审核网络性能

假设您是负责支持包含多个负载平衡应用的网络的网络管理员。您被要求审核支持那些应用的网络配置,以确保配置与网络的预期状态保持一致。通过执行此审核,您可以确保客户获得的应用延迟时间尽可能短。

以下用例演示了网络拓扑如何帮助您检查现有配置。例如,您可以检查所有客户端请求是否由与客户端最近的 Google Cloud 区域中的应用实例处理。您还可以确保跨区域流量较低,因为该流量来自全局复制数据的数据库。

拓扑概览

该部署跨越三个 Google Cloud 地区(us-central1europe-west1asia-east1)。所有外部客户端请求均由单个外部 HTTP(S) 负载平衡器处理,该负载平衡器在三个地区的每个地区中都有多个后端。最近的 Google Cloud 地区中的应用实例负责处理来自三个业务地区(美洲、欧洲、中东和非洲以及亚太地区)之一的客户请求。

下图显示了该部署的顶级层次结构。

资源和流量路径

在此示例中,项目包含以下 Google Cloud 资源:

  • 1 个 HTTPS 负载平衡器

  • 4 个后端服务:browseshopping_cartcheckoutfeeds

  • 12 个实例组(它们是负载平衡器的后端)

    在这三个地区中,每个后端服务都有一个实例组。

  • 3 个数据库实例,每个地区一个

您预计来自某些国家/地区的流量会进入以下位置:

  • 来自 Americas 业务地区的国家/地区的流量会进入 us-central1 地区的后端。例如,来自加拿大外部客户的流量会通过负载平衡器到达 us-central1 区域中的 checkout 后端。
  • 来自 EMEA 业务地区的国家/地区的流量会进入 europe-west1 地区的后端。例如,来自波兰外部客户的流量会通过负载平衡器到达 europe-west1 区域中的 checkout 后端。
  • 来自 APAC 业务地区的国家/地区的流量会进入 asia-east1 地区的后端。例如,来自日本外部客户端的流量会流经负载平衡器进入 asia-east1 地区的 checkout 后端。
  • 传输到数据库实例的流量来自同一地区中的后端。例如,asia-east1 中的后端仅会将数据发送到 asia-east1 中的数据库实例。
  • 跨区域流量仅限于数据库复制。例如,us-central1europe-west1 之间的流量仅会在这些区域中的数据库实例之间传播。

意外的流量

在此情景中,您发现来自 EMEA 业务地区的流量现在将进入两个不同的 Google Cloud 地区:us-central1europe-west1。通过使用网络拓扑,您发现某个后端被过度利用。

  1. 您想检查通过负载平衡器的外部流量最终是否流向正确的 Google Cloud 区域。您可以过滤图表以仅显示外部负载平衡器 shopping-site-lb 的流量。

    应用过滤条件后,网络拓扑仅显示与负载平衡器相关的连接,如以下示例所示。

  2. 您将鼠标指针悬停在每个业务地区上,以突出显示与该地区的通信。

    将鼠标指针悬停在美洲亚太地区上时,您会看到流量进入最近的 Google Cloud 地区:分别为 us-central1asia- east1。但是,将指针悬停在欧洲、中东和非洲地区上时,您会看到流量进入 us-central1europe-west1。理想情况下,为了减少延迟,来自欧洲、中东和非洲地区的所有流量都应进入 europe-west1

  3. 接下来,您点击欧洲、中东和非洲地区来研究它与 Google Cloud 地区之间的吞吐量。网络拓扑会覆盖每个连接的带宽值。您会看到大约 10 MBps 进入 us-central1,而 90 MBps 进入 europe-west1。您知道大多数流量都按预期定向,但是有些流量正在流向 us-central1

    1该图仅供参考。它的数据不能反映具体用例。

  4. 为了进一步调查,请展开 us-central1 以查看流量方向。因为在该地区中只有一个网络具有单个子网,所以网络拓扑不会显示层次结构的那些级别,而是跳到实例组。

    您会看到流量进入与负载平衡器的后端服务关联的实例组。由于进入 europe-west1 的流量相对较少,因此 europe-west1 中的资源可能会被过度利用,并导致流量溢出到 us-central1

    1该图仅供参考。它的数据不能反映具体用例。

  5. 为了证实您的结论,请展开 us-central1 区域,直至到达与同一负载平衡器的后端服务关联的实例为止。网络拓扑在该实例的详细信息窗格中显示时间序列图表。

    在图表中,您注意到该实例的 CPU 利用率为 82%。此示例的阈值为 80%,指示该实例已超额订阅。您可以通过纵向扩容实例组来解决此问题,以便流量返回理想的流向。

    1该图仅供参考。它的数据不能反映具体用例。

区域间流量

在以下部分中,您检查各地区之间的内部流量是否仅限于数据库实例流量。

  1. 如需关注内部流量,请取消选中实体列表中的外部客户端负载平衡器复选框。因为您只查看应用中的流量,所以不需要查看外部客户端和外部负载平衡器流量。

  2. 展开 asia-east1 地区,然后看到 5 个实例组。它们不是按网络、子网、区域或基础架构段聚合的,因为它们都位于同一网络、子网等中。

    您会注意到,只有一个实例组 (db-group-asia) 包含区域间流量的路径。所有其他实例组均在该区域内进行通信。

    您继续展开db-group-asia 组,直至到达基础实体。在此场景中,基本实体是充当数据库服务器的虚拟机实例 (db-instance-asia)。它正在与其他地区进行通信以复制数据,这正是您所期望的,因此不需要进一步的研究。

    1该图仅供参考。它的数据不能反映具体用例。

后续步骤

Auditing network performance

Assume that you're a network administrator who supports a network that includes several load-balanced applications. You've been asked to audit the network configurations that support those applications to ensure that the configurations are consistent with the expected state of your network. By doing this audit, you can ensure that customers are getting the lowest possible latency to your applications.

The following use case demonstrates how Network Topology can help you check your existing configurations. For example, you can check that all client requests are being served by application instances from the Google Cloud region that's closest to the client. You can also ensure that cross-region traffic is low because that traffic comes from databases that replicate data globally.

Topology overview

The deployment spans three Google Cloud regions (us-central1, europe-west1, and asia-east1). All external client requests are served by a single external HTTP(S) load balancer that has multiple backends in each of the three regions. Client requests that come from one of three business regions (Americas, EMEA, and APAC) are served by application instances in the closest Google Cloud region.

The following graph shows the top-level hierarchy for the deployment.

Resources and traffic paths

In this example, the project contains the following Google Cloud resources:

  • 1 HTTPS load balancer

  • 4 backend services: browse, shopping_cart, checkout, and feeds

  • 12 instance groups (which are the load balancer's backends)

    There is one instance group for each backend service in each of the three regions.

  • 3 database instances, one in each region

You expect that traffic from certain countries goes to the following locations:

  • Traffic from countries in the Americas business region goes to backends in the us-central1 region. For example, traffic from an external client in Canada travels through the load balancer to the checkout backend in the us-central1 region.
  • Traffic from countries in the EMEA business region goes to backends in the europe-west1 region. For example, traffic from an external client in Poland travels through the load balancer to the checkout backend in the europe-west1 region.
  • Traffic from countries in the APAC business region goes to backends in the asia-east1 region. For example, traffic from an external client in Japan travels through the load balancer to the checkout backend in the asia-east1 region.
  • Traffic to a database instance comes from a backend in the same region. For example, the backends in asia-east1 send data only to the database instance in asia-east1.
  • Cross-region traffic is limited to database replication. For example, traffic between us-central1 and europe-west1 travels only between database instances in those regions.

Unexpected traffic flow

In this scenario, you discover that traffic from the EMEA business region is now going to two different Google Cloud regions, us-central1 and europe-west1. By using Network Topology, you discover that one of the backends is overutilized.

  1. You want to check that external traffic that is going through the load balancer eventually goes to the correct Google Cloud region. You filter the graph to show only the traffic for your external load balancer shopping-site-lb.

    After you apply the filter, Network Topology shows only the connections related to the load balancer, as shown in the following example.

  2. You hold the pointer over each business region to highlight the communication to that region.

    When you hold the pointer over Americas and APAC, you see traffic going to the nearest Google Cloud region: us-central1 and asia- east1 respectively. However, when you hold the pointer over EMEA, you see traffic going to us-central1 and europe-west1. Ideally, to reduce latency, all traffic from EMEA should go to europe-west1.

  3. Next, you click EMEA to study the throughput between it and the Google Cloud regions. Network Topology overlays bandwidth values on each connection. You see that about 10 MBps is going to us-central1 and 90 MBps is going to europe-west1. You know that most of the traffic is being directed as you would expect, but some traffic is flowing to us-central1.

    1The figure is for reference. Its data doesn't reflect the use case.

  4. To investigate further, you expand us-central1 to view where traffic is going. Because there's only one network with a single subnet in that region, Network Topology doesn't show those levels of the hierarchy and skips to the instance groups.

    You see that traffic is going to an instance group that's associated with the load balancer's backend service. Because it's a relatively small amount of traffic going to europe-west1, it's possible that resources in europe-west1 are overutilized and causing traffic to overflow to us-central1.

    1The figure is for reference. Its data doesn't reflect the use case.

  5. To confirm your conclusion, you expand the us-central1 region until you reach the instance that is associated with the same load balancer's backend service. Network Topology shows time-series charts in the details pane for the instance.

    In the chart, you notice that the CPU utilization rate is at 82% for the instance. The threshold for this example is 80%, indicating that the instance is oversubscribed. You resolve this issue by scaling up the instance group so that traffic returns to the ideal flow.

    1The figure is for reference. Its data doesn't reflect the use case.

Inter-region traffic

In the following section, you check that internal traffic between regions is limited to only database instance traffic.

  1. To focus on internal traffic, you clear the External clients and Load balancers checkboxes from the Entities list. Because you are only viewing traffic within your application, you don't need to see external clients and external load balancer traffic.

  2. You expand the asia-east1 region, and you see five instance groups. They are not aggregated by network, subnet, zone, or infrastructure segment because they are all in the same network, subnet, and so on.

    You notice that only one instance group (db-group-asia) contains a path for inter-region traffic. All other instance groups are communicating within the region.

    You continue to expand the db-group-asia group until you reach the base entity. In this scenario, the base entity is a virtual machine (VM) instance (db-instance-asia) that acts as a database server. It's communicating with other regions to replicate data, which is what you expected, so no further investigations are required.

    1The figure is for reference. Its data doesn't reflect the use case.

What's next