排查文件系统转移问题

本文档介绍如何排查和解决转移和代理问题,以及如何找到代理日志来帮助您排查问题。

错误

下表介绍转移错误消息以及解决方法:

错误消息 错误类型 错误的含义 如何解决错误
在转移期间被修改 FILE_MODIFIED_FAILURE 每次 Storage Transfer Service 尝试复制源文件时,系统都会在转移过程中修改源文件。 防止在下一次 Storage Transfer Service 操作期间向指定文件写入数据。
转移失败 PRECONDITION_FAILURE 每次 Storage Transfer Service 尝试上传文件时,系统都会修改与源文件关联的 Cloud Storage 对象。 创建转移作业时使用唯一的 Cloud Storage 对象前缀,防止多个转移作业将同一文件写入同一 Cloud Storage 存储分区。
找不到源目录 SOURCE_DIR_NOT_FOUND 指定的源路径不正确,或者路径正确,但并非所有代理都有权访问该路径。 检查转移作业配置并验证:
文件未找到 FILE_NOT_FOUND_FAILURE 找到了源文件,但它在转移到 Cloud Storage 之前将删除。 如果该文件被错误地删除,请进行恢复,以便下一个转移作业可以上传该文件。
找不到目标存储分区 BUCKET_NOT_FOUND Cloud Storage 中不存在目标存储分区。 验证目标存储分区的拼写是否正确,以及它是否存在。
找不到内部元数据对象 METADATA_OBJECT_NOT_FOUND_FAILURE Storage Transfer Service 会使用前缀 storage-transfer 将元数据存储在目标存储桶中。如果元数据文件在对应的转移操作完成之前被删除,则会显示此错误。 在所有转移作业完成之前,避免删除目标存储分区中前缀为 storage-transfer/ 的对象。
由于文件名无效而失败 INVALID_FILE_NAME 源文件的路径无效。 验证并修复指定的文件路径。验证路径是否使用 Cloud Storage 支持的字符
由于文件大小无效而失败 INVALID_FILE_SIZE 文件大小无效。 验证转移到 Cloud Storage 的文件大小是否 >= 0 且 <= 5 TiB(Cloud Storage 对象大小上限)。
由于权限问题而失败 PERMISSION_FAILURE 代理没有足够的权限来执行操作。此错误有两种可能性:
  • 代理没有足够的 Google Cloud 权限。
  • 由于对源文件系统的权限不足,代理无法读取文件或目录。
验证以下内容:
  • 确保代理具有以下 IAM 角色
    • roles/pubsub.editor
    • 对所有目标分区拥有 roles/storage.admin 权限
    可向代理使用的服务帐号授予上述两种角色之一,或者具有这些角色的用户可以在安装代理时使用自己的默认凭据。
  • 确保每个代理都可以读取源文件系统上的所有路径。
对象受存储分区的保留政策的约束,且无法删除、覆盖或归档 PERMISSION_FAILURE 存储分区具有有效的保留政策,并且存储分区中已存在该对象。Storage Transfer Service 无法覆盖存储桶中的现有对象。如果源文件发生变化,或者 Storage Transfer Service 由于网络状况而两次上传,但第一次上传是成功的,则会显示此错误。 验证 Cloud Storage 存储分区中的数据是否符合您的预期。您可以通过重新运行作业并确认错误,来确认源文件的大小和修改时间 (mtime) 与其 Cloud Storage 对象是否一致。
服务缺少足够的权限 SERVICE_PERMISSION_FAILURE Storage Transfer Service 没有足够的权限来执行操作。 Storage Transfer Service 使用 Google 管理的服务帐号(通常采用 project-PROJECT_NUMBER@storage-transfer-service.iam.gserviceaccount.com 格式)来访问资源。如需确定您的特定 PROJECT_NUMBER,请使用 googleserviceaccounts.get API 调用。验证该服务帐号具有以下角色
  • 对项目拥有 roles/pubsub.editor 权限
  • 对所有目标存储分区拥有 roles/storage.admin 权限。
代理不受支持 AGENT_UNSUPPORTED_VERSION 代理版本不再与 Storage Transfer Service 兼容。 这是一个临时错误,与代理更新错误有关。如果出现这种情况,请执行以下操作:
  1. 停止所有代理
  2. 通过运行以下命令拉取最新的 Docker 映像:sudo docker pull gcr.io/cloud-ingest/tsop-agent
  3. 发出 Docker run 命令以启动所有代理容器。
如果问题仍然存在,请与支持团队联系。
由于哈希值不匹配而失败 HASH_MISMATCH_FAILURE 每次 Storage Transfer Service 尝试上传此文件时,上传的字节都会损坏。这导致了本地文件的哈希值与生成的 Cloud Storage 对象的哈希值不匹配。 此错误可能是由多种潜在问题造成的。如果您在大型转移作业中看到少量的哈希值不匹配错误(小于 1%),请重试失败的文件。如果发现哈希值不匹配错误的比例很大(1% 或更高),我们建议调查代理机器上可能出现的内存、CPU 或其他硬件故障。
由于文件模式不受支持而失败 UNSUPPORTED_FILE_MODE Storage Transfer Service 遇到一个模式不受支持的文件(例如设备、套接字、已命名的管道或不规则文件)。 从源目录中移除这些特殊文件类型。
由于文件系统出错而失败 FILESYSTEM_ERROR 代理在执行文件系统操作(如读取、查找或统计)时遇到了文件系统或操作系统错误。 阅读失败说明,了解哪些文件系统操作失败。确保文件系统可供本地代理访问,并且可以响应基本文件操作。
由于未知错误而失败 UNKNOWN_FAILURE 出现意外错误。 阅读失败说明。如果失败说明中信息不足以解决问题,请与支持人员联系。
由于规范无效而失败 INVALID_SPEC 代理收到已损坏的内部规范。 请检查代理主机上的数据损坏情况;如果找不到任何损坏情况,请与支持团队联系。
由于清单文件为空或无效而失败 CONFORMANCE_FAILURE 由于格式无效或 CSV 条目无效,代理无法读取或获取有效的 CSV 字节。 确保清单条目是有效的文件路径。如果失败说明中信息不足以解决问题,请与支持人员联系。

查看代理日志

代理日志包含与代理进程相关的信息,让您可以排查代理连接问题。如果您的代理在 Google Cloud Console 中列为已连接,并且您遇到了转移失败的问题,请参阅查看错误以查看转移错误示例。如需查看包含转移期间 Storage Transfer Service 记录的每个文件的日志,请参阅查看转移日志

默认情况下,代理日志存储在 /tmp 中。您可以使用 --log-dir=logs-directory 命令行选项更改该位置。

日志的名称为:

agent.hostname.username.log.log-level.timestamp

其中:

  • hostname - 运行代理的主机名。
  • username - 运行代理的用户名。
  • log-level 可为以下项之一:
    • INFO - 参考消息
    • ERROR - 转移期间遇到错误,但不会阻止转移作业继续。
    • FATAL - 遇到导致转移作业无法继续的错误。
  • timestamp - 格式为 YYYYMMDD-hhmmss.thread-id 的时间戳。

日志目录包含每个优先级的最新日志的符号链接:

  • agent.ERROR
  • agent.FATAL
  • agent.INFO

转移速度慢

如果您的数据需要很长时间才能转移,请检查以下内容:

  1. 您的文件系统的读取吞吐量约为您需要的上传速度的 1.5 倍。您可以使用 FIO 测试文件系统的读取吞吐量。

    安装 fio:

     sudo apt install -y fio
     

    创建一个新的 fiotest 目录:

     TEST_DIR=/mnt/mnt_dir/fiotest
     sudo mkdir -p $TEST_DIR
     

    测试读取吞吐量:

     sudo fio --directory=$TEST_DIR --direct=1
        --rw=randread --randrepeat=0 --ioengine=libaio --bs=1M --iodepth=8
        --time_based=1 --runtime=180 --name=read_test --size=1G
     

    运行上述命令后,Fio 会生成一份报告。标记为“bw”的行表示所有线程的总聚合带宽,可用作读取吞吐量的代理。

  2. 使用 iPerf3 检查 Storage Transfer Service 的可用互联网带宽。

  3. 确保每个转移代理至少具有 4 个 vCPU 和 8GB 的 RAM。

如果您已检查上述条件,但仍存在较长的转移时间,则可以添加其他代理以增加与数据文件系统的并发连接数量。

如需详细了解如何最大限度地提高转移代理的性能,请参阅代理最佳做法

排查代理错误

以下部分介绍了如何排查和解决转移代理错误:

代理未连接

如果转移代理在 Google Cloud 控制台中未显示为已连接:

  1. 验证代理是否可以连接到 Cloud Storage API 和 Pub/Sub API,且不存在网络或身份验证问题:

    1. 在转移代理所在的机器上运行以下命令,以测试该代理与 Cloud Storage API 的连接:

      gsutil cp test.txt gs://my-bucket

      您需要将:

      my-bucket 替换为 Cloud Storage 存储分区的名称。

    2. 在转移代理所在的机器上运行以下命令,以测试该代理与 Pub/Sub API 的连接:

      gcloud pubsub topics list --project=project-id

      您需要将:

      project-id 替换为您的 Google Cloud 项目名称。

  2. 如果您的项目使用 VPC Service Controls,请查看代理日志中的错误。如果 VPC Service Controls 配置不正确,INFO 代理日志将包含以下错误:

    Request is prohibited by organization's policy. vpcServiceControlsUniqueIdentifier: id

    在此输出中:

代理已连接,但作业失败

如果代理显示为已连接但转移作业失败,请查看失败作业的错误详情

Troubleshooting Transfer for on-premises

This document describes how to troubleshoot and resolve transfer and agent issues, and where to find agent logs to help you troubleshoot issues.

Troubleshooting transfer errors in Cloud Console

The following table describes transfer error messages, and how to resolve them:

Error message Error type What the error means How to resolve the error
Modified during transfer FILE_MODIFIED_FAILURE The source file was modified during the upload each time that Transfer service for on-premises data attempted to upload the source file. Prevent writes to the specified file during the next Transfer service for on-premises data operation.
Failed to transfer PRECONDITION_FAILURE The Cloud Storage object associated with the source file was modified each time that Transfer service for on-premises data attempted to upload the file. Prevent multiple transfer jobs from writing the same file to the same Cloud Storage bucket by using unique Cloud Storage object prefixes when you create transfer jobs.
Source directory not found SOURCE_DIR_NOT_FOUND Either the specified source path is incorrect, or the path is correct but not all agents have access to the path. Check the transfer job configuration and verify that:
File not found FILE_NOT_FOUND_FAILURE The source file was found, but deleted before it was transferred to Cloud Storage. If the file was mistakenly deleted, restore it so that the next transfer job can upload it.
Failed to find the destination bucket BUCKET_NOT_FOUND The destination bucket doesn't exist in Cloud Storage. Verify that the destination bucket spelling is correct and that it exists.
Failed to find an internal metadata object METADATA_OBJECT_NOT_FOUND_FAILURE Transfer service for on-premises data stores metadata in the destination bucket with the prefix storage-transfer. If the metadata files are deleted before their corresponding transfer operations complete, then this error is displayed. Avoid deleting objects with the prefix storage-transfer/ in the destination bucket until after all transfer jobs complete.
Failed due to invalid file name INVALID_FILE_NAME The path of a source file is invalid. Verify and fix the specified file path. Verify that the path uses characters that are supported by Cloud Storage
Failed due to permissions PERMISSION_FAILURE An agent didn't have sufficient permissions to perform an operation. There are two possibilities for this error:
  • An agent had insufficient Google Cloud permissions.
  • An agent was unable to read a file or directory due to insufficient permissions on the source file system.
Verify following:
  • Ensure that your agents have the following Cloud IAM roles:
    • roles/pubsub.editor
    • roles/storage.admin for all destination buckets
    Either of these roles can be granted to a service account that is used by the agents, or a user with these roles can use their default credentials when, installing agents.
  • Ensure that all paths on the source file system are readable by each agent.
Service lacked sufficient permissions SERVICE_PERMISSION_FAILURE Transfer service for on-premises data didn't have sufficient permissions to perform an operation. Transfer service for on-premises data uses the service account, cloud-ingest-dcp@cloud-ingest.iam.gserviceaccount.com to access resources. Verify that the service account has the following roles:
  • roles/pubsub.editor for the project.
  • roles/storage.admin for all destination buckets.
Agent unsupported AGENT_UNSUPPORTED_VERSION The agent version is no longer compatible with Transfer service for on-premises data. This is a temporary error, related to a bad agent update. If it occurs, do the following:
  1. Stop all of your agents.
  2. Pull the latest docker image by running: sudo docker pull gcr.io/cloud-ingest/tsop-agent
  3. Issue the Docker run command to start all of your agent containers.
If the issue persists, reach out to your support team.
Failed due to hash mismatch HASH_MISMATCH_FAILURE Each time Transfer service for on-premises data tried to upload this file, the uploaded bytes were corrupted. This resulted in the hash of the on-premises file not matching the hash of the resulting Cloud Storage object. This error may be caused by a number of potential issues. If you see a small percentage of hash mismatch failures (less than 1%) in a large transfer, retry the failed files. If you see a large percentage of hash mismatch failures (1% or greater), we recommend investigating potential memory, CPU, or other hardware failures on the agent machine.
Failed due to an unsupported file mode UNSUPPORTED_FILE_MODE Transfer service for on-premises data encountered a file with an unsupported mode, such as a device, socket, named pipe, or irregular file. Remove these special file types from the source directory.
Failed due to an error in the filesystem FILESYSTEM_ERROR An agent encountered a filesystem or operating system error when performing a filesystem operation such as read, seek, or stat. Read the failure description to understand which filesystem operation failed. Ensure the filesystem is accessible to the on-prem agent and responsive to basic file operations.
Failed due to an unknown error UNKNOWN_FAILURE An unexpected error occurred. Read the failure description. If the failure description does not contain sufficient information to resolve the issue, please contact support.

Viewing agent logs

Agent logs contain information relevant to agent processes, and can help you troubleshoot agent connection problems. If your agents are listed as connected in Google Cloud Console and you are experiencing transfer failures, see Viewing errors to view a sample of transfer errors. To view logs that contain a record of every file Storage Transfer Service considered during a transfer, see Viewing transfer logs.

By default, agent logs are stored in /tmp. You can change the location with the --log-dir=logs-directory command-line option.

The logs are named:

agent.hostname.username.log.log-level.timestamp

Where:

  • hostname - hostname the agent is running on.
  • username - username running the agent.
  • log-level is one of:
    • INFO - informational messages
    • ERROR - errors encountered during transfer, but that don't prevent the transfer job from continuing.
    • FATAL - errors encountered that prevent the transfer job from continuing.
  • timestamp - timestamp in YYYYMMDD-hhmmss.thread-id format.

The logs directory contains symlinks to the most recent logs for each of the priority levels:

  • agent.ERROR
  • agent.FATAL
  • agent.INFO

Troubleshooting agent errors

The following sections describe how to troubleshoot and resolve Transfer for on-premises agent errors:

Agents are not connected

If Transfer for on-premises agents are not displayed as connected within Google Cloud Console:

  1. Verify that agents can connect to Cloud Storage APIs and Pub/Sub APIs and there are no network or authentication issues:

    1. Run the following command from the same machine as the transfer agent to test the agent's connection to Cloud Storage APIs:

      gsutil cp test.txt gs://my-bucket

      Replace:

      my-bucket with the name of your Cloud Storage bucket.

    2. Run the following command from the same machine as the transfer agent to test the agent's connection to Pub/Sub APIs:

      gcloud pubsub topics list --project=project-id

      Replace:

      project-id with the name of your Google Cloud project name.

  2. If your project uses VPC Service Controls, view the agent logs for errors. If VPC Service Controls is misconfigured, the INFO agent logs will contain the following error:

    Request is prohibited by organization's policy. vpcServiceControlsUniqueIdentifier: id

    In this output:

Agents are connected but jobs fail

If agents are displayed as connected but transfer jobs fail, check the error details of the failed jobs.