络 A 属于项目 A,而网络 M 属于项目 M。如果这两个网络对等互连并且地区 M 是目标地区,则项目 M 的性能信息中心会显示丢包率数据。相反,当地区 A 是目标地区时,丢包率数据仅对项目 A 可见。如果这两个网络没有对等互连,则两个项目的性能信息中心都不会显示该可用区对的丢包率数据。

性能信息中心汇总通过所有探测收集的数据。也就是说,性能信息中心不允许您分离项目内丢包率与其他类型的数据(例如与另一个项目中的对等互连 VPC 网络相关的丢包率)。但是,您可以使用 Monitoring 深入分析并查看更精细的结果。如需了解详情,请参阅查看监控指标

性能信息中心不会通过 Cloud VPN 连接发送探测。

方法

性能信息中心在承载虚拟机的物理主机上运行工作器。这些工作器会插入和接收与您的流量在同一网络上运行的探测数据包。由于这些工作器在物理主机上而不是虚拟机上运行,因此它们不会消耗虚拟机资源,并且流量在虚拟机上不可见。

探测覆盖了可以相互通信的整个虚拟机网格,这不一定与您的流量模式相同。因此,您可能会在性能信息中心上看到丢包迹象,但在应用中没有丢包迹象。

对于所有要探测的虚拟机,我们尝试通过其内部 IP 地址和外部 IP 地址(如果有)来访问。探测不会离开 Google Cloud,但通过使用外部 IP 地址,性能信息中心可以覆盖外部流量(例如来自互联网的流量)使用的部分路径。

使用 UDP 数据包衡量内部 IP 地址的丢包率,使用 TCP 数据包衡量外部 IP 地址的丢包率。

指标可用性和置信度

性能信息中心探测网络中的一部分虚拟机对。 然后根据收集的数据来估算您可能会遇到的丢包率。Google 对数据的置信度取决于探测速率,探测速率取决于您在每个地区拥有的虚拟机数量以及您部署了虚拟机的地区数。例如,两个地区中的 10 个虚拟机比 10 个地区中的 10 个虚拟机具有更高的置信度。

所有虚拟机(包括由 Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE) 创建的虚拟机)都会计入虚拟机总数。

下表介绍了各种不同的置信度。在热图中,较低的置信度会标注星号 (*) 或 N/A

Level 每个可用区所需虚拟机数 性能信息中心在热图上显示的内容
95% 置信度 10 个虚拟机 x 项目中的可用区数量。例如,如果您的项目有 12 个可用区,则每个可用区必须有 120 个虚拟机。 没有任何其他标注的测量结果
90% 置信度 2.5 个虚拟机 x 项目中的可用区数量。例如,如果您的项目有 12 个可用区,则每个可用区必须有 30 个虚拟机。 没有任何其他标注的测量结果
置信度较低 带有星号的测量结果
探测不足,无法获得有意义的数据 N/A

Google Cloud 丢包率指标始终可用。如果每分钟的探测数量少于 400 个,则会显示星号 (*)。

特定于项目的延迟时间

延迟时间指标可通过以下各项之间的客户流量来测量:

  • 单个 VPC 网络中的虚拟机。
  • 对等互连的 VPC 网络之间的虚拟机(如果网络均位于同一项目)。
  • 虚拟机和互联网端点(预览版)。

此外,共享 VPC 网络中某个服务项目的性能信息中心仅显示该服务项目中可用区的数据。 也就是说,假设可用区 A 和服务项目 A 中的一个虚拟机使用宿主项目与可用区 B 和服务项目 B 中的一个虚拟机进行通信。这两个服务项目或宿主项目均无法获得关于该流量的测量结果。

Google Cloud 延迟时间

延迟时间指标可通过以下各项之间的实际客户流量来测量:

  • 单个 VPC 网络中的虚拟机。
  • 对等互连的 VPC 网络之间的虚拟机。
  • 虚拟机和互联网端点(预览版)。

项目和 Google Cloud 延迟时间的方法

延迟时间是使用 TCP 数据包来测量的。

根据实际流量样本,延迟时间的计算方式为:发送 TCP 序列号 (SEQ) 与接收包含网络 RTT 和 TCP 堆栈相关延迟时间的相应 ACK 之间经过的时间。界面将延迟时间显示为所有相关测量值的中位数。

延迟时间指标基于与 VPC 流日志相同的数据源和采样方法。

指标可用性

Google Cloud 延迟时间指标始终可用。只有 TCP 流量大约每分钟达到 1000 个数据包或更高时,每个项目才能使用延迟时间指标。

指标摘要表

下表总结了用于报告丢包率和延迟时间指标的探测方法和协议。

丟包率 延迟时间
探测方法 主动探测(综合虚拟机流量) 被动探测(虚拟机实际流量)
协议 UDP(内部 IP 地址)、TCP(外部 IP 地址) TCP(内部/外部 IP 地址)

权限

如需通过 Google Cloud 控制台或通过 Monitoring 访问性能信息中心数据,您必须具有 monitoring.timeSeries.list 权限。下表列出的 Monitoring 角色中包含此权限。

角色名称 角色 ID
监控查看者 roles/monitoring.viewer
Monitoring Editor roles/monitoring.editor
监控管理员 roles/monitoring.admin

如需了解包含 monitoring.timeSeries.list 权限的其他角色,请参阅了解角色

后续步骤

Performance Dashboard overview

Performance Dashboard gives you visibility into the performance of the entire Google Cloud network, as well as to the performance of your project's resources.

With these performance-monitoring capabilities, you can distinguish between a problem in your application and a problem in the underlying Google Cloud network. You can also investigate historical network performance problems.

Performance Dashboard also exports data to Cloud Monitoring. You can use Monitoring to query the data and get access to additional information. For details, see Performance Dashboard metrics reference.

Project performance view

In the project performance view, Performance Dashboard shows packet loss or latency metrics only for zones where you have project virtual machine (VM) instances. For example, VM-to-VM traffic and VM-to-internet traffic. You can select up to five regions where the workloads are deployed. The dashboard lets you see and understand the following:

  • Packet loss summary
  • Packet loss average between region pairs of the regions selected
  • Packet loss average between zone pairs of selected regions
  • Latency summary
  • Latency median between region pairs of the regions selected
  • Latency median between zone pairs of the regions selected

Traffic between VM instances

Performance Dashboard shows packet loss and latency metrics (in summary charts and heatmap views) for zones where you have Compute Engine virtual machine (VM) instances. It provides current data and metrics for the past six weeks. For example, your project has a Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) network with VMs in zones A and B. In such a case, Performance Dashboard provides packet loss and latency metrics for your project between those two zones.

You can also view the aggregated latency metrics from a sample of your actual VM-to-VM traffic in a tabular view depending on the selected time period. The latency details table lists the VMs and their corresponding latency details.

Traffic between Google Cloud and internet locations

Performance Dashboard shows latency metrics for regions where you have Compute Engine virtual machine (VM) instances and the internet locations of the end devices that communicate with the VMs. It provides the current latency metrics and six weeks worth of historical data. For example, your project has a Virtual Private Cloud network with VMs in region A that receive traffic from clients in cities X and Y. In such a case, Performance Dashboard provides latency metrics for your project between region A and cities X and Y.

To view project metrics, click View project performance at the top of the Performance Dashboard page. For more examples and details about what is measured, see Metrics.

Google Cloud performance view

In the Google Cloud performance view, Performance Dashboard shows zone-to-zone packet loss and latency metrics across all Google Cloud. For example, VM-to-VM traffic and Google Cloud to internet traffic. The dashboard shows the status of the Google Cloud network and lets you compare the performance across all of Google Cloud to the performance observed in your projects. You can select up to five Google Cloud regions to see and understand the following:

  • Packet loss summary. This view can show up to 50 zone pairs with VM-to-VM packet loss in all of Google Cloud.
  • Packet loss average between zone pairs.
  • Latency summary. This view can show up to 50 zone pairs with VM-to-VM round trip time (RTT) in all of Google Cloud.
  • Median latency between zone pairs.

Traffic between VM instances

Performance Dashboard shows the packet loss and latency metrics across all of Google Cloud. These metrics can help you understand whether issues evident in the per-project dashboard are unique to your project.

The Google Cloud performance view shows time series data for up to 50 zone pairs for the selected time window, which by default is one hour.

You can view network performance for any Google Cloud zone pair, even if your project is not deployed in those zones. You can view the performance at both the region level and the zone level. A summary time series chart shows up to 50 zone pairs with the highest aggregated VM-to-VM packet loss or latency across all of Google Cloud.

Traffic between Google Cloud and internet locations

Performance Dashboard shows latency metrics between VMs across all Google Cloud regions and internet endpoints. You can aggregate the traffic to city, geographic region, and country levels. You can view the latency metrics that correspond to specific region-geographic location pairs if there is sufficient Google Cloud traffic for that pair.

These metrics can help you assess whether issues apparent in the per-project dashboard are unique to your project. The global metrics can also help you plan future deployments.

To view the Google Cloud performance metrics, click View performance for all of Google Cloud at the top of the Performance Dashboard page. To view the Google Cloud performance metrics from the project performance view, you can hold the pointer over the specific zone pairs. For more examples and details about what is measured, see Metrics.

Metrics

Performance Dashboard provides two kinds of metrics: packet loss and latency (round-trip time, or RTT). To get packet loss metrics for your project, you need a sufficient number of VMs in the project. To get latency metrics, you need a sufficient amount of traffic. Other than that, Performance Dashboard requires no setup.

The following sections describe both metrics in more detail.

Packet loss

Packet loss metrics show the results of active probing between the following:

  • VMs within a single VPC network.

  • VMs in peered VPC networks, when one or both networks sit within your project. If the peered networks sit in different projects, packet loss is visible in the destination project.

  • VMs in a Shared VPC network that is used by your project. Packet loss between two projects that use a Shared VPC network is visible in the destination service project.

For example, suppose project A includes two VPC networks: network A, which has VMs only in zone A, and network M, which has VMs only in zone M. If those two networks are peered, project A's Performance Dashboard shows the packet loss data for the A/M zone pair. If the networks are not peered, Performance Dashboard does not show the packet loss metric for that zone pair.

On the other hand, suppose that these two networks are not in the same project. That is, suppose network A is part of project A, and network M is part of project M. When the networks are peered, project M's Performance Dashboard shows packet loss data for situations where zone M is the destination zone. Conversely, when zone A is the destination zone, the packet loss data is visible only to project A. If the networks are not peered, neither project's Performance Dashboard shows packet loss data for the zone pair.

The data gathered through all the probes is aggregated in Performance Dashboard. That is, Performance Dashboard does not let you isolate data about intra-project packet loss versus other types (such as packet loss related to a peered VPC network in another project). However, you can use Monitoring to drill down and see results that are more granular. For details, see Performance Dashboard metrics reference.

Performance Dashboard does not send probes over Cloud VPN connections.

Methodology

Performance Dashboard runs workers on the physical hosts that house your VMs. These workers insert and receive probe packets that run on the same network as your traffic. Because the workers run on the physical hosts and not on your VMs, these workers do not consume VM resources, and the traffic is not visible on your VMs.

The probes cover the entire mesh of VMs that can communicate with each other, which is not necessarily the same as your traffic pattern. Therefore, you might see indications of packet loss in Performance Dashboard, but no evidence of packet loss in your application.

For all probed VMs, we try to access the VM both by using its internal IP address and external IP address (if one exists). The probes do not leave Google Cloud, but by using external IP addresses, Performance Dashboard can cover part of the path that would be used by external traffic, such as traffic coming from the internet.

Packet loss for internal IP addresses is measured by using UDP packets, and packet loss for external IP addresses is measured by using TCP packets.

Metric availability and confidence levels

Performance Dashboard probes a subset of all VM-VM pairs in the network. The data gathered is then used to estimate the packet loss that you might experience. Google's confidence in the data depends on the probing rate, and the probing rate depends on the number of VMs that you have in each zone, as well as the number of zones where you have VMs deployed. For example, having 10 VMs in two zones generates more confidence than having 10 VMs in 10 zones.

All VMs, including those created by Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE), count toward the total number of VMs.

The varying levels of confidence are described in the following table. Lower levels of confidence are flagged in the heatmap with an asterisk (*) or N/A.

Level Required number of VMs in each zone What Performance Dashboard shows on the heatmap
95% confidence 10 VMs x the number of zones in the project. For example, if you have 12 zones in your project, you must have 120 VMs in each zone. A measurement without any additional notations
90% confidence 2.5 VMs x the number of zones in the project. For example, if you have 12 zones in your project, you must have 30 VMs in each zone. A measurement without any additional notations
Low confidence A measurement with an asterisk
Not enough probes to have meaningful data N/A

The Google Cloud packet loss metrics are always available. An asterisk (*) is displayed if there are fewer than 400 probes per minute.

Project-specific latency

Latency metrics are measured by using customer traffic between the following:

  • VMs within a single VPC network
  • VMs between peered VPC networks, if the networks sit in the same project
  • VMs and internet endpoints

Additionally, the Performance Dashboard for a service project within a Shared VPC network shows data only for the zones within the service project. That is, suppose a VM in zone A and service project A uses the host project to communicate with a VM in zone B and service project B. Measurements about that traffic are not available to either service project or the host project.

Google Cloud latency

Latency metrics are measured by using actual customer traffic between the following:

  • VMs within a single VPC network
  • VMs between peered VPC networks
  • VMs and internet endpoints

Methodology for project and Google Cloud latency

Latency is measured by using TCP packets.

Based on a sample of your actual traffic, latency is calculated as the time that elapses between sending a TCP sequence number (SEQ) and receiving a corresponding ACK that contains the network RTT and TCP stack-related delay. The dashboard shows latency as the median of all relevant measurements.

The latency metric is based on the same data source and sampling methodology as VPC Flow Logs.

The project-specific latency is based on samples from your project. The Google Cloud latency is based on samples from all of Google Cloud.

The global latency metrics are derived from passive sampling of TCP traffic headers, and not through active probing from Google Cloud to internet endpoints.

Latency metric anomalies

Note the following latency metric anomalies:

  • For low rate environments, Network Intelligence Center uses sixty-second probes for latency metrics. Therefore, RTT metrics based on packet sampling might report false high latency levels when TCP-based services return a delayed application-level response. You can usually recognize the false high RTT levels by checking if they correspond with application-level delays.

    Although the TCP-based service responds quickly with an ACK, the sampling misses the ACK and counts a later data response as the closing ACK to a much earlier SEND, which distorts the overall RTT measurement. In these cases, you can disregard the RTT metrics.

  • Sometimes, the project-specific latency data doesn't align with the global latency data. Such misalignment can happen if the global dataset also incorporates other network paths with significantly different latencies relative to the network path used by the specific project.

Metric availability

The Google Cloud latency metric is always available. The per-project latency metric is available only if TCP traffic is around 1000 packets per minute or higher.

Metrics summary table

The following table summarizes the probing methods and protocols used for reporting packet loss and latency metrics.

Packet loss Latency
Probing method Active probing (synthetic VM traffic) Passive probing (actual VM traffic)
Protocol UDP (internal IP address), TCP (external IP address) TCP (internal/external IP addresses)

Latency views

The latency details for the Internet to Google Cloud traffic type are available in three views: Table view, Map view, and Timeline view.

Table view

The Table view shows the median RTT between the selected geographic areas and the regions that contain VM instances in your project. The table includes the following details:

  • Country: The name of the country.
  • Cities: The number of cities. You can view the latency details of each specific city in the country details graph.
  • Destination regions: The number of destination regions with traffic for users from a given country.
  • Median latency: The median RTT between the country and regions in milliseconds.

Map view

The Map view displays the geographic locations (metro areas or cities) and Google Cloud regions.

  • You can view the median latency of specific locations and Google Cloud regions.
  • You can select a Google Cloud region and view the locations with traffic to the selected region.
  • You can view location-specific details in a latency graph in the sidebar.
  • You can search for locations by using the search box in the map.
  • Locations are color-graded in different shades of blue to indicate the ranges of median latency on the map. In the following image, the color of a circle showing a given city on a global map can be one shade of blue. The darker the shade of blue, the greater the latency of that city from a given Google Cloud region.

    Ranges of median latency on the map.
    Ranges of median latency on the map (click to enlarge).

Timeline view

The Timeline view shows the median RTT between the selected geographic areas and Google Cloud regions. It provides the current latency metrics and six weeks worth of historical data. You can use the filters to further aggregate the traffic to city, geographic region, and country levels. You can only view the latency metrics corresponding to specific region-geographic location pairs if there is sufficient Google Cloud traffic for that pair.

Permissions

To access Performance Dashboard data, either through the Google Cloud console or through Monitoring, you must have the monitoring.timeSeries.list permission. This permission is included in the Monitoring roles listed in the following table.

Role name Role ID
Monitoring Viewer roles/monitoring.viewer
Monitoring Editor roles/monitoring.editor
Monitoring Admin roles/monitoring.admin

For information about other roles that include the monitoring.timeSeries.list permission, see Understanding roles.

Change project scope

To make use of an existing metrics scope and monitor multiple Google Cloud projects in a single view, select the scoping project by using the Google Cloud console project picker or the Change Scope button. You can also select a single monitoring project by using these options. For more information, see Performance Dashboard metrics reference.

You can create alerts for high packet loss based on predefined conditions. The alerting policy for packet loss is triggered when the packet loss exceeds 5% for 5 minutes for any region pair.

Alerting gives timely awareness to problems in your cloud applications so that you can resolve the problems quickly. An alerting policy describes the circumstances under which you want to be alerted and how you want to be notified. For more information about creating and managing alerting policies, see Introduction to alerting.

What's next