排查网络连接问题

在此用例中,您是网络管理员,负责支持一个包含多个负载平衡应用的网络。您已经收到有关延迟问题的提醒,并被告知贵单位的移动应用间歇性地变慢并且超时。您知道许多不同的用户都受到了影响,而且最近并无部署应用。该问题可能与环境变化有关,而与应用无关。

以下用例演示了网络拓扑如何帮助您快速排查和调查部署中的问题。

拓扑详情

该部署跨越三个 Google Cloud 区域(us-central1europe-west1asia-east1)。所有外部客户端请求均由单个 HTTP(S) 负载平衡器处理,该负载平衡器在三个区域的每个区域中都有多个后端。最近的 Google Cloud 区域中的应用实例负责处理来自三个业务区域(美洲、欧洲、中东和非洲以及亚太地区)之一的客户请求。

下图显示了该部署的顶级层次结构:

网络延迟

在此场景中,假设您有一个名为 shopping-site-lb 的负载平衡器。您检查外部客户端和负载平衡器之间的延迟,以查看它们之间的延迟是否已发生变化。您发现延迟已发生变化,于是决定进一步调查负载平衡器的后端。

  1. 您可以过滤图表以仅显示外部负载平衡器 shopping-site-lb 的流量。

    应用过滤条件后,网络拓扑仅显示与负载平衡器相关的连接,如以下示例所示。

  2. 从美洲的外部客户开始,点击美洲业务区域和负载平衡器之间的流量指标。

    网络拓扑在详情窗格中显示图表。该信息包括所选实体与连接实体之间的入站流量和出站流量。例如,网络拓扑提供每秒查询次数 (QPS) 和 HTTP 请求延迟时间的最新值。

    在请求延迟时间图表中,您可以看到第 50 百分位、第 95 百分位和第 99 百分位的值。在此示例中,假定所有延迟时间值均高于您的预期。

  3. 在详情窗格的顶部,通过点击 6h 将时间序列图扩大到 6 小时。

    1该图仅供参考。它的数据不能反映用例。

    您会看到大约 2 个小时前发生的一次重大跳跃,大约是在报告第一个问题的时候。您确信该问题与负载平衡器的延迟时间增加有关。

  4. 对问题有了高水平的了解后,您通过转到负载平衡控制台来进一步调查负载平衡器。您最终发现负载平衡器后端服务中一个实例的响应时间比正常时间长。您使此实例退出服务,从而解决了该问题。

后续步骤

Troubleshooting network connectivity

In this use case, you're a network administrator supporting a network that includes several load-balanced applications. You've been alerted of a latency problem and have been told that your organization's mobile application is intermittently slow and timing out. You know that a number of different users are affected, and that there have been no recent application deployments. The issue is likely related to a change in the environment and not the application.

The following use case demonstrates how Network Topology can help you quickly troubleshoot and investigate issues in your deployment.

Topology details

The deployment spans three Google Cloud regions (us-central1, europe-west1, and asia-east1). All external client requests are served by a single external HTTP(S) load balancer that has multiple backends in each of the three regions. Client requests that come from one of three business regions (Americas, EMEA, and APAC) are served by application instances in the closest Google Cloud region.

The following graph shows the top-level hierarchy for the deployment:

Network latency

In this scenario, assume that you have a load balancer named shopping-site-lb. You check the latency between external clients and the load balancer to see if the latency between them has changed. You discover that it has and decide to further investigate the load balancer's backends.

  1. You filter the graph to show only the traffic for your external load balancer shopping-site-lb.

    After you apply the filter, Network Topology shows only the connections related to the load balancer, as shown in the following example.

  2. Starting with the external clients in Americas, you click the traffic metrics between the Americas business region and the load balancer.

    Network Topology shows charts in the details pane. The information includes ingress and egress traffic between your selected entity and the connected entity. For example, Network Topology provides the latest values for queries per second (QPS) and the HTTP request latency.

    In the request latency chart, you see values for the 50th, 95th, and 99th percentiles. In this example, assume that all of the latency values are higher than you expected.

  3. At the top of the details pane, you expand the time series charts to 6 hours by clicking 6h.

    1The figure is for reference. Its data doesn't reflect the use case.

    You see a significant jump that happened about two hours ago, roughly when the first issues were reported. You're confident that the issue is related to increased latency with the load balancer.

  4. Having a high-level view of the issue, you investigate the load balancer further by going to the Load balancing page in the Google Cloud Console. You eventually find that an instance in the load balancer's backend service was taking longer than normal to respond. You take that instance out of service, which resolves the issue.

What's next