Workflow overview

The following diagram describes the full translation process from adding business users to viewing the final translation results. This diagram also shows who is responsible for what at each stage of the process.

Overview of the end-to-end translation workflow

  1. Administrators use the Google Cloud console to manage Translation Hub projects, portals, business users, and translator groups. An administrator must set up a Google Cloud project and enable billing before anyone can request translations.

    Administrators first create a portal and add users. Administrators can also add translation resources, such as glossaries, to a portal. All portal users can use any resource that admins add to a portal.

    For post-editing (advanced tier only), admins must create translator groups and add translators. Business users can then send post-editing requests to one of those translator groups.

  2. Business users work in translation portals to request translations. After an administrator adds business users to a portal, users can sign in and translate documents. If an administrator adds translation resources to a portal, business users can use them when requesting a translation.

  3. Business users can compare the original and translated content, and then download or export the results.

  4. For advanced-tier portals, you can bring in your own translators to edit machine translated content. Business users must select a translator group to send translations for post-editing.

  5. All translators in the translator group are notified of incoming requests. Only the first translator to view the request can review and edit the translated content. Translators sign in to an editing console to review translations. Also, if business users specified a translation memory as part of their translation request, any edits translators make are saved to that translation memory.

  6. After the post-edits are complete, business users can download or export the edited document.