问题排查

丢包的短暂峰值持续了几分钟

某些持续数分钟的短暂峰值是预期的或可能的。检查是否有持续时间超过五分钟的持续丢失。如果您看到这种丢失,或者丢失影响了您的网络或应用性能,请参阅获取支持

延迟时间峰值

延迟时间针对第 4 层流量进行测量,并且受在远程虚拟机上运行的 TCP/IP 堆栈的影响。某些具有独特 TCP/IP 堆栈实现的应用(例如 VPN 应用)可能会在性能信息中心人为增加延迟时间。如果在缺少可能影响 TCP/IP 堆栈的自定义应用的情况下,延迟时间出现高峰,请参阅获取支持

性能信息中心中没有任何数据

如果看不到丢包信息,请确保您正在查看的 Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) 或共享 VPC 网络中有虚拟机 (VM) 实例。性能信息中心使用有效探测来测量区域之间的丢包。有效探测的数量与网络中的虚拟机数量有关。如果您正在查看的网络没有虚拟机,则将没有有效探测,也无法测量丢包率。

如果您看不到延迟时间信息,请确保您的虚拟机实例产生了足够的流量。

按区域热图的丢包包含空单元(标记为 N/A

如果项目是共享 VPC 的一部分,则可以这样做。在这种情况下,矩阵可能包含来源区域的数据;在这些区域中,项目本身没有虚拟机,但是同一共享 VPC 中的其他项目却有虚拟机。使用共享 VPC 的两个项目之间的丢包将计入目标服务项目。

丢包显示在性能信息中心内,但未显示在应用中

丢包基于主动探测,这种探测涵盖了可以相互通信的虚拟机的整个网格。您的流量模式只能使用该网格的一部分。您的应用可能没有利用有问题的网络路径。

另一种可能是,我们没有足够的测量结果来给出高置信度的结果。如果某个区域中的虚拟机数量很少,或者虚拟机数量有波动,则可能会发生这种情况。

在计算丢包率时,我们还会添加抢占式虚拟机,并且当虚拟机被抢占时,此类虚拟机所占百分比较高的项目可能会显示出更高的丢包率。检查更高的丢包率是否对应于抢占式虚拟机关闭的时间段。

两个区域之间的延迟时间显示的常量值

延迟时间数据存储为分布。这意味着,如果所有测量值都落在分布中的同一个范围内(较高的延迟时间值更有可能发生这种情形),则结果图会显示一个恒定值,该值是范围间隔的平均值。

例如,假设每 10 毫秒一个范围(0 毫秒至 10 毫秒、10 毫秒至 20 毫秒、20 毫秒至 30 毫秒,依此类推),并且有三个不同的延迟时间测量值(251 毫秒、256 毫秒和 253 毫秒),则所有测量值都落在 250 毫秒至 260 毫秒的范围间隔内。延迟时间将显示为 255 毫秒,这是 250 毫秒至 260 毫秒这一范围间隔的平均值。如果记录了 259 毫秒的新测量值,则延迟时间仍将显示为 255 毫秒。

排查 Google Cloud 性能指标问题

Google Cloud 性能看起来比项目性能更稳定

由于 Google Cloud 性能指标将所有 Google Cloud 项目中汇总在一起,因此它们显示的变异数量较少。这表明即使因随机因素、自然变化和测量噪声,单个项目的性能展现出较大的编译,地区对的性能通常也能保持稳定。

可以在 Google Cloud 性能视图(非项目视图中)中选择 Google Cloud 地区。

对于特定项目视图,您只能选择部署了项目的地区。通过 Google Cloud 性能视图,您可以查看从任何 Google Cloud 地区到其他任何 Google Cloud 地区的性能。

地区对中没有项目数据,但存在 Google Cloud 性能数据

Google Cloud 性能指标是通过汇总所有 Google Cloud项目估算得出的,并且始终可用。

后续步骤

Troubleshooting

Short spikes in packet loss that last a few minutes

Certain short spikes lasting for a few minutes are expected or possible. Check for sustained loss that lasts for greater than five minutes. If you see such loss, or if the loss impacts your network or application performance, see Getting support.

Spikes in latency

Latency is measured over Layer 4 traffic and is impacted by the TCP/IP stack running on the remote VM. Some applications with unique TCP/IP stack implementations (such as VPN applications) might artificially increase latency in Performance Dashboard. If latency spikes despite the absence of custom applications that might impact the TCP/IP stack, see Getting support.

No data in Performance Dashboard

If you can't see packet loss information, make sure that you have virtual machine (VM) instances in the Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) or Shared VPC network that you are viewing. Performance Dashboard uses active probes to measure packet loss between zones. The number of active probes is related to the number of VMs in the network. If the network that you are viewing has no VMs, there are no active probes and no packet loss measurement.

If you can't see latency information, make sure that you have VM instances generating enough traffic.

Packet loss by zone heatmap has empty cells (marked as N/A)

This is possible if a project is part of a Shared VPC. In such a case, the matrix might include data for source zones where the project itself doesn't have VMs, but other projects in the same Shared VPC do have VMs. Packet loss between two projects that use Shared VPC is measured toward the destination service project.

Packet loss seen in Performance Dashboard but not in application

Packet loss is based on active probing, which covers the entire mesh of VMs that can communicate with each other. Your traffic pattern might only use a subset of this mesh. It might be that your application is not utilizing the problematic network path.

Another possibility is that we do not have enough measurements to give high confidence results. This might happen if there are very few VMs in a zone, or if the number of VMs is fluctuating.

We also include preemptible VMs in the packet loss calculation, and projects with a high percentage of such VMs might show a higher packet loss rate when VMs are getting preempted. Check if higher packet loss rate corresponds to the time window when preemptible VMs are being shut down.

Constant value seen for latency between two zones

Latency data is stored as a distribution. This means that if all measurements consistently fall in the same bucket in the distribution (which is more likely to happen with higher latency values), the resulting graph displays a constant value that is the mean of the bucket interval.

For example, if there is a bucket for every 10 ms (0 ms-10 ms, 10 ms-20 ms, 20 ms-30 ms, and so on), and there are three different latency measurements of 251 ms, 256 ms, and 253 ms, all of them are in the 250 ms-260 ms bucket. The latency is displayed as 255 ms, which is the mean of the 250 ms-260 ms bucket interval. If a new measurement of 259 ms is recorded, the latency still displays as 255 ms.

Troubleshooting Google Cloud performance metrics

Google Cloud performance appears more stable than project performance

Because the Google Cloud performance metrics are aggregated across all Google Cloud projects, they show fewer variations. This indicates that the typical performance in a zone pair remains stable even though the performance of individual projects might show greater variation due to randomness, natural variation, and measurement noise.

Can choose Google Cloud zones in the Google Cloud performance view but not in project view

For your project-specific view, you can only choose zones where the project is deployed. The Google Cloud performance view enables you to view performance from any Google Cloud zone to any other Google Cloud zone.

No project data in a zone pair but the Google Cloud performance data exists

Google Cloud performance metrics are estimated by aggregating across all Google Cloud projects and are always available.

What's next