内容分发的最佳做法

本页面介绍使用 Cloud CDN 优化和加速内容分发的最佳做法。

Cloud CDN 使用 HTTP(S) 负载平衡作为可缓存内容的来源。HTTP(S) 负载平衡器可以通过一个全局 IP 地址,从 Google Compute Engine 虚拟机实例组和/或 Google Cloud Storage 存储分区向用户分发静态内容和动态创建的内容。

由于与 Google Cloud Platform 的无缝集成,您可以通过多种方式部署 Cloud CDN 和管理内容。请使用此处列出的最佳做法来计划和优化您的部署。如需了解详情,请参阅使用 Cloud CDN

为时间敏感内容设置过期时间

Cloud CDN 缓存中的每个内容都有一个关联的过期时间,请务必设置适合您的用例的过期时间。由于源服务器必须重新发送缓存服务器上过期的内容,您需要谨慎选择过期时间。

要选择过期时间,一种方法是根据您更新内容的频率对内容进行分类,例如:

  1. 近乎实时的更新,例如体育赛事或流量的实时内容源
  2. 频繁的更新,例如每周、每日或每小时的天气信息或头版新闻图片
  3. 不频繁的更新,例如网站徽标或者 CSS 或 JavaScript 文件

然后,按内容类别选择过期日期。例如,5 秒的过期时间可能适用于近乎实时的体育赛事比分,一小时的过期时间则可用于天气动态。对于存储在 Cloud Storage 中的内容,请使用自定义元数据设置过期时间。内容由 Compute Engine 传送时,您可以通过配置网络服务器软件来控制过期时间。

过期时间由 Cache-Control 标头中的 max-ages-maxage 值指定。此标头由 HTTP 规范定义。例如,以下 Cache-Control 使相关内容可被公开读取并缓存,缓存的过期时间为 72 小时(259200 秒):

 Cache-Control: public, max-age=259200

要最大程度增加缓存,请按照缓存详情中的准则进行操作。请记住,Cache-Control 元数据字段中的 max-ages-maxage 值通过下列方式开展协作:

  • max-ages-maxage 值以秒为单位。
  • s-maxage 值仅适用于共享缓存,而不适用于浏览器缓存。
  • max-age 值适用于所有缓存(除非 s-maxage 将它替换)。

对于频繁更改的内容或必须随相关内容一起更改的内容,建议您结合使用较长的过期时间以及具有版本控制的网址

使用自定义缓存键来提高缓存命中率

默认情况下,Cloud CDN 使用完整的请求网址来构建缓存键。为了提高性能和可伸缩性,您必须优化缓存命中率。为了优化缓存命中率,您可以使用自定义缓存键

Cloud CDN 键值存储区
Cloud CDN 键值存储区

您可以自定义缓存键以包含或省略协议、主机或查询字符串中的其中一项或多项。例如,假设您在不同的域上有两个网站,这两个网站使用相同的徽标。要显示徽标,请使用自定义缓存键,如下所示:

  • 网站内容不同,但您在两个域中使用相同的公司徽标。当您为拥有该徽标的后端服务开启 Cloud CDN 并自定义缓存键时,请取消选中主机复选框,这样一来,缓存会忽略该网域,但会缓存该徽标。
  • 无论是通过 HTTP 还是 HTTPS 显示徽标,都需要对该徽标进行缓存。当您为拥有该徽标的后端服务自定义缓存键时,请取消选中协议复选框,使得通过 HTTP 和 HTTPS 传送的请求被统计为徽标缓存条目的匹配项。

要了解如何自定义缓存键,请参阅使用缓存键

使用具有版本控制的网址更新内容

通过对内容进行版本控制,您可以传送同一内容的不同版本,这样一来,您可以在缓存条目过期之前向用户显示新内容,并有效地移除旧内容。由于版本控制功能简单易用且不收取任何费用,我们建议您使用版本控制功能作为更新缓存内容的默认方法。要对内容进行版本控制,请在网址中添加一个参数,例如版本号。您可以通过多种方法在网址中包含参数,例如:

  • 添加查询字符串:file.ext?v=100
  • 更改文件名:file.1.0.0.ext or file_v100.ext
  • 更改文件路径:/v100/file.ext

当您添加参数时,您将更改文件的名称和网址。此更改会强制缓存忽略所有现有缓存条目。

谨慎使用失效操作来移除内容

在缓存条目过期之前,失效操作会从 Cloud CDN 分布式缓存服务器中移除内容。失效操作具有最终一致性。

我们建议您谨慎使用失效操作,您只能将此操作用作最后的补救手段。例如,当您因法律原因或意外上传而必须移除内容时,失效操作十分有用。其他情况下,我们建议您尽可能使用版本控制功能,或等待内容正常到期。Cloud CDN 缓存服务器通常会逐出不常访问的内容,以便为新内容腾出空间。如果某项内容未被访问的时间达到 30 天,系统会无条件将其删除。

设置过期时间使用具有版本控制的网址不同,您需要为每次启动的缓存失效操作付费,并且缓存失效操作的速率存在限制

要详细了解失效操作,请参阅缓存失效操作概览

查看第三方性能测试

查看来自第三方提供商的报告,例如 Cedexis Radar 社区提供的可用性、延迟和吞吐量报告

此页内容是否有用?请给出您的反馈和评价:

发送以下问题的反馈:

此网页
Cloud CDN 文档

Best Practices for Content Delivery

This page provides best practices for optimizing and accelerating content delivery with Google Cloud CDN.

Cloud CDN uses HTTP(S) load balancing as the origin for cacheable content. An HTTP(S) load balancer can deliver a mix of static and dynamically-created content to users through one global IP address from Google Compute Engine virtual machine (VM) instance groups, Google Cloud Storage buckets, or both.

Because of the seamless integration with Google Cloud Platform, you have a several options for deploying Cloud CDN and managing content. Use the best practices listed here to plan and refine your deployment. For more information, see Using Cloud CDN.

Setting the expiration for time-sensitive content

Each piece of content in a Cloud CDN cache has an associated expiration time, and it's important to set an expiration that is appropriate for your use case. Because origin servers must resend content that expires on cache servers, you need to choose the expiration carefully.

One method for choosing the expiration is to categorize content based on how often you update the content, for example:

  1. Near real-time updates, for example live feeds for sporting events or traffic
  2. Frequent updates, such as weekly, daily, or hourly weather information or front-page news images
  3. Infrequent updates, such as a website logo or CSS or JavaScript files

Then, choose the expiration by content category. For example, a 5-second expiration might be appropriate for near real-time sports scores, and a one-hour expiration could be used for weather updates. For content stored in Cloud Storage, set the expiration times by using custom metadata. When content is served by Compute Engine, you control expiration times by configuring your web server software.

Expiration times are specified by the max-age and s-maxage values in the Cache-Control header. This header is defined by the HTTP specification. For example, the following Cache-Control makes the associated content publicly readable and cacheable with a cache expiration of 72 hours (259200 seconds):

 Cache-Control: public, max-age=259200

To maximize caching, follow the guidelines in Caching Details. Remember that max-age and s-maxage values in the Cache-Control metadata field work together in the following ways:

  • The max-age and s-maxage values are measured in seconds.
  • The s-maxage value applies only to shared caches, not browser caches.
  • The max-age value applies to all caches unless s-maxage overrides it.

For content that changes infrequently or that must change along with related content, it's often appropriate to use a long expiration time in combination with versioned URLs.

Using custom cache keys to improve cache hit ratio

By default, Cloud CDN uses the complete request URL to build the cache key. For performance and scalability, it’s important to optimize cache hit ratio. To help optimize your cache hit ratio, you can use custom cache keys .

Cloud CDN key-value store
Cloud CDN key-value store

You can customize cache keys to include or omit any combination of protocol, host, and query string. For example, suppose you have two websites on different domains that use the same logo. To show the logo, use custom cache keys, as follows:

  • The website content is different, but you use the same company logo on both domains. When you turn on Cloud CDN and customize the cache keys for the backend service that holds the logo, deselect the Host checkbox so that the cache ignores the domain but caches the logo.
  • The logo needs to be cached whether displayed through HTTP or HTTPS. When you customize the cache keys for the backend service that holds the logo, deselect the Protocol checkbox so that requests through HTTP and HTTPS count as matches for the logo's cache entry.

To learn how to customize cache keys, see Using Cache Keys.

Using versioned URLs to update content

Versioning content serves a different version of the same content, effectively removing it by showing users new content before the cache entry expires. Because versioning is free and easy to use, we recommend you use versioning as the default approach for updating cacheable content. To version content, add a parameter to the URL, such as a version number. There are various ways to include parameters in URLs, such as:

  • Add a query string: file.ext?v=100
  • Alter the file name: file.1.0.0.ext or file_v100.ext
  • Alter the file path: /v100/file.ext

When you add the parameter, you change the name of the file and the URL. This change forces the cache to ignore any existing cache entry.

Using invalidation sparingly to remove content

Invalidation removes content from the Cloud CDN distributed cache servers before the cache entry expires. Invalidation is eventually consistent.

We recommend that you use invalidation sparingly and only as a last resort. For example, invalidation is useful when you must remove content for legal reasons or because of an accidental upload. Otherwise, we recommend that you use versioning whenever possible or wait until the content expires normally. Cloud CDN cache servers evict rarely used content automatically and remove unaccessed content in 30 days.

In contrast to setting expiration times and using versioned URLs, you are charged for each cache invalidation you initiate, and cache invalidations are rate limited.

To learn more about invalidation, see Cache Invalidation Overview.

Reviewing third-party performance tests

Review reports from third-party providers, such as the availability, latency, and throughput reports that the Cedexis Radar Community provides.

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Cloud CDN Documentation