安全与隐私权注意事项

概览

本帮助页面详细介绍 gsutil 为保护数据安全采取的各种预防措施,以及有关客户应如何保障安全的建议。

传输层安全性

gsutil 使用传输层加密 (HTTPS) 执行所有操作,以防止通过共享网络链接发生数据泄露。这一点也很重要,因为 gsutil 将“不记名令牌”用于身份验证 (OAuth2) 以及可续传上传标识符,所以此类令牌必须得到保护,以免遭到窃听或重复使用。

gsutil 还通过 XML API 支持旧式 HMAC(请参阅 gsutil 帮助:API)。虽然 HMAC 身份验证不使用不记名令牌(因此不会遭到窃听/重放攻击),但仍然需要对数据流量进行加密。

在 gsutil 4.0 之前的版本中,您可以通过将 boto 配置文件 [Boto] 部分中的“is_secure”配置参数设置为 False 来使用 HTTP 而非 HTTPS。但是,从 gsutil 4.0 版开始,不允许将“is_secure”设为 False。如需详细了解不同的凭据选项,请参阅 gsutil 帮助:凭据

本地文件存储安全性

gsutil 采取很多预防措施来防止其本地存储的文件中存在安全漏洞:

  • 当运行 gsutil config(或用于 Cloud SDK 安装的 gcloud init)命令时,它会在它生成的 .boto 配置文件中设置文件保护模式 600 ("-rw-------"),因此只有用户(或超级用户)才可以读取。这一点很重要,因为这些文件包含安全敏感信息,包括凭据和代理配置。
  • 当您创建服务帐号凭据时,gsutil config(或用于 Cloud SDK 安装的 gcloud init)命令还会对本地存储的私钥文件使用文件保护模式 600。
  • gsutil 命令默认级别的输出日志记录中不包含安全敏感信息,例如 OAuth2 令牌和代理配置信息。(如果您使用 gsutil -D 选项提高调试输出的级别,请参阅下面的“推荐的用户预防措施”部分。)

请注意,Windows 不支持保护模式,因此,如果您在 Windows 上使用 gsutil,我们建议使用加密文件系统和安全系数高的帐户密码。

由 Gsutil 临时写入磁盘的安全敏感文件

在以下几种情况下,gsutil 会缓存临时文件中的数据:

  • 压缩通过 gsutil cp -z/-Z 上传的数据时,gsutil 会在采用保护 600 的临时文件中缓冲数据,并在上传完成后删除(下载通过 gsutil cp -z/-Z 上传的文件时或对于一些将 Content-Encoding 设置为“gzip”的其他进程来说,同样如此)。但是,如果您在上传过程中终止 gsutil 进程,系统将原位保留部分写入的文件。如需详细了解临时文件的写入位置以及临时目录位置的更改方式,请参阅 gsutil 帮助:cp 中的“更改临时目录”部分。
  • 执行可续传上传时,gsutil 会将上传 ID(如上文所述,为不记名令牌,因此应妥善保护)存储在 ~/.gsutil/tracker-files 下采用保护 600 的文件中,并在上传操作完成后删除此文件。但是,如果上传操作没有成功完成,则系统会原地保留跟踪器文件,以便日后可以再次重试可续传上传。随着时间推移,系统中可能会累积已中止的上传尝试留下的这些跟踪器文件,但是可续传上传 ID 的有效期只有 1 周时间,因此只有存在时间短于该期限的文件才会存在安全风险。如果您认为使已中止上传的 ID 保留在跟踪器目录中风险过高,则可以修改上传脚本以删除跟踪器文件;也可以创建 Cron 作业来定期清除跟踪器目录。
  • gsutil rsync 命令会存储包含来源和目的地目录/存储分区的名称、大小以及校验和的临时文件(使用保护 600),并在完成 rsync 后会删除它。但是,如果您在进行 rsync 时终止 gsutil 进程,则列出文件将原位保留。

请注意,gsutil 使用标准的操作系统解除关联系统调用来删除临时文件,该调用不会执行数据擦除。因此,坚定的恶意者可能会恢复此类临时文件。

访问控制列表

除非您指定其他 ACL(例如,通过 gsutil cp -a 选项),否则默认情况下写入存储分区的对象会在该存储分区上使用默认对象 ACL。除非您修改该 ACL(例如,通过 gsutil defacl 命令),否则默认情况下,它会允许所有项目编辑者拥有对象的写入权限,以及对象元数据的读写权限,并且允许所有项目查看者拥有该对象的读取权限。

Cloud Storage 访问控制系统允许您将对象指定为可供公开读取。确保您使用此权限写入的所有对象都是您计划公开的对象。一旦“发布”,互联网上的数据可能会被复制到许多地方,因此,实际上您无法重新掌控使用此权限写入的对象的读取权限。

Cloud Storage 访问控制系统允许您将存储分区指定为可被公开写入。虽然以这种方式配置存储分区可以方便地实现各种目的,但我们建议您不要使用这项权限,因为该权限可能会被滥用于分发非法内容、病毒和其他恶意软件,并且存储分区所有者对存储在其存储分区中的内容负有法律和财务上的责任。如果您需要将内容公开给没有 Google 帐号的客户,请考虑改用签名网址(请参阅 gsutil 帮助:签名网址)。

软件完整性和更新

gsutil 可以通过存储在 gs://pub 存储分区中的 tar 和 zip 文件作为独立软件包分发,可以作为 PyPi 模块分发,也可以作为捆绑在一起的 Cloud SDK 版本中的组件进行分发。每种分发方法都采用各种安全预防措施来保护软件的完整性。我们强烈建议不要从任何其他来源(例如镜像网站)获取 gsutil 的副本。

代理使用情况

gsutil 支持通过代理进行访问,例如 Squid 和各种商业产品。它们功能的完整说明不在本文档的讨论范围之内,但您可配置代理来支持许多与安全相关的功能,包括病毒扫描、数据泄露防护、控制哪些证书/CA 可信赖、内容类型过滤以及许多其他功能。其中一些特性可能会减慢或阻止正常的 gsutil 行为。例如,病毒扫描依赖于解密文件内容,而这需要代理终止 gsutil 连接并建立新连接,在某些情况下,代理会以导致校验和验证错误及其他问题的方式重写内容。

如需详细了解如何配置代理,请参阅 .boto 配置文件(由 gsutil config 或 gcloud init 命令生成)中的代理帮助文本。

静态加密

所有存储的 Cloud Storage 数据均经过加密。如需了解详情,请参阅服务器端加密

您还可以提供自己的加密密钥。如需了解详情,请参阅 gsutil 帮助:加密

数据隐私

Google 决不会要求您共享您的凭据、密码或其他安全敏感信息。请小心可能存在的网上诱骗手段,谨防有人试图冒充 Google 要求您提供此类信息。

度量数据

gsutil Perfdiag 命令会收集各种与性能相关的度量结果以及本地系统和网络环境的相关详细信息,用于排查性能问题。除非您选择发送,否则这些信息不会发送给 Google。

Security and Privacy Considerations

Security and Privacy Considerations

Overview

This help section provides details about various precautions taken by gsutil to protect data security, as well as recommendations for how customers should safeguard security.

Transport Layer Security

gsutil performs all operations using transport-layer encryption (HTTPS), to protect against data leakage over shared network links. This is also important because gsutil uses "bearer tokens" for authentication (OAuth2) as well as for resumable upload identifiers, and such tokens must be protected from being eavesdropped and reused.

gsutil also supports the older HMAC style of authentication via the XML API (see gsutil help apis). While HMAC authentication does not use bearer tokens (and thus is not subject to eavesdropping/replay attacks), it's still important to encrypt data traffic.

Prior to gsutil release 4.0 it was possible to use HTTP instead of HTTPS by setting the "is_secure" configuration parameter in the [Boto] section of the boto configuration file to False. However, starting with gsutil version 4.0 setting is_secure to False is disallowed. For more details about different credential options, see gsutil help creds.

Local File Storage Security

gsutil takes a number of precautions to protect against security exploits in the files it stores locally:

  • When the gsutil config (or gcloud init for Cloud SDK installs) command runs it sets file protection mode 600 ("-rw-------") on the the .boto configuration file it generates, so only the user (or superuser) can read it. This is important because these files contain security-sensitive information, including credentials and proxy configuration.
  • The gsutil config (or gcloud init for Cloud SDK installs) command also uses file protection mode 600 for the private key file stored locally when you create service account credentials.
  • The default level of logging output from gsutil commands does not include security-sensitive information, such as OAuth2 tokens and proxy configuration information. (See the "RECOMMENDED USER PRECAUTIONS" section below if you increase the level of debug output, using the gsutil -D option.)

Note that protection modes are not supported on Windows, so if you use gsutil on Windows we recommend using an encrypted file system and strong account passwords.

Security-Sensitive Files Written Temporarily To Disk By Gsutil

gsutil buffers data in temporary files in several situations:

  • While compressing data being uploaded via gsutil cp -z/-Z, gsutil buffers the data in temporary files with protection 600, which it deletes after the upload is complete (similarly for downloading files that were uploaded with gsutil cp -z/-Z or some other process that sets the Content-Encoding to "gzip"). However, if you kill the gsutil process while the upload is under way the partially written file will be left in place. See the "CHANGING TEMP DIRECTORIES" section in gsutil help cp for details of where the temporary files are written and how to change the temp directory location.
  • When performing a resumable upload gsutil stores the upload ID (which, as noted above, is a bearer token and thus should be safe-guarded) in a file under ~/.gsutil/tracker-files with protection 600, and deletes this file after the upload is complete. However, if the upload doesn't complete successfully the tracker file is left in place so the resumable upload can be re-attempted later. Over time it's possible to accumulate these tracker files from aborted upload attempts, though resumable upload IDs are only valid for 1 week, so the security risk only exists for files less than that age. If you consider the risk of leaving aborted upload IDs in the tracker directory too high you could modify your upload scripts to delete the tracker files; or you could create a cron job to clear the tracker directory periodically.
  • The gsutil rsync command stores temporary files (with protection 600) containing the names, sizes, and checksums of source and destination directories/buckets, which it deletes after the rsync is complete. However, if you kill the gsutil process while the rsync is under way the listing files will be left in place.

Note that gsutil deletes temporary files using the standard OS unlink system call, which does not perform data wiping. Thus, the content of such temporary files can be recovered by a determined adversary.

Access Control Lists

Unless you specify a different ACL (e.g., via the gsutil cp -a option), by default objects written to a bucket use the default object ACL on that bucket. Unless you modify that ACL (e.g., via the gsutil defacl command), by default it will allow all project editors write access to the object and read/write access to the object's metadata and will allow all project viewers read access to the object.

The Google Cloud Storage access control system includes the ability to specify that objects are publicly readable. Make sure you intend for any objects you write with this permission to be public. Once "published", data on the Internet can be copied to many places, so it's effectively impossible to regain read control over an object written with this permission.

The Google Cloud Storage access control system includes the ability to specify that buckets are publicly writable. While configuring a bucket this way can be convenient for various purposes, we recommend against using this permission - it can be abused for distributing illegal content, viruses, and other malware, and the bucket owner is legally and financially responsible for the content stored in their buckets. If you need to make content available to customers who don't have Google accounts consider instead using signed URLs (see gsutil help signurl).

Software Integrity And Updates

gsutil is distributed as a standalone bundle via tar and zip files stored in the gs://pub bucket, as a PyPi module, and as part of the bundled Cloud SDK release. Each of these distribution methods takes a variety of security precautions to protect the integrity of the software. We strongly recommend against getting a copy of gsutil from any other sources (such as mirror sites).

Proxy Usage

gsutil supports access via proxies, such as Squid and a number of commercial products. A full description of their capabilities is beyond the scope of this documentation, but proxies can be configured to support many security-related functions, including virus scanning, Data Leakage Prevention, control over which certificates/CA's are trusted, content type filtering, and many more capabilities. Some of these features can slow or block legitimate gsutil behavior. For example, virus scanning depends on decrypting file content, which in turn requires that the proxy terminate the gsutil connection and establish a new connection - and in some cases proxies will rewrite content in ways that result in checksum validation errors and other problems.

For details on configuring proxies see the proxy help text in your .boto configuration file (generated by the gsutil config or gcloud init command).

Encryption At Rest

All Google Cloud Storage data are stored encrypted. For more information see Server-Side Encryption.

You can also provide your own encryption keys. For more information, see gsutil help encryption.

Data Privacy From Google Employees

Google employees will never look at your data unless you first explicitly grant them permission to do so while troubleshooting a specific incident.

Google will never ask you to share your credentials, password, or other security-sensitive information. Beware of potential phishing scams where someone attempts to impersonate Google and asks for such information.

Measurement Data

The gsutil perfdiag command collects a variety of performance-related measurements and details about your local system and network environment, for use in troubleshooting performance problems. None of this information will be sent to Google unless you choose to send it.

Send feedback about...

Cloud Storage Documentation