缓存详情

可缓存性

并非所有 HTTP 响应都可以被缓存。Cloud CDN 只缓存那些满足本部分所列全部要求的响应。其中一些要求在 RFC 7234 中进行了规定,而其他要求则专门针对 Cloud CDN。

只有满足以下所有条件时,您才能将响应存储在 Cloud CDN 缓存中:

  • 该响应由启用了 Cloud CDN 的后端服务或后端存储分区提供。
  • 该响应是对 GET 请求作出的响应。
  • 该响应的状态代码是 200203206300301302307410
  • 该响应具有 Cache-Control: public 标头。
  • 该响应具有 Cache-Control: s-maxageCache-Control: max-ageExpires 标头。
  • 该响应具有 Content-LengthContent-RangeTransfer-Encoding 标头。
  • 该响应的大小小于或等于大小上限

对于后端存储分区,您可以通过以下几种方法来满足这些要求:

此外,某些检查会禁止系统缓存响应。如果存在以下任一情况,则响应不会被缓存:

  • 该响应具有 Set-Cookie 标头。
  • 该响应具有 Vary 标头,该标头的值不是 AcceptAccept-EncodingOrigin
  • 该响应具有 Cache-Control: no-storeno-cacheprivate 指令。
  • 对应的请求具有 Cache-Control: no-store 指令。

未来这些要求可能会放宽,从而允许 Cloud CDN 缓存更多响应。

请注意,如果存在 Cache-Control: no-storeno-cacheprivate,但由于系统已配置网址签名,因此内容仍会被缓存。如需了解如何防止响应被缓存,请参阅防止缓存部分。

大小上限

Cloud CDN 强制执行大小上限,具体取决于源服务器是否支持字节范围请求

  • 如果源服务器支持字节范围请求,则为 5 TB(5,497,558,138,880 字节)
  • 如果源服务器不支持字节范围请求,则为 10 MB(10,485,760 字节)

不会缓存任何正文大于大小上限的响应。

缓存条目

缓存键

Cloud CDN 缓存中的每个缓存条目由缓存键进行标识。当请求进入缓存时,缓存会将请求的 URI 转换为缓存键,然后将该键与缓存条目的键进行比较。如果找到匹配的键,缓存将返回与该键关联的对象。

对于后端服务,Cloud CDN 默认使用完整请求 URI 作为缓存键。例如,https://example.com/images/cat.jpgcat.jpg 对象的特定请求的完整 URI。该字符串用作默认缓存键。只有确切包含该字符串的请求才会匹配。http://example.com/images/cat.jpghttps://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user1 的请求不匹配。

您可以更改将 URI 中的哪些部分用在缓存键中。文件路径和文件名必须始终包含在缓存键中,除此之外,在自定义缓存键时,您可以包含或省略协议、主机或查询字符串中的一项或多项。使用缓存键介绍了如何自定义缓存键。

  • 协议:您可以从缓存键中省略协议。如果您省略协议,则 https://example.com/images/cat.jpg 的请求会接收 example.com/images/cat.jpg 的缓存键。之后,https://example.com/images/cat.jpghttp://example.com/images/cat.jpg 的请求都将被视为与该缓存条目匹配。
  • 主机:您可以从缓存键中省略主机。如果您省略主机,则 example.comexample2.com 的请求均可以匹配相同的缓存条目。如果首先传入 https://example.com/images/cat.jpg 的请求,然后传入 https://example2.com/images/cat.jpg 的请求,则会导致第二个请求出现缓存命中。
  • 查询字符串:您可以从缓存键中省略查询字符串。如果您省略了查询字符串,则 https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user1 的请求会接收 https://example.com/images/cat.jpg 的缓存键,因此,https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user1https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user2 均可以匹配相同的条目。您还可以选择性地省略或包含部分查询字符串。

除了包含或省略整个查询字符串之外,您还可以选择通过白名单和黑名单使用查询字符串的一个或多个部分。

对于后端存储分区,缓存键由不带查询字符串的 URI 组成,因此 https://example.com/images/cat.jpghttps://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user1https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user2 是等效的。

查询字符串白名单

您可以选择性地控制 Cloud CDN 将哪些查询字符串参数包含到缓存键中。例如,如果您创建了 user 的白名单,则 https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user1&color=blue 会创建 https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user1 的缓存键,该缓存键也与 https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user1&color=red 匹配。要使用此选项,您必须添加查询字符串、指定非空白名单,并且不指定黑名单。

查询字符串黑名单

您可以通过黑名单选择性地控制 Cloud CDN 将忽略哪些查询字符串参数。例如,如果您创建了 user 的黑名单,则缓存键中将使用除 user 之外的所有查询字符串参数。

在配置上述黑名单并输入 https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user1&color=blue 之后,Cloud CDN 会创建 https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?color=blue 的缓存键,该缓存键也与 https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user2&color=blue(而非 https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user1&color=red)匹配。要使用此选项,您必须添加查询字符串、指定非空黑名单,并且不指定白名单。

Vary 标头

除了请求 URI 之外,Cloud CDN 还会遵循源服务器在响应中加入的任何 Vary 标头。Vary 标头表示,响应根据客户端的请求标头发生变化。例如,如果响应指定了 Vary: Accept,Cloud CDN 将为指定了 Accept: image/webp,image/*,*/*;q=0.8 的请求使用一个缓存条目,并为指定了 Accept: */* 的请求使用另一个缓存条目。

在传送压缩内容时,有时会使用 Vary 标头。Cloud CDN 本身不压缩或解压缩响应,但它可以传送由源服务器压缩的响应。如果您的源服务器根据 Accept-Encoding 请求标头的值来选择是否传送压缩或未压缩的内容,请确保响应指定 Vary: Accept-Encoding

仅当 Vary 标头包含可缓存性中列出的某个值时,系统才会缓存含有该标头的响应。

过期时间和验证请求

Cloud CDN 缓存中每个缓存条目的到期时间都是依据 RFC 7234Cache-Control: s-maxageCache-Control: max-age 和/或 Expires 标头定义的。如果存在多个标头,则 Cache-Control: s-maxage 优先于 Cache-Control: max-ageCache-Control: max-age 优先于 Expires

Cloud CDN 收到请求时,它会查询相应的缓存条目并检查该条目的存在时间。如果该缓存条目存在且足以满足最新要求,则可以从缓存中传送响应。但是,如果当前时间晚于过期时间,则 Cloud CDN 无法在未事先联系您后端的情况下传送响应。

如果先前缓存的响应具有 Last-Modified 和/或 ETag 标头,则 Cloud CDN 可以尝试使用这些标头中的信息来验证具有后端的缓存条目。Cloud CDN 执行此验证的方式略有不同,具体取决于响应是否使用字节范围请求进行缓存:

  • 如果使用字节范围请求缓存响应,则 Cloud CDN 会启动单独的验证请求,其中包括 If-Modified-Since 和/或 If-None-Match 标头。
  • 否则,Cloud CDN 会将 If-Modified-Since 和/或 If-None-Match 标头添加到客户端请求,并将修改后的请求转发给后端。

如果缓存副本仍处于最新状态,后端可以通过发送 304 Not Modified 响应来验证现有缓存条目。在这种情况下,后端只发送响应标头,而不发送响应正文。Cloud CDN 将新的响应标头插入缓存,更新过期时间,并将新的响应标头和缓存的响应正文传送到客户端。

如果先前缓存的响应没有 Last-ModifiedETag 标头,则 Cloud CDN 会忽略过期的缓存条目,并将客户端请求转发给未经修改的后端。

请注意,缓存条目的过期时间代表了一个上限,它决定了缓存条目保持有效的时长。我们无法保证缓存条目在过期之前一直保留在缓存中。您可以逐出非热门内容的缓存条目,以便为新内容腾出空间。无论指定的过期时间是多久,系统都将自动移除 30 天内未被访问的缓存条目。

如需了解详情,请参阅驱逐和到期

为字节范围请求提供的支持

如果响应满足以下条件,则表明源服务器支持字节范围请求:

  • 该响应的状态代码是 200 OK206 Partial Content
  • 该响应具有 Accept-Ranges: bytes 标头。
  • 该响应具有 Content-Length 和/或 Content-Range 标头。
  • 该响应具有 ETag 标头(带有强验证器)和/或 Last-Modified 标头。

Google Cloud Storage 支持大多数对象的字节范围请求。但是,除非客户端请求包含 Accept-Encoding: gzip 标头,否则 Cloud Storage 不支持带有 Content-Encoding: gzip 元数据的对象的字节范围请求。如果您的 Cloud Storage 对象大小超过 10 MB,请确保它们没有 Content-Encoding: gzip 元数据。如需了解如何修改对象元数据,请参阅查看和修改对象元数据

常见的网络服务器软件也支持字节范围请求。如需详细了解如何启用支持功能,请参阅网络服务器软件的文档。如需详细了解字节范围请求,请参阅 HTTP 规范

当源服务器支持字节范围请求时,如果满足以下任一条件,则 Cloud CDN 缓存会在第一次收到请求时拒绝存储其他情况下允许缓存的响应:

  • 响应正文不完整,因为客户端只请求了部分内容
  • 响应正文的大小大于1 MB(1,048,576 字节)。

如果发生这种情况,并且响应在其他情况下可以满足正常的可缓存性要求,缓存会记录源服务器支持该缓存键的字节范围请求,并将源服务器的响应转发给客户端。

在缓存未命中时,缓存会检查是否已知源服务器支持字节范围请求。如果已知该缓存键支持字节范围请求,则缓存不会将客户端请求转发到 HTTP(S) 负载平衡器。实际上,缓存将为内容的缺失部分发起自己的字节范围缓存填充请求。如果源服务器在 206 Partial Content 响应中返回请求的字节范围,则缓存可以存储该范围,以便用于未来的请求。

只有当收到的 206 Partial Content 响应是对缓存发起的字节范围请求作出的响应时,缓存才会存储该响应。除非先前有记录表明源服务器支持该缓存键的字节范围请求,否则缓存不会发起字节范围请求,因此,对于大于 1 MB 的内容,只有在该内容被第二次访问之后,给定的缓存才会存储该内容。

Cloud CDN 发起的请求

当您的源服务器支字节范围请求时,Cloud CDN 可以将多个请求发送到您的源服务器,以便响应单个客户端请求。如下所述,Cloud CDN 可以发起两种请求:验证请求和字节范围请求。

如果某个响应表明源服务器支持特定缓存键的字节范围请求,且该响应已过期,则 Cloud CDN 会发起验证请求以确认内容未被更改,并且您的源服务器仍然支持该内容的范围请求。如果您的源服务器给出了 304 Not Modified 响应,则 Cloud CDN 将继续使用字节范围传送内容。否则,Cloud CDN 会将源服务器的响应转发到客户端。您可以使用 Cache-Control 和 Expires 响应标头控制过期时间。

在缓存未命中时,Cloud CDN 会为与客户端请求重叠的一组字节范围发起缓存填充请求。如果客户端所请求内容的某些范围包含在缓存中,而其他范围不在缓存中,则 Cloud CDN 将从缓存传送尽可能多的内容,并且仅将缺失范围的字节范围请求发送到您的源服务器。

Cloud CDN 发起的每个字节范围请求都指定了一个范围,该范围在开始时设置了一个偏移量(2,097,136 字节的倍数)。每个范围的大小同样为 2,097,136 字节(也许最终范围除外);如果内容的大小不是该大小的倍数,则最终范围会更小。字节范围请求中使用的大小和偏移量将来可能会发生变化。

例如,假设存在一个客户端请求,该请求对应了大小为 1,000,000 至 3,999,999 字节的内容(缓存中不包含该内容)。在此示例中,Cloud CDN 可以发起两个 GET 请求,一个用于内容的第一部分(2,097,136 字节),另一个用于第二部分(2,097,136 字节)。这会导致出现 4,194,272 字节的缓存填充(即使客户端只请求了 3,000,000 字节)。

当您使用 Cloud Storage 存储分区作为来源时,我们会将每个 GET 请求视为单独的 B 类操作进行计费。您需要为 Cloud Storage 处理的所有 GET 请求付费,其中包括由 Cloud CDN 发起的所有请求。当您完全从 Cloud CDN 缓存传送响应时,系统不会向 Cloud Storage 发送 GET 请求,因此您不需要为任何 Cloud Storage 操作付费。

当 Cloud CDN 发起验证请求或字节范围请求时,它不包含特定于客户端的标头,比如 CookieUser-Agent

防止缓存

要防止不公开信息缓存在 Cloud CDN 缓存中,请执行以下操作:

  1. 在不应存储在 Cloud CDN 缓存的响应中包括 Cache-Control: private 标头,或在不应存储在任何缓存(甚至是网络浏览器缓存)的响应中包括 Cache-Control: no-store 标头。
  2. 签署可访问不公开信息的网址。使用签名网址访问内容时,响应中无论是否有任何 Cache-Control 指令,都有可能被缓存。

后续步骤

此页内容是否有用?请给出您的反馈和评价:

发送以下问题的反馈:

此网页
Cloud CDN 文档

Caching overview

A cacheable response is an HTTP response that Cloud CDN can store and quickly retrieve, thus allowing for faster load times. Not all HTTP responses are cacheable.

Cacheable content

Cloud CDN caches only those responses that meet all the requirements in this section. Some of these requirements are specified by RFC 7234, and others are specific to Cloud CDN.

A response can be stored in Cloud CDN caches only if all of the following are true.

Attribute Requirement
Served by Backend service, backend bucket, or a custom origin with Cloud CDN enabled
In response to GET request
Status code 200, 203, 206, 300, 301, 302, 307, or 410
Cache directive Has a Cache-Control header with a public directive
Freshness Has a Cache-Control header with a max-age or s-maxage directive, or an Expires header with a timestamp in the future
Content

Contains a valid Content-Length, Content-Range, or Transfer-Encoding header

For example, a Content-Length header that correctly matches the size of the response

Size Less than or equal to the maximum size

For Cloud Storage backend buckets, following are several ways to satisfy these requirements:

  • Make your bucket publicly readable. This is the approach that we recommend for public content. With this setting, anyone on the internet can view and list your objects and their metadata, excluding ACLs. The recommended practice is to dedicate specific buckets for public objects. For more information, see Recommended bucket architecture.

  • Make the individual objects publicly readable. We don't recommend this approach.

By default, when the entire bucket is public or the individual objects are public and the individual objects don't specify cache-control metadata, Cloud Storage assigns the objects a Cache-Control: public, max-age=3600 header. You can set different values by using Cache-Control metadata.

For an example that shows how to configure an external HTTP(S) load balancer with a backend bucket, see Setting up Cloud CDN with a backend bucket.

Maximum size

Cloud CDN enforces a maximum size for each response. Any response with a body larger than the maximum size is not cached but is still delivered to the client.

The maximum size varies depending on whether the origin server supports byte range requests.

Origin server supports byte range requests Origin server does not support byte range requests
5 TB (5,497,558,138,880 bytes) 10 MB (10,485,760 bytes)

Nearly all modern web servers (including NGINX, Apache, and Varnish) support byte range requests.

Non-cacheable content

There are checks that block caching of responses.

A response isn't cached if it does not meet the requirements for Cacheable content, or if any of the following is true.

Attribute Requirement
Served by Backend service, backend bucket, or a custom origin that doesn't have Cloud CDN enabled
Cookie Has a Set-Cookie header
Response directive Response has a Cache-Control header with no-store, no-cache, or private directive
Request directive Request has a Cache-Control: no-store header
Size Larger than the maximum size

These requirements might be relaxed in the future, allowing Cloud CDN to cache additional responses.

If Cache-Control: no-store, no-cache, or private is present, but the content is still being cached, this is because URL signing is configured. The next section provides information about how to prevent responses from being cached.

Preventing caching

To prevent private information from being cached in Cloud CDN caches, do the following:

  1. Include a Cache-Control: private header in responses that should not be stored in Cloud CDN caches, or a Cache-Control: no-store header in responses that should not be stored in any cache, even a web browser's cache.
  2. Do not sign URLs that provide access to private information. When content is accessed by using a signed URL, it is potentially eligible for caching regardless of any Cache-Control directives in the response.

Cache keys

Each cache entry in a Cloud CDN cache is identified by a cache key. When a request comes into the cache, the cache converts the URI of the request into a cache key, and then compares it with keys of cached entries. If it finds a match, the cache returns the object associated with that key.

For backend services, Cloud CDN defaults to using the complete request URI as the cache key. For example, https://example.com/images/cat.jpg is the complete URI for a particular request for the cat.jpg object. This string is used as the default cache key. Only requests with this exact string match. Requests for http://example.com/images/cat.jpg or https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user1 do not match.

You can change which parts of the URI are used in the cache key. While the filename and path must always be part of the key, you can include or omit any combination of protocol, host, or query string when customizing your cache key. Using cache keys describes how to customize your cache keys.

URI part Customization Example URLs that have the same cache key
Protocol Omit the protocol from the cache key.
  • https://example.com/images/cat.jpg
  • http://example.com/images/cat.jpg
Host Omit the host from the cache key.
  • https://example.com/images/cat.jpg
  • https://example2.com/images/cat.jpg
Query string

Omit the query string from the cache key.

Selectively omit or include portions of the query string.

  • https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user1
  • https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user2

In addition to including or omitting the entire query string, you can use portions of the query string by using include lists and exclude lists.

For backend buckets, the cache key consists of the URI without the protocol, host, or query string.

Thus, for a given backend bucket, the following URIs resolve to the same cached object:

  • http://example.com/images/cat.jpg
  • https://example.com/images/cat.jpg
  • https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user1
  • http://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user1
  • https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user2
  • https://media.example.com/images/cat.jpg
  • https://www.example.com/images/cat.jpg

Query string include list

You can selectively control which query string parameters Cloud CDN incorporates into cache keys. For example, if you create an include list of user, thenhttps://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user1&color=blue creates a cache key of https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user1 that also matches https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user1&color=red.

To use this option, you must include the query string, specify a non-empty include list, and not specify an exclude list.

Query string exclude list

You can selectively control which query string parameters Cloud CDN ignores by using an exclude list. For example, if you create an exclude list of user, all query string parameters except user are used in the cache key.

With the exclude list configured and an input of https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user1&color=blue, Cloud CDN creates a cache key of https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?color=blue that also matches https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user2&color=blue but not https://example.com/images/cat.jpg?user=user1&color=red.

To use this option, you must include the query string, specify a non-empty exclude list, and not specify an include list.

Vary headers

In addition to the request URI, Cloud CDN respects any Vary headers that origin servers include in responses. The Vary header indicates that the response varies depending on the client's request headers. For example, if a response specifies Vary: Accept, Cloud CDN uses one cache entry for requests that specify Accept: image/webp,image/*,*/*;q=0.8 and another for requests that specify Accept: */*.

Vary headers are sometimes used when serving compressed content. Cloud CDN does not compress or decompress responses itself, but it can serve responses that the origin server compressed. If your origin server chooses whether to serve compressed or uncompressed content based on the value of the Accept-Encoding request header, make sure that the response specifies Vary: Accept-Encoding.

Responses with Vary headers are cached only if the header has one of the values listed in Cacheable content.

Expiration times and validation requests

Each cache entry in a Cloud CDN cache has an expiration time defined by the Cache-Control: s-maxage, Cache-Control: max-age, and/or Expires headers in accordance with RFC 7234. If more than one is present, Cache-Control: s-maxage takes precedence over Cache-Control: max-age, and Cache-Control: max-age takes precedence over Expires.

When Cloud CDN receives a request, it looks up the corresponding cache entry and checks its age. If the cache entry exists and is fresh enough, the response can be served from the cache. However, if the expiration time has passed, Cloud CDN cannot serve a response without first contacting one of your backends.

Cloud CDN revalidates cached objects that are older than 30 days. This allows for automatic invalidation and eviction of stale, user-generated cached content. When a max-age or s-maxage value exceeds 30 days (2,592,000 seconds), Cloud CDN treats the value as if it were 2,592,000 seconds. Downstream clients still see the accurate values of max-age and s- maxage, even if they exceed 30 days.

If the previously cached response has Last-Modified and/or ETag headers, Cloud CDN can attempt to use the information in those headers to validate the cache entry with the backend. Cloud CDN performs this validation slightly differently depending on whether the response was cached by using byte range requests:

  • If the response was cached by using byte range requests, Cloud CDN initiates a separate validation request that includes If-Modified-Since and/or If-None-Match headers.
  • Otherwise, Cloud CDN adds If-Modified-Since and/or If-None-Match headers to the client request and forwards the modified request to the backend.

If the cached copy is still up to date, the backend can validate the existing cache entry by sending a 304 Not Modified response. In this case, the backend sends only the response headers, not the response body. Cloud CDN inserts the new response headers into the cache, updates the expiration time, and serves the new response headers and cached response body to the client.

If the previously cached response does not have a Last-Modified or an ETag header, Cloud CDN ignores the expired cache entry and forwards the client request to the backend unmodified.

A cache entry's expiration time is an upper bound on how long the cache entry remains valid. There is no guarantee that a cache entry remains in the cache until it expires. Cache entries for unpopular content can be evicted to make room for new content. Regardless of the specified expiration time, cache entries that aren't accessed for 30 days are automatically removed.

For more information, see Eviction and expiration.

Support for byte range requests

A response that satisfies the following criteria indicates that the origin server supports byte range requests:

  • Status code: 200 OK or 206 Partial Content
  • Header: Accept-Ranges: bytes
  • Header: Content-Length and/or Content-Range
  • Header: ETag with a strong validator
  • Header: Last-Modified

Cloud Storage supports byte range requests for most objects. However, Cloud Storage does not support byte range requests for objects with Content-Encoding: gzip metadata unless the client request includes an Accept- Encoding: gzip header. If you have Cloud Storage objects larger than 10 MB, make sure that they do not have Content-Encoding: gzip metadata. For information about how to edit object metadata, see Viewing and editing object metadata.

Popular web server software also supports byte range requests. Consult your web server software's documentation for details about how to enable support. For more information about byte range requests, see the HTTP specification.

When an origin server supports byte range requests, a Cloud CDN cache declines to store an otherwise cacheable response the first time it is requested if either of the following is true:

  • The response body is incomplete because the client requested only part of the content.
  • The response body is larger than 1 MB (1,048,576 bytes).

When this happens and the response would otherwise satisfy the normal cacheability requirements, the cache records that the origin server supports byte range requests for that cache key and forwards the origin server's response to the client.

On a cache miss, the cache checks whether the origin server is known to support byte range requests. If byte range requests are known to be supported for the cache key, the cache does not forward the client request to the external HTTP(S) load balancer. Instead, the cache initiates its own byte range cache fill requests for the missing parts of the content. If your origin server returns the requested byte range in a 206 Partial Content response, the cache can store that range for future requests.

A cache stores a 206 Partial Content response only when it is received in response to a byte range request that the cache initiated. Because a cache doesn't initiate a byte range request unless it had previously recorded that the origin server supports byte range requests for that cache key, a given cache doesn't store content that's larger than 1 MB until the second time that content is accessed.

Requests initiated by Cloud CDN

When your origin server supports byte range requests, Cloud CDN can send multiple requests to your origin server in reaction to a single client request. Cloud CDN can initiate two types of requests: validation requests and byte range requests.

If the response that indicated that your origin server supported byte range requests for a particular cache key has expired, Cloud CDN initiates a validation request to confirm that the content hasn't changed and that your origin server still supports range requests for the content. If your origin server responds with a 304 Not Modified response, Cloud CDN proceeds to serve the content by using byte ranges. Otherwise, Cloud CDN forwards your origin server's response to the client. You control expiration times by using the Cache-Control and Expires response headers.

On a cache miss, Cloud CDN initiates cache fill requests for a set of byte ranges that overlap the client request. If some ranges of the content requested by the client are present in the cache, Cloud CDN serves whatever it can from the cache and sends byte range requests for only the missing ranges to your origin server.

Each byte range request initiated by Cloud CDN specifies a range that begins at an offset that's a multiple of 2,097,136 bytes. With the possible exception of the final range, each range is also 2,097,136 bytes. If the content isn't a multiple of that size, the final range is smaller. The size and offsets used in byte range requests might change in the future.

As an example, consider a client request for bytes 1,000,000 through 3,999,999 of content that is not present in the cache. In this example, Cloud CDN could initiate two GET requests, one for the first 2,097,136 bytes of the content and another for the second 2,097,136 bytes. This results in 4,194,272 bytes of cache fill even though the client requested only 3,000,000 bytes.

When you use a Cloud Storage bucket as your origin, each GET request is billed as a separate Class B operation. You are charged for all GET requests processed by Cloud Storage, including any requests initiated by Cloud CDN. When a response is served entirely from a Cloud CDN cache, no GET requests are sent to Cloud Storage, and you are not charged for any Cloud Storage operations.

When Cloud CDN initiates a validation request or byte range request, it does not include client-specific headers such as Cookie or User-Agent.

What's next