Notifications

You can subscribe to email or mobile push notifications of errors. Error Reporting sends a notification in the following cases:

  • When an error first occurs in a project and it can't be grouped with previous errors.

  • If an error that was marked as Resolved reoccurs.

Subscribing to notifications

You can subscribe to Error Reporting email and mobile notifications for a project if you have one of the following Identity and Access Management roles:

  • A Project Owner, Project Editor or Project Viewer role.
  • A custom role with the cloudnotifications.activities.list permission.

These roles are granted to your individual Google account email or to a group email alias of which you might be a member. For more information, see Granting, changing, and revoking access to project members.

Subscribe to email notifications

Email notifications are sent to the email address associated with your Google account. To subscribe to email notifications, complete the following steps:

  1. Visit the Error Reporting page in the Google Cloud Console.

  2. Click More and select Turn on new error notifications for project from the drop-down list.

    User interface showing preferences menu.

It isn't possible to configure a custom email alias (for instance, a team email alias). However, you can forward notification emails to an email alias or to a Slack channel by using Gmail's forward feature and the following filter:

from:(StackdriverNotifications-noreply@google.com) subject:("New Error")

Subscribe to mobile notifications

Mobile notifications are sent to the Cloud Console app on Android and iOS. To subscribe to notifications from the Cloud Console app, complete the following steps:

  1. Download the Cloud Console mobile app.

    Download the mobile app

  2. In the app, click the menu .

  3. Select Settings.

  4. Select New error notifications.

  5. Click Add project and select the project to subscribe to.

Notification limits

If more than 5 errors reoccur in a project within an hour, Error Reporting sends a final notification, letting you know that no more notifications will be sent for the next 6 hours. This is to control the volume of notifications.

Resolution status

If an error with a resolution status of Resolved reoccurs, even if it's been previously deleted, its resolution status changes back to Open and Error Reporting sends a notification.

Error Reporting won't send a notification if a Muted error reoccurs.

To manage the resolution status of your errors, go to Managing errors.