外部身份

本文提供有关将外部身份与 Identity-Aware Proxy (IAP) 而非 Google 帐号一起使用的其他信息。

概览

IAP 可控制对您在 Google Cloud 上运行的 App Engine 应用和 Compute Engine 虚拟机的访问权限。它利用用户身份和请求上下文来确定是否应允许用户访问。IAP 是 BeyondCorp 的构件之一,后者是一个让每位员工都能在不借助 VPN 的情况下通过不受信任的网络顺利开展工作的企业安全模型。

默认情况下,IAP 使用 Google 身份和 IAM。通过利用 Identity Platform,您可以使用各种外部身份提供商对用户进行身份验证,例如:

  • 电子邮件地址/密码
  • OAuth(Google、Facebook、Twitter、GitHub、Microsoft 等)
  • SAML
  • OIDC
  • 电话号码
  • 自定义
  • 匿名

如果您的应用已经在使用外部身份验证系统,并且将用户迁移到 Google 帐号不切实际,那么这将非常有用。

多租户

Identity Platform 多租户最初是为 B2B 方案设计的,其中一家公司向其他公司出售服务。在这些情况下,开发者通常希望将用户群隔离到被隔离的池中。这些孤岛称为租户

考虑下面的虚构关系图:

多租户层次结构

在此示例中,Acme 是汽车制造商(代理商),它使用 Identity Platform 向经销商(租户)提供服务。这些经销商又为其客户、员工和承包商提供服务。尽管制造商拥有服务,但是每个经销商可以使用各自的一组身份提供商进行身份验证。用户会话和数据按租户确定范围,因此,如果用户与多个经销商有关系,则每个经销商将分别进行处理。

根据您的使用场景,您可以采用多种方式来构建租户层次结构。

没有租户

仅在需要隔离资源时才需要多租户。并非所有应用都具有此要求。例如,如果您只有一个 App Engine 应用,并且想阻止对网络外部所有用户的访问权限,则无需多租户。默认情况下,Identity Platform 按项目存储用户并对其进行身份验证,因此在这种情况下不需要其他配置。

另一个示例是一家拥有数家子公司的综合企业。即使每个子公司都有自己的托管身份验证系统(使用 OIDC 或 SAML),所有员工也可能共享相同的高级福利,例如医疗保健、假期和工资。在这种情况下,在项目级层进行身份验证就足够了。

每项资源一个租户

默认情况下,非租户 Identity Platform 令牌在项目级层有效。从理论上讲,这意味着用户可以向一项 IAP 资源进行身份验证,然后使用令牌访问同一项目中的另一服务。这存在安全隐患。

为了防止令牌泄露,请通过为每个 IAP 分配自己的租户来隔离该 IAP。在特定于租户的上下文中生成的令牌仅对该特定租户有效。如果用户尝试访问使用其他租户的另一个 IAP 资源,系统会要求他们再次进行身份验证。

每项资源多个租户

一个 IAP 资源可以有多个与之关联的租户。

当用户访问资源时,您可以使用多个选项来确定要使用的租户。例如,您可以提示用户首先输入他们的电子邮件,然后以编程方式找到与电子邮件地址的网域匹配的租户。或者,您可以显示一个列出所有有效租户的界面,并要求用户选择一个。

用户可以属于具有不同访问权限级别的多个租户。虽然您无法使用 IAM 并通过外部身份管理访问权限控制,但您可以根据所选租户或用户的底层 ID 令牌声明过滤访问权限。

多租户场景的一个示例是雇员福利公司,该公司有许多客户共享一个网站门户。用户访问门户时,他们首先会选择所在的公司(租户),然后使用其公司凭据向其雇主使用的任何提供商进行身份验证。

后续步骤

External identities

This article provides additional information on using external identities with Identity-Aware Proxy (IAP) instead of Google accounts.

Overview

IAP controls access to your App Engine apps and Compute Engine VMs running on Google Cloud. It leverages user identity and the context of a request to determine if a user should be allowed access. IAP is a building block toward BeyondCorp, an enterprise security model that enables employees to work from untrusted networks without using a VPN.

By default, IAP uses Google identities and Cloud IAM. By leveraging Identity Platform instead, you can authenticate users with a wide range of external identity providers, such as:

  • Email/password
  • OAuth (Google, Facebook, Twitter, GitHub, Microsoft, etc.)
  • SAML
  • OIDC
  • Phone number
  • Custom
  • Anonymous

This is useful if your application is already using an external authentication system, and migrating your users to Google accounts is impractical.

Multi-tenancy

Identity Platform multi-tenancy was originally designed for B2B scenarios, where one company is selling a service to other companies. In these cases, it's common for developers to want to segregate user populations into isolated pools. These silos are referred to as tenants.

Consider the fictional relationship diagram below:

A multi-tenant hierarchy

In this example, Acme is a car manufacturer (the agent) who uses Identity Platform to provide a service to dealerships (the tenants). These dealerships in turn provide services to their customers, employees, and contractors. Although the manufacturer owns the service, each dealership could use their own set of identity providers for authentication. User sessions and data are scoped on a per-tenant basis, so if a user has relationships with multiple dealerships, each is handled independently.

Depending on your use case, there are a number of ways you can structure your tenant hierarchy.

No tenants

You only need multi-tenancy if you need to isolate resources. Not all applications have this requirement. For example, if you have a single App Engine app and want to block access to all users outside your network, there is no need for multi-tenancy. By default, Identity Platform stores and authenticates users on a per-project basis, so no additional configuration is required in this case.

Another example is a conglomerate with several subsidiaries. Even if each subsidiary has its own managed authentication system (using OIDC or SAML), all employees might share the same high-level benefits, such as healthcare, vacations, and payroll. In this case, authenticating at the project level is sufficient.

One tenant per resource

By default, non-tenant Identity Platform tokens are valid at the project level. Theoretically, this means a user could authenticate with one IAP resource, then use the token to access another service in the same project. This is a security risk.

To prevent token leakage, isolate each IAP by assigning each its own tenant. Tokens minted in a tenant-specific context are only valid for that specific tenant. If the user attempts to access another IAP resource that uses a different tenant, they'll be asked to authenticate again.

Multiple tenants per resource

A single IAP resource can have multiple tenants associated with it.

When a user accesses the resource, you have several options for determining what tenant to use. For example, you might prompt the user to enter their email first, and then programmatically locate a tenant that matches the email's domain. Alternatively, you might display a UI that lists all valid tenants, and ask the user to choose one.

Users can belong to multiple tenants with varying levels of access. Although you can't use Cloud IAM to manage access control with external identities, you can filter access based on the tenant selected or the user's underlying ID token claims.

An example multi-tenancy scenario is an employee benefits company that has many customers sharing a single web portal. When a user visits the portal, they first select their company (the tenant), and then authenticate with whatever provider their employer uses with their corporate credentials.

What's next